RSS

World in a Cup

10 Jun

719px-WC-2014-Brasil.svg

“We didn’t underestimate them. They were just a lot better than we thought.” – Bobby Robson after playing Cameroon at the 1990 World Cup.

I promise not to do too many world cup posts as I know a lot of you probably aren’t to concerned with the final destination of the trophy, however it would be rude of me not to stick in a bit of football speak as a huge wodge of the world’s population will be obsessed by the on field antics for a whole month.

In fact I do love the getting together of nations, the hopes and dreams, the history, stories, individual memories and of course the opening ceremony.  It is a feast that will hopefully be worth the four year wait and will be another way to bring us bloggers even closer together.

For the next few weeks I am aiming to do a post each week on a football book (or perhaps individual fascinating story if inspiration strikes) as well as carrying on with my usual reviews, thoughts and possibly something a bit different if I get the inspiration.

I am hoping to present these books in a way that may possibly interest the non fan…I don’t mean to presume that I can entice you to pick up the book yourself, that would be a bonus but is possibly a little to like wishful thinking.

What I really want to attempt, is to show an aspect of the game perhaps not thought about by the casual or non fan that may persuade you to enjoy the game with a different view.  Unsurprisingly the books I will review will be more to do with the theory and perspective of the game rather than autobiographies and such that will have limited appeal.

I hope that this will appeal to a few of you and also that there will be a bit of banter flying around with all the countries involved as well as anybody else that wishes to join in.  I will be following all of your respective teams that are participating and hoping that England can make a respectable impact on the tournament.

If nothing else grab a team and take an interest, even if it is just catching the highlights, you never know you could get into it…as usual England’s hopes are there to be dashed, that said it’s a good excuse to crank out the finest football song that there is…

 
32 Comments

Posted by on 10/06/2014 in Sport

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

32 responses to “World in a Cup

  1. Al

    10/06/2014 at 18:18

    Funny you should have the Three Lions there. That was number one in the British charts at the end of May 1996 just when my son was born. It was rereleased in 1998 and was number one in the British charts in the middle of June – just when my daughter was born. Not many people can say that a song was number one when both of their kids were born, especially when there is more than a two year gap between them.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      10/06/2014 at 18:24

      That is quite an accolade! The first was a fine tournament as well…it seems like so long ago now.

      Like

       
      • Al

        10/06/2014 at 18:25

        18 years.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          10/06/2014 at 18:31

          I wasn’t even born then, he lies…

          Like

           
          • Al

            10/06/2014 at 18:36

            Haha. What were you then? Three? Hehe

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              10/06/2014 at 18:39

              I think I was 16, in fact yes because I managed to watch every match around my exams, it was flukey!

              Like

               
  2. Morgan

    10/06/2014 at 18:42

    You will probably have to scoff at this, but honestly, I don’t even watch football (proper English football that is) In fact, I rarely watch any sports. so it will be interesting for me to watch/read your posts to see if they intrigue. I enjoy your writing style regardless, so its always a perk, but this is your test….to engage me (well, with words at least LOL) 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      10/06/2014 at 18:46

      I hope you will dabble in a game or two, I am particularly looking forward to Cameroon Vs Mexico for some reason…I think with anything it is a subject that has more depth to it than it hints at…I hope i can put it across in an interesting way…I hope I pass the test and it is good that it doesn’t involve a ring either, I lobbed my last one into the fires of Mt Doom.

      Like

       
      • Morgan

        10/06/2014 at 18:58

        LOL Mt Doom…Brilliant!

        I tend to enjoy watching sports with someone…as I don’t often generate much interest or excitement in it myself. Maybe Ill have to pop by 😉

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          10/06/2014 at 19:03

          Bring beverages if you do and I will supply a good amount of needless emotion and hand gestures…like an expressive Italian on a sugar rush.

          Like

           
          • Morgan

            10/06/2014 at 19:32

            That might be more intriguing than the game 🙂

            Like

             
  3. Sherri

    12/06/2014 at 14:39

    I’m not a football fan, although purely coincidentally I just posted about working in an office which overlooked Ipswich football ground…got to meet Bobby Robson twice, once at my school and again at the cafe next to where I worked. My friend went mad, he shook our hands. I didn’t know who he was, haha! I always say that is my claim to fame. I remember the day Ipswich won the FA cup too. So, that is my football ‘thing’ but maybe you can convince me that there is something enjoyable about the game…my boys love it so I’ll keep reading… 😉

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      13/06/2014 at 15:13

      As with all the best things in life football does have hidden depth, through culture, politics and even philosophy…I hope to be able to show this in the coming weeks unless I forget these things. Sir Bobby, what a guy, he was awesome…I am much jealous of you for meeting him.

      Like

       
      • Sherri

        14/06/2014 at 14:07

        I will read with an open mind and look forward to it…and as the years went by, I realised what an honour indeed it was to meet Sir Bobby… 🙂

        Like

         
  4. Letizia

    12/06/2014 at 16:26

    I am wearing my Bresil t-shirt as I type… I go slightly crazy when the World Cup is on, losing all sense of responsibility, time, etc. I’m sure you can sympathize! Looking forward to your many posts!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      13/06/2014 at 15:01

      Slightly dodgy decision with the penalty yesterday! I agree with you, everything else has to take a backseat for the remaining 63 matches…It may be a challenge watching some of the ones that kick off at 11PM over here but I will have a go. It’s only on once every four years after all!

      Like

       
      • Letizia

        13/06/2014 at 15:19

        Yes that penalty decision was very dodgy indeed… Although I was rooting for Brazil, I was pleased to see Croatia play so well an would have liked to see a cleaner math but, still an exciting start.

        Good luck tomorrow in the England- Italy game. My father is Italian so we are rooting for Italy (but having lived in London for years in have a soft spot for England… Shhh, don’t tell anyone in my family!!!).

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          13/06/2014 at 15:26

          Group A will be great now though as everybody fights for that second place. I am oddly looking forward to Mexico v Cameroon in a bit.

          I think it could go either way, for once nobody in the world expects much from England but if we can pass the big test of our group we will have more confidence to perhaps get ourselves to our regular quarter final spot…happy to have you subtly on our side.

          Like

           
  5. readinpleasure

    13/06/2014 at 17:00

    The song made me laugh, Ste J. More of those on all your football posts. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      13/06/2014 at 18:00

      Most of the world cup songs that are churned out are terrible…that is the pick of the lot…perhapd i can trawl through the archives for a few more.

      Like

       
  6. Lyn

    14/06/2014 at 22:16

    I think Australia has as much hope of winning the trophy as I have of going parachuting, but I’ll watch them play (even if only the replay) and I’ll support my bestest friend who is a crazy Cornish woman and loves her soccer.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      15/06/2014 at 11:47

      In a tournament where Costa Rica win resoundingly and England look like they could be half decent, anything can happen!

      Like

       
  7. thejerseygal®™

    16/06/2014 at 14:43

    Ah, cultural differences! As you know, we call it soccer here. That being said, I never got into it. I am thrilled at the world’s delight though. It feels like the Olympics again!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      17/06/2014 at 14:08

      You guys won 2-1 yesterday, so hopefully the further you go the more the nation will get behind the team. Roll on the next Olympics, coincidentally still in Brazil.

      Like

       
      • thejerseygal®™

        17/06/2014 at 15:07

        Americans prefer our own football. Soccer here is what parents sign kids up for to tire their little butts out.
        Had no idea next Olympics were in Brazil. That ought to be pretty wild.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          17/06/2014 at 15:11

          A bunch of Samba rhythm and more sun than you could shake a stick at…always sounds good to me. Seattle Sounders were averaging crowds of 44000 so the tide may be on the turn!

          Like

           
          • thejerseygal®™

            17/06/2014 at 15:23

            Lol I think being in Brazil would be too much fun. Inebriation to the max. As this country has a lot of hispanics, it should catch on, save the hispanic root for their homelands’ teams.

            Like

             
  8. Bumba

    20/06/2014 at 16:47

    A good song! As they say, “wait until next year!”, or at least until the Olympics.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      20/06/2014 at 17:41

      At least in the Olympics we know we can win stuff!

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
