RSS

Duino Elegies – Rainer Maria Rilke

28 May

53111We have a marvelous, almost legendary, image of the circumstances in which the composition of this great poem began. Rilke was staying at a castle (Duino) on the sea near Trieste. One morning he walked out on the battlements and climbed down to where the rocks dropped sharply to the sea. From out of the wind, which was blowing with great force, Rilke seemed to hear a voice: Wer, wenn ich schriee, horte mich denn aus der Engel Ordnungen? (If I cried out, who would hear me up there, among the angelic orders?). He wrote these words, the opening of the first Duino Elegy, in his notebook, then went inside to continue what was to be his major work and one of the literary masterpieces of the century.

The rather Gothic conception of this poem sets the scene for what is a masterly composition so vast that it continuously impresses and confounds in its vision bringing together myths, philosophy, theology and an explosion of other ideas that run through the veins of modern humanity.

It is hard to sum up the Duino Elegies into a simplistic form, it’s a multilayered orgy of awesomeness, encompassing the human fear of one’s own mortality, love and human limitation, despair, beauty and a celebration and also a questioning of cultural achievement.  It really calls one’s own awareness of the BIG questions into play…In fact for the first few elegies I wish I would have had Strauss’ Also Spach Zarathustra playing on repeat in the background such was the imagery involved.

There is a sense of profoundness in the transience of our life spans and a depth to such musings that can become obsessive to thinkers, the first two elegies bring forth these thoughts and fears by conjuring up a Gothic panorama of nature.  It’s a heady explosion that really  feels like it involves all the senses. This tumultuous,epic start has a feeling of the primordial visions of nature at its inception and is a thoroughly captivating piece of writing.

The writing became less intense (for me) after the second elegy, or perhaps on reflection it was just subtly different in its approach.  Dealing as it does with such themes as love and art, however it does maintain a feeling of wonder about everything that we come into contact with. Although the writing feels sparse there is so much depth, it does feel like one is standing on the edge of an abyss.  Indeed who wouldn’t when faced with contemplating our place in the cosmos and our awareness of it not to mention our limitations.

Spilling over with ideas, of heritage passed down through the generations, Rilke has woven in the essence of great universal myths such as the creation and the classic descent into the underworld.  In amongst the questions to muse upon and the metaphors to wallow in, there is still room to encompass a celebration of the great human arts and the meaning of life.  With several changes in style of imagery and tone it is just such an innate idea for us to try to understand the inconceivable.

There is a feeling of the evermore about the poem, it is external and yet the poem moves between the universe and the minutiae of the internal body both physically, spiritually and socially. Perhaps the ideas contained herein are dwarfed by the abstract concepts tackled but  at the same time makes it seem less scary than it is when you think about hugeness of it all.

It draws in and involves the reader completely, sometimes I got to the point where I found it all a little too overwhelming such are the layers that are structured so delicately yet complexly…like the architecture of a cathedral.  To be subsumed and staggered by the ambitious words is a sign of great poetry though and this really should be added to every book collection.

 
17 Comments

Posted by on 28/05/2014 in Classics, Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

17 responses to “Duino Elegies – Rainer Maria Rilke

  1. shadowoperator

    28/05/2014 at 19:23

    Here’s what my comment was: “I’ve always wanted to read Rilke, but was intimidated by his reputation. Since the things he wrote about which you mention are universal elements, I guess I need to give it a shot, and relate to him that way.” But when I sent the message out the first time, the comment was rejected (the remark came back “Sorry this comment could not be posted.”) Have you changed something about your site lately with WordPress? That’s happened to me recently with someone else, but he was in the middle of moving and might have recently changed his site. Just thought I’d let you know.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/05/2014 at 19:35

      I haven’t changed anything apart from my sitting posture, which needs to be better. If it happens again please let me know so I mention it to WP command.

      I get the impression that Rilke is a poet whom one can read again and again and see depths yet to be fathomed…I had no idea of his reputation before hand, just the reference that was in some book, I don’t recall what perhaps Landscape and Memory, which I’m now glad about…with your back catalogue of reading, I know you will be in your element with Rilke though.

      Like

       
  2. Seyi sandra

    28/05/2014 at 20:24

    I must confess I’ve never heard of Rilke, I know I always want to read books or poems you’ve reviewed. I do trust your taste in books so, maybe, one day, you would kindly give me a list of books that would make my day. I believe, if time permits, I would raced through them, then we can compare notes!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/05/2014 at 20:38

      A list could be compiled for you my friend, I will get on with it and send you a stemail when I have it. It is great that I can interest you to pick up books that I love, comparing notes would be great and I hope they would live up to the expectations that I have placed on them.

      Like

       
  3. tomrobinsonz

    28/05/2014 at 22:10

    Lend me this.Your words have inspired me.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      29/05/2014 at 18:09

      I shall indeed mate, remind me tomorrow as I am likely to forget what with having a head full of words and stuff.

      Like

       
  4. LuAnn

    30/05/2014 at 13:54

    This was a book given to me many years ago to read and I must admit to not appreciating it at the time. Thank you for bringing this to my attention once again Ste J. I believe I will have another go at it. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      31/05/2014 at 14:57

      Rereads are always great for not only are you armed with a bit of foreknowledge from your first read but you now have more life experiences and perspectives to draw upon.

      Like

       
  5. Asha

    07/04/2016 at 06:59

    I am reading it now since you have recommended it to me.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      07/04/2016 at 08:14

      Let me know what you think, the first few elegies are definitely the most powerful in my eyes.

      Like

       
      • Asha

        07/04/2016 at 09:59

        Will do. I finished the first two. And I must say, I didn’t get most of it the first time. 😛
        Planning on rereading once done with the collection.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          07/04/2016 at 10:41

          He is a dense writer, I find a couple of readings are usually needed with such poets. I love sharing books with you my friend, you’re great.

          Like

           
          • Asha

            07/04/2016 at 10:54

            And I enjoy reading the books you recommend. I’m reading only poems this month. So let all your favorites come out in the light.

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              07/04/2016 at 10:56

              I shall give that a think, I tend not to read much poetry as I read it too much like a novel, page after page without letting it savour in my soul. I will think about it though and message you if anything comes to mind.

              Like

               
              • Asha

                07/04/2016 at 13:00

                That I’d appreciate. Thanks a ton, J.

                Like

                 
                • Ste J

                  08/04/2016 at 09:10

                  The Rime of the Ancient Mariner is a good read, especially if you can find a copy with the wood cuts illustrations that go with it, that made it really effective as it builds up.

                  Liked by 1 person

                   

Tell me stuff...

 
