RSS

Philippine Back A Few Days Now

16 May

I am finally back with a tan, photos, great and sometimes – mostly – unexpected experiences, and a whole lot of things to say about my escapades. Whilst I get all the photos and notes sorted for that, not to mention my sleeping pattern and such, I can, to keep up this spirit of the blog’s original intention introduce you to the books I procured whilst over there in the sun.  Also a quick thanks to Dreaming Robot Press who this morning offered me a review future copy of The Young Explorer’s Adventure Guide 2018.

First a note on the bookshops, I only visited three surprisingly, one had pretty steep prices for second-hand books but seemed more reasonable for new books oddly; a chain called National Book Store, which was one of those shops that has more gift ideas than books.  It’s always a sad state of affairs seeing the books diminish and the choice was lacking in my opinion, unless you are a fan of bestsellers that is.  My taste for obscure gems I so love to find was reserved for Fully Booked which had the best selection and a sexy set of Penguin Classics that had me caressing the spines with a one track mind.

To the books though and there seems little point in going to a country if you aren’t going to immerse yourself in its past, especially one which isn’t so popular on Western shelves.  Having chosen to start reading José Rizal’s incendiary classic, Noli Me tángere (Touch Me Not) for the journey (of which a review is coming soon),  I nevertheless picked up some books which will give me some insight into this fascinating country, which I can’t wait to visit again.

Picking up Philippine Football: Its Past, Its Future, I couldn’t help thinking Sarah would be extremely proud of me, especially as I picked this up on the opening weekend of the inaugural season of the Philippines Football League.  Lessons from Dad given to me by Crissy (more of whom in later posts) is an intriguing and wholly unexpected read which promises to be something different for me, dealing as it does with life and family lessons from the head of one of Asia’s largest and most diversified conglomerates JG Summit Holdings.

Dusty Trails, my final offering was found in a café that is full of books and I had to have this collection of true stories about ranchers, cowboys and pioneers of North Eastern California.  For some reason I needed to have it and the owner of the private collection – that was just meant for reading whilst enjoying good food and drink – was kind enough to recognise the infatuation of a fellow book lover and let me buy it.

An interesting mix of books I hope you agree, I even left a book about Nicaragua and the Catholic Church amongst others on the shelves but then again that is one of the many reasons to go back.  Full photo and posts will be up soon as will my slowly catching up with you all, it’s good to be back writing (although I have a suspicion that it could be written better) and there is plenty to recommend the people and places of the Philippines to the prospective traveller.

I did this a couple of times too…

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

 
48 Comments

Posted by on 16/05/2017 in Lists/Ephemera, The Philippines, Travel

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

48 responses to “Philippine Back A Few Days Now

  1. Alastair Savage

    16/05/2017 at 18:02

    Excellent! The only cultural contact I have had with the Philippines is watching Apocalypse Now, which was filmed there. Well worth a watch if you’ve never seen it.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      16/05/2017 at 18:13

      Brilliant film which looks fantastic on Blu-Ray, Platoon also had some scenes shot there too. I think I need another war film binge now, to take me up to Dunkirk which looks like it could be very good.

      Like

       
  2. Jeff

    16/05/2017 at 19:55

    The introduction text looks a good idea for anyone visiting. I read John Ardagh’s France Today before I first set foot in Paris. Did you do a lot of walking through the streets of Manila?

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/05/2017 at 14:42

      I didn’t do much walking, the streets are a challenge to cross and it is the done thing to get anywhere. For 12p per jeepney ride, I could get around easily. I chose to do no research having people I knew over there to guide me, so I could be surprised at everything. It was a curious feeling of vulnerability but with the knowledge I wasn’t totally on my own if problems arose.

      Like

       
  3. Jill Weatherholt

    16/05/2017 at 21:19

    Welcome home, Ste j! I’m happy you had a nice trip and got a little sun. 🙂 That photo is hilarious!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/05/2017 at 14:19

      Thank you, the trip was amazing and it didn’t drop below 34 all the time I was there, which was a challenge. The traffic situation takes some getting used to as well but it isn’t uncommon to do as the photo suggests.

      Like

       
  4. renxkyoko

    16/05/2017 at 21:20

    * shivers * Can’t wait to read your experiences. Aaaaargh.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/05/2017 at 14:27

      Sorry for the delay in them, stupid body clock was being awkward but expect the posts to start coming soon.

      Like

       
      • renxkyoko

        31/05/2017 at 13:47

        By the way, that book by Arcilla, a Jesuit priest, is a very good intro to Philippine History.

        Also, I’ve forgotten the author of the book, but the title is The Miseducation of the Filipino.

        The book that I’ve read 2 or 3 times, my mother’s college history textbook is The History of the Filipino People by ____ Agoncillo.

        Philippine traffic is indescribable. To see is to believe.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          31/05/2017 at 13:58

          I heard Arcilla’s book was a standard text for universities so I had to have it, I am looking forward to understanding the country a lot more. I will check out The Miseducation of the Filipino, so many good books to read, I am looking forward to getting stuck in.

          I think I will be doing a whole post on the traffic alone…

          Liked by 1 person

           
          • renxkyoko

            31/05/2017 at 14:13

            You can write a thesis on Philippine traffic. Our house there is about 2.5 km to the main gateof the subdivision, but it takes about an hour to get there. It’s insane.

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              31/05/2017 at 14:16

              We travelled around an hour and a half to our subdivision, if I could tell my pre-Philippines self anything it would be to just get an idea of the traffic before I go. I remember you telling me about it months ago but as you say, you have to experience it to understand.

              Liked by 1 person

               
              • renxkyoko

                31/05/2017 at 14:25

                Outside our subdivision’s gate is South Super Highway( that’s the road going to Batangas ), but take note, it’s just 2.5 km from house to the gate. It’s spitting distance but it takes an hour to get there. ! ( My mother said the traffic started when the subdivision turned over the once private road to the municipal government. So, the road was opened to the public, and it’s now used as a short-cut to so many places without using the highway.

                Liked by 1 person

                 
  5. Resa

    16/05/2017 at 22:19

    Welcome back, my fave jay walker!
    I look forward to your pics and tales. Your love of books got a collector to give up a piece of his collection to you. Amazing!
    Now that you are back, I can do a thank you post for the 2 kids’ book reviews I used on Kids’ Month. 😀

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/05/2017 at 14:29

      Lots of photos and words coming your way, apologies for the delay in being back properly, my body isn’t as ready to switch sleeping times as my mind is. I will be over to your blog tomorrow though as I need to do some catching up with everybody.

      Like

       
  6. Sheila

    17/05/2017 at 01:51

    Welcome back! Sounds like a perfect blend – books, jay walking, and history. I agree it’s much better to immerse yourself in the place while traveling and it’s always fun to read about the history to get a better feel for it. I hope you didn’t get into any trouble in that bookstore after “caressing the spines with a one track mind.” Thanks for making me laugh with that one!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/05/2017 at 14:37

      I was too absorbed to notice all the funny looks I assume I got haha. Sadly there are so many countries that I know so little about but I aim to redress that and explore The Philippines thoroughly, in books at least, it looks a bit dodgy in the south of the country with Islamic terrorists at the moment.

      Like

       
  7. Lyn

    17/05/2017 at 02:36

    Glad you had a good time Ste, and glad to have you back. I had a Filipino penfriend when I was fourteen. We wrote regularly for years, then lost track when I moved. He took a chance and sent a letter addressed to my last known area : Blacktown, NSW Australia. It actually reached me.

    LOL we’re both in our 60’s now and he lives in America. I wrote about him in my blog about five years ago https://theencouragingscribe.wordpress.com/2012/07/30/from-headhunters-to-helicopters/

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/05/2017 at 15:29

      That’s an extraordinary bit of luck, I will pop over to the blog and have a read, post haste!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  8. Sarah

    17/05/2017 at 08:01

    A book on Philippine football – what a find! Glad to see you have your priorities in good working order. Can’t wait to see some pics and read more about your travels. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/05/2017 at 14:05

      Next time I am over there, I will try and catch a match or two. The photos are coming soon!

      Like

       
  9. Mika

    17/05/2017 at 10:48

    i love shopping at fullybooked! I usually buy my mainstream books from National bookstore. Nbs is generous too they love having giveaways and stuff and I won once hahaha https://poshtofu.wordpress.com/2017/02/08/thank-you-national-bookstore/#more-4541..

    I really wish we had bumped into each other while u were here haha. I inhabitated these bookstores. Maybe we had met but didnt know it?

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/05/2017 at 14:16

      Its entirely possible as we probably spend lots of time there, we would have been too absorbed in the books to see each other.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  10. macjam47

    17/05/2017 at 12:42

    Welcome back, Steve. I surmise you had a great time from the looks of your book haul.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/05/2017 at 14:04

      It was an amazing time and now jet lag has departed, I shall get about writing up my experiences.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • macjam47

        23/05/2017 at 14:17

        Sounds like a promise to me. I look forward to reading about them.

        Liked by 1 person

         
  11. Liz Dexter

    17/05/2017 at 14:33

    Welcome back! A lovely diverse set of books and yet not one in the post from me as I’d promised. Oops.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/05/2017 at 14:12

      I am sadly lacking on my promise too. We will get there eventually.

      Like

       
  12. Letizia

    17/05/2017 at 21:08

    I can’t wait to read your reviews as I’ve never been to the Philippines so will travel vicariously through you and through the pages of the books that you recommend!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/05/2017 at 14:26

      You are welcome to join me on my journey as I potter around The Philippines looking slightly bemused a lot of the time. I already have one Filipino book to recommend but I will keep that for a review because I like the drama.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  13. Clare Pooley

    18/05/2017 at 13:54

    Welcome home, Ste J! Glad you had a good holiday 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/05/2017 at 14:03

      Thank you, I have missed you all. It was an amazing time and much to write about now that I have my act together.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  14. Andrea Stephenson

    21/05/2017 at 22:08

    I’ll look forward to reading more about your trip Ste and the interesting books you found there.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/05/2017 at 14:34

      Thank you, I expect to be more prolific now that the rain has sufficiently welcomed me back home.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  15. anna amundsen

    22/05/2017 at 10:18

    Welcome back, Ste! Sounds like you had a good time out there in the sun. Looking forward to reading more… You’ve brought an interesting bunch of books – ‘Lessons from my Dad’ I find to be the most appealing one.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/05/2017 at 14:32

      Yes, that is an intriguing gift I received, I am just catching up on Anthony Powell’s Autumn omnibus of A Dance… before I can start with the masses of choice for a next book. Travel posts will start coming this week.

      Like

       
  16. shadowoperator

    24/05/2017 at 13:03

    Welcome back, Ste J! Knowing you, the jaywalking was to get from a second-hand bookstore on one street corner to a first edition bookstore on the opposite street corner! Can’t wait to hear about your adventures, both real and real-biblio!!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      24/05/2017 at 16:26

      Surprisingly I didn’t visit too many bookshops, I think because I wanted to experience the country too much, America and Europe are the norm in terms of what I see on the news or read about whereas Asia is more unknown and totally different culturally. I am hoping to get my first proper post up tomorrow.

      Like

       
  17. readinpleasure

    24/05/2017 at 14:11

    Welcome back my dear friend. 🙂 When you are settled maybe you could then find time to write that review of my book on Amazon for me. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      24/05/2017 at 16:37

      Yes, I shall do, did you mention this before? If not it was a dream. If you did, then I shall blame the bodyclock which decided to regress to eight hours in the future and leave me stranded somewhere in between. It shall be up within a day or two.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • readinpleasure

        26/05/2017 at 09:50

        lol. a dream most likely. thanks my friend.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          26/05/2017 at 14:08

          I have the Amazon tab up so will post within the hour…so many tabs so little time!

          Liked by 1 person

           
  18. Lucy

    24/05/2017 at 17:01

    Looking forward to photos of your trip! I am always fascinated by road-crossing in other countries, it’s amazing how many happily place the responsibility and blame for accidents on pedestrians, we’re spoiled over here!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      26/05/2017 at 14:11

      Our attitude of ‘they’ll stop, it’ll be fine’ just doesn’t cut it. Having said that I do like the drama of knowing the simple exercise of crossing a bit of tarmac can be like the final fifteen minutes of The Expendables…kind of.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  19. Nicholas Conley

    25/05/2017 at 21:41

    Can’t wait to read about the experiences! And oh yeah, crossing the street in many countries is quite an experience unto itself…

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      26/05/2017 at 13:55

      Germany was bad enough with crossing the road but at least I felt semi aware of where the danger was coming from. It’s a good blog post idea though, crossing the street.

      Liked by 1 person

       

Tell me stuff...

 
