RSS

Spacial Awareness

25 Jun

 

Andromeda_Galaxy

*

The encapsulating glow of the forever firmament
Our awe at looking deep into the universe’s soul
The playground of distilled wonder
Comprehension can only be guessed at.
*
In these heady times of scientific journeys
\the vastness in the artistry of imagination, compromised
Conservative thoughts have no place here
Divine rules shape the ancient.
*
Literature and film accompany us in our fantasies
Far flung, an Odyssey in the deep of space
Searching for answers to the celestial questions
Far from home.
*
Earth is our spaceship
and we reside, tenuously clinging
feeling out our place in the Grand Scheme of this macrocosm
We, so small, yet vast and endless in our dreams…

 
41 Comments

Posted by on 25/06/2014 in My Writings, Poetry

 

Tags: , , , ,

41 responses to “Spacial Awareness

  1. Al

    25/06/2014 at 17:42

    Great poem Ste J. And to think, some people are conceited enough to think we are the only planet with life on it. Billions upon trillions upon quadrillions – and what ever five and six are – of planets, natural satellites, rocks orbiting stars and we are the only one with life? Hey, we aren’t even indigenous to this planet

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/06/2014 at 18:55

      I had the first line sitting in my phone for ages but was struggling for one word that would complete the sentence and set me off for the rest. I think the whole universe is so inconceivable that I’m just happy to point and laugh at it. I do like that we just hitched a ride on this planet and wander around aimlessly, probably the same as every other sentient race out there. It is a universal language, cluelessness.

      Like

       
      • Al

        25/06/2014 at 19:34

        Very much so. There are so many different species across the universe that if we were all on one planet, humans would probably kill everybody

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          25/06/2014 at 19:44

          Hollywood demands it!

          Like

           
          • Al

            25/06/2014 at 19:56

            More than demands …

            Like

             
  2. Bumba

    25/06/2014 at 19:04

    Yes. The vastness of the universe, our non-central place in it as specks in an incomprehensible world – it demands poetry.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/06/2014 at 19:45

      And better poetry than I can pen most definitely.

      Like

       
  3. RoSy

    25/06/2014 at 20:40

    Oh – poetic SteJ – I like!

    In this grand galaxy – we are like a mere speck o’ dust.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      26/06/2014 at 13:32

      It is a scary yet invigorating thought…

      Like

       
  4. Cody McCullough

    25/06/2014 at 21:35

    I like it! The last line makes me want to fade away into the world of dreams right now. It can be so interesting there. Thank you for sharing your work.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      26/06/2014 at 13:38

      Dreams are great, I wish I remembered more of my own but it is good to manufacture them for the purposes of the blog.

      Like

       
  5. writersideup

    25/06/2014 at 21:46

    Very nice, Ste J 🙂 The universe is definitely an awesome place. I see it as “God’s artwork” 😀

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      26/06/2014 at 13:35

      It is a wonderfully blank canvas on which to create and of course in which to imagine!

      Like

       
  6. readingwithrhythm

    25/06/2014 at 23:43

    Very heavy stuff for my small brain.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      26/06/2014 at 13:36

      Heavy is good, it makes us grow!

      Like

       
  7. gargoylebruce

    26/06/2014 at 03:52

    No place for conservative thought? Fine. I know when I’m not wanted.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      26/06/2014 at 13:30

      I always had you down as a liberal kind of gargoyle myself…

      Like

       
      • writersideup

        26/06/2014 at 13:34

        You guys are always a source for a smile 🙂 Thanks!

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          26/06/2014 at 13:35

          Like a colour version of laurel and Hardy…baggsy the one with the tash!

          Like

           
          • writersideup

            26/06/2014 at 17:15

            LOVE Laurel & Hardy, and Abbott & Costello, and Batman & Robin, and…just sayin’ 😀 😉

            Laurel & Hardy: https ://www .youtube. com/watch?v=vmFhd8_kGSI

            Abbott & Costello: https ://www .youtube. com/watch?v=sMXgvAGbQGg

            Best of Batman & Robin: https ://www .youtube. com/watch?v=RLZQ3OLEJWE

            Holy **** Batman!: https ://www .youtube. com/watch?v=kkPlk1T1Rjg

            Like

             
      • gargoylebruce

        27/06/2014 at 04:22

        You got me…I’ll come back

        Like

         
  8. LuAnn

    26/06/2014 at 13:05

    I love your book reviews but there is a budding author and poet inside that is itching to get out! I say let him out already. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      26/06/2014 at 13:31

      I tend to let him out in fits and starts so he doesn’t become a monster…he needs his medication as well, bwahahaha!

      Like

       
      • LuAnn

        26/06/2014 at 17:42

        I say let him run wild! 😉

        Like

         
  9. Letizia

    26/06/2014 at 15:28

    Great poem – I especially like that last line – we can accomplish so much through our dreams.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/06/2014 at 16:47

      Or we can be lazy and just imagine we are accomplishing so much…I hear that was very popular ion the 60’s.

      Like

       
  10. Sherri

    27/06/2014 at 09:17

    ‘…and we reside, tenuously clinging…’ I really, really like this poem Ste J. I used to write poetry (the angst-ridden stuff of teenage years) and dabbled over the years but it’s only since blogging that I’ve started to write again and – shock, horror – shared some poems on blog. Scary stuff that!!! I’m always aware that because poetry is subjective it isn’t for everyone and so when even one person reads anything I write I’m truly amazed! But I don’t like reading a lot of poetry for the simple reason that I just don’t get it!! Anyway, sorry to go on, but this I do get and it really grabbed me. What/who is really out here? Your last line says it all… ‘We,so small, yet vast and endless in our dreams….’ Love it 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/06/2014 at 16:54

      It is scary to share, I agree. I tend to not post to much of my own poetry on here, usually because I am devoid of ideas most of the time. Subjective poetry makes me happy because then I can just agree with all the clever ideas people see in my words, that I obviously meant subconsciously…although sometimes I do have good ideas, possibly. The last line was easy to write though because it was so epic…I have those sorts of thoughts a lot.

      Like

       
      • Sherri

        30/06/2014 at 09:41

        I know just what you mean about that subjectivity…and epic is so cool 😉

        Like

         
  11. thejerseygal®™

    06/07/2014 at 16:54

    I said it before and I’ll say it again: you should write more poetry, for what you do write is so very good!
    This poem made me think of Earth and for all its expansiveness, it truly is just a tiny part of the big picture.
    It suits you. Sci-fi fantasy meets reality. Your words reign divine in poetry, my friend. Write more.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      06/07/2014 at 19:05

      The words don’t come as easy for me as they do for you when it comes to creating my own poems, but I do keep writing down words and moving them around and paying with them.

      Ideas should come easily given the way my brains work but they don’t strangely…I will continue to keep plugging away though and concoct more perspectives…when that dam breaks!

      Like

       
      • thejerseygal®™

        06/07/2014 at 21:43

        Keep at it. You have a way with words. I love the richness of your vocabulary.

        Like

         
  12. Mike

    08/07/2014 at 11:10

    Your allusion to Earth being our spaceship adds a novel and delightful interpretation to the great scheme. A beautifully exposed poetic Odyssey; well done.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      08/07/2014 at 18:43

      welcome to the blog! When I think of us floating around our small pocket of space, I like to think of us like some sort of damaged USS Enterprise with a dodgy port nacelle. Odd thoughts make for decent ideas I always find.

      Like

       
  13. Morgan

    19/08/2014 at 02:59

    Brings to my mind “What a Piece of work is a Man, In form and Moving how express and admirable.” Of course, you had me at the picture…Space and all its Wonders, Spiraling Eternally for our Dreams. Powerfully Beautiful Poem 😉

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      19/08/2014 at 14:07

      Any thoughts of space always get me inspired and happy to wander the infinite playground of life. It’s always a good fall back plan as well for when I am empty of good ideas.

      Like

       
      • Morgan

        19/08/2014 at 20:10

        Astronomy has always amazed me and all the images coming to us now from the Hubble and other such simply send my Imagination reeling. The Cosmos…Our Celestial Garden of Dreams 🙂

        We should write a collab about it 😉 whatcha think???

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          21/08/2014 at 15:36

          It is epic beauty…I wonder what a telescope facing us from light years away would reveal about the picturesque part of cosmic neighbourhood that we are in.

          A collaboration could be interesting…especially if the word erinaceous is involved.

          Like

           
          • Morgan

            21/08/2014 at 17:04

            HA! it would indeed…. but it could also be cute 😉 They are after all 😉

            Like

             

Tell me stuff...

 
