RSS

Dwelling on the Cusp

17 Aug

EllieEdonArt

I close my eyes

Entering a forest of yellow hue

turned green, behind lids

an ever changing patina of labyrinthine leafiness.

squeeze them tight

Mingling with gossamer thoughts

Fragile, yet protected

as I finally drift off

 block out the remaining light

to inscribe fanciful thoughts

– contemplations of the forever –

in the stardust of my dreams…

~~~~~~

Thanks to Ellie Edon for allowing me to use her art, check out more at http://ellieedon.wixsite.com/artwork and as ever thanks for reading, I will be visiting again when time permits.

Save

Save

 
38 Comments

Posted by on 17/08/2016 in My Writings, Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

38 responses to “Dwelling on the Cusp

  1. Jill Weatherholt

    17/08/2016 at 22:52

    What a beautiful piece, Ste J.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/08/2016 at 08:01

      Thank you, had part of this written for a while but wasn’t really getting anywhere with it until I chanced about the drawing and then finished it straight off.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. macjam47

    18/08/2016 at 13:55

    Both your poem and Ellie’s artwork are fabulous!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/08/2016 at 14:21

      Thank you, it was good to come across a piece of art that complimented my words and helped add a few more ideas as well.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  3. shadowoperator

    18/08/2016 at 21:06

    You should write more poetry!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      19/08/2016 at 10:03

      I always post one and think I could do it on a regular basis but inspiration doesn’t always strike, I need to train myself to write more, I will endeavour to do so nonetheless.

      Like

       
  4. Resa

    18/08/2016 at 21:12

    Wow! Beautiful painting…. striking poem!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      19/08/2016 at 10:11

      Thank you, I was unsure if I wanted to add more but eventually plumped for the less is more excuse/idea.

      Like

       
  5. Catherine Townsend-Lyon, Author & Columnist

    19/08/2016 at 04:04

    That beautiful Art absolutely compliments your beautiful words XOXO *Catherine*

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      19/08/2016 at 10:05

      Thank you! I get picky when finding a photo or picture to go with my words, stumbling across this one was very fortuitous.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  6. Heena Rathore P.

    20/08/2016 at 04:25

    Beautiful words and beautiful artwork. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      21/08/2016 at 17:16

      Thank you, it was a thoroughly enjoyable process.

      Like

       
  7. clarepooley33

    20/08/2016 at 23:16

    Beautiful poem Ste. I’m glad you found the inspiration to finish it.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      21/08/2016 at 16:55

      The internet is great for stumbling upon things, usually I get the idea first and then look or a picture but this time was more jigsaw puzzle like and I am liking that approach.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  8. Purpleanais

    20/08/2016 at 23:28

    This is beautiful! And the art is gorgeous too. I had no idea you wrote poetry! #Impressed

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      21/08/2016 at 16:51

      I write occasionally and not to your level but I do dabble when the fancy takes me and have published a few on here, all to kind words which makes Ste happy.

      Like

       
  9. Lyn

    21/08/2016 at 12:11

    You never cease to surprise me…book reviews, travelogue and today poetry! This is beautiful Ste J 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      21/08/2016 at 17:01

      Thank you! I like to mix it up, keep you all on your toes so you keep coming back!

      Like

       
  10. LuAnn

    21/08/2016 at 15:36

    This is just amazing Ste J…beautiful! And you chose the perfect piece of art to showcase your words. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      21/08/2016 at 17:26

      Thank you, it is always a great feeling to find something that accompanies the words, which is often a challenge as the words aren’t written with an idea in mind, finding the perfect fit sometimes takes ages.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • LuAnn

        22/08/2016 at 15:24

        I find that when I am trying to take photos and convey a feeling.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          22/08/2016 at 18:08

          I would never have guessed, your photos always look effortless and capture the beauty of your surroundings.

          Liked by 1 person

           
  11. Morgan

    22/08/2016 at 20:52

    very interesting form 😉 Liked it!

    Like

     
  12. Maniparna Sengupta Majumder

    29/08/2016 at 13:42

    Your poem has perfectly complemented Ellie’s artwork! Why don’t you write poems more often, Ste?

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      29/08/2016 at 17:07

      I struggle with inspiration, I am jealous of you poets who can write many poems and and garner inspiration from anywhere…I guess I look at the world in a different way but I do want to write more and am aiming for at least one a month to begin with.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  13. Where Monica Goes

    02/10/2016 at 12:30

    Read it four times and was like, what an impressive poem, Ste! I like this one than the last I have read years ago.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      04/10/2016 at 11:37

      Thank you my friend, I do occasionally write one up as you know, I think my writing has improved, although my technique…well I don’t want to be too self critical.

      Like

       
  14. writersideup

    22/10/2016 at 03:26

    Ste J, this piece is absolutely brilliant! Seriously—brilliant! And the painting is beautiful 🙂 When I visited Ellie’s site, I thought there’d be lot of landscapes, but her specialty is finely detailed animals. Wonderful 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      24/10/2016 at 13:59

      I randomly followed a link a friend had put on Facebook and couldn’t pass up the opportunity, I am glad the words work well with it. Now if I could only think of an animal poem…

      Liked by 1 person

       
  15. writersideup

    25/10/2016 at 03:23

    Oh, I’m sure you can! I hope you don’t mind me making suggestions, but I think it all comes down to decisiveness and focus, just as you focused on the specific act of falling asleep in this one.

    I don’t know if it can be ANYthing about an animal or animals, but if it can, I would suggest:

    – first narrow it down by picking an animal that you’re either passionate about, are inspired by or which evokes strong emotion/s, whatever they may be

    – then, unless you want to describe everything about that animal, focus in on one act and then let your mind flow.

    Good luck and if you write it, please share! 😀

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/10/2016 at 13:01

      Good advice, I’ve never really done anything animal before but I will see what I can come up with.

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
