Morning Light Readings

Having various body parts hanging over the edge of the bed and being poked mercilessly for hours by a restless baby, not yet ready to settle in her own sleeping space, I finally gave up and shuffled wearily downstairs at 4am to read Émile Zola’s, La Bête Humaine.

Claude Monet, Arrival of the Normandy Train, Gare Saint-Lazare, 1877,

Admittedly, that time of the morning is always pleasing once the mood improves enough to observe surroundings and to be in a position to appreciate the quiet, the chill that settles on bare arms, and, this morning, the fog, illuminated in the glow of the streetlamp, swirling in beguiling patterns.

There are white roses edging along our garden gate, some petals are strewn over the ground at the foot of the fence. This felt symbolic as the book I start is a tale of jealousy, passion, and murder. As the reading light illuminated the pages, I ventured to the soot covered French railways of the late 1800’s…

The unexpected joys of having a baby can prove to be a real bonus, although sleep would be satisfying one of these days.

13 Replies to “Morning Light Readings”

  1. That’s a very ‘glass half full’ interpretation of baby induced sleep deprivation. I’ll try and remember it the next time my little one decides that I don’t need the full 8 hours (so tonight then) but I doubt I’ll have the requisite cognitive functioning for Zola…

    Like

    1. Any excuse to read a book, I get very little time other than in the dark hours of the morning, on occasion. A full eight houtse sounds like a far flung idea at this moment. It’s amazing how much the brain can cope with a full on assault on literature, even before a coffee.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I think Amelia will always be my excuse now whenever I lack sleep, no matter her age. My body has learned to cope now and wake up immediately and function decently without coffee. Although coffee is always preffered!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I wonder what woke up Emile Zola in the wee hours of the morning. Not a baby, I feel sure. But then, he probably was awake still from the night before. I’m glad at least that you get SOME sleep!

    Like

    1. With his literary output I’m surprised he slept at all. It was only in starting this book that I had planned to read all twenty books in the series, after this I will ‘only’ have eighteen left to read.

      Like

    1. I have done my fair bit of staring but if I want to get any writing or reading finished then I need to take my time when I find it which is very rare at the moment so I find myself forcing such things.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. A pleasant account/update. That Monet takes you right to Emile Zola and the book. Happy Father’s Day to you. No pity for the poor sleep deprived Dad. He’s a lucky guy.

    Like

    1. I am lucky but sometimes I do ask Crissy if we can sell Amelia for an hour or two’s sleep. I fear she may agree one day and the story will write itself in classic Dickens style.

      Like

Share your thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.