RSS

Mail High Club

13 Feb

There is something exciting about being greeted in the morning by a package, an international package no less.  Naturally I had to go share this with other people but with everybody being at work and having a day off myself I did the next best thing.  Wandering into town, found a public place, sat down, cleared my throat dramatically and a little too loudly and made sure my index finger was pointed at the word priority.

The PackageAssured of absolutely nobody paying attention, it was with gusto that I ripped the envelope open like some sort of animal, a book loving wolf possibly.  My prize was an exciting new book (courtesy of the folks at New Shelves Distribution), that I am looking forward to getting my teeth into.

Word PlayFinally, this year the feeling of focus is coming together and from now on the blog posts will start to become more frequent, as will the visits which have been wholly lacking in your general direction so far.  As it stands there are six books to review on the pile and plenty mo e on the shelves that I should reacquaint myself with from my reading past.  The blogging year definitely starts here…

 
40 Comments

Posted by on 13/02/2015 in Languages

 

Tags: , , , ,

40 responses to “Mail High Club

  1. poseidons99

    13/02/2015 at 21:01

    opening a package especially with a book is always exciting 🙂 although I usually open them carefully

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      13/02/2015 at 21:04

      Greetings! I am always careful with the book…but the packaging is not always so lucky, such is my desperation.

      Like

       
  2. Christy Birmingham

    13/02/2015 at 23:41

    Ohhhhh a new book, YES! Did you open it up and smell the pages or is that just me…

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      14/02/2015 at 14:26

      Oh yes, you have to sniff the book! It is nice to find an American book that actually has a nice scent, from my research whilst over WA way, they didn’t have the most powerful smells. It is habit though, the aroma breathing lol.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Christy Birmingham

        14/02/2015 at 19:10

        Okay good glad to hear I’m not alone in that sniffing method of critiquing books!!

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          16/02/2015 at 09:21

          We, who are enjoy the book scent are a classy breed, indeed!

          Liked by 1 person

           
  3. Seyi sandra

    14/02/2015 at 00:00

    I’m glad to read this, can’t wait to see what would spring forth from your eminence! Bring it on Steve!!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      14/02/2015 at 14:25

      Buckle up, it should be a gentle if bumpy ride!

      Like

       
  4. Alastair Savage

    14/02/2015 at 10:21

    $24.75 postage too…

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      14/02/2015 at 14:23

      It makes me feel more privileged.

      Like

       
  5. macjam47

    14/02/2015 at 14:38

    When a package arrives, I can tell right away it’s a book, and my excitement in opening it, is matched only by my curiosity as I try to guess which book it will be.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      16/02/2015 at 09:28

      It is such a wonderful feeling, the question is always do I savour, or rip open the packaging so my curiosity can be satisfied, usually it is a bit of both but curiosity wins out in the end.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  6. Jeff

    14/02/2015 at 16:16

    Sniffing the book too – very analog. I’ve yet to get a secondhand book by mail. Used books have such different scents, don;t you think?

    Your choice here reminds me of Robert Claibourne’s Life and Times of the English Language, which covers such things as where surnames came from, and the uses of telegramese.

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Life-Times-English-Language-Marvellous/dp/0747506558/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1423930408&sr=1-1&keywords=life+and+times+of+the+english+language

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      16/02/2015 at 09:51

      I do love the smell of old books, walking into a second hand book store and having that old smell hit you, brilliant. I do love etymology and I think that book is already on my ‘offensively long books I need to buy list’. QI said that the chemicals they put in books are very faintly hallucinogenic, so I Googled it and it turns out to be true.

      Like

       
  7. writersideup

    15/02/2015 at 02:49

    OH, how I love packages in the mail—especially BOOKS! This looks like a great one and it’ll be fun keeping up with whatever you come up with, Ste J 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      16/02/2015 at 09:20

      I have a few ideas for things non bookish as well as plenty of reviews. It is rare I get books in the post unless they are review copies so I do tend to eak out the excitement as much as possible and show off a bit just because, lol.

      Like

       
      • writersideup

        16/02/2015 at 19:23

        You make me smile, Ste J 🙂 And I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE your non-bookish posts!

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          17/02/2015 at 18:15

          Then I shall think up something interesting for the near future.

          Like

           
          • writersideup

            17/02/2015 at 22:43

            And I will look forward to “something” with great interest 😀

            Like

             
  8. readingwithrhythm

    15/02/2015 at 03:54

    I am looking forward to future illuminating posts that will imbue us with much intelligence. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      16/02/2015 at 09:25

      I’ll do my best but for legal reasons can’t promise too much in that department lol.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  9. Jilanne Hoffmann

    15/02/2015 at 19:45

    A book covered in Scrabble tiles! Nirvana! I already want to buy this one…Did you have a word with a drink, too?

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      16/02/2015 at 09:38

      I had a word with a couple of drinks…just to make sure I got my message across, lol. I’ll make sure I get a review up post haste.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  10. Letizia

    16/02/2015 at 00:19

    Love the title of this post, fun play on words, haha! I love getting a book through the post as well and an international package… well, that just makes it all the sweeter. Word Play is an interesting read – some fascinating characters in there….

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      16/02/2015 at 09:37

      It was a toss up between that title and Mail Order Pride, lol. I am looking forward to getting my teeth into it, which I should have already but life got in the way, a bit like Jurassic Park but with less noise.

      Like

       
      • Letizia

        16/02/2015 at 13:41

        Mail Order Pride, hahaha, another great one!

        Like

         
  11. LuAnn

    16/02/2015 at 15:24

    This looks like a book I would like to sink my teeth into (ok not literally). 😉 I’m looking forward to the future posts this book may elicit.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      17/02/2015 at 18:17

      It is a paperback so would be easier to get your teeth into but like you I fight the urge and choose to read them instead, we are so unadventurous! Reading the book so far it is fascinating and language that we take for granted is becoming fascinating to me, as it rightly should be.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • LuAnn

        18/02/2015 at 15:54

        I will try to resist the urge to take a bite! 🙂

        Like

         
  12. Aquileana

    17/02/2015 at 12:27

    Very cool dear Ste… I must admit that at first sight I thought It was a Scrabble Board Game… Need coffee I guess … Happy day to you… I am sending you a virtual hug (delivered as priority, please!), Aquileana 😀

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      17/02/2015 at 18:23

      Hug received and appreciated and one sent back to you via migrating bird (that will probably take a detour to get to you). I think I would draw some funny looks if I sat with a Scrabble board on my own in public. Maybe one day I will do one of those chess puzzles though that come in the paper sometimes, it may make me seem more intellectual than I really am, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  13. Sherri

    17/02/2015 at 23:21

    Yay…Ste is back! Love the feeling of getting a package. Especially such a special one. Did anyone notice the priority mail? Shame on them if not…

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/02/2015 at 09:01

      Sadly not, but it may have something to do with not wanting to sit near people in case I caught lurgy. Making a fool of myself around people always makes for good reading though and people seemed to notice that just not the package I was waving around, sigh.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  14. RoSy

    19/02/2015 at 02:41

    Other than bills or junk-mail – it’s always nice to get other types of mail & packages in the mail.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      19/02/2015 at 09:13

      It is rare that it happens, so when it does it is a big deal at my house. I always make sure I don’t open such packages straight away but leave them for an hour or so to savour the feeling of a new book.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  15. angela

    24/02/2015 at 20:34

    Bit late to comment, but so glad to see your blog manifesto…. writing was to be a priority while on staycation but alas I go back tomorrow with hardly any ink spilled – blog away my friend ~

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/02/2015 at 20:04

      That is always the problem when one plans time to write, it never happens and distractions get in the way all to easily. This week I have managed two posts in six days which is better than most weeks for me.

      Like

       
  16. vsvevg

    25/02/2015 at 02:10

    I never receive mail. I mean never, no junk mail, nada. About once a year someone braves sending a card, it takes a couple of months to get the post office nearest us. Then because I never get mail it lingers there for a few weeks until the post master hands it to someone who lives in La Tigra, and asks if they can get it to me. Then I imagine it sits in their kitchen or is sweated open to their disappointment, because there is never any money, stuck back together and passed off to someone in my family. All of this is to say, I think your really cool. A package! International no less!! Looks like a good book too 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/02/2015 at 20:19

      My it is a great book and I’m flying through it at the moment. The post seems to be getting more challenging these days, my aunty sent me a birthday card from Massachusetts when I was over Washington State and it still hasn’t arrived there, it has been over a year now. I is rare I get any mail either but I do savour the envelopes, I may take the next one (whenever I get one) to work and make out I am some sort of real celebrity, haha.

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
