RSS

From Shore to Sure

22 Feb
A graphical representation of what the scenery I saw didn't look like.

A graphical representation of what the scenery I saw didn’t look like.

Due to lethargy and latterly a dodgy internet connection, I’ve been off from the blogging world.  I turned this into a well deserved break from typing up thoughts and stuff of a blog like nature.

I did most fortuitously find myself in the enviable position of joining my two good friends Dean and Nat for for what could (and is) be described as a ‘not-making-the-same-mistakes-concerning-drink-that-we-did-last-time’ sort of night.As ever though, my mind was wondering how I could turn any sort of observations I may garnered – and more tp the point remembered – into a blog post.  It seems to be a little bit handy that I am able to do that of late and so didn’t pass up the opportunity.

What I was treated to was, amongst other things, a walk around a lovely little reservoir in Derbyshire.  It had all the classic things, a bit of animal spying, mud in excess (for it doth rain aplenty in Britain) and lots of people to say hello at.  If I was a photographer, then I suspect there would have been some amazing shots to be framed and those with the eye would definitely have picked up more than I could hope to spy out with my rubbish eyes.

It’s little pleasures like this, those spots where people come to unwind in the relative quiet and sit on a bench and just let nature happen around them, that we should appreciate more.  I think it is something oft forgotten about. Being stuck in a town it is quite depressing that I don’t get to spend half as much time in the company of nature than I would wish, it made it a lot more special to in this case though as I was with awesome people and  had imbibed some nice strong cider before hand…which helps with the eye sight if not the balance.

Of course the pottering around and savouring wouldn’t have been half as good if it wasn’t enhanced by my two aforementioned good friends. So perhaps it is a little bit of injustice to nature to say that I would have enjoyed and appreciated herself less if they hadn’t been there, rather I think they enhanced the experience especially by showing me all the different birds that us townies don’t know the difference between.

Reflecting on this, as I did in the car home the next day, the track below was playing and it became the perfect bit of music to ruminate with and also to enjoy the finer things life throws up, good friends, no hang over, wonderful sights and of course this blog post.  I do have a mountain of blogs to reacquaint myself with so I shall be around soon again, it’s been odd without you all…

 
25 Comments

Posted by on 22/02/2014 in Life

 

Tags: , , , , ,

25 responses to “From Shore to Sure

  1. renxkyoko

    22/02/2014 at 23:23

    It didn’t seem like you were off blogging world, or maybe I’ve been doing a lot of catching up…..

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/02/2014 at 09:46

      Catching up is an ongoing project these days, I remember when I really wanted to get hundreds of likes and comments per post and now I am not sure what I would be able to do with that amount…still I’m not complaining when I am in such good company.

      Like

       
  2. thejerseygal®™

    22/02/2014 at 23:37

    It’s good to take a break and come back with fresh thoughts. British radio must be quite different from American. Never heard that song before.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/02/2014 at 09:57

      Our radio is pretty dire, although Radio 3 does play the best classical music. Most are dire dance/pop amalgams that showcase the less talented but well publicised music of the day. Lucky my mates have good taste in music. I do like the satellite radio station Lithium that you guys have over there, they always have great stuff on.

      Like

       
  3. Christina ~

    23/02/2014 at 07:26

    You had me at “Derbyshire”…which you know I am utterly enamored with! I find myself rather envious of you and your scenic stroll! It is too true that cities are where the majority of us dwell and nature most definitely does not get enough of our appreciation!! I am suddenly feeling the need to go to the park…and walk along the river…Derbyshire it certainly is not…but it will do… xxxxxx

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/02/2014 at 09:42

      Ah the river, I miss the river, that was a lovely walk to along with it’s squeaky swing benches. I think the main difference with the river and where I recently explored was the closed in nature of the place. Derbyshire is like that, even on the moors you feel surrounded, cocooned into nature but with the river you see everything stretching out which don’t get me wrong has its own beauty. You will love it here in Derbyshire for you shall come one day and you will see the big manors, the old mills, the sheer greenery of the place and experience the second hand bookshop magic as well! xxxxxx

      Like

       
  4. anna amundsen

    23/02/2014 at 10:50

    This visit you paid to nature sounds wonderful..
    And you had people telling you about birds! I envy you. Whenever I go walking through the woods or climbing the hills I wish I had someone who would share his knowledge about the trees and plants or small colorful bugs and butterflies..

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/02/2014 at 11:05

      It was great to actually feel like I knew a bit about nature even vicariously. Perhaps these are books we need to be picking up more…it’s always good to have another genre of book to put into the collection and more knowledge and of course the encouragement of a walk as well.

      Like

       
      • anna amundsen

        23/02/2014 at 11:15

        Yes, exactly so! I have been looking for some of those kind of books but I found none I would want to read and keep, none that would make me come back to it, that would make me carry it around every time I set for a walk..
        I’ll keep on searching, though.

        Like

         
  5. Al

    23/02/2014 at 15:13

    I think it is a great place to go to relax. Although there are reservoirs everywhere at the moment down this end of the country, even in places where reservoirs have never existed before.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/02/2014 at 18:40

      The news coverage was frightening, especially as the government only sees its way to doing something to help when it’s to late and public pressure grows. I prefer my reservoir to be contained I must admit.

      Like

       
      • Al

        25/02/2014 at 19:28

        Luckily our reservoirs are now starting to recede albeit slowly and roads are starting to open again

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          25/02/2014 at 19:40

          Good news, lets hope that the worst has been and gone.

          Like

           
          • Al

            25/02/2014 at 20:01

            I really hope so. I don’t want anyone to have to suffer that again

            Like

             
  6. RoSy

    23/02/2014 at 19:14

    Wonderful all the way around. 🙂
    I can’t wait for the weather to improve here to be able to sit out to enjoy nature.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/02/2014 at 18:35

      A nice respite will be welcome for you guys, as long as you don’t send the snow this way or you’ll never hear the end of it!

      Like

       
  7. Seyi sandra

    25/02/2014 at 21:43

    A break once in a while is a welcome relief, I’m glad you had fun! 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/02/2014 at 15:40

      A stretch of the legs is something I need to do more so…I am thinking of getting around our island a little more as well.

      Like

       
  8. quirkybooks

    25/02/2014 at 23:42

    My internet has been majorly playing up too. I am with Plusnet – Are you with them? I have just installed a new router that I have had for over a year. Already the connection is faster so far tonight. I couldn’t load many web pages before and I was hardly getting any work done. I am glad you had a great time with your friends.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/02/2014 at 15:54

      I’m with Talk Talk, the internet used to be dodgy here as well. I’m glad your internet is faster now though, even more chance for blogging.

      Like

       
      • quirkybooks

        07/03/2014 at 23:20

        Hi Ste, I am just catching up with comments after the Technical problems. One of my blogs still isn’t loading properly, but the server may be down because it’s a WordPress.org blog. I can’t have Fibro Optic broadband because my landlord doesn’t want any holes drilled in the wall.

        Like

         
  9. LuAnn

    26/02/2014 at 14:02

    My spirit would soon wither if not wrapped in nature. Glad you were able to do a bit of a walkabout and breathe in some of her beauty. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/02/2014 at 15:47

      Next time I will aim to potter even more, with a bunch of hills for good luck, that’ll get the old heart pumping.

      Like

       
      • LuAnn

        04/03/2014 at 22:22

        Your heart is not old and tackling a bunch of hills will certainly keep it young. 🙂

        Like

         

Tell me stuff...

 
