RSS

Ste J Reviews – A Mural

10 Mar

Showcasing great art with Resa once again…

Graffiti Lux and Murals

Ste J – Book to the Future sent us this colorful mural. I think it’s a fun piece to segue from Kids Month back to regular programming.

Photo © Steve Johnson Photo © Steve Johnson

He has written a wonderful commentary, which is in quotation marks & italics.

Photo © Steve Johnson Photo © Steve Johnson

“On an adjoining wall to the entrance of the Broadway Cinema in Nottingham there is a vibrant and eye catching mix of images.” 

Photo © Steve Johnson Photo © Steve Johnson

“I like to see this as a promise to amaze and inspire, to allow escape or thought provoking material.” 

Stejue #5 Photo © Steve Johnson

“It is wonderful when the cinema experience starts outside and triggers off that excitement.”

Photo © Steve Johnson Photo © Steve Johnson

“Art can influence moods as we potter about town but to work in tandem with the surroundings makes it even more interesting as a medium of feeling as well as visuals.”

Photo © Steve Johnson Photo © Steve…

View original post 52 more words

 
38 Comments

Posted by on 10/03/2016 in Art, Blogging, Travel

 

Tags: , ,

38 responses to “Ste J Reviews – A Mural

  1. Claire 'Word by Word'

    10/03/2016 at 21:21

    Cool!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/03/2016 at 09:12

      Hidden in plain sight as well, I must have passed it several times in the past and not paid any attention.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. shadowoperator

    10/03/2016 at 21:25

    The roving recorder strikes again! Thanks for the photos and commentary. It looks a lot like some street art in San Francisco, which I think I’ve told you before. Stephen Kelly’s wordpress.com site showcases that (I know, I know, I’m sounding like a broken record). I just think you guys are bound to meet some day in some otherworldly universe ruled by street art gods, to emerge victorious as friends!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/03/2016 at 09:18

      That sounds like an epic future, I hope it happens now. You are not a broken record my friend, merely fond of the art of reiteration and that is always a good thing where I am concerned as I do tend to wander various paths and get distracted from what I was doing and then become confused and give up entirely and hide in a book. Which is usually what I planned to do in the beginning.

      Like

       
      • shadowoperator

        11/03/2016 at 13:17

        A sort of self-fulfilling prophecy, then! I always knew you were a prophet.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          11/03/2016 at 21:14

          I’d rather be making a profit!

          Like

           
  3. Jill Weatherholt

    10/03/2016 at 21:31

    Love this, Ste J!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/03/2016 at 09:03

      It is great and what is more, I found loads more about the same area which will be sent Resa’s way soon.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  4. Resa

    10/03/2016 at 22:30

    It’s always a lovely treat to get a mural or some Graf from you, Ste J. Thank you & thank you & big {{hugs}}

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/03/2016 at 08:56

      It’s always a pleasure to send something new and funky your way. I tend to be a lot more curious now about side streets and with the weather soon to be getting warmer, I anticipate more wanderings and surprises.

      Like

       
  5. clarepooley33

    11/03/2016 at 00:33

    Brilliant!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/03/2016 at 08:58

      I’m glad I caught it on a bright day so the colours were really brought out.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  6. gargoylebruce

    11/03/2016 at 02:47

    That badger doesn’t.look grumpy or dangerous. Clearly I’ve been misled about the species. *Approaches sett*
    “Here badgy badge boo!”
    *growl, bite snatch*
    “Arrrrrrrghhhhhh! Why would the graffiti lieeeeee………..blerch”
    *Badger waddles off*

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/03/2016 at 09:04

      They should make a film of what you just wrote. It would be wonderful but needs to feature more bovine TB as well as loads of mushrooms and a snake!

      Like

       
      • gargoylebruce

        11/03/2016 at 09:06

        As long as I get my own dressing room I don’t mind who’s in it.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          11/03/2016 at 09:11

          Unless it’s a rabid badger.

          Like

           
  7. Love, Life and Whatever

    11/03/2016 at 03:52

    How bright and stirring are those words to go along with the images!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/03/2016 at 09:10

      Thank you! I never want to write too much to go with them as the art is the star but a bit of connecting text always helps.

      Like

       
  8. Liz Dexter

    11/03/2016 at 10:20

    Enjoyed that and seeing the lovely images – very good capture. Reminds me of the street art in Reykjavik, which is everywhere.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/03/2016 at 21:19

      It’s the same in Berlin as well, I have always wondered about going to Reykjavik (on the way to SPitzbergen), it’s moved up the ranks of places to go now, although nothing can dislodge Skegness as the place I most wish to go haha!

      Like

       
      • Liz Dexter

        16/03/2016 at 09:19

        Oh you need to go to Reykjavik, it’s the best place ever. You’d love it, I’m sure. I’m off there again in August and then hopefully next February …

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          17/03/2016 at 20:54

          I hope you share lots of photos with us, I would love to see it and it isn;t the same on the internet, I prefer holiday snaps of the really cool bits.

          Like

           
  9. Sherri

    11/03/2016 at 18:36

    What amazing murals, love your thoughts…

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/03/2016 at 21:12

      I am happy somebody else got my art gene, I would have used it terribly had I got it, I suspect.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  10. Andrea Stephenson

    12/03/2016 at 11:09

    Great find Ste and your commentary brings it to life more.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      13/03/2016 at 18:11

      It is amazing what is sometimes just around the corner when we are out and about on our travels. It was nice to add some words but really the art speaks for itself.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  11. Jilanne Hoffmann

    13/03/2016 at 21:24

    I love murals. And this one is marvelous.

    San Francisco has many street artists and the murals to go with it. We are very lucky, indeed.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      14/03/2016 at 13:13

      I hear good things about San Francisco and its art, yet another place to add to my list of place to go. It is great to have places brightened up by creativity, it brightens up the day as well as walls.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  12. Christy Birmingham

    14/03/2016 at 02:00

    Lovin’ the mix of bright colors – including those teeth with… blood on them?! Eeek, be careful out there!! 😉

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      14/03/2016 at 13:08

      I didn’t notice the blood on the teeth but being at the side of a cinema it does mean a fun game of spot the film reference. If I had a spot as bodyguard coming your way, I’ll let you know!

      Like

       
  13. macjam47

    15/03/2016 at 11:46

    Steve, this is an excellent photo post of the beauty of using graffiti art. So, where are the photos of the pictures on the pub ceiling?

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      16/03/2016 at 08:54

      Haha, they will be coming when I get a better and less wobbly shot which has nothing to do with inebriation rather than shaky hand syndrome that always affects me only when I want to take a photo, I am no good at quick shots, rather I take a photo multiple times and hope for the best. As it is you, I shall make a special trip back to Nottingham to go to the pub with a book, I am so selfless!

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • macjam47

        16/03/2016 at 12:04

        I will look forward to seeing the photos. Of course, you’ll have to have a couple of pints while reading.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          17/03/2016 at 20:52

          Of course, it would be rude to just come in to take photos, if everybody did that they would have to shut down and then the paintings may be lost so I need to do my bit for them and the economy.

          Liked by 1 person

           
  14. Maniparna Sengupta Majumder

    15/03/2016 at 20:35

    Vibrant colours…loved the murals… 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      16/03/2016 at 09:41

      I saw it from afar and never imagined how much detail there was to them up close.

      Liked by 1 person

       

Tell me stuff...

 
