RSS

Book Haul the Nth

03 Aug

Finally I can get around to catching up with all the books I have bought in the last couple of months.  I am particularly proud of this lot as there is plenty of quality and variety which will keep me happy in the upcoming months.

WP_20160720_001Currently I am halfway through the mammoth Arguably by Christopher Hitchens and it was by no means an easy choice of pick with all the other books having an equally persuasive argument for my time and attention.  In the en it made sense to read that first so I could catch up on the many outstanding reviews that need doing, whilst not adding many more to the list in the meantime.

WP_20160719_002Hanging around bookshops is not only an exhilarating experience but also reminds me on how narrow I find my field of reading is.  When looking at one’s book collection critically, it is easy to spot many yawning gaps, which is great as they demand plugging with yet another trip and a keen eye for bargains.

WP_20160704_002Doing lots of research helps of course, finding out what my favourite writers rate highly and wishing to be taken to those places whilst wondering why such books hadn’t come to my attention before and why they are not as widely rated as they may deserve.

WP_20160719_001It turned out I bought Books, Baguettes & Bedbugs from Nottingham, rather than Boston which goes to show how rubbish my memory is outside the covers of a book. Still it is the words that move, sometimes the place of purchase is incidental, yet at others forms the feel of the book, such is the uniqueness of the reading adventure.

Today I happened upon Nottingham’s status as a UNESCO city of literature as well, which passed me by last year, with the books that continue to flow into the bookshops and into my pile, hands and memory, this is indeed a good thing.  Long may it continue, as the more I read the more gaps in my knowledge I need to fill.  this is literary bliss!

Save

Save

Save

 
69 Comments

Posted by on 03/08/2016 in Essays, Fiction, History, Lists/Ephemera, Travel

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

69 responses to “Book Haul the Nth

  1. Liz

    03/08/2016 at 21:27

    Wow, wow, wow! Can’t wait for all the reviews on this lot. What mega-fun you are going to have.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      03/08/2016 at 21:52

      Tell me about it, it keeps me bouncing around all day, thinking of how great this lot is going to be!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. Jill Weatherholt

    03/08/2016 at 23:01

    I can’t wait to read your review on Books, Baguettes & Bedbugs, Ste J. What a great title! I would have snatched that one up.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      04/08/2016 at 07:17

      I am one step ahead of you there, as are you, yourself! I reviewed it a few posts back and you commented hehe.

      Like

       
      • Jill Weatherholt

        04/08/2016 at 13:50

        Well, you can tell where my head is at…how embarrassing. 😦

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          04/08/2016 at 21:22

          With so many blogs and distractions it is easy done my friend, I bet you can never remember whodunit on murder mysteries either!

          Like

           
  3. clarepooley33

    04/08/2016 at 00:37

    I love the variety in your choice of books. I’ve only read ‘A Month in the Country’ by J L Carr and have been meaning to read more of his for years. I liked Cobbett’s ‘Rural Rides’ very much and ‘Brideshead Revisited’ too. Virginia Woolf’s ‘A Room of One’s Own’ is excellent. Some of the other books I know of but haven’t read (George Eliot’s ‘Silly Novels …’ I can’t find anywhere – jealousy!!) and others are new to me. I look forward to your reviews.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      04/08/2016 at 07:32

      I picked up the George Eliot one in Waterstones so there is hope for finding it, Cobbett is a new author to me but the mention of Orwell in the blurb as well as the rest of the blurb made it a must, especially for a £1 if memory serves me correctly. It’s just finding the time to read at the moment but the reviews shall start coming soon, I promise.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • clarepooley33

        05/08/2016 at 00:24

        I’m on my way to Waterstones tomorrow morning! It’s so frustrating having loads of books to read but no time! I quite understand – When I do have a little time to read I’m often too tired to take in what I’m reading. Really annoying. Hope you get some free time soon Ste.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          05/08/2016 at 21:08

          I have a very generous rota next week which pleases me and I hope to be getting some reviews out as well as reading a book or two as well. I hope you manage to find the book, there is usually a table full of the series, although I find that quite a few of them are placed in the fiction section, oddly, or maybe that is just a local quirk.

          Liked by 1 person

           
          • clarepooley33

            05/08/2016 at 23:00

            Sadly, didn’t get the time for a bookshop visit today 😦 Will have to try again next week. I’m pleased you have a better rota next week – enjoy the relaxation and reading!

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              10/08/2016 at 18:10

              It’s been wonderful, reading, dozing and making notes. I hope your shopping goes well next time around and you come back with more books than expected!

              Liked by 1 person

               
              • clarepooley33

                11/08/2016 at 11:01

                Good news. We are off again next week to the Peak District and I have been told about the Brierlow Bar Bookstore just south of Buxton on the Ashbourne Road. It has countless books, a nice garden and a café – heaven!

                Like

                 
                • Ste J

                  11/08/2016 at 11:12

                  I haven’t been to the Book Barn (as I always call it) in ages. There are always some surprisingly obscure titles that I manage to find and I believe they keep expanding it too which always makes me happy. I look forward to finding out about your haul of treasures.

                  Liked by 1 person

                   
  4. gargoylebruce

    04/08/2016 at 03:25

    It’s quite funny that Trotsky thought that the toiling, oppressed and exhausted had enough free time to read his book…

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      04/08/2016 at 07:19

      That’s a bloody good point, he also assumed that they had had time for a decent education as well. He should have got his glasses cleaned more often.

      Liked by 2 people

       
    • Jeff

      09/08/2016 at 21:26

      I overlooked Trotsky at University. Maybe that’s why I’m now toiling, oppressed and exhausted from the minimum wage job I spent several years getting afterwards?!

      Like

       
  5. Maniparna Sengupta Majumder

    04/08/2016 at 05:36

    Wow! That’s a COLLECTION! The “Arguably” is indeed a mammoth as far as the size is concerned!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      04/08/2016 at 07:53

      It was high time I got my teeth into a sizeable book both in terms of thought and length, when I do get to read, I find I go through it quickly too which is always a good thing.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  6. Gitanjali Singh Cherian

    04/08/2016 at 07:37

    Nice collection there Ste J! Waiting for all the reviews to come. I like the logic you used while choosing which one to read first. Given the circumstances, it was Arguably the best choice. I sometimes find I experience great anxiety when I finish a book and am trying to decide which one to read next from my huge pile! Such is the fate I guess of those who cannot stop themselves from accumulating book after book!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      04/08/2016 at 07:55

      Haha, I see what you did there! It can be crippling to have so many good books to choose from but as they are so cheap to buy the collection mounts and it is as much of a curse as a joy to pick, not that I would change that one bit!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  7. Asha Seth

    04/08/2016 at 15:45

    This absolutely is literary bliss. Which I greatly miss, at this point in time. Work is keeping me madly occupied. Dad’s birthday early this week was just a so-so. I hate it when work gets over-demanding.
    I am happy to see you though with so many books in the queue. I shall love reading the reviews.J. 🙂 I see you have a Tagore waiting in the list. I haven’t read it but have been an admirer of the Nobel laureate. Do include me in the literary proceeding with that book. All the best, with the knowledge filling. 😛

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      04/08/2016 at 21:48

      It is horrible to be missing out on reading, I feel for you my friend! Since picking up the Tagore book, he has been referenced several times in other books I’ve been reading which bodes well. I shall include you, have no worries about that, it’s always fun to share my discoveries.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Asha Seth

        05/08/2016 at 16:40

        I’m sure. I just don’t seem to be able to find the time to do reviews. There’s so many pending. I feel so terrible. 😞

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          05/08/2016 at 20:55

          Don’t worry my friend, you will get there! It is the problem with reviews, they take a long time to craft and require serious thought, I feel your pain.

          Liked by 1 person

           
          • Asha Seth

            06/08/2016 at 02:49

            Yes, it’s the seriousness that gets to me. 😂 I’d rather be writing poems. 😍

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              10/08/2016 at 18:15

              Writing is freeing, I find that after a while reviews become natural and it is just tailoring your approach to each book, having said that I have written some poor stuff which needs a future edit at the least and probably a full rewrite.

              Liked by 1 person

               
  8. shadowoperator

    04/08/2016 at 16:05

    Aha! I see you have bought “A Dance to the Music of Time”! You MUST read it next. I compel you. I insist. You are getting very, very sleepy….your eyelids are drooping….you WILL read this book next….you will…..

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      04/08/2016 at 21:31

      Haha, never had the ol’ hypnosis trick tried on me before, the problem with all these books is choosing the next one. I will do my best to pick it but can’t promise anything yet!

      Like

       
  9. Resa

    05/08/2016 at 20:56

    Testing (Hope it works now!)

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      05/08/2016 at 21:00

      Yes it’s working, you are out of the spam box!

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Resa

        05/08/2016 at 21:09

        OMG… I was a SPAM artist!

        Liked by 1 person

         
        • Ste J

          05/08/2016 at 21:11

          Haha, love it, that could well be the name of some mural somewhere! My spam box never made me feel so popular.

          Liked by 1 person

           
  10. Amethystmist

    07/08/2016 at 21:34

    Wow. Lots there. I don’t know how you take it all in. Or where you find the space to store it. My bookshelves filled up many years ago and Ive listened to 100s of books since which I borrowed. The hitchens book looks massive! The Powell ones does too… The title of that intrigues me. Well most of them intrigue me to be honest. Not heard of ‘Philogy’ before… Initially I prefer the term with my name in it 😉 Susan Sontag – good stuff. If you can get your head round it.
    Sophie (B)

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      10/08/2016 at 18:42

      All the books means I have to think more creatively about storing them which is always interesting, I have given about twenty away recently though so that helped somewhat. Both the Hitchens and Powell books over over 700 pages each, I just finished the Hitch one and it will be my next review. Powell’s is actually a collection of three books, the other seasons complete the 12 book story. Philology encompassed literature, art, history, language and culture and was as the blurb says ‘the queen of the human sciences’

      Like

       
      • Amethystmist

        10/08/2016 at 19:32

        Wow 😮 I dont usually get books much more than 320 pages long which limits me. Though with audiobooks it seems I have chosen some that are maybe longer, but I prefer not too long as I get a sense of achievement sooner and some long ones ramble on. I’ve got quite a few books on the kindle app lately. I know.. Not your style!

        Liked by 1 person

         
        • Ste J

          10/08/2016 at 19:34

          Funny you should mention the Kindle, I have a blog post coming up about books in favour of Kindles which should be up after the next book review.

          A lot of the books I read are usually less than 500 pages but my plan with a big one was so I could get down some of my reviews…which I predictably failed to do!

          Like

           
          • Amethystmist

            10/08/2016 at 20:15

            You? In favour of them? There are quite a lot of advantages actually. Its nice having the option of both.

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              10/08/2016 at 20:21

              I assure you I am not in favour of them at all lol. A choice is always nice but I will never give up my stance on this one!

              Like

               
  11. LuAnn

    07/08/2016 at 21:37

    I see lots of stellar book reviews in my future. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      10/08/2016 at 18:01

      I just finished one today…then got wind of a reblog but I am actually proud of my next review (which will be some more Hitchens), a rarity indeed!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  12. Amethystmist

    07/08/2016 at 21:38

    Ooh Ive seen some quotes from Tagore that I liked as well. Are you going to catch me up on the number of books youve read this year? I felt like Ive read a lot the past month but turns out I just started a lot of books and havent finished them.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      10/08/2016 at 18:32

      I haven’t been counting this year, however hard I try, I usually come to the conclusion that it is never enough so in order to escape disillusion I just keep my head down and read, read, read!

      Like

       
  13. anna amundsen

    09/08/2016 at 16:18

    You’ve got quite an impressive bunch of books here. Many that are on my wish list too – Powell, Waugh..”Literature and Evil” sounds very intriguing! “Rural Rides” as well..
    Noting them on my list!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      10/08/2016 at 18:34

      It was truly a great day,collecting all those books and wandering through the masses of people who were oblivious to the riches I had amassed.

      Like

       
  14. Claire 'Word by Word'

    11/08/2016 at 09:33

    That’s quite the summer reading pile to choose from! Happy Reading!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/08/2016 at 11:14

      I was amazed I managed to find so many titles in such a short space of time. I will cherish every word!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  15. Lucy

    11/08/2016 at 11:21

    ‘Book Haul the Nth’ at first glace, sounds like a Star Trek villain. Or, a comic book character, maybe one you could turn into, if rummaging were a super power, which it is.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/08/2016 at 11:25

      I’m not allowed into certain well known bookshops for wearing my underwear on the outside…they just don’t realise what an eccentric bunch readers are. I rummage at work to seem busy so I agree it is a super power and I would love to be a baddie with that name, I am sure I would be half metal…and the half would be diagonal too!

      Like

       
  16. writersideup

    13/08/2016 at 15:46

    Ste J, I sincerely love your hunger for knowledge and am forever astounded by the volume of books you read! Only YOU could see the gaps because, on my end, your variety is wide. There is NO way I would even consider Arguably lol I have books here like The Book Thief and The Stand for years and they intimidate me!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      14/08/2016 at 14:45

      Arguably is essays so you can dip in and out, perhaps my latest review, coincidentally Arguably will change your mind. The Book Thief is a great story and well worth a punt, I enjoyed The Stand as well even if it was a bit uneven from what I remember, perhaps it needs a reread…

      Sadly or perhaps rather invigoratingly, there is always something more to discover, the more I read, the more I find I know nothing about, it keeps me going, it’s good to have a goal, albeit an unattainable one.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • writersideup

        14/08/2016 at 20:00

        I have The Stand because when I asked fans/readers of Stephen King if I only read one book by him, which should it be, that was the most popular answer. Maybe SOMEday. I just love his book On Writing and plan to read that one again, at least the writing tips. GREAT book!

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          15/08/2016 at 13:05

          Of his novels I am inclined to agree, overall I loved Different Seasons as The Body (the film is known as Stand By Me of course!) is an excellent short story, only marginally better than the fantastic film. I read The Stand in seven weeks but chose to read it only at night when it was quiet and I could pretend the whole world had gone to pot outside.

          Liked by 1 person

           
          • writersideup

            16/08/2016 at 05:17

            I’ve long wanted to read “The Shawshank Redemption,” but can’t seem to find it. Love the movie. Definitely want to READ it.

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              16/08/2016 at 13:11

              Coincidentally Rita Haworth and the Shawshank Redemption as it is called in the book is in the same book as the The Body. That is the other stand out in the Different Seasons collection, well worth picking up my friend, those two stories are worth the price alone.

              Liked by 1 person

               
              • writersideup

                16/08/2016 at 16:22

                I have to look in to this…

                Like

                 
              • writersideup

                16/08/2016 at 16:25

                Yay!!!! I just ordered Different Seasons from the library! I didn’t know it was in a compilation! My boyfriend will appreciate it too 😀 Thank you!

                Like

                 
                • Ste J

                  17/08/2016 at 22:09

                  I’m excited for you to read it, The Body is the perfect summer read as well, really evokes a time lost to us now but SHawshank is still great despite the film being so good as well.

                  Liked by 1 person

                   
  17. macjam47

    19/08/2016 at 03:46

    Wow!!! Just look at that haul. You ought to be as happy as a bookworm! 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      19/08/2016 at 10:15

      Very pleased with myself, to the point of doing a jaunty walk home.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • macjam47

        19/08/2016 at 13:45

        Haha! You must have needed a wagon for your haul.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          21/08/2016 at 16:56

          I am a packhorse me, my manual handling job gives me all the strength I need to carry books back to my lair lol.

          Liked by 1 person

           
  18. Liz Dexter

    26/08/2016 at 09:00

    Yay – Dance to the Music of Time!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      26/08/2016 at 12:18

      It seems less well known that it should be, I need to check it out as soon as.

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
