RSS

Listing to the Left

09 Mar
England-Fairyland-08

The place I like imagine I live but clearly don’t

Today my equilibrium has finally been restored. What with all the upheaval of returning to a water-logged England and having some miserable weather to contend with, I’ve been attempting to settle back into the groove of things. Having had to catch up with people and the usual life business, things haven’t always seemed like I remembered.

Today though is a wonderful day where things have just seemed to gel.  First off it’s  sunny, lovely and warm and all very spring like…there is that scent in the air, the taste and feeling of renewal and an escaping from the frosty wench that is Winter.  Earlier I read a goodly part of the Dickens book The Uncommercial Traveller which has been woefully forgotten recently but has cheered me up since, with the unmistakably wonderful way of writing that the author has.

This afternoon is even better, firstly a football match between two teams with a lot of footballing pedigree Hull City A.F.C. and Sunderland A.F.C. formed in 1904 and 1879 respectively which was nice and evenly matched.  It was a classic F.A. Cup tie, a real English treat.  That is being followed, as I write by quintessential suave secret agent, widely acknowledged to be based on me, James Bond in one of the best films Live and let Die.g

As today has been so affecting, I finally feel I can go about making a list of things I want to get done this year and here it is:

  • Get at least two articles featured in magazines.
  • Reach a higher blog hit rate than last year by at least four thousand views
  • Get the first draft of my book completed
  • Be more involved with social media, Twitter, Linkedin, about.me and so on.
  • Review at least 20 books by independent authors.
  • Watch more substantial films, to supplement the cheese I already watch.
  • Network more and get recognised for more than just being a world-class procrastinator.
  • To read a shed load more classics.
 
23 Comments

Posted by on 09/03/2014 in Life, Lists/Ephemera

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

23 responses to “Listing to the Left

  1. Sophie

    09/03/2014 at 17:41

    Book? Magazine articles? I remember when u said u were a reader not a writer!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      09/03/2014 at 18:21

      I found my voice since then and my confidence, with a lot of help from you wonderful readers of course.

      Like

       
  2. Seyi sandra

    09/03/2014 at 18:12

    I echo your thoughts – the weather has a springy feel to it, and what’s more; it’s sunny too! 🙂 I also hope you’ll be able to achieve everything on your list. I am particularly keen on seeing your work published in magazines… In actual fact, a book form would be better! Enjoy the rest of your weekend my friend!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      09/03/2014 at 18:28

      It’s great to feel that lovely weather for a change! I am hoping that this will be my year for something, you are well on your way though my friend with your books already out and getting yourself known. As always I hope the days treat you better and better.

      Like

       
  3. Al

    09/03/2014 at 19:23

    I’ve had my front and rear balcony doors open today and it hasn’t been cold. Looking along the road, there were people on the beach and canoeists – canoers – canoe pilots – rowers out there.

    I look forward to if you manage to get some of them done. I am aiming for one of them, and one I am attempting the opposite lol

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      09/03/2014 at 19:29

      Intriguing which to do you wish to do and not do?? I am nosy when it comes to these things…

      I can imagine it was beautiful down by the sea and you guys deserve something nice after the weather you’ve had recently.

      Like

       
      • Al

        09/03/2014 at 19:36

        The sea was almost like a mill-pond. REflections were awesome, but the haze made photos come out not so good

        Like

         
  4. gargoylebruce

    09/03/2014 at 22:15

    I wish you luck in your quest for those various grails. I too will attempt to engage twitter this year. Maybe. I’m a bit handshy at the moment because one of my goals this year was to engage more with authors and Netgalley to review pre-release titles….and now all of my posts until the end of April have been taken up with the same. Which doesn’t leave a lot of time for spontaneous musings and random poetry. Ah, balance.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/03/2014 at 19:36

      Balance is for people who don’t like to fall over…I have yet to master it…and the not falling over. Twitter is probably the easiest of social media to get into I think, in fact I followed some people today and was followed and it was all emotional and stuff, like that bit in Alice in Wonderland, you know the mental drugs bit.

      Like

       
  5. nancyrae4

    10/03/2014 at 01:02

    Formidable to do list, Ste J. But, you’re the man to do it!

    Happy Early Spring. We had 70 degrees here in Northern Colorado. By Tuesday it will be 32 and snowing. Spring in the Rockies:)

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/03/2014 at 19:28

      That’s one heck of a drop in temperature. I have found that shaking your fist at the weather doesn’t help though sadly. I will have a good go to complete the list, it’s nice to actually have goals I can be accountable for.

      Like

       
  6. angela

    10/03/2014 at 02:58

    Brilliant list of goals. Please post hints on how you reach these as you do!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/03/2014 at 19:24

      I’m all about sharing the love!

      Like

       
  7. Christina ~

    10/03/2014 at 04:05

    Balance is a wonderful thing….or so I’m told ha! It is good to have goals and to be brave enough to post them for accountability is even better! I am with Seyi, and am also quite keen on the idea of seeing you published…either in magazine(s) or a book. I think you have awesome support to keep you on track with your goals and that is the very best thing there is.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/03/2014 at 19:24

      Accountability is always a good encourager, I tried not to stop and think to much about what I was putting in case I went easy upon myself. I do have a lot of awesome support on here, with you guys and I look forward to giving something back.

      Like

       
  8. LuAnn

    10/03/2014 at 12:35

    Here’s to achieving all of your goals! I would love to see your work published.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/03/2014 at 19:14

      If/when that happens I will be picking me up a bunch of that publication or the internet, if it ends up on that medium…I wonder how heavy the internet would be…

      Like

       
      • LuAnn

        11/03/2014 at 21:10

        Quite heavy I am thinking but I think you are up to the task. 🙂

        Like

         
  9. RoSy

    10/03/2014 at 16:39

    I find that a bit of sunshine makes a big difference in the world.
    I like the place that you imagine that you live. Looks quiet & peaceful.
    Way to go on that list of goals. That’s quite a challenge. But – you can do it!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/03/2014 at 19:31

      Sunny days, sunny mood and optimism, I know this country won’t allow it to last for long so I made sure I wore a tee shirt so I could get a bit of a tan. Not to much though, sun annoys me. I like to imagine I live somewhere spacious and away from the masses, it would help to get my goals done, so if anybody out there lives in a place like this….

      Like

       
  10. Letizia

    10/03/2014 at 22:04

    Great list! Spring really has a wonderful re-energizing quality, doesn’t it? A ‘spring’board…..

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/03/2014 at 19:12

      I enjoyed what you did there, I wish I had something equally amusing to use as a rejoinder to you but I don’t so I will bide my time until we meet again! (exits messily via closed window)

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
