RSS

Moving On and Up(stairs)

12 Dec

Finally I have returned!  After an absolutely tiring week (a fortnight ago now), which is now thankfully over, I managed to not only pack and move to Nottingham but also secure a job closer to my new home. Since then I have largely loafed about flipping my sleeping pattern which is more challenging than I remember from last year.  I did manage to unpack the majority of my books though…except for these ones pictured here, which are a moving in present to myself and a celebration of an end to seven months of night work.

MoreBooks

I only went in to look for one book (Karl Popper’s The Open Society and its Enemies) but not having been around for a while, it morphed from being a secondhand shop with familiar spines to a new treasure trove which combined into a haul faster than those Transformers did to make a really big one in the classic 80’s cartoon and merchandise machine.  I was also delighted to note the addition of some chairs and a roaring fire which will make my stays longer now.

MoreBooks2

There are as ever plenty more good books for me to get down and review and will finally be able to catch up with you all in the next couple of days as well.  It’s been too long and there has been little reading in my life of late so I will get back to it soon and hopefully help you out with a few Christmas present ideas.

Save

Save

Save

 
70 Comments

Posted by on 12/12/2016 in Life, Lists/Ephemera

 

Tags: , , , , ,

70 responses to “Moving On and Up(stairs)

  1. Alastair Savage

    12/12/2016 at 15:03

    There’s a bit of a war time theme going on there!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      12/12/2016 at 15:08

      I didn’t notice at the time, it was just stuff I pulled off the wishlist…the amount of war literature makes it almost inevitable when book shopping in a lot of cases.

      Like

       
  2. Letizia

    12/12/2016 at 15:11

    so happy to hear your move went well and that you found a job nearby. I hope the unpacking of your books means that you are feeling at home?

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      12/12/2016 at 15:14

      The books were the first out and three days later I decided to make a start on my clothes, after picking through them for things to wear the previous days. It is strange that everything has gone so smoothly recently. If I can back to writing and catching up with you guys, I will be very happy indeed.

      Like

       
      • Letizia

        12/12/2016 at 15:26

        I see you have your priorities in the correct order: books, then clothing!

        Liked by 1 person

         
        • Ste J

          12/12/2016 at 15:28

          I only sorted those out because I kept tripping over the suitcases haha!

          Liked by 1 person

           
  3. Jill Weatherholt

    12/12/2016 at 15:36

    I’m happy to hear you’re settling into your new place, Ste J. Congratulations on the new job!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      12/12/2016 at 15:43

      Thank you! It was remarkable with the timing, the week I was moving was when I got the offer so it all worked out perfectly. I shall be making up for lost time with the blogs now.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  4. Liz Dexter

    12/12/2016 at 17:46

    Congratulations on the move and job. I’ve never actually known what you do, but I hope it’s enjoyable!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      13/12/2016 at 12:15

      Thank you. I have always been stuck in the rut of retail but now I have found a job in a kitchen so hopefully I will learn more skills and see where it takes me.

      Liked by 2 people

       
      • writersideup

        13/12/2016 at 19:15

        So you went from dealing with the public to a “behind the scenes” job. Have you ever seen the WONDERFUL movie “The Hundred-Foot Journey”? One of my favorites!

        Liked by 1 person

         
        • Ste J

          14/12/2016 at 15:13

          I haven’t seen that film, will look it up though. Luckily I didn’t have to deal with the public as I was on 8pm to 5am shifts which was why I stuck it for so long but a change is good.

          Like

           
          • writersideup

            14/12/2016 at 23:53

            OK, now I have to ask—what kind of retail is from 8pm – 5am unless it’s online?

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              15/12/2016 at 16:47

              People could order at night for collecting or delivery in the morning so I did that between putting delivery away. The job was pretty mindless but paid okay.

              Liked by 1 person

               
              • writersideup

                15/12/2016 at 17:02

                Ah, I think I get it. So you weren’t actually dealing face-to-face with the public, just on the phone or internet?

                Like

                 
                • Ste J

                  15/12/2016 at 17:14

                  I avoided the people, the internet was fixed up to our headsets in some witchcrafty way and it told s where to go so we didn’t need to deal any real people

                  Liked by 1 person

                   
  5. Sarah

    12/12/2016 at 17:48

    Glad to hear the move went well Ste, if that doesn’t deserve a new book haul I don’t know what does! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      13/12/2016 at 10:51

      Any excuse really and stupidly cheap as well. After moving all the rest of my books though, I may choose to slow down on the buying now, although I feel a lot more muscley now!

      Like

       
  6. Jeff

    12/12/2016 at 19:42

    And I was only saying to my partner the other day that I’ve heard that Mansfield is a great place to live.
    Do you ever take books to charity shops, or have you had to build up a liability for moving home?

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      13/12/2016 at 11:28

      Mansfield ‘the city of dreams’ said no one, ever. I gave a few away but took most of them, I travelled relatively light with four bookcases, forty odd boxes of books and the usual clothes, crockery and such. Moving them all did make me wonder about downsizing the library somewhat in the future.

      Like

       
      • Jeff

        13/12/2016 at 18:26

        I thought Mansfield is the market town of dreams. You’ve been reading Weber again, haven’t you; you with your disenchantment of the world – stoppit!
        Gosh, I’ve been vacillating over a corner mega-bookshelf at IKEA this year and now you go messing with my head. Let me mess with yours:
        http://www.ikea.com/gb/en/products/storage-furniture/bookcases/billy-bookcase-oak-spr-89023423/
        One in each corner should deal with a few of those forty boxes!

        Liked by 1 person

         
        • Ste J

          14/12/2016 at 15:46

          My word! That is a stunning piece of beauty! I don’t think I have ever seen anything as beautiful…

          Like

           
  7. writersideup

    12/12/2016 at 22:12

    Congrats on what sounds like a welcome and advantageous move, Ste J 🙂 Yay for you! I’m very happy to hear you’ll be working days now. It’s much better for your health and life in general 😀 And oh, PLEASE, at some point take pics of what sounds like an amazing, warm, fireplace donned bookshop 😀

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      13/12/2016 at 12:36

      Thanks my friend, I shall be taking lots of photos once I have settled in, there is plenty of things to be photographed and trees everywhere which makes me happy.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  8. Jess

    12/12/2016 at 22:23

    Woot woot for a new job too!!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      13/12/2016 at 10:47

      Thank you! It will be great to learn some new skills as well, I should have done this a year or so back!

      Like

       
  9. shadowoperator

    13/12/2016 at 12:07

    Congratulations on getting settled in. This calls for a pint in a previously undiscovered pub!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      13/12/2016 at 12:10

      As soon as payday arrives, I will seek out one of these pubs and see what obscure ales it holds. It’s good to be settled in and be decluttered for the most part.

      Like

       
  10. Al

    13/12/2016 at 13:32

    Glad to see everything went well for you and your new job

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      14/12/2016 at 15:15

      Cheers mate, I start the job later on today, had a shave and everything for it, first time in about four years!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  11. Lucy

    13/12/2016 at 14:20

    Congrats on your new job and move to Nottingham, I once lived between Basford an Bulwell for about a year, which was very handy for the centre, and the book shops, and the big library 🙂

    Also, I loved Parade’s End.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      14/12/2016 at 15:28

      I am situated near the city centre end of park and ride on the forest rec. It’s student area but set back so quieter. Already I am having to be steady not to be too book mad.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  12. Nicholas Conley

    13/12/2016 at 22:52

    Glad that the move has gone well, and that you’re enjoying the new area! Even short distance moves can be surprisingly time consuming, so finally getting settled in is a wonderful feeling.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      14/12/2016 at 15:31

      The jetlag style feeling of hanging body clock was the worst bit, otherwise it would have been scarily smooth. It feels like a home now which is nice.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  13. Christy B

    14/12/2016 at 00:26

    So nice that your move is for the most part done now. You can settle in and make it a home. I like seeing your stacks of books and knowing you’re back in the blogging realm 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      14/12/2016 at 15:35

      I am all about the stacks! I really have missed visiting and writing, yesterday I spent most of my day just catching up which was great! It is good to be back.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Christy B

        14/12/2016 at 18:55

        We should have assembled a welcome back party with all of your blogging friends 🙂

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          15/12/2016 at 16:44

          That would have been awesome, almost tempted to disappear again now, the party was all mine taking the time to visit blogs and feel like a real person again.

          Liked by 1 person

           
          • Resa

            15/12/2016 at 22:59

            Welcome back! Wow, you live in Nottingham now. That sounds awesome. I hope you like your new job! 😀

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              21/12/2016 at 16:06

              The new job is alright but it is nice to be in a different place, a different atmosphere and easier access to any more graf I may see too! It is great to be back!

              Like

               
        • Resa

          15/12/2016 at 22:57

          Yes… Chrisy! I like this idea. How would one go about that?
          If not for Ste J. now, then about others, whenever?
          It seems like a block party, but a blog party. 😀

          Liked by 1 person

           
          • Christy B

            22/12/2016 at 18:07

            Resa, it’s going to have to include lots of cake! 🙂

            Like

             
  14. Chelsea Brown

    14/12/2016 at 01:03

    So glad to hear that you’re through with the moving process , and that you’re getting settled in. I look forward to reading your thoughts from the stacks above.
    Good to see you back Ste

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      14/12/2016 at 15:33

      I will be attempting quality time with the books soon and which will cheer me up. I have really missed blogging, it’s a bit addictive.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Chelsea Brown

        14/12/2016 at 17:15

        Oh yes I’ve been hooked on blogging like a, well not a bad habit, but rather a good habit. Enjoy your quality time with your books my friend.

        Like

         
  15. Lyn

    14/12/2016 at 08:34

    Glad your move went well. You’d best be on your best behaviour though, I hear the sheriff of Nottingham isn’t a very nice fellow 😉

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      14/12/2016 at 15:24

      Haha, I hope he as hammy as Alan Rickman portrayed him.

      Liked by 2 people

       
      • Lyn

        15/12/2016 at 10:07

        Wasn’t he brilliant! 🙂

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          15/12/2016 at 17:18

          It took time to grow on me but I enjoyed his version of the Sheriff, it’s like a fine wine.

          Liked by 1 person

           
          • Lyn

            15/12/2016 at 20:59

            But sadly, that particular wine is no more 😦

            Like

             
  16. writersideup

    14/12/2016 at 23:56

    I LOVED Alan’s rendition. SO funny 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      15/12/2016 at 17:20

      I am glad I am not alone in that assessment!

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • writersideup

        16/12/2016 at 01:54

        Most definitely not! One of my favorite scenes:

        Sheriff of Nottingham: Just a minute. Robin Hood steals money from my pocket, forcing me to hurt the public, and they love him for it?

        [Scribe nods]

        Sheriff of Nottingham: That’s it then. Cancel the kitchen scraps for lepers and orphans, no more merciful beheadings, and call off Christmas.

        lol!

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          21/12/2016 at 16:18

          Yes! I had forgotten, I think I will have to watch it again now…any excuse!

          Liked by 1 person

           
  17. Maniparna Sengupta Majumder

    15/12/2016 at 20:44

    Congratulations on the new job and the new house. Packing and unpacking is a nightmare to me and whenever I’m up to that, it reminds me of the ‘packing’ chapter in JKJ’s “Three Men in A Boat”… 😀

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      21/12/2016 at 16:02

      Oh yes, hoe could I have forgotten that piece of wonderful comedy, that book always makes me laugh. Jerome’s taking the joke to extremes yet stopping before it becomes unfunny is genius.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  18. Andrea Stephenson

    15/12/2016 at 21:26

    Congratulations on your move and new job, I’m sure you’ll need all those books to unwind now.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      21/12/2016 at 16:08

      I have hardly read for the last five weeks, I need to get back into it again, otherwise the blog will be in breach of the Trade Description Act hehe.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  19. clarepooley33

    17/12/2016 at 17:58

    Here I am at last, Ste! Congratulations on the move, the new job and working days again!! The book haul looks exciting.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      21/12/2016 at 16:15

      Thank you my friend, I haven’t touched any of it yet but I know it will be well worth the wait!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  20. LuAnn

    23/12/2016 at 23:52

    Congratulations on finalizing the move and getting a new job! I hope you have a wonderful holiday and the upcoming year is chock-full of amazing treasures for you, both books and some wonderful adventures.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      24/12/2016 at 20:25

      I have a feeling next year will be a better one so am looking forward to it and the changes it will bring. Have a wonderful holidays my friend and we shall share in those adventures soon!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  21. anna amundsen

    26/12/2016 at 12:55

    A wonderful moving in present you got yourself here! Great choices!
    I am happy to hear that you have settled and doing well. New home, new city, new job – it’s pretty exciting! Especially the new city part. Changes such as these tend to bring about reshapings of many different kinds. If they come, I hope they’ll be positive.
    Best of luck with all of your new things. May they bring you a heap of joy!

    Once again, happy holidays!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/01/2017 at 14:26

      It has changed my thought process on certain things so its been good, the real struggle in my life is choosing what to read next.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • anna amundsen

        02/01/2017 at 16:17

        It can be a tough choice, yes..
        All I can do is to wish you good luck with it!

        Like

         

Tell me stuff...

 
