RSS

Observations

04 Sep

~Walking in the Rain; Observations

Walking through that closed, temporarily satiated city
light bleeds through the syrupy air before pooling together, mixing colours in the shimmering liquid display of luminescence
multi storey car parks and cheap neon signs become things of beauty in the rain, the strange distortion of air making things clear to the watcher
yet pleasingly fuzzy around the edges, reminiscent of daguerreotype photos and just as timeless.

The tram lines are silent as the scent of autumn whispers through the trees bordering the graveyard
It greets me unmolested by traffic fumes
the calm of the pristine air for the untried day yet to be experienced in this magical way
for most it will not be.

It’s my own world, the rhythmic lull of the rain, cleansing the ground is my soundtrack home
those wrapped up in bed, lulled to sleep by its romantic nature without knowing this experience unique and enigmatically illusory
my Aloneness in this world only magnified by the possibility of another spectral traveller in the distance, at once both real and imagined
perhaps I am that ghost, suddenly the nature existence is something less tangible.

Save

Save

Save

Save

 
12 Comments

Posted by on 04/09/2017 in My Writings, Poetry

 

Tags: , , , ,

12 responses to “Observations

  1. shadowoperator

    04/09/2017 at 15:02

    Nice! The picture and text go together very well.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      04/09/2017 at 15:13

      I spent longer looking for a picture than I did writing the words.

      Like

       
  2. readinpleasure

    04/09/2017 at 18:47

    Trust you are doing great, Ste J. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      04/09/2017 at 23:06

      Hello my friend, I’m not doing too bad! Feeling hyped after the end of Twin Peaks too!

      Like

       
  3. Andrea Stephenson

    04/09/2017 at 18:52

    Gorgeous Ste, conjures up all the things I love about rain – you really should post more writing like this, you have a gift for it!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      04/09/2017 at 23:04

      After I publish a poem, I always want to write more but for some reason I find it hard to be inspired to words. It is a rare beast but maybe it works well as a tease for my wonderful regular readers. Rain is really underrated in my opinion.

      Liked by 2 people

       
      • Purpleanais

        05/09/2017 at 11:05

        I agree about rain being underrated – and this is lovely.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          05/09/2017 at 15:28

          Thank you, I finally got around to dabbling again after a long uninspired period. Finishing work had added to my good mood of course!

          Like

           
  4. Clare Pooley

    04/09/2017 at 22:29

    Beautiful!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      04/09/2017 at 22:58

      Thank you! The weather is a welcome inspiration after so long without a poem!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  5. Asha Seth

    05/09/2017 at 07:14

    A solitary walk in the rain, inviting everything that comes along, as nature unfolds around us, is one the rarest joys of life.
    This was a refreshing read, J.
    How’ve you been?

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      05/09/2017 at 15:25

      I’ve been okay, doing the usual as I do! It is a wonderful thing, when you get that right amount of rain to enjoy without being deluged. Glad you liked it.

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
