RSS

A Bit of a Rant

29 Jun

 After a week away, only using the internet in short bursts, it was perhaps inevitable that I would come crashing back to the realisation of that crushing disappointment of social media. I don’t normally mini rant about such things but as I am annoyed and it only being a couple of days since my return, I shall. It is probably more pertinent than the ones I usually refrain from unleashing on you but will be brief before normal service can be resumed.

It is worth pointing out that yesterday started well with answering 25 comments from the past week, plus the new ones on the last post, an email or two and the odd status comment on the Facebook but my slap down to reality was inevitable but a few more days would have been nice.

The inevitable unmemorability of the age we live in brings out the insidious beast of loathing in me. The change has been most jarring, after a peaceful eight days I feel like withdrawing further into books than ever before and only coming up for air to catch up on the blog and pick a new tome.

A lot of it comes from the comical incisive yet uninformed comments about the EU referendum vote and the fall out from that, the other part of it comes from the thoughts of our American friends, who seem to plan on voting for the candidate that will most likely do the lesser damage to their economy. How much of both these decisions are really ours and how much is down to the bile funded by big businesses who only want what’s best for their profit margin is pretty clear for all to see.

The blind following of partisan party members bent on misinformation in their ‘good cause’ quests is shocking and downright disgusting and perhaps we are all stuck in our ways but what are we really coming to as a race…for are we all not human, no matter how much we wish to separate ourselves?

It’s all double standards with people and I am right sick of it, stop buying plastic crap you don’t need or want, use the internet to filter and make informed decisions and discussion, don’t give a voice to the ignorant, think critically about everything, don’t be afraid to work at learning things and treat your friends well.

Outside work and family, I only physically see a few people on a regular basis, all except one are people who serve me books, breakfast or a pint, my disapproval of life in general is down to the stunning mediocrity of almost everything. The blog and books (and the friends I make through both) are the only way to combat that.

Apologies for my lack of eloquence, this was written last night when I needed sleep but I will be back on form with a proper post real soon, just had to have my to penn’orth. I shall refrain from anymore apologies and go find a milkshake and be gloriously unpolitically correct about something. Thank you for you time, it is valuable to me.

Save

Save

 
53 Comments

Posted by on 29/06/2016 in Life, My Writings

 

Tags: , , , ,

53 responses to “A Bit of a Rant

  1. Jill Weatherholt

    29/06/2016 at 22:39

    I quite enjoyed your rant, Ste J. All this political correctness is creating more division…go figure. I hope you found that milkshake. Have a great weekend!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      29/06/2016 at 22:42

      We do seem to tread on eggshells every day in life and I think as long as one is not being offensive then it’s fine. Too many people are sensitive to everything these days. It’s about time we just got on with it all and stop apologising for everything, you can tell it’s nearly bedtime as I’m once again all cranky. I had to check the day when you mentioned weekend, have a good one yourself!

      Like

       
  2. Jill Weatherholt

    29/06/2016 at 22:47

    I completely agree, Ste J. Why is everyone so sensitive about every little thing? It’s crazy! Yes, the weekend is approaching, so rest up.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      29/06/2016 at 23:02

      I tend to just be me, then question when people correct me, when they often don’t have an answer I resume reading.

      Like

       
  3. Lyn

    30/06/2016 at 03:28

    Feel free to rant as much and as often as you like, Ste J, because we, your blog o’sphere friends are quite happy to let you do it. If we don’t all agree, it doesn’t matter. Who knows, we might each learn something new from the other and not even resort to knives, guns, or personal name calling 😀

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      30/06/2016 at 10:19

      Debate in a sane space is good and rare upon the internet, unless people hide it well. It would be nice to have a debate rather than going around physically and verbally attacking people, it’s almost like if people were sensible, there could be a good future…I naturally dismissed that idea out of hand of course and chose to remain ignorant of other views and stew in my own pot of discontent (although that may have been a dream).

      Liked by 1 person

       
  4. Amethystmist

    30/06/2016 at 22:46

    I didnt even see this as a rant really. It has all gone a bit crazy. At least Boris wont be PM.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      01/07/2016 at 12:49

      The only reason he got mayor of London was down to his comedy Have I Got News For You appearances. PM would have been a joke gone way too far, my friend!

      Like

       
  5. Aquileana

    30/06/2016 at 23:31

    “My disapproval of life in general is down to the stunning mediocrity of almost everything. The blog and books (and the friends I make through both) are the only way to combat that”…

    I could not agree with you more…. I believe, there are still many other ways to combat mediocrity… We need to get over it… but being involved with it somehow… from within…
    Messi missed a penalty shot in the Copa America Finals… and there was (stiull is) a whole campaign aiming to get him back in Argentina as he had announced he´ll leave the international team… You wouldn´t imagine… papers everywhere, including traffic signals saying Don´t leave, Lio— and even a statue… With all the porblems our economy is facing I just cant believe it… and everyone cries for Messi, a millonare soccer player who was even included in the Panama Papers… what´s wrong with my country?…. This kind of thing is something hard to understand… I guess it has to be with a common mediocre background, sigh!—
    Always remain faithful to yourself, my friend… All my best wishes. Aquileana 😀

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      01/07/2016 at 13:13

      Looking at the blogs, it is great to see people battling the mediocrity, yours is one of the blogs, that is a fascinating, educational and eye opening read, I salute you for all that you do. I am impressed that you manage to do all you do but I am glad that you do as I enjoy my Aquileana fix.

      Football has long been used to distract the masses from their real problems and although it is a shame Messi is retiring, he has never lived up to his status in the national team. With his money though, all the money sloshing around football, in particular Europe and China could solve a lot of the world’s problems if only it was put to better use…it really is an obscene state of events.

      Keep smiling my friend, I shall remain faithful to myself and my wonderful friends!

      Like

       
  6. clarepooley33

    01/07/2016 at 00:33

    Please rant as much and as often as you like Ste. I am trying to resist ranting because I don’t think once started I’d be able to stop. I called into a shop in Halesworth today looking for a new glasses case and was accosted on my way in by the woman working there who started on a rant about the referendum. She and I kept it up for about half an hour – I’d never spoken to her in my life before! She imports clothes from Europe and was worried that she wouldn’t be able to afford to for much longer. I left the shop with two new shirts that I didn’t need. Perhaps it was a subtle ploy of hers to get people to buy her stock?
    I wish I could hide somewhere until everything calms down, but I also worry that it isn’t going to calm down and I ought to be doing something positive. The recriminations are terrible – I now hear that some people want to stop the over 65s from voting in the future because they have ruined young peoples’ lives. Where have all the sensible people gone?

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      01/07/2016 at 12:59

      How strange about wanting to stop older people voting when only 36% of 18-24 year olds voted, which was the age group most vocal about their futures. A cause is great but words mean nothing if people don’t get behind it. It is a strange one though, a totally new thing, I hear at least three other countries are waiting to see how we fare before they vote to leave as well, so it may be that we aren’t alone too much longer.

      Not ranting is difficult to do, I couldn’t sleep but had certain phrases in my head and put them down, a quick look on Facebook was enough to inspire me though. The future will at least be interesting if nothing else. You didn’t get suckered into buying shirts, you gave an example of how we are sticking together as a country, that’s a lot better sounding!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  7. macjam47

    01/07/2016 at 01:28

    Ah Steve, rant away. When I look beyond my blogging buddies to see the mess this world is in, I am abhorred. There is sanity here in our own little blogosphere. Don’t get me started on the presidential campaigns here. It is indeed scary. I’m not looking so much as to which candidate will do the least damage to the economy, as I am to which candidate will do the least damage to the US and the world beyond. Oh, what a sorry state we are in. And your EU referendum vote – the news has reported that the vote was based not on what’s best for the country, but rather as a protest to the way things are, just as Trump’s popularity has been attributed to a segment of the population protesting the status quo. Hilary Clinton has brought a boatload of controversy to the Democratic side. I’m not sure either vote is a win for the country.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      01/07/2016 at 13:22

      Whatever happens, we still have our blogger friends. I just wish there was more education and less BS, then things would be a lot better.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • macjam47

        01/07/2016 at 13:24

        Politicians don’t want the populace to be educated. It’s not to their advantage.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          01/07/2016 at 13:25

          That is true, it would explain why home schooling is on the rise as well.

          Liked by 1 person

           
  8. Liz Dexter

    01/07/2016 at 11:59

    It’s your blog, rant away! I’ve been very lacklustre this last week, I tend to retreat into myself when things are crappy and I’ve not been able to read properly, only fluffy stuff, which is a bit of a nightmare. Hopefully I’m coming out of that now as I have some Proper Books to read and review. Gulp! I’ve been very low about all the hatred – you do one thing, you get slammed, you do another, you get slammed again. I’ve been simultaneously criticised for making an empty gesture and indicating that I think 52% of the population are racists this week – arghhhh! So ploughing my own furrow, although seeing friends and doing yoga (not at the same time) has helped.

    Keep on keeping on!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      01/07/2016 at 13:34

      It is strange one, anybody who voted leave is just a racist by default, I have no doubt some are but I highly doubt there would have been such a high percentage just for that. An empty gesture, that makes me laugh. People confuse me. Proper Books, I like that. I’ve finally gotten around to reading again and it is good to be doing so, it’s good to escape the madness.

      Like

       
  9. LuAnn

    01/07/2016 at 14:23

    I thoroughly enjoyed your rant Ste J and agree wholeheartedly. I have refrained from unleashing on social media, which has been a bit difficult given what is currently happening on the political front in this country. I am saddened by it all.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      01/07/2016 at 19:34

      It seems to get worse each time around, I think it’s a universal thing though. Too many people want to get into a shouting match over such things rather than calmly debate the points which would benefit us all.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • LuAnn

        02/07/2016 at 03:28

        Couldn’t agree with you more.

        Like

         
  10. Resa

    01/07/2016 at 18:54

    It’s all so crazy!
    It’s Canada Day, and I’m in Ottawa, our capital city. I must say I am very happy with Trudeau, and all Canada is trying to be & project.
    Nonetheless, the world’s tide turns to discontent due to aphorism & outlandish religious zealotry. The chain is as strong as the weakest link. The world is as kind as the most nasty person. The world is as good as the most evil & as peaceful as the most warring.
    My forefathers came to Canada to escape persecution through taxation & religious preference. They endured countless hardships to make a better future for their children. Yet, they stole it all, violently, from our native aboriginals.
    Karma lies in wait.
    That’s my rant! Hey, one good rant deserves another…. and yours was good. _Resa

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      01/07/2016 at 19:54

      Happy Canada Day! You’re right about being as strong as the weakest link. It’s a crazy world which is strange as there are surely more sane people, perhaps we should all be doing more.

      Civilisation came from Europe, is what we are told but all it did was ruin traditions and families and a world that is now all but extinct…

      I appreciate your rant back, it’s always good to have another perspective and so eloquently put as well.

      Like

       
  11. shadowoperator

    02/07/2016 at 10:43

    Here’s a little something that may make you laugh. Today (July 2, 2016) is my cat Lucie-Minou’s second birthday. I got her a toy, and we’re going to have special food today (though of course everyone else is celebrating the Fourth of July this weekend, we are more interested in cat toys and goodies right now). I was so excited that I couldn’t sleep properly last night, and as soon as it was past 1:00 a.m., I got up and sang her Happy Birthday (I’ll swear, she looked startled, as if she’d heard the sound before, but had never heard it applied to her!). I’ve had her a gift in a small cardboard box which I’ve been calling her attention to for several days now, and she has been sniffing it, batting at it with her paws, rubbing her whiskers against it, and sitting on top of it. Trust me, she somehow knew it was hers. And of course, she loves playing in and around cardboard boxes, so that was a treat too. We opened her gift in the wee hours of 7/2, and she gratified me in the extreme by playing with it for nearly a solid hour before getting bored. She still pauses to give it a slap now and then (it’s one of those three-tiered fountain-style contrivances with three balls securely wedged in each round so that she can bat them around in turn). She is going to have some special Fancy Feast Medleys cat food and her usual Purina One today, and I am having a seasonal menu of barbequed pulled pork and cole slaw sandwiches with a side of potato salad. For dessert, I am having ice cream, and she gets to lick the box when it’s empty (I don’t really approve of feeding pets people food, because it can make them sick and ruin their teeth, but just licking the box top shouldn’t hurt, and I brush and rinse her teeth every day anyway). So, that’s our agenda for this weekend. Now you can rescue yourself from rant mode by laughing at us a bit–we’re such good friends, my cat and I. The only thing we have a serious disagreement about is the tooth brushing and rinsing, but we do get it done, and that’s the important thing. Have a great weekend, can’t wait to read your next post.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      03/07/2016 at 11:28

      Thank you for this comment, it puts the world to right after all the rubbish going on over the last week, year and so on, it is nice to read a happy story and one that had me smiling very much. Our family cat Bela has her birthday on the 4th July which seems fitting, currently she is flying round the house banging into doors for no apparent reason, cats! You gotta love ’em.

      Like

       
  12. Sherri

    03/07/2016 at 17:47

    Arghhhh…I hear you my friend, I hear you. I’m going away for a few days and I’m turning off all social media, I’m sick of it for all the reasons you state here. I wanted to drop by and visit you before I disappear. I hope you enjoyed your week away and are over the jet lag now. What times we are living in. Time for that pint and a good sleep I think…keep heart, and I’ll see you soon…

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      03/07/2016 at 19:48

      It was a good week away, blew away all the mediocrity of work and such although no doubt it will bog me down within minutes of going back. My sleep patterns have taken ages to adjust so hopefully I will be back on form soon and a pint is called for tomorrow, as there needs o be some bright point to Monday hehe! Take care my friend and enjy your social media free time.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Sherri

        04/07/2016 at 10:00

        I hope you got your Monday Pint. Jeg lag takes me ages to get over, always worse coming back too for some reason I find. I’ll try to pop in here over the summer to say hi…thanks so much my friend, see you soon and I hope the refreshment of your holiday says with you a while longer…despite the social media onslaught. Thank goodness for all your books…

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          05/07/2016 at 12:46

          The Monday pint was very refreshing thank you! As were a bunch of books I picked up as well, life is always good with books. You take care my friend, I hope you manage to get a good way through your book.

          Liked by 1 person

           
          • Sherri

            12/07/2016 at 16:51

            So glad…and I hope you’ve had a few more pints (and read a few more books, no doubt) since then! I’ve now started back to my writing and feeling good about the flow of things. A long way to go, but I’m determined if nothing else! Thanks so much my friend, I’ll keep in touch…and you take care too…

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              13/07/2016 at 16:08

              Plenty of both my dear…I am glad you are getting back into the swing of things. This pleases Ste.

              Liked by 1 person

               
              • Sherri

                27/08/2016 at 12:58

                How long has it been my friend? Too long. This is the first time I’ve been on my blog for many weeks. Today is the first day I’ve checked in and it feels like a lifetime ago. You see, not even two weeks after I signed off, I got the devestating news that my dear dad was seriously ill. Five days later, he died. I was with him to the end, he was surrounded with peace and love. It was a huge shock, we last spoke in May (he was in prison, as you know), and awaiting test results. I didn’t hear from him again and then came the call from my uncle (my dad’s brother, who’s 86 and who the prison called because his was the only number they had for some reason) to tell me about Dad going to hospital. So to find him so ill was awful, I had no warning. Since then, I’ve been in a fog of exhaustion and grief. Slowly emerging now, and it does me good to see you here, even though it was so many weeks ago. I hope things are well with you and you’re enjoying the summer. I’ll post about my dad when I can, soon I hope, to let everyone know. And I did return to my memoir rewrites for the first time this past week which helped, but I’m pacing myself. I’ve been off all social media for weeks. It’s great to touch base with you, I’ve missed you and my blogging friends very much. Take care my friend and I’ll see you again very soon… Sherri

                Liked by 1 person

                 
                • Ste J

                  29/08/2016 at 18:42

                  My friend you have been missed! I’m sorry to hear about your dad but I am glad that you are coming out of that tough time some, it is tough but you always have me here to distract you or listen if you need. You take all the time you need because we aren’t going anywhere and anything you need of course you just let me know!

                  Liked by 2 people

                   
                  • Sherri

                    30/08/2016 at 11:54

                    Ahh my friend, you’re a star, thank you so much. What is so wonderful is that even though I’ve been away from blogging for so long, as soon as I come back here to see you, I feel as if it has only been a few seconds. It’s like a wonderful warm homecoming and so comforting to you know you’re still here, typing away, reading away and enjoying a few pints along the way too I’m sure. The glorious summer weather has helped greatly. My dad loved summer, couldn’t wait to get in the sun. Let’s share a pint in a cyber pub garden on a beautiful English summer’s day and say cheers to my dad…and I’ll be back here as soon as I can…

                    Like

                     
                    • Ste J

                      30/08/2016 at 14:09

                      I have visions of us with one pint and two straws lol, which would be an original way of consuming a pint. I’ll raise a glass with you my friend. I’m glad you feel so back at home coming here, it’s always great to see you and I will keep putting up the posts to keep you in words, you can’t get rid of me now my friend.

                      Liked by 1 person

                       
                    • Sherri

                      04/09/2016 at 12:40

                      Haha…no going back now!! One pint and two straws sounds great. Hope you’re enjoying a good weekend my friend. I’ll be by in the week ahead…

                      Like

                       
                • writersideup

                  29/08/2016 at 19:48

                  So sorry to hear about your Dad, ((Sherri)) 😦

                  Liked by 1 person

                   
  13. Patrisya

    05/07/2016 at 07:18

    Recently I cannot focus on reading books because of what is happing in UK. Nigel Farage has resigned, whole Brexit issue becomes a masquerade!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      05/07/2016 at 12:31

      It’s a strange time, I’m doing my best to ignore it, now the vote is done and everything is in limbo for a time. I have read three books in a week so maybe I thrive on this sort of stuff lol.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  14. writersideup

    13/08/2016 at 16:16

    I’m not what you would call a “political” person, but the lunacy that is going on over here (in the U.S.) has me paying attention. I fear the judgement of a certain faction of “sheep.”

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      14/08/2016 at 15:19

      I think everybody should vote for one of those novelty parties that always come out. Over here we have one called The Monster Raving Loony Party and that always gets a few votes lol…it seems like you have your own version of that though, this time around!

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • writersideup

        14/08/2016 at 20:51

        Wow, “The Monster Raving Loony Party” is the perfect name (in my opinion) for the Republican Party this year! What I “think” happened is they saw there was a very loud and large faction of the country who the “Raving Loony Monster” appealed to which is why he ended up clinching the party’s nomination. They’re largely regretting it now! All along I couldn’t help but be distressed–though not surprised–by the fact that it seems this year’s politics has truly become a “Reality” Show. It’s all too absurd.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          15/08/2016 at 12:51

          There is always a ‘comedy’ character for these things, people think it’s all a bit of a laugh and then they inexplicably get popular. It is crazy, th worst bit was al the endorsing that the Republican high ups had to do despite criticising Trump previously. Well done to the chap whose name I can’t remember refused to…see how memorable these politicians are.

          Liked by 1 person

           
  15. writersideup

    16/08/2016 at 05:13

    Just today I told my boyfriend about the Monster Raving Loony Party. He’d never heard of it, but said “Leave it those Brits!” 😀 We googled it to learn more. I didn’t know they were an ACTual party! lol

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      16/08/2016 at 13:32

      We always have to have a colourful alternative, it also allows people who feel like they must vote (despite no decent mainstream candidates) to assuage their guilt by plumping for them. We have also had The Fancy Dress Party and comically the Church of the Militant Elvis Party, not to mention the Citizens for Undead Rights and Equality.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • writersideup

        16/08/2016 at 17:01

        Oh, dear God. And are they ACTUAL parties, too? lol

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          17/08/2016 at 22:11

          They are legitimate parties, very fringe though, although it would be great to see people flocking to them, lol.

          Liked by 1 person

           
          • writersideup

            18/08/2016 at 19:48

            I can only wonder what type of party WOULDN’T be allowed to be “official” lol

            Liked by 1 person

             
  16. Idle Muser

    31/01/2017 at 12:30

    Even I refrain from lashing out or rant in my blog through my posts, J. Whenever I feel like publishing such posts, I remind myself of what my blog is about. But those were my initial days of blogging. And now I do that, put my frustration on a platter to be savored by others’ eyes. Though it is still limited, but once in a while I whine, and that too in a creative way (as I never post the first draft of any of my posts, I get to embellish it within next few days. 😀 )

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      31/01/2017 at 14:12

      It’s good to let off some steam and if it encourages dialogue with your readers then it can only be a good thing!

      Liked by 1 person

       

Tell me stuff...

 
