RSS

The Last Night of the Proms

14 Sep

Neatly bookending the hottest bit of the year, we have the camp Eurovision Song Contest (written about elsewhere on this blog) in May closing it we had yesterday’s finale to the Proms season.  Which was once again a rousing and magnificent triumph, as it is every year.  I love the celebration of culture and history that is always in evidence and I also love watching the orchestra play, a mighty machine working in perfect harmony to bring about stirring music that captures the imagination world-wide.

The BBC gets a lot of stick from the public and press and rightly so in some areas, the top-heavy approach to management, instead of using that money for programming which is evidenced by some of its pretty substandard output, not to mention the lack of live sport.  However, The coverage of the Proms is one of the corporations victories.

The vast Royal Albert Hall always looks beautiful on such a night, with its flag waving and panoramic camera angles showing off the enthusiasm of the public for such public artistic events.  Founded by Sir Henry Woods back in 1895, who wanted to bring classical music to everybody and his noble intentions are now a staple of our summertime. One thing we can do well on this Sceptred Isle is tradition, which is why our trains are still rubbish, we always expect rain and we are so out of our depth when not queueing.

Bringing together the best in classical music, some great tributes to films (including a great Mary Poppins sing-a-long this year), fusion pieces with modern artists and sometimes a visit from The Doctor as well. The last night is always a worthy climax and is the culmination of the many events that have been on throughout Britain over the summer months.  It makes me go all patriotic, at least for a time, which is rare for me.

It is great to see so many people enjoying such wonderful music, frequent camera cuts to places like a packed out Hyde Park for instance show the appetite, it is world heritage and should be celebrated and encouraged, children should be inspired by it and have the opportunity to get involved.  It is a well-known fact that we Brits also give lots of charity and this season £89,700 was raised for musical charities which seems the only way to get funding these days as money for the arts is being syphoned off more each year.

As I have started a new job this week I have been somewhat reclusive but will be catching up to your blogs within a day or two, thanks for you patience.  Whilst I remember as well, there isn’t too much on this year’s last night on YouTube yet so the above clip are is from a previous year but you get the idea.

 

 
29 Comments

Posted by on 14/09/2014 in TV

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

29 responses to “The Last Night of the Proms

  1. shadowoperator

    14/09/2014 at 19:52

    Wow, I’d never heard of Proms night before in a British context. Here in the States, a “prom” is something, a party/dance that teenagers in junior high or high school take each other to. But more importantly than my ignorance, what is your new job all about, and how’s it going so far? I do hope it’s something you can enjoy, relate to, or at least accept.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      14/09/2014 at 20:02

      The job is retail, so something I have experience in and of course it is money so that is always good. So far it’s going fine after a week but I haven’t done much apart from all the legal stuff and a few bits and bobs about procedures. These days the kids have the American style proms over here as well, talk about cultural appropriation! I always wondered how much our version of the proms had penetrated your side of the pond.

      Like

       
      • shadowoperator

        14/09/2014 at 20:21

        It occurs to me to wonder what the British name “prom” comes from. I think that given the dating context, the American term “prom” must be short for “promenade,” a kind of date people used to have way back when. But to the extent that kids now have to shell out both allowance money and parental loans and gifts for fancy prom dresses, tuxedos, and limousines (and the of course not-admitted but much used liquor and party stuff), I think it could equally well stand for “promotionals.” I hope you get the maximum amount of filthy lucre for the minimum amount of effort from your new job.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          14/09/2014 at 20:28

          Prom is short for promenade concert, it’s where people can wander around as the orchestra plays, it’s usually more formal now in most places but there was a place near(ish) me on the coast that was in a bay with a nice place for the orchestra and it was feee, so people came with deckchairs and picnics and enjoyed the music, it’s great fun and everybody gets into it whether they know the music or not. Everything is all about money these days, the limo business must be raking it in. I avoided the ones that were around when i was back at school. Promotionals is definitely apt! I will do my best to make sure I come out on top…if I stand in a corner and bang my head against a wall, I may just get left alone…that is my last resort.

          Like

           
  2. gargoylebruce

    14/09/2014 at 22:57

    Look at you all. Any excuse for a bit of jolly flag-waving, then it’ll be avoiding each other’s eyes and attempting to maintain a bubble of personal space in the tube on the way home.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      15/09/2014 at 13:52

      Haha, you know us well! We don’t let our guard down for very long, it’s not our way…

      Like

       
  3. readingwithrhythm

    14/09/2014 at 23:42

    Your Prom sounds quite sensational. I have been to similar events here in Texas. They are just called Music under the stars or some such. But the symphony plays and people picnic and meander. dogs are usually welcome. It makes for a nice social event and relaxing evening. I hope that your job goes well!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      15/09/2014 at 13:57

      The Last Night has The Royal Albert Hall as the focus but over the season there is plenty of time to take a deckchair and a picnic and enjoy them in the way you are describing. I love the title, Music Under the Stars it makes it all sound a little more magical. I hope my job goes well also, anything for a quiet life and a bit of sanity.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  4. Love, Life and Whatever

    15/09/2014 at 07:29

    Thank you for sharing some part of culture it always is interesting to me and my wishes for the new job

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      15/09/2014 at 13:50

      I like to share some of the culture over here, as well as learn from all over the world…I’d feel rude, hogging it all. hank you for your wishes, I think it should all run smoothly enough.

      Like

       
  5. Elizabeth Melton Parsons

    15/09/2014 at 15:46

    Beautiful music and singing. Enjoyed it very much. Thanks so much for sharing a little of your culture and traditions with us non brits.. I hope you’re loving your new job. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      15/09/2014 at 19:08

      I like to give a bit back as I tend to hoover up so much culture from around the world like the magpie I am. I haven’t really got going in the job yet, did some training but tomorrow is my first proper day, so hopefully I will be able to do something right lol.

      Like

       
  6. Sherri

    16/09/2014 at 12:56

    And what can be more patriotic than a night at the Proms? I remember singing Jerusalem at school during assembly (back in the day when we had hymns and prayers at school and that was just a typical village school) and feeling all stirred up by the emotion of the moment. Daughter loves the Eurovision and we watch it with her every year. Would love to read your post about it…
    All the best in your new job, hope you are happy there and soon settle in. See you soon 🙂

    Like

     
  7. Al

    16/09/2014 at 13:28

    Congratulations on starting the new job.

    The Last Night of the Proms is something I have always loved listening to. It is so lifting.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      16/09/2014 at 18:19

      I always plan to go and actually see some of the events through Summer but this year I have been cash strapped, I am looking to start doing the odd thing on the cheap though soon. Like go to random football matches, museums and the like. The job gets me a discount and that will be handy for Christmas…there I said it, that’s it it’s officially here on this blog as well as Chicago Rock Cafes everywhere and card shops.

      Like

       
      • Al

        16/09/2014 at 20:34

        100 days

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          16/09/2014 at 20:38

          I’m miserable already.

          Like

           
          • Al

            16/09/2014 at 20:50

            Haha 107 days until 2015. How’s that?

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              16/09/2014 at 20:53

              The year has just flown by, I find it a bit scary. Still I look forward to a drink in 107 days lol.

              Like

               
              • Al

                16/09/2014 at 22:19

                You need a reason?

                Like

                 
  8. RoSy

    16/09/2014 at 20:26

    Proms in this manner is new to me.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Not 100% sure about proms in the US – as I never went to one.

    Best to you on your new job!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      16/09/2014 at 20:32

      I think you need to gatecrash a prom, then write a blog post about it! Perhaps next year I will take in a few more classical events for the blog to keep things fresh. I was unleashed on customers today which went better than I expected haha…thanks for your wishes.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  9. writersideup

    23/09/2014 at 02:14

    Ste J, I’d never heard of this before and am glad to know it. Yes, money is often spent on things that, relatively, aren’t as urgent or weighty as others, but anything to promote the Arts and afford people enjoyment of something of this quality (and oh, Mary Poppins!!!), is very valuable, indeed 😀 So glad you posted about it and since I am STILL, very slowly trying to catch up on weeks of posts, I’m late in congratulating you on your NEW JOB!!!! I hope it’s going well 😀

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/09/2014 at 17:07

      Why thank you, now the novelty has worn off I am already wishing for more spare time predictably lol! we spend shed loads of money to go to other countries to fight wars but somehow can’t seem to find any time to celebrate our rich cultural heritage (and Mary Poppins), I say more of this and less pointless bloodshed. Incidently, I did a post on the Eurovision song contest which you are under no pressure to read whatsoever but is th opposite end of the musical culture spectrum and is always good for a laugh…https://bookmust.wordpress.com/2014/05/15/derision-vision/

      Like

       
      • writersideup

        25/09/2014 at 17:16

        Well, Ste J, you made me WAY too curious NOT to look, so I checked it out 🙂 I’m all for the classical and stuff like Mary Poppins (yes, I ADORE Mary since childhood), this stuff I personally can’t enjoy. Perhaps it’s a generational thing? But it’s definitely not how I would choose to spend my time and I totally do NOT enjoy that type music. I do, however, think people SHOULD take time to celebrate “fun” and it looks like they did! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          25/09/2014 at 17:23

          A lot of nations take Eurovision seriously whereas we Brits think it is just a bit of fun. It is a bewildering show but nicely offsets bookends the Summer season with the Last night of the proms. Nothing like a bit of eccentricity to keep the fun factor going.

          Like

           

Tell me stuff...

 
