RSS

North Bay, Sunny Day

10 Oct

It seems my photo snapping skills have regressed somewhat since the last time I had cause to be snap happy so apologies in advance, it may be time for a better camera that can ‘do’ the long shots better.

TeaTime

This first one is the view from my window, which shouldn’t have been my window but timing my stay for the quiet season meant an unexpected upgrade to a double room still with free breakfast.  There is something melancholy about an empty stadium, I like it.

SittingOnTheTopOfTheBay

Attempting to catch all of the north side in the few remaining house before the sun went down, I high tailed it right around the bay, which was a pleasant walk with just the right amount of breeze.

ChaletTakeAPhoto?A few colourful chalets, ideally I would have liked to get a photo closer up but surfers are still using them and my voyeuristic tendencies aren’t that invasive as of yet.

BayckAroundAgain

A view from the other side of the bay, my first photo was taken by the remains of the castle, which is the building to the leftmost of the photo.  For some strange reason, the pirate mini golf was doing a good trade, with people queueing for a fair way…for once I’m highlighting that pun as I’m rally proud of it.

RookThe castle up close is fairly unimpressive in terms of heat efficiency but well worth the wander and the calories to photo.

Save

 
38 Comments

Posted by on 10/10/2016 in Travel

 

Tags: , , , ,

38 responses to “North Bay, Sunny Day

  1. Jill Weatherholt

    10/10/2016 at 16:37

    Great shots, Ste J! Thanks for sharing. Enjoy!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      10/10/2016 at 16:44

      Thanks my friend, it’s great to be smelling that sea air.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. Sheila

    10/10/2016 at 16:45

    I love the desolate feel of these – that feeling of summers or centuries gone by. That’s about what it feels like around here these days. It’s a relief after the craziness of summer. We don’t have castles like that around here though (but we do have pirate golf). I’ll have to catch up on some of the books you’ve been reading to prepare for the long winter ahead!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      10/10/2016 at 16:56

      You have plenty of choice, I have been getting through a fair few, although I have slowed down a lot recently due to other commitments but it is tempting to ignore everything else in favour of the noble written word. ‘that feeling of summers or centuries gone by’, I like that a lot and of course pirate golf will be hear long after us haha.

      Like

       
  3. readinpleasure

    10/10/2016 at 18:17

    Lovely shots, Ste J. But pray, what is with the colours of the chalets? 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/10/2016 at 19:50

      The chalets are selection of colours although the way from seaweed green through to bright yellow, it’s great to see on a sunny day.

      Like

       
  4. Alastair Savage

    10/10/2016 at 19:49

    Yo ho ho and a hole in one. I played pirate minigolf in South Africa this year and I am not ashamed!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/10/2016 at 19:49

      It seems to be everywhere, I love how golf is more universal by sticking a straggly beard, peg leg and parrot on it.

      Like

       
  5. clarepooley33

    11/10/2016 at 02:00

    These photos are wonderful! You are too modest Ste! I love the first one of the bay with those fantastic waves. Had a couple of giggles reading this – love the pun 😀

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/10/2016 at 20:00

      It is frustrating when the camera can’t capture the detail and scope of the human eye, they do look better on the laptop than the small camera screen. I do love a good pun now and then as you may have noticed.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • clarepooley33

        11/10/2016 at 23:34

        The more photographs I take the more amazed I am at the abilities of the eye and the brain – even my feeble brain!

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          12/10/2016 at 17:24

          Haha, yes the brain is a wonderful thing, we’d be lost without our respectives!

          Liked by 1 person

           
  6. Liz Dexter

    11/10/2016 at 11:40

    Lovely photos – I particularly like the one with the waves coming in, second down. We managed to go to Scarborough earlier in the summer on the day when all the museums were closed, but there are supposed to be some good ones.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/10/2016 at 19:58

      I went to the museums years ago and have them on my list for this time as it has forecast rain for the rest of the week (naturally), shame about your timing on your visit but then again those 2p machines won’t play themselves!

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Liz Dexter

        12/10/2016 at 16:43

        Ooh, I’m not actually allowed on the penny-push machines!!!

        Like

         
  7. shadowoperator

    11/10/2016 at 13:27

    What shire is North Bay in, and what is it known for, or what is the central form of trade or commerce? Just curious (read: nosy).

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/10/2016 at 19:56

      Sorry I should have said it is actually the north bay of Scarborough in North Yorkshire. Tomorrow will be a view of the south bay in all its finery, I could get into this travel malarkey!

      Like

       
  8. Christy B

    11/10/2016 at 18:02

    If I was there I would absolutely have done that walk with you! I like the colourful chalets too as they look so cheerful 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/10/2016 at 19:54

      They looked a bit sorry for themselves yesterday with the rain which will make an appearance in my next post as it so often does over here. It was a lovely walk and blew the cobwebs away after travelling for a time.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  9. Letizia

    12/10/2016 at 13:32

    I just love the colorful beach huts all lined up like little children waiting to run into the surf!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      12/10/2016 at 17:26

      I was also tempted to be a kid as well but then I decided against getting an instant cold and being miserable for the rest of the week hehe.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  10. Andrea Stephenson

    16/10/2016 at 13:28

    That’s an interesting view from your window – and the photos are great!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/10/2016 at 19:11

      Although I am not a cricket fan, it was the best view I could have gotten being off the front, it only took me a couple of minutes to get to the sea though so it was doubly good in that respect.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  11. LuAnn

    16/10/2016 at 16:41

    Great shots. Love that castle image, something we have been seeing a lot of in France and Italy.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/10/2016 at 19:22

      I need to get visiting again now I have come back off my jaunt. I hope you aren’t too castled out hehe. Sorry I haven’t been able to catch up with you n person by the way my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • LuAnn

        19/10/2016 at 06:02

        We are not too castled out yet, although the crowds can be a bit tiring at times. We have been going at quite the pace so occasionally need a little downtime. As for meeting, I do believe it will happen someday. 🙂

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          20/10/2016 at 09:24

          It will my friend and I do look forward to that day! Touring around is a crazy balance of seeing as much as possible and trying to keep sane and appreciate it despite the hordes. I am finally starting to catch up with blogs so will be over to yours to see your latest adventures sometime today.

          Liked by 1 person

           
          • LuAnn

            21/10/2016 at 06:11

            No problem Ste J. With the pace we are keeping on our trip I am far behind on posting and on reading others’ posts. I will still be writing about Europe when I return home at this pace.

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              21/10/2016 at 11:56

              Writing is one thing but with all you have to see and experience we don’t mind waiting for a while to find out what you’ve been doing. The balance is one I am also yet to master.

              Liked by 1 person

               
              • LuAnn

                21/10/2016 at 17:57

                I obviously am not a master of any of this. 🙂

                Like

                 
  12. Resa

    19/10/2016 at 22:06

    Great shots! I’m with you on the empty stadium feeling.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      20/10/2016 at 10:44

      I like to think of all those sporting moments that had an impact on so many people and then the silence after the celebrating/commiserating ended. For me it works better with football stadiums, a lot of which have been on the same site for a hundred or more years.

      Like

       
  13. writersideup

    22/10/2016 at 03:33

    Well, I’M appreciative you spent those calories for the photos, Ste J 🙂 LOVE them, and honestly, I don’t see what’s bad about them as far as the camera (?)…me like! And those chalets! What a shot 😀

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      24/10/2016 at 14:04

      The photos look different on the small camera screen so wasn’t really sure how they would look good on the laptop screen. I did love the chalets, I don’t normally venture down that end whenever I’ve been before so it was a nice and colourful surprise.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  14. macjam47

    24/10/2016 at 00:57

    I love the little chalets and the castle is fabulous from this angle.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      24/10/2016 at 14:38

      I was on a path outside the castle as I was too tight to pay to go in but it presented a good angle and you can’t pass that up when the weather is threatening to turn in a day or so.

      Liked by 2 people

       
      • macjam47

        24/10/2016 at 15:10

        I am so glad you did, the photo is magnificent.

        Like

         

Tell me stuff...

 
