RSS

Poetic Finale

14 Nov

Certain things, I know are lacking on this blog such as children’s books, graphic novels and poetry being the three most obvious so this week I have – hopefully – succeeded in my aim to redress one of these failings.  There is something intriguing about a form that packs so much into so little space, each word has to be weighted and measured for its precise purpose and trying to convey that has been a diverting challenge and learning experience.

dartpen

Found at Pixabay.com

Seven posts in seven days has certainly been one heck of a challenge and one that has not only been a lot of fun but also fuelled a love for poetry that I never really knew I had, having more of an eye for the novel in the past.  In choosing (and being chosen by, in one case) writers to feature, I didn’t realise I had amassed such an international flavour of poets until I began gathering my notes and panicking somewhat at my task of adequately capturing each book’s effects on me.

Reading through each one made me think in a different way about what I would write and indeed how I judged each book, with a novel it tends to be a ‘go with the flow and let it all catch up with me somewhere near the end’ job, where I distil it into word chains for the blog but poetry demands each piece is thought upon and understood before moving on.  It was really invigorating and made my squishy brain matter much more malleable for the future.

Poetry makes up some of the best literature out there, The Iliad, The Canterbury Tales, Bhagavad Gita, Through (the looking-glass) to Lewis Carroll, Shakespeare’s Sonnets and the War Poets, and now bloggers there are so much enriching and enduring collections out there that it is often easy to forget how poetry stealthily fill our bookshelves.  Poetry is innate in us and ties tight into our collective histories and cultures and the beauty is tat anybody can have a go themselves or pick up a book and be transported into another mindset.

Save

Save

 
54 Comments

Posted by on 14/11/2016 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

54 responses to “Poetic Finale

  1. Alastair Savage

    14/11/2016 at 09:19

    I think blogs are also a perfect medium for budding poets. It’s always been hard to get your work published as a poet, but blogging gives everyone a chance to reach an audience, which simply wasn’t the case in the past. In the old days, the only people who read and bought poetry books were other poets. This is apart from the bestsellers of course. I once heard that a huge, huge percentage of sales in poetry in the UK came from the work of Seamus Heaney. Everyone else was just trailing in his wake.

    Liked by 2 people

     
    • Ste J

      14/11/2016 at 09:32

      Ah, the mighty Heaney, loathed by school children everywhere. Poetry is something so easy to get into but it seems like a luxury books, one of those with not much substance due to it’s dearth of words compared to a novel, it’s a strange general idea but should be challenged. Bloggers give the poetry a human side with their comments and chats as well which greatly encourages repeat visits ad the chance for new material more often.

      Like

       
  2. Liz Dexter

    14/11/2016 at 11:07

    I really enjoyed your diversion into poetry. I don’t think I’ve ever featured a graphic novel on my blog, and only a few poetry books; I do include some children’s and more YA stuff. But each to their own choice and I love how people’s blogs reflect themselves.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      15/11/2016 at 13:18

      There are some really strong graphic novels out there, thankfully it is more than just the Marvel/DC stuff they seem to make a new film of every month. I have featured a few but I want to be more varied more often, such is my way. I will hunt some out that may intrigue you and review them as and when I can. We are a unique bunch, there is such a diverse range of blogs covering so many books I haven’t had the fortune to come across, it’s exciting.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • writersideup

        15/11/2016 at 23:56

        Ste J, chances are, when you’re thinking of GNs, you’re thinking kids, but I don’t know. I can tell you, one of the best ever–though meant for adults–is STITCHES by David Small. It’s autobiographical and AMAZING 🙂

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          16/11/2016 at 15:29

          I shall check it out! I tend to go for the graphic novels that will either provoke a reaction in me or look a bit mental. Sometime art style draws me but I won’t give examples so as not to spoil my reviews.

          Liked by 1 person

           
          • writersideup

            16/11/2016 at 16:26

            Ste J, I hope STITCHES is available over there. You most definitely will have a reaction! On the kids’ side, two of my favorites are the “Bird & Squirrel” books by James Burks (BIRD & SQUIRREL ON THE RUN was the 1st), and the “Hilo” books by Judd Winnick (HILO: THE BOY WHO CRASHED TO EARTH being the 1st).

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              18/11/2016 at 14:57

              Excellent, I shall add them to the list! Thank you.

              Like

               
  3. Andrea Stephenson

    14/11/2016 at 12:15

    Like you, I’ve always focussed more on novels. I’ve read very little poetry since leaving school, until I started blogging, where I’ve discovered not only modern poets writing on their blogs, but past poets that I’ve been encouraged to read. Well done on completing the challenge!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      15/11/2016 at 13:26

      Self imposed challenges are always the hardest, especially with work and such getting in the way but it has gotten me into the genre in a big way. Blogging has such an impact on our reading habits, reading is so much richer these days.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  4. writersideup

    14/11/2016 at 13:08

    You know, it’s funny, but when I was younger, I wrote poetry, and I have a brain which so easily can think in rhyme, still I’m not a fan of most traditional poetry! If it’s cryptic at all, I simply don’t enjoy it :-\ I don’t know if that will ever change, honestly.

    You should be VERY proud of accomplishing the “post every day” for 7 straight! I know I’ll never do it! lol And you most definitely shouldn’t consider the lack of children’s books and graphic novels (no longer poetry) as failings. If and when you decide to get to that, you do 🙂 If you don’t, you don’t 😀 I can tell you, when I set up my two blogs, I had (and still have) so many blog post ideas and intentions I now KNOW will never happen. Life just doesn’t allow for the many things we’d like to accomplish.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      15/11/2016 at 13:59

      I will get to children’s books and graphic novels, it is something that will diversify the blog more and I am all for that. It is a shame you won’t be able to achieve some of your ideas, never give up on them, you never know what may happen and if it is possible, you can always collaborate if that helps as well.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • writersideup

        15/11/2016 at 16:58

        You’re such a sweetheart, Ste J 🙂 ❤ As far as the blogs, they are only part of the many things I want to achieve, writing my novels actually being the most important yet most neglected for years. Too many interests, too many problems, too many "everything" all make it difficult to balance and prioritize. SOMEday! 😀

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          16/11/2016 at 15:31

          It is a nightmare, I have the blog primarily and it takes up so much time. Take today spent six hours visiting people and commenting. It really is an epic amount of time in a day. Good luck with all your endeavours though!

          Liked by 1 person

           
          • writersideup

            16/11/2016 at 16:58

            Thank you, Ste J 😀

            For probably a year (I think more), when I was really becoming active online, I was spending most of my days doing just that—reading blogs and commenting. There were so many! And when my life forced me to pull away, I became very inactive, blog-wise. I miss it and don’t simultaneously. Life simply doesn’t allow for all of it and I’m always torn as far as where I should be and for how long. It’s a struggle, for sure :-\

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              18/11/2016 at 14:55

              It is, I find myself planning a schedule and then being very flexible with it. It is a challenge but it always feels good to be posting and chatting with people, whether online or off.

              Liked by 1 person

               
              • writersideup

                18/11/2016 at 16:04

                Agreed! That’s the thing when you’re a social person lol

                Like

                 
  5. shadowoperator

    14/11/2016 at 22:57

    My brother’s favorite poem (as of a few years ago, anyway) was “Weighing In,” from Seamus Heaney’s “The Spirit Level.” I don’t feel happy about it, the perspective seems a little too harsh for me, but it’s an impressive work. If you haven’t read it, have a look at it sometime. If you want to, that is. Far be it from me to dictate to the man who gets around to so many books!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      15/11/2016 at 13:04

      Add away my friend, I don’t think I have a copy of anything by Heaney except for Beowulf which needs a read at some point. I am looking at adding more poetry and the second hand bookshop most local to me has added a lot of new stock recently which cheers me.

      Like

       
  6. clarepooley33

    14/11/2016 at 23:15

    I have enjoyed this poetry week very much. You’ve introduced me to poets I would never have heard of without you.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      15/11/2016 at 12:58

      Thank you my friend, it was a worthwhile challenge and I am glad I made the effort. Sharing books really has become something the blog world does so well and I am happy to do my bit. So many books (not to mention new places, new ways of thinking and so on) have come to me through blogs that to give something back makes me happy.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  7. Asha Seth

    15/11/2016 at 09:31

    I still find good poetry very rare and highly intimidating. Every attempt I make at putting one together, the final piece somehow belittles me. On a second note, I’ve come across very few present-day poets whose works are really outstanding. I love Vikram Seth’s poems though. His works are bloody brilliant.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      15/11/2016 at 14:09

      I heard that Seth (whom I should check out) put some of his poems to music so I wonder if he will win a music prize as the opposite applies for the Nobel prize for Literature. You shouldn’t find poetry intimidating with the books you read my friend, you should get involved with it as you give yourself too little credit.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Asha Seth

        17/11/2016 at 04:54

        Yes, I try, J. But feeling mediocre when I encounter the greatest works tags along.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          18/11/2016 at 14:54

          The greatest became the greatest through their writing, the learning process. Keep writing my friend and don’t feel down about your work, seek out the thoughts of writers and carry on refining your style. Never lose heart.

          Liked by 1 person

           
  8. Sheila

    16/11/2016 at 18:56

    I love poetry but I don’t read it often enough. The novels I love the most are written in a poetic way though, so I should probably read more poetry. Thank you for introducing us to some great artists!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/11/2016 at 14:45

      Poetry seems to be sidelined for novels which I can understand but now I have taken the time to immerse myself in poetry, I see the error of my ways. I find that poetry is a great way to let the mind process a novel whilst taking bite size pieces of wonderful words. I look forward to introducing more in the coming months when I get to them.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  9. Lucy

    16/11/2016 at 19:03

    There’s a great quote in one of Alan Bennett’s diaries about poetry being neat and tidy, far less mess than with a novel or play. I agree with that, and envy those who can be so beautifully concise.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/11/2016 at 15:38

      I sometimes wish I could be as concise in my posts and usually in the comments too.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  10. Resa

    16/11/2016 at 20:18

    It’s been a fun poetry week here, Ste J.
    I’ve always adored poetry, even if I didn’t always understand.
    You know, I thought poetry was a dying art form, until I started blogging. Here poetry is flourishing in its own renaissance.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/11/2016 at 15:08

      WordPress is a great platform for it, for encouraging the writing of and reading of poetry. It has been eye opening to read so many varied works and I am looking forward to reading even more and sharing it.

      Like

       
  11. Christy B

    17/11/2016 at 22:11

    Thank you for devoting an entire week to poetry and enjoying learning about the artform. By being open to new reads, we are always learning, aren’t we? Hugs

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/11/2016 at 14:33

      I love to push myself and be better with the book. You’re right we are always learning and the more we try, the more we find there is so many more wonders out there to discover. I shall certainly be reading more poetry from now on.

      Like

       
      • Christy B

        18/11/2016 at 18:50

        Happy me! I’m thinking about you reading poetry and that does make me smile 🙂 Have a great weekend, S!

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          20/11/2016 at 16:02

          Always happy to bring a smile to yourself. Have a wonderful weekend – or what’s left of it – yourself!

          Liked by 1 person

           
          • Christy B

            21/11/2016 at 20:35

            I did, I did! Actually I went offline for most of it, which was a treat. Always nice to get away from work and have a free weekend 🙂 Hope your weekend didn’t disappoint either!

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              24/11/2016 at 16:24

              Mine was all work and packing, I can;t wait until its over, getting the move out of the way will be nice too!

              Liked by 1 person

               
              • Christy B

                25/11/2016 at 18:49

                I hope your move goes smoothly, S. You deserve only good things!

                Like

                 
                • Ste J

                  12/12/2016 at 14:48

                  Thank you my friend, it was oddly smooth but then as most of the things I took were books it was a lot less complicated than I expected.

                  Liked by 1 person

                   
                  • Christy B

                    12/12/2016 at 18:22

                    Ohhh you’re back, how wonderful! I’m glad the move went smoothly and that you and your books have found a new home 🙂

                    Like

                     
                    • Ste J

                      13/12/2016 at 12:07

                      It’s good to be back, lots to catch up on but great to be reading again and even poking words together to form sentences for posts.

                      Liked by 1 person

                       
  12. Jess

    18/11/2016 at 01:14

    Hopefully your brain didn’t squish too hard ^_^
    I respect short form poetry, like flashfic, for the amazing feat of conveying a complete idea in so few words.

    Hats off to you for making it through all 7 =) I loved Rilke’s work, very beautiful… very sad =\

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/11/2016 at 15:29

      It is challenging to simply not ramble about things, a challenge I fail mostly. I am looking forward to doing less posts during the weeks now though. Everybody loves Rilke it seems, this pleases Ste.

      Like

       
  13. Nicholas Conley

    18/11/2016 at 19:23

    Great stuff!

    Like

     
  14. Gitanjali Singh Cherian

    19/11/2016 at 10:51

    I enjoyed your week with poetry and thank you for reminding me that I must read poetry more often! 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      20/11/2016 at 15:56

      Thank you for reading, it is tragic that poetry gets forgotten, it is a great reason to slow down and appreciate its form.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  15. anna amundsen

    20/11/2016 at 17:32

    We are exposed to poetry from the first days of our lives – don’t forget the lullabies!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      20/11/2016 at 17:59

      Ah very good point, sometimes the most obvious things are hidden in plain sight.

      Like

       
      • anna amundsen

        20/11/2016 at 18:11

        True.
        It would be interesting to dip into the lullabies from all over the world. I once stumbled upon some on YouTube. It was a Russian production, if I remember correctly. Lullabies sang by both men and women, made into short cartoons. Have to find that series..

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          21/11/2016 at 20:45

          I shall go have a look, the world has such a rich heritage in words and the more I am reminded the more I need!

          Liked by 1 person

           
  16. LuAnn

    27/11/2016 at 19:21

    It wasn’t until I started a blog and encountered those who wrote poetry that I began to have a greater appreciation for this type of literature. Now I am hooked.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      12/12/2016 at 14:49

      The power of blogging once again shows its fine face. It is wonderful to find a new way into things and new perspectives too.

      Liked by 1 person

       

Tell me stuff...

 
