RSS

Book to the Past

05 Mar

Books are magical, this is a fact and as I am always right it is also indisputable.  Over the coming 3-5 weeks I’m going to attempt to prove this in a fairly abstract way by telling you all about my past associations with these paper edifi.  Once every period of seven days I will be randomly posting another part of how I got to be reading today what I have read and how this has brought me to the eclectic mess of a mind that occupies the inner recesses of my slightly lopsided skull.

Your author and tour guide for this odyssey is going to do his best to convey the spells that he has become enchanted with and the books that housed them.  Specifically how they influenced thoughts and wider reading. It has been noted that I don’t talk about me enough so with a little light persuasion, the decision was made.   This is my story through books, that’s what the movie will be called anyway and I hope it inspires some similar thoughts in you.

n82469430809-philip-k-dick-a-maze-of-death-cover-2

As someone once said to me…’it is the books that impact on you…shaping who you became…who you will become that is the point’…so please excuse this long rambly look at me, it is rare I will do anything like this as I know all about me and as a consequence am not particularly interested in the subject, perhaps a few of you are though…You’ll note that I’ll be name checking a lot of books, I hope some titles or the context within, which they are mentioned will catch your eye and you will want to explore them for yourselves.

Flicking around the author pages on this blog it occurs to me how laughably few of the books which I have read so far have been committed to blog.  This series will in effect be something of a stop-gap and a reminder to myself until I can bring the wonderful and not quite so, to your attention in the usual way of words and whimsy.

It is strange that the surface of the book collection has hardly been scratched, it does make me wonder exactly where my social life was back in the day and what it could have been like had I not been tucked away with a good book.  would I change it though…not on your Nellie!

Although what I am writing will be chronological, I may have to rejig a few of the books slightly in the time line to keep up the flow of the text, you wouldn’t have noticed that anyway but unlike 98% of politicians I believe in transparency not just the idea applied to other people.

 
21 Comments

Posted by on 05/03/2014 in Autobiography

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

21 responses to “Book to the Past

  1. Letizia

    05/03/2014 at 19:02

    Looking forward to this magical adventure….

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      05/03/2014 at 19:04

      I can guarantee the ‘ent’ in that sentence, mainly because of Lord of the Rings. I offer the best spoilers!

      Like

       
  2. colemining

    05/03/2014 at 19:10

    Excellent! Always looking for suggestions for the must-read list(s)!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      05/03/2014 at 19:13

      There should be plenty and very varied. Multiple lists I like that idea…I have enough on with just one.

      Like

       
  3. Alastair Savage

    05/03/2014 at 21:59

    Never got round to Memoirs from the House of the Dead so I’m looking forward to hearing your take on that one.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      06/03/2014 at 18:34

      I did start a review for this but it must have somehow got deleted, I will have to rewrite it in the coming weeks.

      Like

       
  4. Theanne aka magnoliamoonpie

    05/03/2014 at 22:08

    I’ve not read this Dostoevsky/Dostoyevsky – Memoirs From the House of the Dead! While I’ve read the Brothers Karamazov and Crime and Punishment, now I discover that there are copious lists of his work that I haven’t read! Looking forward to your posts and hope most of what you write about are on Kindle’s free list 🙂 OR perhaps at the library or available for Kindle (computer) reading from them!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      06/03/2014 at 18:36

      There will be an eclectic mix so hopefully there should be a good few and the reviews will still be continuing so there should be enough to keep you reading for a while. I need to read some more Dostoyevsky myself as well.

      Like

       
  5. readingwithrhythm

    05/03/2014 at 22:49

    Well, this sounds like fun! Let’s go!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      06/03/2014 at 18:31

      I best get writing them then…first one is up next week.

      Like

       
  6. Asha

    06/03/2014 at 04:38

    Do let me know about Dostoevsky. Titles with ‘dead’ in them interest me much.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      06/03/2014 at 18:35

      There will be a review coming up in the next few weeks as ther is a lot of interest in Fyo…that’s what his mates call him.

      Like

       
      • Asha

        07/03/2014 at 12:35

        Great! Looking forward to it.

        Like

         
  7. Seyi sandra

    06/03/2014 at 20:34

    I’m looking forward to this awesome treat Ste J!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      07/03/2014 at 18:56

      It’ll certainly be a challenge, like usual it seemed like a good idea at the time.

      Like

       
  8. Sophie

    08/03/2014 at 22:39

    Im the opposite – over the last year I’ve recorded all of the books ive read and rated and reviewed most of them on good reads!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      09/03/2014 at 18:34

      I’ve let Goodreads slide of late, so I need to get back into that as well as all the other media out there. I need to check out everyone’s profiles on there in some depth.

      Like

       
  9. LuAnn

    09/03/2014 at 12:35

    I look forward to all your posts Ste J but this sojourn I am betting will be captivating!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      09/03/2014 at 18:30

      I am hoping so, if nothing it will read as a who’s who of my book list and that will give an insight into what occupies my time all the time pretty much.

      Like

       
  10. anna amundsen

    09/03/2014 at 21:21

    I salute the idea!
    I am looking forward to these posts because the reader’s development and ways of reading are exactly the things that interest me very much. No doubt this will be great.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/03/2014 at 19:15

      I’m not sure after publishing the first one that it went the way I wanted it to go but it was mostly written last year hopefully the next few will be better in a different way.

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
