RSS

Paean in Amore

21 Oct
Photo found on todayiwillmake.blogspot.com

Photo found on todayiwillmake.blogspot.com

Paean in Amore

Time unbroken, memories unguarded,
Carved,
Ingrained for all to see and muse upon,
standing undiminished.

A moment etched into recollection, a long faded action of youth,
Or perhaps something more?
a lasting union,
Written in the stars, incised into a dual soul.

The heart yet beats, radiating its own charm
Carelessly lighting up a little corner of the world
rewarding the observant,
Playfully beguiling anew.

Rekindled by the passions of another.
Weathered but unchanged,
A contemplation waiting,
perfect in every way.

 
59 Comments

Posted by on 21/10/2014 in My Writings, Poetry

 

Tags: , , , ,

59 responses to “Paean in Amore

  1. Morgan

    21/10/2014 at 20:04

    Beguiling 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      21/10/2014 at 20:07

      why thank you! It didn’t take long to write it, but the tweaking took almost an hour.

      Like

       
      • Morgan

        21/10/2014 at 20:24

        thats usually what takes too long. I tend not to tweak too much, as it often feels like over thinking (which I do enough of as it is)

        Like

         
  2. renxkyoko

    21/10/2014 at 20:19

    Whoah ! ! So romantic ! ! ! Nice, Ste J ! ! 😉

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      21/10/2014 at 20:24

      Thank you, I wanted to write something that wasn’t romantic in the traditional sense. I think the passerby that comes across such a carving finds it equally romantic and much more fascinating in scope to muse upon.

      Like

       
      • renxkyoko

        21/10/2014 at 20:31

        well carving your feelings in stone or a tree is the most romantic thing. All that passion in one’s heart is expressed right there.

        Like

         
  3. thejerseygal®™

    21/10/2014 at 21:52

    Bravo! You are master at finding a muse in someone else’s token of enamorment. Your words have made my day. You have a way of doing that. Please keep finding your inner poet. I really like him!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      22/10/2014 at 10:08

      He is elusive but I am hoping he ventures out more often. It is always nice to get inspiration even from somebody else’s memories.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  4. Letizia

    21/10/2014 at 22:44

    “the heart yet beats” – great line!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      22/10/2014 at 10:09

      I liked to think of it as alive whilst people still see it on that tree. I haven’t forgotten about your post by the way, I have my idea it just needs tweaking ‘to the max’ as the kids of the 90’s said.

      Like

       
      • Letizia

        22/10/2014 at 15:53

        Tweaking to the max, haha, I like that!

        Like

         
  5. Lyn

    21/10/2014 at 22:56

    I’m impressed Ste J. That gave me my first ‘awww’ moment of the day. Wonderful title.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      22/10/2014 at 10:05

      I like getting in there with my ‘awww’ moment first. It was going to be a horror book review I did so I am glad I got inspired for this post instead.

      Like

       
  6. Al

    21/10/2014 at 23:19

    I like that.

    Something always gets me though. When I see people’s initials carved into a tree, I don’t think “awww that’s sweet”, I think “Who takes a knife on a date?” hehe

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      22/10/2014 at 10:07

      That is a good point, anybody invites me to the park for a date and I think I will run the other way in future.

      Like

       
      • Al

        22/10/2014 at 10:27

        “Come to the park, I know this great tree …. hello? … are you there? … helloooo?”

        Like

         
  7. gargoylebruce

    22/10/2014 at 03:40

    You found the tree I carved for us! Ste & Bruce, blogging buddies 4 Eva!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      22/10/2014 at 10:14

      I can imagine you with a knife betwixt claws, late at night hacking up that tree. it is a most wonderful tribute to a friendship spanning thousands of miles, I say drink a Castlemaine XXXX to that!

      Like

       
      • gargoylebruce

        23/10/2014 at 09:28

        I live reasonably close to that brewery. Although I used to live closer to it. So that was a reasonably pointless statement. Reasonably.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          23/10/2014 at 19:33

          Nevertheless I enjoyed it, over a cup of tea.

          Like

           
          • gargoylebruce

            24/10/2014 at 22:46

            It was certainly long enough. The comment that is. Although I’m sure the tea took a reasonable amount of time also. I suppose it would depend on levels of milkiness compared to scaldiness of the original boiling water, modified by the variable of tolerance levels for hotness as to how fast one can drink.

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              28/10/2014 at 15:50

              That is exactly what I was thinking.

              Like

               
              • writersideup

                28/10/2014 at 17:02

                Thanks for the continuing entertainment factor, guys 😀

                Like

                 
    • writersideup

      22/10/2014 at 23:30

      OK, that is just too cute for words 🙂

      Like

       
  8. writersideup

    22/10/2014 at 06:15

    This really is beautiful, Ste J 🙂 And it is in the revision that the work becomes a work of art. Actually, I think I’m going to add that to the quote on my “About Me” page since it goes right along with it 🙂 Yay! What I’d like to know is if you spotted the picture (or tree) and it inspired the poem, or you wrote the poem then found the image…

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      22/10/2014 at 10:12

      I had the thought in my head, well it came in a roundabout way from reading Dickens’ thoughts on walking through graveyards. I had the idea from that for something more romantic and then the observational stuff from the point of view of a passerby and then naturally it took ages to find a good photo, it annoyed me that there were not a lot of good quality photos about really.

      add away, About Me pages I find are always works in progress as we still have lots to discover about ourselves.

      Like

       
      • writersideup

        22/10/2014 at 23:29

        Nah, I just extended my opening “quote” on that page. I had it as: “To write well takes education and practice. To write exceptionally well is an art—through revision.” Now I’ve added to it: It is in the revision that the work becomes a work of art.”

        Anything else “About Me” is staying as is! lol

        Like

         
  9. N@ncy

    22/10/2014 at 10:49

    I am not an aficianado of poetry (as many of your fans are,…see comments), but I did read this twice. Once initials are carved in a tree the bond between them becomes as strong as an oak, yet fragile as a leaf.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/10/2014 at 19:44

      I like how you put that, that is lovely and very natural. I am a novice with poems but people seem to like it, I am sure I make the purists cringe though haha.

      Like

       
      • writersideup

        24/10/2014 at 00:01

        For sure, I’m not a purist! I pay little attention to REAL meter, etc. When I write poetry it’s probably safer to call them “lyrics” lol

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          28/10/2014 at 15:49

          I’m the same, if it flows in my head then it will do, perhaps I shall call myself a free form bohemian instead haha.

          Like

           
  10. macjam47

    22/10/2014 at 10:50

    These are beautiful thoughts taken from a photo of initials etched in a tree. Absolutely gorgeous.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/10/2014 at 19:33

      Thank you, I don’t get inspired to write poetry often but there are some things that demand to be written about.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  11. Elizabeth Melton Parsons

    22/10/2014 at 12:11

    Beautifully written. So full of romance and the wonder of it. Love the image you chose to go with it. Inspires my imagination just as the old sweetheart tree at IU did.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/10/2014 at 19:46

      The image was the hardest part as I had a specific type of photo in mind, but the internet didn’t have a lot of choice on my specific ideas surprisingly. As long as I make people ponder, then I am happy.

      Like

       
  12. Sherri

    22/10/2014 at 18:05

    Wow Ste, this took me by surprise, expecting a book review, wondering about the title, and then…here it is…your wonderful poem. Love the story you found behind the carving in the tree in the park, ‘A contemplation waiting…perfect in every way.’ Just like this post, perfectly lovely…

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/10/2014 at 19:22

      It was going to be a book review but this one popped into my mind and I thought I would surprise you all with one of my sporadic poetic efforts. That is the first time one of my posts has been called perfectly lovely, it makes me smile on a cold Thursday eve.

      Like

       
      • Sherri

        24/10/2014 at 13:59

        Oh I’m so glad…and you see, sporadic can be good 😀

        Like

         
  13. writersideup

    22/10/2014 at 23:29

    I was also surprised to hear there weren’t many good pics!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/10/2014 at 19:19

      You would think there would be loads, the world is a strange place.

      Like

       
  14. Seyi sandra

    23/10/2014 at 14:39

    Well, well, well. Great stuff Ste J, this is beautiful. Permission to read again, and perhaps include in a future project? I love this my friend!!! What do you say?

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/10/2014 at 19:18

      I say go for it, I would be honoured to be part of your future project! I’m glad you like it.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  15. RoSy

    29/10/2014 at 14:00

    Nice subtle romance. Niiice!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      29/10/2014 at 17:35

      There is perhaps not enough romance on this blog, that and comedy involving banana skins!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  16. LuAnn

    30/10/2014 at 15:04

    Fabulous Ste J. I felt the reflective mood in this piece.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      30/10/2014 at 20:00

      I do like to let my mind wander and I usually end up on my reflective side, I think I am probably part Mobius Strip lol

      Like

       
  17. Aquileana

    08/11/2014 at 19:56

    Beautiful… I love the way you referred to Time as the antecedent of carved memories.
    I truly liked the third stanza. Best wishes to you, Aquileana 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      09/11/2014 at 19:52

      Thank you very much, I will work on writing more poetry, I am slowly gaining in confidence from all of the wonderful support I get from your good self and all my other equally good readers.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  18. Christy Birmingham

    04/12/2014 at 21:23

    Your words have me lost in thought… a good sign for a poem!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      05/12/2014 at 19:49

      Why thank you, I do love a good muse and to send other people on their own journeys of the mind makes me happy.

      Like

       
  19. Nitin

    11/12/2014 at 12:42

    Beautiful

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/12/2014 at 18:29

      Thank you and welcome to the blog. I tend not to stray towards matters of the heart very often but perhaps in future I shall do more on such things.

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
