RSS

Another Moveable Feast

23 Feb

I got the idea for this on the bus and sharing some similarities with Hemingway – like being in a city, writing stuff and being pretty poor – as well as my recent review made it seemed perfect timing to do so.  I’d write it in Hemingway’s style but I favour a more descriptive angle and would probably get confused fairly easily, like the time when I was on a train and the train on the other platform started moving, my brain got really confused and I fell over in my stationary compartment much to my embarrassment and the quizzical looks of my fellow passengers.

WP_20160222_002

The first thing to do – even though money is tight – is to have a breakfast regardless.  The one I had was adequate but that seems like the Hem style, favouring convenience over quality when need be and the added bonus of refillable coffee tipped the balance for me.  Having had five cups of black coffee, I felt suitably wired to carry on my day and walk in what I can only describe as a manic kind of waddle as I was pretty full.

WP_20160222_004

Inexplicably ending up and one of my favourite haunts the bookshop, I sighed with some manufactured despair, that I would have knowingly walked here and thus have to spend money was always the intention but I could at least appear like it was coincidence….or fate.  Not quite Sylvia Beach’s Shakespeare and Company, nevertheless Jermy and Westerman booksellers offer a grand selection of various genres including plenty of rare books that made me salivate.

I managed to pick up a couple of purchases as I like to do my bit for local businesses and really it would be rude not to.  Now I have a history of the church from the 8th to the 16th century and how it influenced Medieval society and sticking with the same category, a revision of the history of the Near East citing Biblical and Egyptian texts.

WP_20160216_034

A lingering walk around the Arboretum was called for, to wile away some hours and allow me the pleasure to think about words and phrases uninterrupted whilst nature blew away the cobwebs and all my nasty cold germs.  It was a pleasant walk, taking in a nice lake, wide open spaces and a sense of calmness as the 160 year old trees blocked out a lot of the city noise.

WP_20160222_009

I gravitated to a suitably Gothic place to finally beach myself and get down to the business of reading and writing.  Nothing beats the atmosphere of brooding at The Pit and Pendulum that comes forth when a rock track is playing in the background as you pass dimly lit alcoves, thrones and scientific equipment,   Seeking the entrance to the toilets is always fun when the door is hidden in a bookcase, something every house should have.

WP_20160222_007

I chose a Kronenbourg 1664 as my generic drink of choice on the basis of it being French and carrying on my theme, the life of a writer isn’t glamorous but it does have its benefits for free thinking and wandering around, never aimlessly always with a point, even if that is to just spend time just walking without purpose.  A double whisky was (naturally) had later on as I rounded off my tribute to Hem and proceeded to sink myself into a Communist utopia gone bad, he would have appreciated that I like to think.

 
55 Comments

Posted by on 23/02/2016 in Travel

 

Tags: , , , ,

55 responses to “Another Moveable Feast

  1. Theanne aka magnoliamoonpie

    23/02/2016 at 18:55

    Excellent 🙂 I do believe Hemingway would approve 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/02/2016 at 18:59

      Thank you, I was planning a proper Hemingway type post but thought it may not be inclusive enough but just talking about my day is always an easier option and it is what he did as well so it is more accurate than I thought.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. Morgan

    23/02/2016 at 19:50

    Hemingway may not have had the quint of caffeine, but would probably still be smiling 😉 I am! And dare I say that the bookcase designed loo is a deviously delightful idea!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/02/2016 at 19:57

      It is awesome, imagine if houses were designed like that, it would be tense until you knew where the toilet actually was.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  3. Maniparna Sengupta Majumder

    23/02/2016 at 20:36

    It’s quite Hemingwayesque… 🙂

    A healthy and happy breakfast (and, of course, coffee) is always a good strat for me… 😀

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/02/2016 at 20:43

      It set me up and as I didn’t eat until getting on for six in the evening, I’m glad I did. If it was up to me, I would just drink coffee all day and then wonder why I can’t sleep.

      Like

       
  4. clarepooley33

    23/02/2016 at 22:53

    I loved this Ste! Not having read any Hemingway I cannot comment on how ..esque it is but I enjoyed the wander nevertheless. I like the idea of the loos hidden behind the bookcase. I do tend to get very anxious if I can’t locate them when I go out for a drink/meal! Hope your cold gets better soon!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      24/02/2016 at 09:08

      I like to know where I am going as well when it comes to the toilets, I tend to occupy the same haunts as I know where everything is. The cold is all but gone, I like to think the medicinal whisky cleared it but it may have been the fresh air as well. The post didn’t turn out as anything like Hemingway would have done it but that’s fine, I like to keep things accessible.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  5. Jill Weatherholt

    23/02/2016 at 22:54

    That my friend, is the breakfast of champions! Great post, Ste J. I love the photos, particularly the Arboretum shot.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      24/02/2016 at 09:00

      It looks a lot better than it was, sadly, I still ate it all up though. I got plenty more photos but I’m saving some of them for another post. It was the perfect weather to wander around, sunny, not too cold and hardly a soul about.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  6. shadowoperator

    24/02/2016 at 00:45

    Well, you certainly seem to have roved in the spirit of many a talented writer, but you just aren’t as nasty as Hemingway, my friend. I think you are able to appreciate a lot of things from a large variety of different writers, and you show real appreciation of others and their good points, and I don’t feel that Hemingway was always equally generous, not even with writers he pretended to like. But I admit your trip around town sounds like fun!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      24/02/2016 at 09:35

      I did have a slight wobble towards nastiness, well pettiness when I went into one of the big shopping centres and people were walking slow, I had nowhere to be in particular but wanted to get to as many places as I could before I realised where I wanted to be. I blame my busy life and needing to cram in as much as possible. I did feel all authory though when I started penning notes for my books, yes books because one just wasn’t enough to plan so I had to make it into three.

      Like

       
  7. gargoylebruce

    24/02/2016 at 02:19

    My,those eggs look delicious! Five coffees? I bet you soon fell prey to your nation’s shocking lack of public toilet facilities.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      24/02/2016 at 08:39

      I have the two that I am aware of memorised so I can get to them via the path of least resistance from anywhere in the city centre. Failing that there is always one of the handily placed pubs which means another drink but I will gladly make the sacrifice for my own comfort.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  8. Love, Life and Whatever

    24/02/2016 at 02:38

    I so much envy you right now, that was such a beautiful account Hemingway way.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      24/02/2016 at 09:11

      Thank you, it was nice to do something a bit different and as I was on the bus when I thought of it, it made it less planned but more fun to do off the cuff.

      Like

       
  9. Alastair Savage

    24/02/2016 at 07:58

    Five coffees! Three eggs! Double whiskies! You are becoming Papa Hemingway, for sure.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      24/02/2016 at 08:36

      All on on a miserly budget as well. I just wish I had met a fellow writer or sportsperson so I could really have released my inner Hemingway!

      Like

       
      • Alastair Savage

        24/02/2016 at 09:23

        He also liked shooting things, I believe, but I wouldn’t take that up, personally.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          24/02/2016 at 09:26

          I’ll shoot some pool instead, saves me making much effort and my short sighted and colour blind eyes are my excuse for every loss I suffer.

          Like

           
  10. Lucy

    24/02/2016 at 10:00

    That sounds like a perfect day, and I want to reach through the screen and steal the medieval-style notebook you have there. Where did you get it?

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      24/02/2016 at 10:13

      It was a gift I received when over in the US, it goes everywhere with me and records my neat thoughts on books and then further down each page, my tipsy thoughts, I’ve had it over two years now, it may te its very own spin-off series one of these days.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  11. Andrea Stephenson

    24/02/2016 at 13:57

    I find bus journeys are great for creative musing…and that breakfast must have helped, looks delicious. Your day was certainly a feast for the senses.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/02/2016 at 14:17

      I don’t read on bus journeys as what’s going on outside is always interesting and better when I have the double seat to myself. I ate that breakfast purely for your reading pleasure, so feel special.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  12. Elizabeth Melton Parsons

    24/02/2016 at 15:48

    “coincidence….or fate” Right, got ya… 😀 Love this post, my friend. I can relate to the falling over thing from the other train beginning to move. I have inner ear problems and I have this happen at times. I can also relate to accidentally ending up somewhere that I really shouldn’t be because of the damage to my wallet. Glad you found some goodies for the bookshelf. BTW… that photo of breakfast looks mighty good and I’m a coffee-holic, but I switch between regular and decaff throughout the day so I don’t become too wired. 😀

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/02/2016 at 14:56

      There’s decaff? I’ll make sure to avoid that! It is nice to stretch one’s legs and come back with books but really I do it all for you readers, I assure you I derive no pleasure at all from breakfast, alcohol, books and other lovely things…honest! Hehe.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  13. Letizia

    24/02/2016 at 16:16

    I love when you take us on your journies. My mouth is watering – those eggs looks so good.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/02/2016 at 13:59

      I cut that egg just so I could get an action shot…or rather I started scoffing it before I realised I needed a photo and that I had to be quite circumspect about it so as not to appear like one of those people that takes a photo of every meal they eat. I am looking to spread my journeys out further…but to be cryptic not in length but in direction.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  14. Resa

    24/02/2016 at 20:43

    Ste J, seems like the life of a writer suits you greatly. Perhaps it will turn into a book? As I am a late follower to your blog, I may have missed the fact that it already has.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/02/2016 at 14:05

      I haven’t written one, I did start but wrote myself into a corner…having said that, I am planning something more ambitious which will hopefully bear fruit at some point although I am making it complex because I do prefer something with layers, like me in winter.

      Like

       
  15. Jeff

    24/02/2016 at 21:31

    3 eggs! That’s dedication. The pub looks like The Jekyll and Hyde in Edinburgh. A bit useless for reading there though, on account of the gothic light levels.
    I can recommend, btw, when in Jermy and Westerman, taking highest res photos. I’ve previously gone back to make a purchase after spotting something in a photo.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/02/2016 at 14:26

      I believe the P&P is run by the same chain as the one in Edinburgh, the lighting is okay, although I like to hunch over like Quasimodo just to fit in a bit with the literary vibe. Good point with the photo idea, I forgot to take photos taken as I was with the books but the camera will join me next time hopefully.

      Like

       
  16. Jilanne Hoffmann

    24/02/2016 at 21:32

    Love watching you go about your civic duties. I’m jealous. My day includes transporting my son to and from school, taking him to get his hair cut, taking him to tennis lessons and then to his martial arts class. All before we get to come home to a dinner that I’ve prepared. AND my husband is off on a “working vacation” to Mexico. I’m feeling righteously robbed. 😀 But I’m enjoying living vicariously. I want to go to the Pit and Pendulum. We almost bought a house that had a bathroom “in” the living room, so we’d talked about disguising it with a secret built-in bookcase. Sadly, someone else outbid us on the house…..

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/02/2016 at 15:08

      Perhaps you can work out some sort of secret passage in your house now, that would be awesome and rather dramatic as well hehe. I wish all my days were as fun as that one but I am hoping to try and mix things up a bit more if my plans work. It won’t be like going to Mexico but hopefully it will be able to take you somewhere different.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Jilanne Hoffmann

        25/02/2016 at 18:12

        Well, since we’re going to be doing a bit of remodeling with the help of an architect, I’ll see what we can do about making a secret passageway. I am intrigued about how you’re going to be mixing things up. Looking forward to it!

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          26/02/2016 at 10:35

          It’s early stages yet but I am trying to bring some new ideas which depend on other people being accommodating, as is always the way but I plan to use my natural curiosity and shambling manner to hopefully be able to bring some more varied and quality content but what that shall be is at the moment a mystery to me, although I do have a few ideas that I am working on.

          Liked by 1 person

           
  17. macjam47

    24/02/2016 at 23:12

    Hello, my dear friend Papa Hemmingway. It sounds like you had a fantastic day starting with that delicious looking breakfast. Be careful, too many of those whiskeys will find you in the lake.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/02/2016 at 14:02

      I had to hold back as they could have gone down rather too quickly. It was a great day, it was forecast to be bad weather which would have seen me in the pub more but as it was I was able to gambol around for a bit, on account of it being Spring and all.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  18. macjam47

    25/02/2016 at 14:24

    I’m glad you got out and about. Nothing feeds the spirit like a walk with nature.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/02/2016 at 14:38

      I tend to wander when I can, I don’t go too far but I need to start doing something soon to amuse and astound you all more.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  19. Sherri

    26/02/2016 at 20:16

    Very Hemingwayesque I must say! That breakfast looks amazing – American pancakes no less and maple syrup!!! I think you just took me on the ideal walk. Breakfast, the river, an arboretum and The Pit and the Pendulum? Rock and whiskey? I’m so there. Although I don’t like whiskey so make mine a g&t. And that train thing, it is a very odd experience. Did you really fall over? It can play havoc with reason. Great post this. Have a great weekend my friend!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      27/02/2016 at 10:51

      I did, I think my mind assumed it was the train I was on as naturally the world revolves around me, although at that time I was revolving around the floor wondering precisely how I could live that moment down. A wlak where you don’t have to leave your chair is always ideal, you just someone to bring you the (large) G and T. My weekend is great so far and I hope yours is equally awesome.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Sherri

        29/02/2016 at 16:15

        Oh no! That sounds horrible! I’m glad you were okay…no wonder you had to calm down with a few pints. And a large G&T, yes please. It’s only 4pm on Monday…is that too early? Glad you had a great weekend, same here thanks. Let’s have a good week too! Great chatting with you my friend…

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          29/02/2016 at 16:28

          4PM is fine, I have had a cocktail as early as 9AM before so I shall take a hit for the team and be the shameless one. I have yet another week off so rewatching This is England, which is starting the week right, if in a grim fashion.

          Liked by 1 person

           
          • Sherri

            29/02/2016 at 16:36

            The earliest I’ve had a drink is 11am on Christmas day…bubbly of course. You can take the hit, good on yer!! Ahh…enjoy! I’ll have to wait until later for the G&T have to dash out but I’ll say cheers to you now for later. Have a wonderful week off…!

            Liked by 1 person

             
  20. Chelsea Brown

    02/03/2016 at 02:16

    Sounds like an average day for a writer. I can also relate to wandering around with purpose; I find myself walking 5 miles each day to clear out the mental cobwebs. Which has given me about the same amount of energy as your five cups of joe. 😉
    The pictures were interesting too, I enjoyed the breakfast snapshot, and the nature shot.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/03/2016 at 18:54

      Seems like all I do is eat, drink coffee and wander with a book of late, not that I am complaining of course, it is nice to do something different although my writing seems to have lessened now that I have acquired the writer’s lifestyle, albeit briefly.

      Like

       
      • Chelsea Brown

        02/03/2016 at 19:18

        Hmm, ordinary I would suggest reading or walking to help with the lack of writing, but you’re already doing both. So maybe just keep up with the walking part of it, and the words will come.
        I find myself in the same boat at the moment and all I think to myself is be patient, the words will come, because eventually they always come back around.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          02/03/2016 at 19:23

          Patience is good advice, I will carry on and see what happens, the worst case scenario is that I keep eating breakfast and that is usually rare for me.

          Liked by 1 person

           
  21. angela

    20/06/2016 at 01:29

    Hemingway, however, me thinks you are much more polite than that one. There is something about breakfast and when writers write about it… As a vegan, whom doesn’t get to consume proper bread products either, it all gets a bit lost on me but I still adore reading about it. Coffee..en mas – now, that is beauty. Continue writing on, dear sir, though this reminds me more of the French flaneur Baudelaire taking the day in stride. ~

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/06/2016 at 20:54

      I have yet to become familiar with Baudelaire, I thought I had picked some up once but it was Maupassant. No quite sure how I managed to mistake the two but it’s an extra book so I am happy. Writers who talk about food always inspire the desire for food and drink, I think it’s why I have an infinity with Hemingway in the morning.

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
