RSS

Sunset Satisfaction

31 May

Wandering around the curve of the coast, away from the Costa de Oro beach resort (photos of that up next post or the one after), jumping over rocks, it was my first chance to see a sunset in the Southern Hemisphere.  This excitement was only slightly tempered by all the rubbish that had been dumped at this beautiful spot.

There was a sense of calm, away from the beach goers and a pleasant silence as we perched on one of the many angular rocks.  The whole place was ours for the moment.

There was some excitement when we thought the sun would sink between the islands but it veered off as the sun usually does, which is of course what we all know causes global warming.

The speed of the descent was surprising but also allowed for all these shots and lots more to be taken in the space of no more than ten minutes.

Accompanying clouds were given a myriad of different colours during the descent and all the yachts and boats were wonderfully silhouetted.  I got the feeling that this is how to live life properly.

Then finally the great fiery ball was gone and the world slowly darkened, enough to have to use a torch to get over the rocks.  It was off for another fine meal after that, which was the norm throughout my month there.

All these shots were taken at different zooms with my camera except for the first which was Crissy’s.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

 
37 Comments

Posted by on 31/05/2017 in The Philippines, Travel

 

Tags: , , , , ,

37 responses to “Sunset Satisfaction

  1. renxkyoko

    31/05/2017 at 13:51

    Where is that beach located , Ste J ? Most probably Batangas ? ( coz it’s rocky ) . Also, You’ve seen Taal Volcano, right ( the smallest volcano in the world, and very active ) . It’s in Batangas.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      31/05/2017 at 13:54

      It is in Batangas but I didn’t know anything about Taal volcano and we chose not to see El Fraile island. I am sure I will catch it next time!

      Like

       
      • renxkyoko

        31/05/2017 at 14:00

        Awww, you guys should have gone there. The scenery is nice, and there are lots of good restaurants with a view of the volcano. The volcano is in the middle of Taal Lake, almost submerged, but you can see steam coming out of the mouth. Next time, okay ? It’s very close to Manila.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          31/05/2017 at 14:14

          Just checked out the map, we went near it as we pootled over to Tagaytay so it isn’t too far, just a jeepney, red bus and coach haha!

          Like

           
  2. Jill Weatherholt

    31/05/2017 at 14:51

    Your photos are fantastic, Ste J! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      31/05/2017 at 15:06

      I was lucky to have my camera on me, it was a lovely evening that one, one of the best. Thank you for your continued support my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  3. shadowoperator

    31/05/2017 at 17:30

    With respect to Crissy’s photo, I think I still like the very last photo best, because it has those pink and purple tones of late sunset that have the true gentle melancholia of the end of the day. But all the photos were lovely! Good on you guys!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      01/06/2017 at 17:40

      Melancholia, yes that is the best way to describe that post sunken sun feeling, that brief silence as if everything laments the sun disappearing and then everything kicks in as the light really starts to fade. Very happy with the results, which is rare indeed when I take photos.

      Like

       
  4. samta kumawat

    01/06/2017 at 02:21

    Fantastic photography …

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      01/06/2017 at 17:41

      Thanks! It was more the wonderful setting than my skills as a photographer that is to thank but I don’t mind taking a bit of the credit!

      Like

       
  5. Lyn

    01/06/2017 at 08:16

    WOW! They are absolutely gorgeous photos, Ste. They’d look wonderful framed on the wall 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      01/06/2017 at 17:33

      When I was taking them, I can never tell how they will look on the big screen instead of that computer screen so it really is sheer fluke that some of them came out. Having said that the scene was so lovely, I couldn’t have failed to find a few good shots.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  6. Liz Dexter

    01/06/2017 at 08:28

    Lovely photos, thank you for sharing them!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      01/06/2017 at 17:38

      Glad you like them, couldn’t believe my luck seeing it so soon and of course the resort was pretty nifty too. which shall get around to showing soon!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  7. macjam47

    02/06/2017 at 00:33

    Fantastic photos of an incredibly beautiful sunset. How could you leave?

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/06/2017 at 13:02

      It was a challenge but there was some equally if not more beautiful things still to see.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  8. Clare Pooley

    02/06/2017 at 01:11

    I agree with all the others – great photos of a beautiful sunset, Ste J!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/06/2017 at 13:03

      Thank you, it was a moment that will stay with me for many a year.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  9. Resa

    02/06/2017 at 18:33

    Really gorgeous!! It’s hard to believe you were gone a whole month! I hope it went nice and slow for you.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      03/06/2017 at 11:08

      Apart from the last week, it did go slow, although as Dinner is later in the evening, it took me ages to get my head around the fact that it was indeed later than normal for me. A month was barely enough time to experience the culture properly.

      Like

       
  10. Christy B

    03/06/2017 at 18:26

    I like how you catch the descent of the “great fiery ball” here. You are so kind to share these photos from your time away xx

    Like

     
  11. Chelsea Brown

    03/06/2017 at 18:40

    Those pictures of that beautiful sunset look amazing. I love the colors, and the shimmer on the water. That truly would be, “how to live life properly.”
    I’m glad that you enjoyed your holiday. I’m looking forward to hearing more about your Journeys.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      05/06/2017 at 16:45

      Loads more to come, it feel like ages since I have spoken to you. My Facebook app on the phone stopped working so I only get on there when on the laptop but as I want to crank up the amount of posts I write a month then I should be on a lot more.

      Sunsets really are a thing of immense beauty and different every time!

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Chelsea Brown

        14/06/2017 at 22:33

        This pleases me I can’t wait to hear more of your adventures. It has been quite a while since our last conversation, but I shall be on the lookout for an upcoming Fb message from you. I hope you’ve been enjoying your holiday.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          26/06/2017 at 11:24

          Apologies for not FB’ing you, I haven’t been around much recently but am back on it now and fear not, I have a bunch more posts lined up to make you jealous.

          Liked by 1 person

           
  12. Andrea Stephenson

    03/06/2017 at 21:01

    Amazing sunset Ste, I’m not surprised this made you feel that this was the way to live properly – sunsets have that power 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      05/06/2017 at 16:50

      Each one so different as well, it felt idyllic to be sat there, just existing.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  13. LuAnn

    10/06/2017 at 00:00

    Beautiful shots Ste J! So glad to see you off on holiday.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      26/06/2017 at 11:17

      It was nice to get away and for a long time as well. I still have a ridiculously good tan, which is odd for me.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • LuAnn

        29/06/2017 at 13:00

        Didn’t think you folks across the pond had the tanning gene. 😉

        Like

         
  14. Asha Seth

    01/07/2017 at 08:26

    I love sunsets.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/07/2017 at 21:41

      Happy to give you another to enjoy.

      Like

       
  15. Maniparna Sengupta Majumder

    02/07/2017 at 20:10

    So serene and beautiful!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/07/2017 at 21:47

      It really was, I couldn’t believe my luck.

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
