RSS

The Raid 2 and Cinema Experience

13 Apr

Yesterday I went to the cinema, a rare event for me as I tend to watch my films in the company of two or fewer people, in fact mostly just by myself.  Having said that every so often a film comes along that demands to be experienced on the big screen..The Lord of the Rings were three such films with the epic scope to the fighting and the realisation of the world that it raised the benchmark for epic films.

Despite all that I do like the cinema with that sensory deprivation that gives an edge of danger and the unknown to what you are experiencing. The truly great films take you away to another world or time and it’s an amazing feeling to discover that piece of art which allows you to forget you are in a room full of other people and just be totally focused in that moment.

5099343-large

Although multiplex chains have become commonplace and make the world of quality cinema seem almost vestigial these days, (fans of independent cinema I salute you), there is no shame in giving the corporate suits some of your hard-earned money if the film demands it.  Ignoring the shamefully expensive food and drink as well as the people talking about how amazing Saw 26 was, it is somewhere I perhaps need to start going to more often.

The film I went to see was The Raid 2, a film in an all together different category from your average action flick. It’s a fantastically colossal action/thriller martial arts film which takes choreographed combat to the limits.  The sequel to The Raid, imaginatively titled The Raid 2: Berendal is one heck of a film…for those of you not familiar with the first film it had a simple plot of taking down a gang leader that didn’t get in the way of pure action, it’s a pacy film with really exhilarating to watch fight scenes which get longer as the film goes on.  The second film builds on this with even more style than the first without just rehashing the same film.

The nw film has a bigger more detailed plot about the underworld, loyalty and  the corrupting nature of power.  Hollywood may throw tens of millions of dollars at films but for just $4,500000 this really is a treat showing what can be achieved on such a small budget, perhaps the big film makers could take note. At two and a half hours this is a lot more ambitious enterprise and what it arguably loses with the claustrophobic feel is subtly changed into a claustrophobia of the protagonist Rama in his bid to do the right thing.  This more complex storyline does not detract in any way from a brisk pace despite its length.

As far as cinematic violence goes,this is a stylishly professional endeavour, yes, there are some bits that are really bloody but it doesn’t detract from the craft used to act the scenes.   The settings notably go from the opulent, to the sleazy and grim which provide a nice change from the bleak look of the first film.   If I had any criticisms, they are minor. The subtitles sometimes moved a little too quickly for me to follow and the characters were rather cardboard but that is hardly a complaint with this type of movie as you get enough of a sense of their motivations anyway.  Yes its ultra violent but this film is all about the action and if you want to see an astounding level of technical ability from cast and crew coalesced into one film then this is it.

I used to avoid the grim or the thought-provoking themes in films but these days I am embracing them and absolutely loving it! As a curious chap I am wondering what films did you find a treat for the big screen and which do you regret not seeing? For me I would love to have seen?  Make sure you turn the volume up and get this trailer up in big screen mode to get a taste of the action.

 

 
30 Comments

Posted by on 13/04/2014 in Films

 

Tags: , , , , ,

30 responses to “The Raid 2 and Cinema Experience

  1. tomrobinsonz

    13/04/2014 at 17:40

    I loved it, it had a great artfulness in it’s contrasting of static, quiet moments that always gave the feeling of thunder before the storm when the action hit. I agree the characters weren’t deep but they all felt memorable. Astonishing physical endurance and ingenuity throughout, it really felt like a film everybody gave 100% on and that imbued it with a different kind of soul and depth. a masterpiece of pulp entertainment that makes everything Hollywood churns out feel rather rubbish in comparison.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      13/04/2014 at 17:45

      Yeah what you said! Happy birthday again mate, cracking day and I can’t think of a film I would have rather seen unless it was a follow up to House of 9 of course! I have jumped over a low table already today because that’s what ninjas do. Storm of the action I like that phrase..it made it so intense…I did almost laugh out loud at one point because it was taking its time when it was clear it was all going to kick off…I don’t cope well in those situations.

      Like

       
  2. cricketmuse

    13/04/2014 at 20:47

    Vestigial? What a perfect word! I hear you about going to the cinema these days. It’s a rarity for me as well. Last one was Divergent, having read the book I was curious. I was not disappointed.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      14/04/2014 at 20:29

      I saw the trailer but didn’t trust it but then again i am a bit of a book snob hehe.

      Like

       
  3. Al

    13/04/2014 at 22:40

    I have The Raid (not the bug repellent, the film. And I did enjoy it, so I am looking forward to this as well.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      14/04/2014 at 19:50

      There is a character called Hammergirl and she does pretty much what you would expect..it’s more gory than the last one but still an exhilarating piece of cinema.

      Like

       
      • Al

        14/04/2014 at 20:12

        Oooh I like gory.

        Like

         
  4. RoSy

    15/04/2014 at 22:54

    Now that’s the kind of action me likes in a movie!
    I shall add The Raid & 2 to my movie queue.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/04/2014 at 13:17

      I believe The Raid is on Netflix if you have that, or if you not, YouTube has the full film. Action is the best genre in my opinion…I like a good car chase too.

      Like

       
  5. Letizia

    16/04/2014 at 00:47

    I haven’t heard of The Raid (or Raid 2) – will have to check them out. My students were shocked when they heard I hadn’t seen or heard about the Saw films and then proceeded to tell me all about them with glee, haha!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/04/2014 at 13:26

      I watched one of the Saw films, probably the first as I like to be chronological, it was shocking! Whilst both Raids are a little gory they just fly by. These days I tend to bypass the cinema and have a couple of friends who take me through the obscure, critically acclaimed and cheesy which is infinitely cheaper which always makes me happy.

      Like

       
  6. anna amundsen

    16/04/2014 at 06:06

    I am not a frequent visitor of multiplex cinemas myself.. But I try to attend as many movie weeks organized by resident embassies as I can. My favorites: Swedish, German, Japanese and Spanish.. Sometimes there’s a well-known movie theorist or an academy professor to tell a bit about the importance of the shown movies and to discuss the movie with the audience. I will never forget seeing ˝You, the Living˝ or ˝Wings of Desire˝. Beautiful.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/04/2014 at 13:45

      I would prefer going to one of those than a cinema, the films are more fascinating and the discussion afterwards is always good for expanding the experience. I need to watch more subtitled stuff.

      Like

       
  7. LuAnn

    16/04/2014 at 14:52

    I have not heard of this movie but not surprising, as we seldom go to the cinema but wait for the Netflix version. I do however, like a good action film so will have to check this one out. Thanks Ste J. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      18/04/2014 at 13:30

      Netflix has the first film, well over here we do so I assume that yours does as well as it is far superior, apart from your selection of off the wall Brit comedies.

      Like

       
      • LuAnn

        18/04/2014 at 13:32

        We will be hooking up with Netflix again in a couple of weeks so I will give it a look. Thx! 🙂

        Like

         
  8. quirkybooks

    18/04/2014 at 23:32

    As you may be aware, I am a huge cinema fan and regularly take to watching a film on the big screen. I love action movies and thrillers, they are great for writing ideas. I saw the Amazing Spiderman 2 a couple of days ago and it was fantastic. 3 baddies to fight. It told the background story of what happened to Peter Parker’s parents and how the Green Goblin came into being. I would nudge you to see it.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      20/04/2014 at 14:21

      I have to confess apart from Batman films I tend to avoid superhero type stuff but I should broaden my horizons more so I will add it to the list and hope it is still on when I finally get around to it. I must confess I do love a bit of back story too.

      Like

       
      • quirkybooks

        22/04/2014 at 01:56

        I love the Marvel films, they are entertainment/action genius. Captain America is a bit cheesy, but that is to be expected, it’s Captain America. You seem to be broadening your horizons a lot lately, it’s good. It must be a certain young lady bringing the positivity out in you.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          23/04/2014 at 16:37

          You have that right, I was very focused perhaps even linear in my thought process and attitude to life, a certain person does encourage me to see more things and more positively these days.

          Like

           
          • quirkybooks

            01/05/2014 at 00:30

            Christina is very good for you. I can tell that you see more beauty in the quirkiness of life and that you seem more fascinated by it. It’s good she makes you feel more positive.

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              01/05/2014 at 14:05

              You are right there, since heading over to the US I have gained more of an eye for life and all the little things to appreciate. C. does inspire me in many ways and I am sure many more I have not yet discovered.

              Like

               
              • quirkybooks

                01/05/2014 at 14:25

                I think the best relationships are based on mutual respect, encouragement, support, and a deep friendship of the souls. To inspire each other takes it to another level. I am so pleased for you both.

                Like

                 
                • Ste J

                  01/05/2014 at 14:27

                  It truly is amazing who you meet on a blog and I am blessed with so many people who are awesome. Of course one in particular makes my day…I think a LDR was something I had not expected at all but ‘m not complaining…

                  Like

                   
                  • quirkybooks

                    01/05/2014 at 14:32

                    That’s good. At the moment I am happily single and years ago I would have never considered a LDR, but these days I wouldn’t be opposed to it.

                    Like

                     
                    • Ste J

                      06/05/2014 at 19:11

                      It is certainly a good thing, I think it is the future. Blogs are just such a great medium as well for such a thing.

                      Like

                       
                    • quirkybooks

                      07/05/2014 at 22:40

                      I am guessing there will always come a point when one person needs to move. Would you agree with that?

                      Like

                       
                    • Ste J

                      13/05/2014 at 19:16

                      I would, indeed…

                      Like

                       

Tell me stuff...

 
