RSS

Berlin Ballast

10 Dec

Can you spot the German humour?

SAM_2355

There it is!

SAM_2356

Oh, the mirth!

I am finally at the end of my Berlin Odyssey and as Christmas closes in, not a moment too soon.  I learnt some things on my trip, mainly that I like the words fünf and choos and apart from the trains the much vaunted efficiency of the natives is a myth, their standoffish nature was not though. I also like Jagertees, here is an example ably pointed out by Tom.

SAM_2277

The Christmas market was vibrant but scary,  when I was browsing the food, the man behind the counter demanded €5, which for some reason I felt compelled to just hand over and ended up with a tasty steak cob so it wasn’t just a really rubbish robbery or anything I’m relieved to report.

SAM_2398

In a mirroring of the US, where I was convinced there was a radio station devoted to solely playing Fleetwood Mac songs, Berlin has a Depeche Mode radio station and a band that wanders the railways playing La Bamba for money. I think that sums up everything succinctly enough so as a thanks for reading, here’s a totally unique and new character I made up in my head and built at the Lego shop just for you…

SAM_2333

 
44 Comments

Posted by on 10/12/2015 in Travel

 

Tags: , , , , ,

44 responses to “Berlin Ballast

  1. Heartafire

    10/12/2015 at 19:57

    Oh, my gosh! I am married into a german family, they have a fabulous wit , however some of our friends from Germany are so droll…what’s up?

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      10/12/2015 at 20:07

      Hello there! Next time I will master some more of the language and then we can communicate more effectively and I can get to know the locals, or perhaps I just had poor choice with who I picked to chat to!

      Like

       
  2. shadowoperator

    10/12/2015 at 21:35

    Ste J, whatever the ups and downs of it, I’m convinced you had a great time. I’m just hoping we’re in for the same good, humorous, serious, and thoughtful photos every time you go out of town. Today, I’m supposed to be making soups to freeze to take to my brother’s for Christmas, but I’m goofing around on the Internet, and I am so glad to see yet another post from you! I hope to get back to doing some posting of my own sometime in the next few weeks, but nothing yet!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/12/2015 at 17:06

      It was a wonderful jaunt and I am hoping that I can get more mileage out of my visits when I next go somewhere, which I really need to do at some point as opposed to waiting for two more years to go somewhere, perhaps I will do a classic seaside holiday series in Summer should circumstances permit.

      Hitting the internet is always a worthwhile thing to do when work of any sort beckons I find! I have been oddly prolific this month but now I’m at the end of all my pre written posts, still I shall endeavour for more wordage to keep you amused. I am looking forward to your next post my friend, I always enjoy your insights and which to incorporate your way of dissecting works into my own style. I love to learn from talented people such as yourself.

      Like

       
  3. Lyn

    10/12/2015 at 23:06

    Germans have a sense of humour?? 😮 I always thought they were such staid, sober-sides until I looked at the way they construct their sentences. They can use the same word for several different meanings. An example would be the train announcer at a main station being imprisoned!” – “Why?” – He announced ‘Please step back/resign!’ as Erich Honecker’s train was arriving. in German zurücktreten, bitte! can mean both please step back! and please resign! The mind boggles :/

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/12/2015 at 16:59

      Mastering another language’s rules is bewildering, not that English is any less mental when you think about it, silent letters and the bewildering use of two tenses for the word ‘read’ to name but two. Henning Wehn is a decent stand up comedian as well so the idea that there is a lack of humour over that way isn’t entirely true lol.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  4. clarepooley33

    10/12/2015 at 23:29

    Re. your comments above – I think it also makes a difference where you are in Germany. In our travels we have found that in some areas the people are more reserved than in others. We had difficulty getting to know people in N Germany (Lubeck, Hamburg) but no trouble chatting with people from the Ruhr (Koln, Dusseldorf) and the Rheinland (Frankfurt). Better language skills help I’m sure.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/12/2015 at 16:48

      That would make sense, they say people are more friendlier up north although when it comes to blogging there isn’t that distinction but in real life it does seem to be ‘a thing’. I will certainly brush up on my language skills list I did for America, although it may require slightly more research.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • clarepooley33

        11/12/2015 at 21:35

        It may need a little extra work 😀 I agree that blogging doesn’t distinguish between N S E & W or anywhere in the world. It’s wonderful! In real life people seem to be that much more wary and in some instances quite prejudiced. My brother-in-law has no time for ‘southerners’ and sounds off at length about them until my husband reminds him that I am a Southern Jessie! Brother-in-law lived quite happily in Portsmouth for a couple of years surrounded by southerners but they don’t count apparently 😉

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          14/12/2015 at 15:26

          Haha, selective judging, nice! There is a tendency to judge people we meet face to face but over a blog when the writing is more considered and there is no real knowledge of a person’s background or in a lot of cases particular location other than country (unless stated). The sheer diversity of my blogging friends is really something and I look forward to meeting more people.

          Liked by 1 person

           
  5. Jill Weatherholt

    11/12/2015 at 00:42

    This was fantastic, Ste J! Cheers!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/12/2015 at 16:41

      I’m glad you enjoyed it, there are so many facets to the places we visit that it was good mental exercise to unravel some of it and get some pictures of the wonderful things we saw. I wonder where my next trip will take me…

      Like

       
  6. macjam47

    11/12/2015 at 02:43

    Thanks for sharing your travels. I enjoyed the photos.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/12/2015 at 16:45

      Thank you for coming along with me, it was fun to do something a bit different for the blog, it also gave me a bit of a chance to catch up on my reading in the meantime.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  7. Love, Life and Whatever

    11/12/2015 at 05:26

    Sounds exquisite.. Wit and humour is so welcoming in any language.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/12/2015 at 17:07

      Yes it is, if only I understood more languages, it’ll be worth the hard work when I do!

      Like

       
  8. Sherri

    11/12/2015 at 12:21

    Glad you got something for your money and enjoyed the Jagertees. I remember once in Germany on holiday (I was 16 and with my family) and none of us knew what to order off the menu thanks to our poor knowledge of German. We ended up with a plate each with just one bratwurst and gravy and waited but nothing else arrived…until we finished and then the rest came after. And there we were complaining about the cost of lunch for just one bratwurst…

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/12/2015 at 16:55

      Haha, I love it, being out of one’s depth is part of the fun, which is why I never understand people flying to places just to sit by a pool for two weeks and not leaving the hotel complex. The menus are impenetrable which stopped us eating more German food, it would have been easier in the tourist district I expect but the area we were in was pleasant so it all balances out.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Sherri

        11/12/2015 at 21:36

        Oh that is just not my idea of a holiday, no way. So boring. What’s the point? I can’t bear the thought of sitting by a pool all day, eating, drinking, sunbathing…I get too bored. I can’t even read, too distracted thinking of all the things I would rather be doing. I’m glad overall your trip was pleasant…and here’s to all that great German food we never got to eat…maybe next time 😉

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          14/12/2015 at 14:22

          I can sit by a pool over here or get some cans in and have happy hour at any time but to actually make the effort to go abroad for it seems mad. There is so much magic out there and adventure…and food, next time I will do my research or at least but a handy language book so I can look like one of those cool tourists that has no clue.

          Liked by 1 person

           
          • Sherri

            14/12/2015 at 16:54

            Haha…a great idea for a book: The Clueless Tourist Guide to Eating Out in Germany 🙂

            Like

             
  9. readinpleasure

    11/12/2015 at 17:22

    LOL Ste J, your creation is superb. I love him the most. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      14/12/2015 at 14:03

      I wish I could claim it really was mine but alas my imagination stops firmly at the covers of a book lol.

      Like

       
  10. Theanne aka magnoliamoonpie

    11/12/2015 at 19:46

    After your interesting travel to Germany complete with photos and Jagertee I’m happy you’re happy and that you’re looking forward to another excursion 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      14/12/2015 at 13:32

      It is not only addictive to go out and travel but to write about it, to understand my experiences and to share it with you is a wonderful thing.

      Like

       
  11. Maniparna Sengupta Majumder

    11/12/2015 at 22:17

    Your experience in Germany with all ups and downs was a virtual treat for me. I enjoyed the posts:-) German is not a simple language, as it looks to me. 😀

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      14/12/2015 at 13:37

      I really enjoyed writing them, to share them with you was really fun and you are right, German is a challenge and a half.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  12. RoSy

    12/12/2015 at 05:58

    Awwww… That last pic made me think of my son. He so loved Toy Story when he was a toddler. And – when he was 2 – he dressed up as Woody for Halloween. He wore that costume for more than just Halloween though.
    Just so happens that last night – I watch a Toy Story Special – 20 Years & then Toys Story right after that.
    Thanks for taking me back in time. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      14/12/2015 at 14:13

      I like to think I provide a public service for reminiscing, I really should start charging. I like hearing all the stories that people have, it makes me happy.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • RoSy

        19/12/2015 at 01:56

        LOL – You could be rich!
        I enjoy hearing people’s stories too.
        Life is so full of experiences to be shared.

        Like

         
  13. Jeff

    12/12/2015 at 13:10

    Fun place. Not many places can or would boast a Depeche Mode radio station. Not sure the humour you start with here is necessarily German btw:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gallery_of_Modern_Art#History
    Like the idea of a Jagertee. Sounds like the beer a cake would be if it could.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      14/12/2015 at 15:06

      ah, perhaps some humour is universal and wonderfully juvenile. That is perhaps the best description of a Jagertee I’ve come across.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  14. Resa

    12/12/2015 at 19:04

    It’s so great that you had a wonderful time! Although that Jagertees portion of beer is insane. That is beer, isn’t it? Well, my stomach is stretching out just looking at it! Lol… Fleetwood Mac station.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      14/12/2015 at 15:08

      I wouldn’t say it qualifies as a beer but as pleasure in a glass. I swear in the Washington State area there is a Fleetwood Mac station and I refuse to be told otherwise, even if I am wrong.

      Like

       
  15. Sarah

    14/12/2015 at 22:54

    In a single paragraph you have provided the final confirmation to me that a pilgrimage to Berlin is a priority (a radio station devoted entirely to Depeche Mode) and that the US is to be avoided at all costs (radio station devoted to Fleetwood Mac).Thank you. I like these things clarified. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      15/12/2015 at 12:52

      There is something about the constant Fleetwood Mac that eventually had me humming away despite my best efforts to fight it. Coffee and Depeche mode first thing in a morning was the best way to start the day.

      Like

       
  16. Chelsea Brown

    23/12/2015 at 18:53

    Sounds like an amusing and an awesome trip, I love that lego Woody. LOL!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/12/2015 at 19:11

      It was great to stretch the mind and see new things and just experience something different. I would definitely recommend a trip if you have some spare cash around. I have a photo of a Lego stormtrooper somewhere as well, currently and unsurprisingly lost in the transfer of files to the new laptop.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Chelsea Brown

        23/12/2015 at 19:22

        I wish I had cash to spare I could use a good holiday, in fact I don’t think that I’ve experienced one in about eight years. I think the last one was the trip to Alaska, which was very interesting. Oh well maybe day I might have the pleasure of experiencing a book tour with Jenny Mac that just might take me to some interesting places and sights.
        Best of luck digging for that storm trooper shot I’m sure you’ll find him.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          23/12/2015 at 19:35

          Last minute deals are the way forward as long as you aren’t too fussed about a lack of time to research your destination. You deserve a holiday you should go for it, rope in a blogger to put you up and that saves you money on hotels, its a good start and will warm you up for your book tour!

          Liked by 1 person

           
          • Chelsea Brown

            23/12/2015 at 21:39

            Hmm that would be the way to go, now I just need save a bit, but with everything with the house it may take some time. It’s lucky I’m good with a budget.

            Like

             
  17. Aquileana

    27/12/2015 at 12:18

    Excellent experience… I am wondering if you speak german as well… I have tried to learn a little bit by myself… I found it very hard though…
    The sculptures are stunning… I am wishing you a great new year ahead, dear Ste.
    All my best wishes. Aquileana 💫🌟

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      27/12/2015 at 14:58

      I don’t know much German at all, next time I go I will get myself at least a basic grounding in simple sentences. It’s good to not be completely ignorant of the language of the places that I go to.

      It will be a great year ahead because it will have more of you and your posts in it which is always something to be grateful and thankful for my friend, have a wonderful New Years my friend.

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
