RSS

South Bay, Rainy Day

12 Oct

After an overcast start and a forecast saying not much chance of rain, I walked out to the furthest point of Scarborough’s south bay, which was typically was when the deluge struck.  Normally this wouldn’t be a problem but being stuck on the side of a cliff on paths of slaloming sinuously into repeated chicanes, it becomes somewhat more problematic getting anywhere in a hurry.

Curvy

Hot footing it back to the town centre I hid in various bookstores (of which more in another post) before finally exiting out into a bright and sunny day.  It’s great to be here out of season with less crowds and an actual view of where you are going but balancing that is the habit the locals have of crossing my walking line at an angle to get to their destinations, which is no bother as I adjust accordingly…but when their decisive diagonal becomes a gentle arc back across my path and ends up aiming at the side of the street they just came from; well it’s a bit much and plenty of tutting has been bandied about of late, that’ll show ’em!

HarbouringHope

The sea front of this bay is much more commercial with the harbour fair and amusement arcades, accompanied with that cacophonous symphony universal to such places, that doesn’t seem to have changed since I was a child.  Mingling with this is the smell of the sea air, chips and friend onions not to mention candyfloss which is a heady and classic mix of magic to the olfactory senses.

WallOverHaul

The Town clings to the cliff and the castle looms above in a comforting way and brings to mind a dream I had a few times of floating off the headland on a plank at night, surrounded by many others in the same situation. We were waiting in the silence and then a massive flash from a huge anti aircraft gun firing from the castle which was the signal for a WWII air raid to commence as we floated.  It wasn’t in the least frightening though, oddly.

CairParavel

Things got briefly Narnian for a moment with a cheap homage (my literary mind assumes) to Cair Paravel, as I stopped to debate whether to take my sweater off knowing full well it will probably be cold again in five minutes such is the whim of the weather Gods.

WallForAll

The size of the castle walls is impressive and as I headed back to the north side for a black coffee and a warm place to write up my notes I had another surprise.  I was amazed to see a deer run along the cliff and over the path further in front of me, which was the last thing I was expecting but was a pleasant surprise to end both my wanderings and this post on.

Save

Save

Save

 
50 Comments

Posted by on 12/10/2016 in Travel

 

Tags: , , , , ,

50 responses to “South Bay, Rainy Day

  1. Jill Weatherholt

    12/10/2016 at 17:28

    Okay…I love to learn new things, Ste J. I had to Google “candy floss.” It’s our Cotton Candy! I loved that as a kid. Great photos! Thanks so much for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

     
    • Ste J

      12/10/2016 at 17:32

      It certainly brings out the kid in me being here lol. I have loads of photos but a lot of them are a bit rubbish which is partly due to my lack of mastery over the complicated technology at my fingertips. Thanks as ever for you visit my friend.

      Liked by 2 people

       
    • Liz Dexter

      13/10/2016 at 09:53

      I hadn’t realised that you cotton candy was our candyfloss, so thank you!

      Liked by 2 people

       
  2. shadowoperator

    12/10/2016 at 20:24

    Good photos, Ste J! That’s the funny thing about technology these days, though–it has so many more features than the average person would ever want to use, but in order sometimes to do the most basic things, you have first to master new rules that apply to the whole mechanism, including all those features you’ll probably never use! Why can’t they just have one button that says, “Stuff you’ll want to do, probably,” and another one that says “Stuff you’ll never find a reasonable use for”? Ha! ha! I’m glad you’re having a great time and exploring around–you’re taking photos for all of us who will probably never see these things firsthand as well.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      13/10/2016 at 19:04

      If I could tell it what I wanted then it would be so much easier, like ‘take a really good picture, use flash if you need too, capture the tone of the day and give me an idea for a non related blog post whilst you’re at it’, I mean it isn’t too much to ask in this day and age really. It is good to take photos for you though, very enjoyable to be capturing new things for you to look at, I shall change tack in my next post well my next, next post as the next one will be the book haul which doesn’t include any Powell but I finished book 2 earlier today so still have book three to read before I feel the need to pine.

      Like

       
  3. Sheila

    12/10/2016 at 20:49

    This looks like a magical place for wandering. It’s easy to imagine deer hopping around that castle to add to the magic of it all. I can sympathize with those locals – it’s not easy to walk around the tourists because they’ll stop at any moment. It does seem strange to keep walking around you like that though. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      13/10/2016 at 19:07

      It has a bit of everything including surprises like the deer, it is great to see nature surviving so close to our built up areas. People are strange but I have mastered the trick now, I just walk at them in some sort of Mad Max style homage to see whose nerve breaks first.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Sheila

        14/10/2016 at 19:25

        Hahah – good idea – I’ll have to give that a try!

        Like

         
  4. clarepooley33

    13/10/2016 at 00:58

    The weather has been like that here too. Sudden heavy downpours just when you think it’s brightening up. We also have the weavy walkers in Lowestoft and Norwich. I’m so pleased you seem to be enjoying yourself on your holiday. Off-season is the best time to visit seaside resorts.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      13/10/2016 at 19:01

      The lack of people makes up for the sometimes disagreeable weather. All the walking and the indirect nature of the paths is very pleasing and coffee always waits at the end which is always a noble reward to aim for.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  5. Lyn

    13/10/2016 at 07:12

    I would have said the same thing about those seats, Ste J — definitely Cair Paravel 😀

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      13/10/2016 at 18:56

      They would make a great vantage point after all those steps…were it not for the frequent and unpredictable rain showers.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Lyn

        15/10/2016 at 02:23

        Well, we are talking England aren’t we 😉

        Like

         
  6. Liz Dexter

    13/10/2016 at 09:54

    A lovely post and lovely pics. I can see we did Scarborough a disservice by only spending a v short time there (one day) on our recent trip up. I’m due to do a Winifred Holtby type trip with a friend up there at some stage, so will spend more time in the town.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      13/10/2016 at 18:59

      You were merely warming it up for next time on your last visit, it is certainly a town with views and much to contemplate.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  7. aliceatwonderland

    14/10/2016 at 15:55

    Oh, those pictures are so beautiful! I would love to go to England one day, money permitting. The girls and I have been watching Doctor Who lately, so we have our terrible British accents all ready to go.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      14/10/2016 at 18:23

      Which ones have you been watching? You have yourself a conversation opener to virtually anybody over here, it is actually part of our national fabric. England awaits you with the delicacies of jellied eels, spotted dick and the sport of cheese rolling.

      Like

       
      • aliceatwonderland

        14/10/2016 at 19:34

        Cheese rolling? That one I hadn’t heard of yet. We’ve seen some of the 1st Dr. Who – the unintentional hilarity in that one is great. We watched all of the 11th doctor (my favorite), some of the 12th, and are watching the 10th doctor now. My kids got me addicted!

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          15/10/2016 at 19:22

          I do love the first Doctor, such a character of many facets, the new series is also fun, of the new series I think Tennant, the 10th is my favourite but there are just so many good episodes out there, over 800 over the new and classic eras now I believe.

          Like

           
  8. Amethystmist

    14/10/2016 at 19:46

    I can tell you read a lot from some of the words and mixture of words you have used in this post. Cool about the deer!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      15/10/2016 at 19:18

      I checked it out online afterwards and apparently there are deer living on Scarborough cliffs…but in Canada! I seem to be more verbose of late which is a good thing, the more words a person uses regularly the more varied the vocabulary.

      Like

       
  9. Andrea Stephenson

    16/10/2016 at 13:31

    Scarborough just has a magic about it that I’m sure links back to my childhood but it’s also that idea of grand seaside resorts that are a bit faded but still full of atmosphere.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/10/2016 at 19:15

      It really is a huge nostalgia trip, that combination of history and recent memory is very evocative as are all those plastic buckets and spades still.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  10. LuAnn

    16/10/2016 at 16:45

    This looks like an absolutely wonderful place to visit. I must add this to the ever-growing list. I too had to Google candy floss. You are taking some fine shots my friend!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/10/2016 at 19:28

      So many places to visit my friend, so little time and money! The shots I have are the best, over 200 bad ones have been deleted so far.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • LuAnn

        19/10/2016 at 06:03

        I always delete more than I keep. And when I do the post for an area, suddenly I don’t like any of my photos. 😦

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          20/10/2016 at 09:08

          Haha, yes it is a nightmare when getting to the blog…my new tactic is post and hope in that department lol.

          Liked by 1 person

           
          • LuAnn

            21/10/2016 at 06:07

            I know that method well! 😉

            Like

             
  11. anna amundsen

    17/10/2016 at 12:28

    Was there any music coming out of pubs there? 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/10/2016 at 19:17

      I didn’t spend much time in the pub at all, except for one day when I ducked in to get out of the rain and read two thirds of an Anthony Powell novel before I noticed the day had cleared up.

      Like

       
      • anna amundsen

        19/10/2016 at 12:23

        I asked because I was interested to hear what kind of music pubs in Scarborough play…
        Two thirds of a novel? You were really into it! I suppose we are to expect your thoughts on it soon enough.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          20/10/2016 at 09:16

          Yes, I aim to be back fully blogging by the weekend and as usual have a ton of varied books to review. Unfortunately pubs these days seem to go in for the same middle of the road pop music in the days, the type that won’t scare families away and such. Not that I noticed much of it, although the odd one that has random significance to some part of my life did manage to penetrate every so often.

          Like

           
  12. Resa

    19/10/2016 at 22:04

    Lovely place, Ste J! The Weather of the Gods sounds like a great book title.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      20/10/2016 at 10:53

      You an have that title for free if you wish my friend. It was great to be away for a bit although with hindsight, a bit more focus with my reading and writing would have been better.

      Like

       
      • Resa

        21/10/2016 at 20:07

        Breaks are required!

        Like

         
  13. writersideup

    22/10/2016 at 04:15

    Ste J, I know you don’t think these photos are good enough, but in my opinion, most are actually poster worthy 😀 Thank you for sharing these, and your comments really bring them to life 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      24/10/2016 at 14:01

      Perhaps I should have more confidence in myself, I deleted about 200 shocking photos though so tat may have had an effect on my morale somewhat hehe.

      Liked by 2 people

       
      • writersideup

        24/10/2016 at 16:47

        well, I’m no expert, but am very visual from an artist’s standpoint and I always enjoy the quality of your photos—seriously! 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

         
  14. macjam47

    24/10/2016 at 00:51

    How wonderful to be able to explore such a place as this. Absolutely beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Ste J

      24/10/2016 at 13:57

      I spent ages just appreciating the views and I didn’t even get grumpy when I realised it had cut into my reading time.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • macjam47

        24/10/2016 at 15:09

        There are those rare occasions when we find that something supersedes reading.

        Liked by 1 person

         
  15. Asha Seth

    26/10/2016 at 10:28

    I like the taste of this post and the pictures make me happy. I love such hearty combinations of words and pictures where one gets a glimpse of a world not known. Miss your voice, J.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/10/2016 at 16:09

      Always happy to give you what you enjoy my friend and yes we are due to have a chat again, I will practise the voice so it sounds more lyrical to your ears lol.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  16. Chelsea Brown

    28/10/2016 at 18:45

    More of Scarborough it’s such a beautiful holiday spot. So envious. I feel like you should’ve been a photographer because those shots are fabulous.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      29/10/2016 at 15:26

      I will try to go more places and practise my snapping. More photos, what an excuse to go back! There are more places around that area which will take your fancy as well, so perhaps I will get back there when the weather is a little nicer.

      Liked by 2 people

       

Tell me stuff...

 
