RSS

Women Everywhere!

08 Mar

As you probably know it’s International Women’s Day today. which is a handy time to show my appreciation to all my lady friends and readers who are always writing inspiring reviews of wonderful books, especially those of women.  Thank you and big shouts outs go to Letizia, Claire, Lynn, Ali, Lucy and Sarah amongst others for championing such books and in particular the Virago series.

Reflecting on this blog as I often do, there is a disparity of the sexes, mainly because I pick up whatever I fancy rather than focussing on gender but thanks to numerous bloggers out there.  Still over the last eight or so months I’ve been keeping my eye out for a more diverse range of books to add to the collective.

Special thanks to Lynn for telling me about the Green spines and the apple thereon of Virago which allowed me to skim quickly over the shelves and not be tempted by many other books as I wandered around the charity shops in search of fresh books.  Over the rest of the year, I am hoping to give more balance to what I read and hopefully get more of an understanding of a wider range of literature which is always an exciting prospect.

For some reason I have been saving Irène Némirovsky’s Suite Française until I have read all her other books but will probably dive into that soon as there is a lack of different titles down the local bookshop.  There are also plans afoot to search for more of Baroness Orczy‘s Scarlet Pimpernel deries, as well as experiencing Susan Sontag and Rebecca West for the first time.  Returns to Woolf, Anne McCaffrey’s Pern series, Susan Hill and Barbara Kingsolver are also on the cards.

It’s a good time to visit and revisit literature written by women and as ever I am hungry to discover more authors and challenges if anybody cares to share their favourites.

 
39 Comments

Posted by on 08/03/2017 in Blogging, Fiction

 

Tags: , , , ,

39 responses to “Women Everywhere!

  1. Asha Seth

    08/03/2017 at 15:08

    Some good books I need to catch up with.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      08/03/2017 at 15:10

      Catching up with the relentless list of books shared is a challenge that will last us all of our life my friend!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. litmindssite

    08/03/2017 at 15:17

    Tsitsi Dangarembgwa (Nervous Conditions), NoViolet Bulawayo (We Need New Names), Petina Gappah (An Elegy for Easterly), Chimamanda Ngozie Adichie (Half a Yellow Sun), Gloria Naylor (The Women of Brewster Place), George Elliot (The Mill on the Floss)… amazing women these! Thanks for making me remember

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      08/03/2017 at 15:25

      Thank you, I’ve heard of of but not read any Eliot and Adichie, the others are new to me but looking forward to checking them out.

      Like

       
  3. Lucy

    08/03/2017 at 15:38

    I really like Stevie Smith, I think she’d have been really interesting to know personally, preferably to work in an office with. And I’d Thomas Hardy on reception, prophesying doom, and Hemingway shooting up the photocopier.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      08/03/2017 at 15:45

      The Stevie Smith book is the first Virago I have put on my new reading pile called ‘The Reading Pile of Guilt’ which is all those books I should have read but have failed to do so. It is the first thing I see in the morning which is probably not advisable. I want to work in that office, with Edgar Allen Poe sobbing in the corner and Dylan Thomas coming in after lunch pretending to be totally sober.

      Like

       
  4. Purpleanais

    08/03/2017 at 15:47

    I love that you always introduce me to new titles. It is amazing how you can be a bookworm and STILL have so much to read…you can read for years and there are still hidden or forgotten gems waiting for you…I love that! Great post 😀

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      08/03/2017 at 15:52

      It makes me despair sometimes, all the great books out there and such a short amount of time to read them all in. Having a blog is great for sharing but the amount of new books that is added to the list from other blogs just adds to my joyous burden. I still have hundreds of books on my shelves to review so hopefully I will be able to send more great titles your way soon enough!

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Purpleanais

        16/03/2017 at 13:03

        I feel the same. I despair that I’ll never be able to read everything I want to! But I’ll certainly give it a good shot 😉

        Like

         
  5. Liz

    08/03/2017 at 16:04

    What a great post! I’ve been loving the work of Elizabeth Strout and Marilynne Robinson recently – stunning writing by both. So much good stuff out there – we are all very lucky.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      08/03/2017 at 16:12

      Strout rings a bell with me, I am sure I’ve come across that name somewhere recently. You are right we are lucky to have a wealth of great writers at reasonable prices too. I’m hyped for my next bookshop trip now, although that won’t be for a while sadly.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Liz

        08/03/2017 at 16:14

        An enforced delay will likely make the eventual trip all the sweeter. Enjoy savouring the wait!

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          08/03/2017 at 16:18

          This is true and I do have a ridiculous number of book queued up to read anyway but that never seems to be the point. It’s great to add to the list of future purchases that tantalise, nonetheless.

          Liked by 1 person

           
  6. heavenali

    08/03/2017 at 16:24

    Lovely post Ste, thanks for the shout out. I do love my green Viragos (some of those pictures I don’t even have!) I will be reading some more lovely Viragos later this month.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      09/03/2017 at 15:24

      I love the distinctive colour of the Virago covers and am grateful for all the reviews which just encourage the ruination of my wallet.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  7. shadowoperator

    08/03/2017 at 21:23

    “Diana of the Crossways,” since you mention it and have a picture of it, is a great work of feminist literature, even though written by George Meredith, a male author. His “The Egoist,” for its portrait of a woman married to an egoist as well as of the main character, is also very good. And if you’re doing Barbara Kingsolver, she’s just good in all ways, whether fiction or non-fiction, but I’m very partial to her novel “Prodigal Summer.” Have fun!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      09/03/2017 at 15:07

      I have heard of The Egoist when reading up on Mr G. I incorrectly assumed Virago was strictly a women’s only publishing house, not that I have explored in too greater depth, I just pick them up when I see them. I need to read The Lacuna before I can justify yet another purchase but am looking forward to reading that…when I find it that is, there are so many books I still don’t know the places of by heart in my collection.

      Like

       
      • shadowoperator

        09/03/2017 at 19:50

        I’m not sure, but I think I reviewed “The Lacuna” at one point (my tags and categories are not well done, so it might be hard to find by that method if I did). At any rate, it’s a work heavily based on fact, the real life of a group of artists and political figures. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it too.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          10/03/2017 at 15:28

          I remember reading it, we had the discussion after I reviewed Padura’s The Man Who Loved Dogs, in fact it was that discussion that made me buy The Lacuna. I have been eyeing it up for a bit, now that TMWLD has settled in my mind.

          Like

           
  8. Sheila

    08/03/2017 at 21:35

    Barbara Kingsolver is a big favorite so I’ll be excited to see what you think of her books. I’ll make sure to check out the blogs you listed because Letizia and Claire are also big favorites but I don’t think I’ve visited the others. You might like Ursula Le Guin for science fiction. I recently read The Dispossessed and loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      09/03/2017 at 13:39

      I have Kingsolver’s The Lacuna somewhere which needs a read and The Dispossessed was reviewed a while back – I forget by who just now – and that is on my list as well. Sharing the blog love always makes me happy.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  9. Lyn

    09/03/2017 at 01:13

    I’m reading this and thinking…I hardly ever read books by women then I checked the last six books I read and four of them were by women. The last one – Jadeite’s Journey by Lucinda Stein – is set in the future and contains everything you’d expect of a tale about a totalitarian society 🙂 The one before that was In the Blood by Robin L. Martinez (epic fantasy,) and before that Butterfly Bones (Sci-Fi) by Rebecca Carpenter. I’d give them all 4.5-5/5. My current read is Poor Boy Road by James L. Weaver and it’s a crime/thriller – real on-the-edge-of-your-seat stuff 😀

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      09/03/2017 at 14:20

      An intriguing list that I will start looking into. Mooching through my own past reviews, I noticed that I have read quite a few female authors. I wonder if it is just one of those things, to assume we read less women authors than we actually do. Either way it is an excuse for me to read more so I am happy.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  10. Christy B

    09/03/2017 at 01:17

    Thank you again and again for this tribute to women writers! Just when I think you can’t get any more awesome…

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      09/03/2017 at 13:24

      I like to throw out a bit of awesome every now and again just in case you forget. I look forward to reading more women writers and becoming a better reader as a result and more understanding about the serious matters that society faces.

      Like

       
  11. Resa

    09/03/2017 at 16:27

    I really like this post! Yes, I love that you celebrate women, and I also celebrate that you love reaching into any genre, by anyone of any race, creed, sex religion, etc.
    You are truly equal opportunity.
    Happy Women’s Day Ste J ⭐

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      10/03/2017 at 15:15

      I need to understand points of view, to be immersed in new ways of thinking to better myself, needing to know is compulsive and a fine reason for buying books too. Also women are awesome!

      Like

       
  12. clarepooley33

    10/03/2017 at 01:34

    I have the Virago ‘Diana of the Crossways’ by Meredith. I bought it in 1980, new for £2.50 and I think it was my first Virago Modern Classic. They publish mainly women writers but their aim is to publish books that ‘celebrate women’ so George Meredith qualifies with this book. I have also Virago’s Zora Neale Hurston’s ‘Their Eyes Were Watching God’ – another great book. I have read plenty of Stevie Smith’s poetry but none of her novels. Your post is most inspiring!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      10/03/2017 at 15:18

      Smith’s is by coincidence the book I started today. I’m really looking forward to reading more Virago books and all the charity shops seem to have a good variety which is good.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  13. anna amundsen

    12/03/2017 at 12:10

    I am thinking of becoming jealous of the green Viragos you people are able to get your hands on!
    Haven’t read any of these (nor even heard about some of them), but I’m sure they’re a treat. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      15/03/2017 at 14:46

      I started on Stevie Smith’s The Holiday which I am really enjoying and I am surprised to see so many floating around the charity shops but if the books keep reaching new readers then I am very happy.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  14. Andrea Stephenson

    13/03/2017 at 17:54

    I love the Virago books – I have a few in my collection and have read quite a few over the years – they made it easy to find great books by women.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      15/03/2017 at 14:42

      I’m on my first Virago and to begin with I thought I may have picked one of the less good ones but have since reversed my opinions completely and am looking forward to reading more.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  15. macjam47

    13/03/2017 at 20:49

    A wonderful tribute to women writers, Steve. Thank you for your endless recommendations, my friend. Barbara Kingsolver is fabulous.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      15/03/2017 at 14:47

      The Lacuna is getting close to the top of the pile, I am sure to have many more recommendations soon as I am planning to streamline all the less important things I do so I can read more.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • macjam47

        15/03/2017 at 22:51

        Sounds like an awesome plan. I need to do that, but right now with the new grandbaby due within the next two weeks, I’ve devoted my time to watching my granddaughter so my daughter-in-law can make her doctor visits and get some needed rest.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          16/03/2017 at 13:18

          Priorities only make the catching up more satisfying my friend. It is exciting times for you indeed. Sometimes I pet a cat whilst reading, not the same but it is a lot less stress haha.

          Liked by 1 person

           

Tell me stuff...

 
