RSS

Glimpsing Perfection

02 Apr

There she sits, with coffee. Entranced.
Form symbiotic with her passion, the book.

The beauty of her aura coming from that abstracted universe nestled safely in loving hands – to me it is almost flirtatious.
Oblivious to the world, she does not notice me observing;
the delicate way the page is held, poised for turning.
Time slows as the leaf nonchalantly hovers, before the abrupt snapping back into time by the crisp, concise turning.

Her flagrant eroticism permeates. 

Over time, I am witness to the slow changing of her features, a furrowing of the brow, like the transition from sun to sudden squall on a summer’s day.
The subtle hunch of the shoulders as if trying to physically become one with the story and it’s participants.

A slight changing of position, the reclining of her head to ponder upon subjects unknown to me.
Eyes unfocused yet fully concentrated.
The need to quiz without compromising her pure and simple pleasure becomes the torture with which I afflict myself.
A form of magical utopia to my biased eyes.

* I would like to say that this is a purely fictitious work and I do not stare at women in public or indeed private places, mainly on account that nobody seems to read around here and secondly and more importantly I do not wish to gain stalker status.

 
58 Comments

Posted by on 02/04/2015 in My Writings, Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , ,

58 responses to “Glimpsing Perfection

  1. Tokoni O. Uti

    02/04/2015 at 10:28

    Hahahah1 I never thought of this as stalkerish Its nice actually

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/04/2015 at 10:33

      Thank you and welcome to the blog, I thought it best to cover my bases in case I am in the same area as someone who happens to have a book and read the blog. It is perhaps highly unlikely but that’s usually when these things happen.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. renxkyoko

    02/04/2015 at 10:50

    Excuses, excuses ! Kidding. Cheers !

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/04/2015 at 10:53

      Haha, I need me an alibi!

      Like

       
  3. leapingtracks

    02/04/2015 at 11:07

    Shame it is fictitious – I would have liked you to ask her where she got her handbag LOL! Great work though 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/04/2015 at 11:10

      When I saw the picture my eyes slid straight to the book, so interested was I that I actually did that thing where you lift the whole laptop up to try and peer underneath the book. I didn’t actually notice there was a bag until you mentioned it.

      Like

       
      • leapingtracks

        02/04/2015 at 11:14

        Glad to have added an extra dimension to the vision, even if it is a vacuous one!

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          02/04/2015 at 11:15

          All dimensions welcome, except that one where there is an evil me who burns books, that one can stay away.

          Liked by 1 person

           
  4. Lyn

    02/04/2015 at 11:33

    I had a bag like that once – white. It had my hairdryer in it, but that was a loooooong time ago 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/04/2015 at 11:34

      Perhaps a post on bag memories would get me a great deal of page views and make the women of Bloggaria have a new found respect for me!

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Lyn

        02/04/2015 at 21:17

        Ste J, my friend, we already have great respect for you. No need for any little dilly bag 😀

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          03/04/2015 at 07:13

          I had to do an internet search for dilly bag, lol. The more I think of doing something out of my comfort zone the more appealing a post on bags or some such becomes, it could be interesting to do bags from a man’s eye view…

          Liked by 1 person

           
  5. vsvevg

    02/04/2015 at 12:12

    I’m sorry to hear there are no reading beauties for you to admire. I’m pretty sure any woman would appreciate being noticed for her bookish attraction.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/04/2015 at 12:41

      I think if I was in a city then it would be a different kettle of fish as people say but living in Mansfield, I only know of two people who read around my parts, I’m one of them and my friend Iain is the other, we are frequently mistaken for each other as well.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • vsvevg

        02/04/2015 at 17:45

        Yes, I guess we surround ourselves with readers as best we can wherever we are.
        It took me five years to find a friend who reads in Mexico.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          02/04/2015 at 18:59

          It is funny how many people read books yet how few of us there seems to be locally to each other, or perhaps we keep missing each other by fractions, like films tend to show.

          Like

           
  6. Asha

    02/04/2015 at 12:31

    Ohh! How I loved it and almost believed it to be true. You’re great and our thoughts synchronize a lot.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/04/2015 at 12:39

      It was about time I got some feeling into the blog again and I do enjoy a flight of fancy now and again. When it comes to books, we do share a heartfelt interest.

      Like

       
  7. macjam47

    02/04/2015 at 13:27

    Beautiful, and not stalker-ish at all.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/04/2015 at 13:30

      That is a relief, I like to give my imagination an airing sometimes and it does seem like the more I think, the deeper the aspects of reading there are to fathom, beyond the actual art of reading.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  8. Elizabeth Melton Parsons

    02/04/2015 at 14:07

    Like I said–very much worth the wait, Ste J. Sheer poetry, beautiful magical, sensuous. You really should do this more often, my friend. You have a magnificent gift. 🙂 And this is not stalking behavior at all. I should know I had a stalker once.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/04/2015 at 14:11

      I wish I had the eye for inspiration which so many other wonderful writers have, maybe this one will be the turning point for me, I say that after every poetry post because I am predictable. I am glad that your stalker issue is past tense, I can only imagine how horrible that must have been.

      Like

       
  9. Jill Weatherholt

    02/04/2015 at 15:04

    “Stalker” or not, this was wonderful, Ste J!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/04/2015 at 18:55

      I should have a T-shirt with I’m not a stalker on it, just so people know. Glad you liked my latest in a less than regular poems.

      Like

       
  10. Maniparna Sengupta Majumder

    02/04/2015 at 15:41

    Haha..I don’t think anybody will think this one as a stalker’s monologue.

    I just loved the choice of words and the way you’ve described the lady’s love for her book 🙂 Wonderfully done…

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/04/2015 at 19:01

      It is an endless source of fascination to watch somebody with a book, to put it into words was a challenge though, in part down to endless rewritings and being picky with my words. I had to get the correct ones as I know you’ll sympathise with.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  11. Seyi sandra

    02/04/2015 at 17:08

    I love this Ste J! You know how to surpass yourself in a funny kind of way. Maybe if you truly sit down one day, you’ll write a book. I don’t want to read your flawless command of English language only on my screen, would love to read a book with your name on it!
    Hope you’ll think about it. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/04/2015 at 18:58

      I do have a few ideas but like so many writers my ending isn’t very good so I want to flesh my ideas out before I start work, although there are quite a lot of scenes in my head that are taking shape. I would love to have a book I could send to people and entertain them…it would make me most happy.

      Like

       
  12. readinpleasure

    02/04/2015 at 17:12

    Ste J dear, this is written with a poetic flow, So sensual and exquisite:-)

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/04/2015 at 18:53

      Thank you my friend, I have been working on it for quite a while, for ages the words wouldn’t come together and my notes grew dusty so I’m glad that it has come out well.

      Like

       
  13. shadowoperator

    02/04/2015 at 17:39

    I don’t think it sounds stalkerish–admiring someone and trying to think their thoughts as they read is merely a matter of curiosity that we all indulge in from time to time.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/04/2015 at 18:52

      I often wonder what I must look like with a book in my hand, stopping sometimes to make notes and have a sip of bitter.

      Like

       
  14. RoSy

    02/04/2015 at 17:47

    LMAO on your disclaimer!
    That didn’t even cross my mind as I read your poem.
    I read it & thought – Awwww…how romantic & sweet.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/04/2015 at 18:49

      It wasn’t an altogether serious disclaimer but being the English gent that I am, I would hate to give anybody the wrong idea. I was aiming for romantic and sweet, so this pleases me.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  15. Sheila

    02/04/2015 at 17:59

    I love poetic writing like this. It’s true that we can easily become one with a book. But then that adds to the mystery of what that book could be. At least with real books an observer can see the title and try to work that into an opening line.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/04/2015 at 18:51

      Nothing annoys me more than somebody who keeps the title obscured, usually unintentionally of course, but I need to know what book it is that has captured somebody so completely.

      Like

       
  16. writersideup

    02/04/2015 at 22:01

    Not stalker-like at all, I think, Ste J, but voyeuristic perhaps? I love how you created something from “nothing” 🙂 Picture prompts can lead so many places! But I can tell you, any woman dressed like that and posed like that is definitely conscious–even while reading–of the world around noticing her lol

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      03/04/2015 at 07:20

      I spent ages typing in variations on women reading in cafés to find a suitable one, although I am not an expert in body language so wouldn’t have guessed the woman was conscious, it really is all about the book. As with all my poems, the words come first and the picture is just something that is a close approximation to what I wanted. Voyeuristic, I can go with that, books do bring out the dodgy side of me haha.

      Like

       
      • writersideup

        03/04/2015 at 08:22

        lol…OK. And I know the main focus was on the book. Of course, I’m thinking that photo was a posed shot anyway, but who knows, right? Still—I love stories made from random (sort of) images 🙂 I have about 5 or 6 good “first pages” written from prompts that, if I had the desire, could make them into much more than a first page.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          06/04/2015 at 11:39

          Getting that desire could lead to many possibilities including a book that gets reviewed on this ‘ere blog, imagine that!

          Like

           
          • writersideup

            06/04/2015 at 19:05

            Ha! I CAN imagine that, though I’m shooting for other works I’ve written or have yet to write for that to happen with 😀

            Like

             
  17. gargoylebruce

    03/04/2015 at 00:06

    Perhaps they are reading on their phone kindle app. I think you should start staring at everyone, just in case.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      03/04/2015 at 07:15

      That is a good point, I must share the intense staring love towards everybody as I am an equal media opportunities type of guy. Perhaps some variation on the Peter Capaldi stare would do nicely.

      Like

       
      • gargoylebruce

        03/04/2015 at 09:44

        Indeed. Then when people ask what you’re doing you can bark at them to shut up.

        Like

         
  18. angela

    03/04/2015 at 02:57

    Stalker…meh, not really, it is good to know a man appreciates a woman for her reading beauty not just her physicality. That said, happy poetry month – I am already two poems behind…

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      03/04/2015 at 07:23

      The fact I manage to write a poem topical by hitting it in poetry month is entirely by fluke but like most of my haphazard planning it seems to turn out alright. Woman and book combined make something more than than the sum of their parts. To see the effect on a reader and trying to interpret the look is a heady business indeed. Reading beauty, yes I like that phrase a lot.

      Like

       
  19. Letizia

    04/04/2015 at 20:43

    I love the idea that she is so engrossed in reading, that she’s almost trying to enter the world of the book. Beautiful poem.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      06/04/2015 at 11:34

      When people are reading like that it makes me jealous, mainly because they are distracting me from my own book which is probably treason in some parts of the world. It’s about time I did a poem as people keep reminding me so I’m happy that inspiration finally hit.

      Like

       
      • Letizia

        06/04/2015 at 15:42

        To be so engrossed in a book is bliss.

        More poetry, please.

        Like

         
  20. clarepooley33

    05/04/2015 at 00:30

    I liked this post very much. I agree with the others – not stalkerish. I often watch other people reading on trains and am always interested in what they’re reading and how they read.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      06/04/2015 at 11:36

      How people read is very interesting and I tend to ask people how they read, not strangers though, that would possibly be a little bit to left field a question for an introduction. It pleases me you like my words, they seem to come along irregularly but I’m hoping regularity will soon be my new watch word.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • clarepooley33

        07/04/2015 at 00:06

        I wish I could post more regularly but life keeps getting in the way! Most of the things I enjoy doing, like reading, gardening,writing have had to make way for important but generally not so pleasant duties recently. With any luck things will start to sort themselves out soon and regularity will be my watch-word too 🙂

        Like

         
  21. Sherri

    07/04/2015 at 14:43

    What a beautifully captivating poem…love how you describe the changing of her features ‘…like the transition from sun to sudden squall on a summer’s day.’ Wonderful observations of those subtle changes as your own emotions stir your heart. Love this my friend…

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      10/04/2015 at 11:42

      I aim to please, this was one of those poems that gestated for a while and of course I needed to spend many hours in the pub to get into the atmosphere, the things I do for my art…I think a few pints may have helped with some of my word choice as well.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Sherri

        10/04/2015 at 19:00

        Nothing like a little liquid inspiration…all for the purposes of your art, of course…

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          10/04/2015 at 19:18

          I do live for my art, like a method actor, I get totally involved.

          Liked by 1 person

           
          • Sherri

            12/04/2015 at 18:31

            And that is why you are so good at it 🙂

            Like

             

Tell me stuff...

 
