RSS

Reeling You In?

15 Apr

After last post’s brief film review I have been galvanised with ideas to start reviewing film and TV shows, not the popular and famous ones that we have all heard of though.  Many people review those and as someone who lives in old books, the topical doesn’t suit me as well as others.

I am more than tempted to start taking on this idea to add into the mix with all the other stuff I do because when not reading my leisure time is spent in the solitary pursuit of watching things.  I am a man of simple pleasures…give me a tree (with branches), a semi flat piece of ground under said branches and some sunshine and I will be happy until dark.

43727631_43727631_camera51

I will probably review some new films if and when finances allow but really it’s an excuse to eat more popcorn than is healthy whether I am in the cinema or not.  Really I suppose I think it is best to canvass you the reader, is this something you’d want to see in amongst the usual words and thoughts? Bearing in mind that a lot of the stuff may be quite obscure although there will be a smattering of familiar faces easily available on Netflix and such sites.

 
26 Comments

Posted by on 15/04/2014 in Blogging, Films, TV

 

Tags: , , , ,

26 responses to “Reeling You In?

  1. nancyrae4

    15/04/2014 at 21:10

    It takes an act of God to coerce me into a movie theater. Reviews from witty and intelligent folks like you may actually motivate me to arm myself with buttered popcorn and Diet Pepsi and view movies in a format bigger than a Kindle screen.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/04/2014 at 13:43

      It is always a struggle to get motivated to sit near people who could be, probably will be annoying…having spent the best part of £20 just to get in and seated. Allow me to suffer so you don’t have to, hehe.

      Like

       
  2. Al

    15/04/2014 at 22:25

    I look forward to seeing these reviews

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/04/2014 at 13:15

      It’ll be a challenge but with practise I am hoping to entice people into more wild and wacky watching habits.

      Like

       
      • Al

        18/04/2014 at 13:29

        Hehe you never know 🙂

        Like

         
  3. RoSy

    15/04/2014 at 22:56

    Fabulous! As sad as it sounds – I am more apt to catch the tv shows & films before picking up a book. (I know…I hang my head in shame).

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/04/2014 at 13:19

      I promise not to judge you to harshly! I hope to be able to entice you into some new areas of watching…I have written a big list of things to review already with some obscure and some popular stuff too.

      Like

       
  4. renxkyoko

    15/04/2014 at 23:28

    that would be nice ! But , once in a while, you need to review a few popular films, because you know why? more people have seen the film ( it’s popular! ). and it would be nice to read what your take in it is. It would be useless to read a review of a very obscure film that nobody has watched. You can start with films that won the Oscars, and maybe compare them with those that didn’t win.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/04/2014 at 13:36

      I’ve thought about what you said and you are right, I have earmarked some films and TV shows that are popular and something that people can get their hands on on such things as Netflix. Then people can see them without the bother of really having to take time out to hunt them down.

      Like

       
  5. anna amundsen

    16/04/2014 at 06:38

    I would definitely be interested.in this. Great idea!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/04/2014 at 13:22

      I’m glad you approve! I am hoping to strike a balance between easy viewing and the more cerebral.

      Like

       
  6. Alastair Savage

    16/04/2014 at 07:27

    Go for it! I love hearing about old movies. Don’t include any spoilers though. That drives me mad. I’m spending all my time online at the moment dodging “news” stories about Game of Thrones because series 4 isn’t out yet in Spain.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/04/2014 at 13:40

      Like ym book reviews, I will avoid spoilers at every turn unless it is something that the blurb mentions and isn’t really a spoiler. I have seen a lot of people complaining about inadvertent spoilers for GoT, I myself have avoided them and indeed the entire series.

      Like

       
      • Alastair Savage

        18/04/2014 at 17:56

        Oh Game of Thrones is fantastic! I’m completely hooked. I’m thinking of doing some posts on it for newbies. I think I may well do that now.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          20/04/2014 at 14:18

          That’d be interesting for me as I can get hold of the first two box sets and have that as an accompaniment.

          Like

           
          • Alastair Savage

            20/04/2014 at 19:40

            Sold!

            Like

             
            • tomrobinsonz

              29/04/2014 at 20:50

              Read the books first yorath! Much better than the series in my opinion

              Like

               
              • Ste J

                29/04/2014 at 20:54

                It is purely a time factor but I will perhaps watch the first series and if it grabs me, read the books in that way that I do where I ignore life for weeks at a time.

                Like

                 
  7. LuAnn

    16/04/2014 at 14:54

    I may no longer have to search anything on my own with you around Ste J. I just have to pop over to your site for book suggestions, and now films. What more could a girl want? 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/04/2014 at 13:32

      As long as you don’t mind me being picky about my watching habits as well as my reading ones. Perhaps I will review different stuff for the home and let you know what the best pans are or something as well, hehe.

      Like

       
      • LuAnn

        18/04/2014 at 14:16

        Knowing your expertise in the kitchen, I think I will take a pass on that one. 😉

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          18/04/2014 at 14:17

          Haha touché, I can do toast and tinned soup…and hotdogs. That’s a feat that is.

          Like

           
          • LuAnn

            18/04/2014 at 14:25

            Ooh, I’m impressed, not! 🙂

            Like

             
  8. readinpleasure

    17/04/2014 at 14:16

    Eat more popcorn then 🙂 Though I prefer you reviewing books to films because hardly watch any 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/04/2014 at 13:12

      Have no fear I will still be reading and then writing lots of reviews still…any excuse to not have to change my blog title.

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
