RSS

For Those Who Create

18 Aug

Words-Create-Worlds-I

For Those Who Create…From One Who Reads

Suspended in this limbo
I choose to look deeply into the heart
Seeking your soul
this layered world established in intricate rules of delicate complexity.

The labyrinthine nature of density ensnares and inveigles,
deeper in the journey taken, is the roused traveller
on footpaths unseen and unfamiliar, yet innately known
the imprint of transcendence.

Inward images reveal the world outside,
Perception once unknown, now recognised with ill disguised vigour
All is…forever changed,
cognisance complete
Transience…..

 
37 Comments

Posted by on 18/08/2014 in My Writings, Poetry

 

Tags: , , , ,

37 responses to “For Those Who Create

  1. Morgan

    18/08/2014 at 17:26

    This is the first poem you’ve written that I’ve found. I actually had to read it twice, thrice, each time the deeper meaning pulls me in another direction. I love it. Exceptional, Ste J 😉 I shall have to find more of your poetry 😉

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/08/2014 at 17:35

      I don’t have a lot of examples of my words but there is some in the poetry and my writings categories on the side bar. I did spend a little time crafting this one, I wanted it to be as layered as what I read on blogs and in books, giving more than just a superficial message. I am glad you like it, I am a poetry novice compared to your 30 posts a day, lol. Thanks for the reblog as well!

      Like

       
      • Morgan

        18/08/2014 at 18:09

        I love the layers 🙂 I need to learn to spend more time crafting. I tend to write what comes and thats that, with little alteration. I will definitely be reading more of yours …since I need to do more reading anyway 🙂 Always happy to share that which inspires me 🙂

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          18/08/2014 at 18:22

          It is impressive, you can write with little need for alteration…that is something I just can’t master. Yay for reading, I should be giving away baseball caps with Reading Posse written on them.

          Like

           
  2. Morgan

    18/08/2014 at 17:27

    Reblogged this on booknvolume and commented:
    The Labyrinth of words created here within sets my mind aptly drifting.

    Like

     
  3. Love, Life and Whatever

    18/08/2014 at 18:18

    What beautiful symbolism…pulled all the strings of the created and the read

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/08/2014 at 18:35

      Thank you, it’s always good to get feedback from good writers and you write some wonderfully emotive pieces yourself.

      Like

       
  4. writersideup

    18/08/2014 at 18:38

    Ste J, you definitely have a way with words 🙂 Beautiful…

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/08/2014 at 18:40

      It’s rare I write much in the way of poetry so I am always tentative about publishing it…I’m glad you like it.

      Like

       
      • writersideup

        18/08/2014 at 18:50

        I’ve been known to write poems, but they’re not true poetry (technically/strictly following meter, rhyme, etc.), but I intend to share on my blog at some point. Yours is beautiful. A whole other level above and beyond what I write, so yes—I appreciate and admire when language is used so beautifully, especially with some kind of symbolism. Yours is “slightly” cryptic so I can handle it. When something—ANYthing—is written too cryptically, I glaze over and pass it by…

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          18/08/2014 at 19:08

          I tend to freestyle as well, sticking to the rules is not for an intrepid maverick such as myself lol. My words this time were a celebration of all the people who creates words and ideas that capture me and lead me to explore their worlds. I never was much good at the cryptic crosswords either.

          Like

           
  5. fictionfitz

    18/08/2014 at 19:49

    Reblogged this on Writing Out Loud and commented:
    Thanks to Morgan for bringing this blog to my attention

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      19/08/2014 at 13:56

      And thank you for the reblog.

      Like

       
  6. thejerseygal®™

    18/08/2014 at 20:08

    Love it! Omg, it has so much depth and kudos to your choice of words! You well know the soul of a poet, my friend.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      19/08/2014 at 13:58

      Thanks for the reblog. I don’t do shallow, well apart from some of the easy reads I enjoy…words make the world go round and it was high time I got a poem out as I am sure many agree.

      Like

       
  7. thejerseygal®™

    18/08/2014 at 20:33

    Reblogged this on gabrielsfury and commented:
    This poem is brilliant. He thinks he is a novice, but he amazes me with the depth of his words.

    Like

     
  8. gargoylebruce

    18/08/2014 at 23:18

    I I like that you’ve managed to use the word inveigle. Now there’s an underappreciated and fun to say word.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      19/08/2014 at 14:10

      Finding these underused words is a good hobby to have, I’m the Indiana Jones of words…at least in my own mind.

      Like

       
      • writersideup

        19/08/2014 at 14:12

        I really love the exchanges between the two of you 🙂

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          19/08/2014 at 14:13

          I always imagined Bruce was a voice in my head until he started commenting on here…

          Like

           
  9. Hollis Hildebrand-Mills

    19/08/2014 at 15:39

    Very nice!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      21/08/2014 at 15:17

      Thank you and welcome to the blog!

      Like

       
  10. Sherri

    19/08/2014 at 17:25

    You are indeed a poet Ste – this is beautifully written and I adore the use of the word ‘inveigles’. For some reason, I keep going back to it. Love the ending too.. .’Transience….’
    I feel as if I’m reading a book with you as I read your poem. Does that make sense? Love it…

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      21/08/2014 at 15:24

      I’m glad you like it, you know it applies to wonderful blogs as well as books. The last line, I did look at for a while wondering if it needed something more…some sort of closure but I think leaving it open worked better. Inveigle seems to be a big hit, lets get it back into circulation!

      Like

       
  11. Seyi sandra

    19/08/2014 at 19:44

    This is good Ste J, I mean one of your best words ever. You have to keep peeling the words off to discover the full meaning. That means you’re a poet cum writer cum reviewer. I love your versatility my friend! Great job!!!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      21/08/2014 at 15:20

      I think one breeds the other, I read and learned to write by thinking and from then on I have gone onto dabble occasionally into poetry. I’m glad you like it, depth is good, especially if you are sadistic like me and like to make your readers work, mwahahaha. It is thanks to yourself and everybody else’s support that keeps me writing. So thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Seyi sandra

        21/08/2014 at 20:06

        He heeee… Well I’m glad you made us work hard you sadistic genius! It was worth it. 🙂

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          22/08/2014 at 13:33

          Perhaps next time I’ll craft a poem in Hungarian, just to ratchet up the complexity of it all, lol.

          Like

           
  12. N@ncy

    24/08/2014 at 10:44

    With your ‘creativiy’ you have inspired me to venture into the world of rhyme….. Have you read Ivanhoe yet?

    Now I’m reading Ivanhoe,
    but progressing is very slow.
    Tomorrow it will be apparent,
    what will happen to this knight errant!

    Yellow hair’d, the blue ey’d Saxon came.
    In truth no one knew his name.
    Pligrim, palmer, guide or gentry be?
    That is what I’ll have to see!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/08/2014 at 14:11

      I haven’t got around to reading Ivanhoe,
      I shall have it so I’ll give it a go.
      Being blessed with so many books,
      all of which, in me, they get their hooks.

      I look forward to reading it though,
      it’s always nice to dip my toe,
      into great literature of the past,
      One thing’s for sure, it’ll be a blast.

      Like

       
      • N@ncy

        25/08/2014 at 14:18

        Touché, bravo!

        Like

         
  13. LuAnn

    26/08/2014 at 14:21

    There is such versatility in your writing, such depth. Hope to see more of your poetry soon.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      27/08/2014 at 12:55

      I shall get right on it, I like to keep mixing it up for you guys, I like depth…paddling is rubbish.

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
