Here and Back Off Again

It’s been a while since I have wandered the warm wards of WordPress – for we are all inmates of writing here – as other things have been distracting me.  I am in the middle of a few of literary pursuits including the freelance (emphasis on the free) editing of a book (or maybe two), as well as catching up with some reviewing commitments.

Home
Leaving this place for more interesting experiences…like waiting for a plane probably and getting lost.

As a consequence, I have been finding it hard to keep up with writing as well as holding down a full-time night job, although I have been managing to get some reading done here and there.  So I shall be taking a short break to finish off my endeavours and will be back shortly I expect.

If that wasn’t enough this week will also see me off on a three-day, location yet to be decided, later than last-minute deal somewhere.   So while as I take a rest in foreign climes, have fun and be rest assured next week I will be back and ready to catch up on all those blog posts as well as writing about all things bookish.  Hopefully something amusing involving eccentric provincials and misunderstood local etiquette will also be hitting your screens before too long as well.

43 Replies to “Here and Back Off Again”

  1. We often put too much stress on ourselves. Pursuing other avenues than blogging often feeds our creativity in new and surprising ways, which makes our blog posts more interesting in the long run. Cheers!

    Like

    1. That’s a good point, if other things improve my writing, then I am all for it and I am hoping it also keeps opening up new and interesting avenues to pursue.

      Like

        1. I have five or six posts that have notes and photos ready. It was certainly a good experience, even the people asking for money are bilingual which is impressive.

          Like

  2. I hope your short break is fun and relaxing! Both my brother (retired policeman) and my sister (paramedic) have worked nights regularly. My husband used to work for the electricity generating business and also worked nights for a while. I know how difficult it is to get anything done when on nights! Take care! Clare

    Like

    1. I manage to shamble around a bit and make it feel like I’ve done something but I tend not to leave the house until I really need to. It’s a 5 o’ clock start to the airport tomorrow for a trip to Germany.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ll look forward to hearing more about your adventures in reading and life – hope you have fun with any possible culture clashes while finding some extra reading time.

    Like

    1. I will get plenty of inspiration from where I am going, in fact many strange things await me such as a frame collectors museum and cows on walls, I kid you not.

      Like

  4. Have a great time away, make sure the emphasis about your time away from blogging is the “short” you promised, and just enjoy life. It may come around more than once, but how are we to know that? Maybe this is just my first time around and that’s why I don’t know….are you an “old soul” (as was mentioned in “A Passage to India”) by any chance, who might know? Never mind, don’t tell me if you do know already, I think I want to find out on my own. But in any event, do hurry back.

    Like

    1. I already have a ton of ideas and had I not been going away, they would be being written at a furious pace, still a trip away will fuel the writing and that can only be a good thing. I do think I bear resemblance to Old King Cole (mainly the noble aspect) I do think things have to come around more than once but only because we live on something that is spherical…well pretty much spherical if I am being pedantic.

      Like

    1. Normally I just get frustrated and go off in a huff so it was nice to have actual time when I was away from the net and not just fighting for time as usual. It is good to be back though.

      Like

  5. I seem to remember from Stasiland that there’s someone in Berlin who does guided tours of Berlin Wall sites. I envy your trip: there’s so much cold war espionage potential in where to go. Enjoy the break whatever you do though.

    Like

    1. We did get to a long stretch of wall next to the Topographie of Terror museum but because we didn’t have time to do any research or even to read this comment before I went (we only had 36 hours after booking (22 hours after we celebrated a bit too much). Three days isn’t enough to cover anything but it was a great experience and remarkably easy to traverse the city as well. I could do with a fortnight next time to get a real handle on the place.

      Like

  6. Wishing you abundant rest and rejuvenation during your mini sabbatical 🙂

    Like

  7. Hope you’re having a great time away and making the most of your well-earned break. I’m intrigued and look forward to hearing all about your adventures – note I did not add the word ‘mis’ to adventures…See you soon my friend!

    Like

    1. Apart from getting a bit lost there were no misadventures. Having a friend along perhaps curved my tendency to find and delight in them as they are happening because I always have one eye on how much they will amuse you all. I did manage to cram in quite a lot though, of which you shall be treated to in upcoming posts.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, much further than Halfway, although I am sure I was halfway to many places as well. I went to Berlin hoping for plenty of awkward situations with which to amuse you but alas the holiday was a sedate affair of which there will be many posts.

      Like

  8. My breaks from the WP seem to be getting longer & longer. Every time I try to catch a break … Life!
    Hey – it’s all good though.
    Always wish you well.
    And – see ya’ when I see ya.

    Like

    1. I’ve noticed a lot of the people I grew up blogging with seem to be taking longer breaks, I do miss the old crew all chatting and avisiting each other but it is always wonderful to see you around my friend and I’ll always be around and keeping an eye out for any posts you get time to do. Stay awesome!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. The cheap nature of the flights and accommodation was the only thing, we had a night to decide and that was the cheapest. all we wanted was a place that had something cultural we could take in, we were aiming for big cities and I hadn’t really thought about Berlin so it was a pleasant surprise when it came up with favourable prices.

      Like

        1. I hadn’t, I was thinking Budapest first off because it was somewhere I hadn’t been, then I was thinking Sofia but in the end price dictated and it did good.

          Like

Share your thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.