RSS

End Of Part Two, Part Two (Part Two)

28 Jan
unnamed

The place where my thoughts pour forth.

It’s been a while since I have attempted to bring to a conclusion the musings on my USAdventure . I have found it tough to bring forth the words and summing up is difficult to do unless you are Greek brain box Euclid or one of those number inclined people.

Attempting to put three months of thoughts gleaned in the US into a decent number of paragraphs is, quite unexpectedly, not to mention perplexingly, a challenge.

The days really did – as is customary with rollercoaster rides – have plenty of ups and downs. I completed the full set of times: the happy times, some sad times, the odd worrying time and many hilarious times. There was the time I ate a bit of dog food – which tasted for want of a better word, sideways –  saw tumbleweeds and cheesy films galore,  said hello to a new cat and waved goodbye to a sadly passed on cat.  The signature trademark of lots of books was predictably in evidence and then to top it all off, strangely I did not get any jet lag on my return whatsoever.

So what more can I add to all my previous posts from the US?  Well, three months over in another country, another continent, has certainly taught me a few things, not least of all how easy it is to book a ticket and just go.  The world is a frighteningly small place these days and there are copious experiences to be had, so many in fact that I failed to record them except for in my head…which is now my third favourite place to live.

It’s not just places that fascinated me – any tourist can do that – but the people, each one with so many new and unexpected experiences that they’re more than happy to share. Anywhere I happen to find myself now becomes a kaleidoscope of captivating stories and rich personalities…it’s all a bit intoxicating sometimes.

After three months I think any epiphanies that I had gleaned became subsumed within my new, albeit short on the grand scale of things, life…which is strange when I think about it as my adventures are what have shaped my thought processes and ultimately how I view and deal with life in the future.  Such a gradual turn of events does make me more mindful of having to record all my thoughts as they arrive just in case those insightful gems have passed me by when I come to write-up my reflections.  Everyday routine sometimes blinds us to the exceptional thoughts that we all have, so get ’em written down people.

What have I learned then? I misheard you asking.  I think learning is possibly the wrong word, perhaps the question should be, how have my perspectives changed?  Well I am more understanding (possibly) and grudgingly more complementary of life.  I’m also way more positive with regards to viewing negative stuff and approaching…well everything these days, in such a manner.  This is a major step forward for me, perhaps I will have to change my Gravatar blurb ‘Living my life through the pages of books and attempting to be social from behind the covers’ to something to reflect this, maybe.

Lastly, I suppose all I have to say is, go do stuff!  it’s a cliché (which I usually avoid like the plague) but it is certainly well worth experiencing.  If there is one failing of my stint over the pond though, I believe that it was my lack of posts about the local area and the customs that I became well versed in…which I really will have to put that right sometime.

 
47 Comments

Posted by on 28/01/2014 in USAdventure

 

Tags: , , , ,

47 responses to “End Of Part Two, Part Two (Part Two)

  1. thejerseygal®™

    28/01/2014 at 18:26

    Did you ever go to Seattle? It’s been a dream of mine to visit there.
    I hope those sad times were short-lived, btw. Hopefully, just the goodbyes.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/01/2014 at 18:30

      We never made it to Seattle, the weather and the holiday season put paid to that, there’s my skill in timing for you! The goodbyes were torrid but they were more of a see you later than a goodbye.

      Like

       
      • thejerseygal®™

        28/01/2014 at 18:53

        That’s sweet. I couldn’t do the long-distance thing. It would mean I’d have to move or he would have to someday.

        Something tells me you’ll get to Seattle before me.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          28/01/2014 at 19:02

          I promise to send you a postcard hehe.

          Like

           
  2. Seyi sandra

    28/01/2014 at 20:17

    The tone of your post suggests you’ll soon go back to the US…

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/01/2014 at 20:22

      I am hoping to go back, in fact I expect to go back later on this year…I need my fix now I’m addicted hehe.

      Like

       
      • Seyi sandra

        28/01/2014 at 21:02

        Glad you’d stay for a bit, hope you won’t satiate your addiction… 🙂

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          30/01/2014 at 17:12

          I doubt that I will be satiated for a long while!!

          Like

           
  3. quirkybooks

    28/01/2014 at 20:33

    Hi Ste, it’s good to have you back. I bet Christina is missing you madly? Sorry to read about the cat that passed, that must have been very sad. Otherwise, it sounds like the experience has made you a much more positive person. Good for you, for going somewhere new. As I don’t like flying, I tend to explore this country.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/01/2014 at 20:40

      It was a wrench for both of us but positivity tells me that I have to deal with saving up again for another jaunt so I will take its advice. I think I have rounded myself out in many ways throughout the last three months, it’s certainly been an interesting to self observe as well as taking in so many new experiences. This country is great too…all those awesome bloggers as well as history that goes back more than 300 years lol.

      Like

       
      • quirkybooks

        29/01/2014 at 16:20

        I have to agree with the amazing bloggers, so many terrific people with fresh perspectives on life. Would you consider living over there?

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          30/01/2014 at 17:17

          I would love to live somewhere else yes…America is a great place and there are other places I’d like to go as well, sometimes there is just to much choice, but anywhere but Mansfield is sound thinking on my part.

          Like

           
          • quirkybooks

            02/02/2014 at 21:45

            I was born in Mansfield so I am glad it exists. Have you got any plans to move in with Christina?

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              05/02/2014 at 18:06

              There are lots of rules and regulations, not to mention visas and paperwork. It is something I would love to do, I think I will get started on all that bureaucracy after my next visit. Mansfield is certainly a placed changed in the last five years…at least the stags are back in the Football League though!

              Like

               
              • quirkybooks

                06/02/2014 at 12:17

                My parents moved me to Devon when I was one and a half so I don’t remember Mansfield but from what you say, it doesn’t seem too good.

                Like

                 
  4. Al

    28/01/2014 at 21:59

    What a great time it seems to have been whilst you were over there. It’s always hard to say good bye to a pet, I know. Today it has been two weeks since we said good bye to Tabitha and Gogh still hasn’t recovered from that yet, so we will be getting a pair of kitties soon.

    The world is indeed a very small place now.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      30/01/2014 at 17:15

      Globalisation. Good and bad at the same time but mos’ def’ good for me. The kitties will soon help to take away some of the sadness and keep you on your toes no doubt!

      Like

       
      • Al

        30/01/2014 at 21:19

        Yes, I had fun with kitties today. Vets first, then my sister’s boiler broke so it was a case of shipping the kids off somewhere warm (my place and out mother’s) Then chatting, then catching up. I am so glad I did some posts this morning, I am giving up for today in a minute lol

        I have my kittie on my lap though. After he gave me a scare. I thought I was going to lose him too.

        Like

         
  5. nancyrae4

    29/01/2014 at 20:19

    Next time try Colorado – the semi-wild west. We have beautiful scenery, friendly people, and the sun shines over 300 days per year. And, if you really want an exceptionaly bizzare cultural experience, vist our neighbors to the north – Wyoming:)

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      30/01/2014 at 17:19

      I heard Wyoming was a bit..different. Sounds fascinating, there are so many places in your huge country, it is hard to draw up a list, all those vast distances and so much to discover…makes Britain seem tiny, although we have a nice hat museum.

      Like

       
  6. Theanne aka magnoliamoonpie

    29/01/2014 at 23:25

    so much change, so much emotion…how could you not change and grow as a person 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      30/01/2014 at 17:24

      Putting oneself out there is the key to changing your thought processes and it is amazing how much long held opinions change. I think it’s made me a stronger writer as well which is always handy when writing a blog.

      Like

       
  7. RoSy

    30/01/2014 at 01:47

    Dog food? Yuck-o.
    That is so wonderful that you got to spend a nice amount of time in the US & around the holiday season too. It’s even more fab that your time was spent with a wonderful family.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      30/01/2014 at 17:14

      I was lucky to have such a long time and to share it with the people I did. I don’t know how dogs get on with their food but I just couldn’t eat a bowl of that…unless money was involved and lots of liquids to get rid of the taste.

      Like

       
  8. Christina ~

    30/01/2014 at 02:56

    Musings…epiphanies….changed perspectives….indeed! I love this post! You words are infused with all that is you…sharing your unique view of things is all ways awesome. I like to think with all that happened during this journey…a true glimpse of American life was had by you. That you wish to return…I still say you are delusional lol! And amazing…as ever… xxxxxx

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      30/01/2014 at 17:28

      Ha, delusional is the new black, did you not get the memo?! I did like the proper experience and not a censored version…after all without total immersion in life I wouldn’t be able to grow and gain valuable insights. I will return as long and I am sure you will help ne come to the conclusions that have led me to this and previous posts. xxxxxx

      Like

       
      • Christina ~

        31/01/2014 at 00:47

        In fact, I did not receive the memo….maybe it’s still in the mail?! Hmm….delusional is the new black…does that mean I have to stop wearing black all the time and wear delusional? lol #wink xxxxxx

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          31/01/2014 at 14:50

          Your post was always a little slow in arriving…including that ever elusive birthday card. I totally encourage you to try delusional instead of clothes…send pictures! xxxxxx

          Like

           
          • Christina ~

            31/01/2014 at 23:04

            Hahaha! In my little poorly thought out metaphor….delusional was actually clothes…just saying…. xxxxxx

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              02/02/2014 at 16:31

              I refuse to accept that…so I won’t…it’s my blog and I can do what I like! xxxxxx

              Like

               
  9. LuAnn

    30/01/2014 at 19:04

    I’m so glad you enjoyed the beautiful country I am pleased to call home, although I want badly to explore so many other countries as well, for the sights and the cultural experiences. No matter where life takes us, we do know that it is the people we meet along the way that touch our hearts and enrich our lives. 😉

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      30/01/2014 at 19:14

      Yes, indeed, places are only bricks and stones and a bit of soil but the people make it memorable and wonderful. I did love every minute, I look back at the tough times and am still glad I experienced them. I’ve been to a couple of European countries (Italy and Holland) and had great times doing various things there. I hope to see you in Europe sometime!

      Like

       
      • LuAnn

        30/01/2014 at 19:21

        Europe is on the list so one never knows. As for the tough times, just one of those growth spurts 🙂

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          30/01/2014 at 19:30

          That is a fine way to put it. Well if I can get to you and you are in the ‘hood, then I will definitely come and find you for some local cuisine.

          Like

           
  10. Morgan

    30/01/2014 at 20:59

    I should love the be able to pack my bags and head over to your side of the pond for a few months…oh how marvelous a holiday would be that spanned months rather than days!

    as I missed your other posts on this subject…did you visit Pennsylvania at all?

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      31/01/2014 at 14:44

      I think I may have flown near it at some point in my jaunts but have never set foot on that hallowed ground.

      It is a dream thing to head over and know you have lots of time to soak up the culture and over here we have so much history and so many football teams (proper football, not your type of rugby)…it’s alright over here…if you enjoy rain.

      Like

       
      • Morgan

        31/01/2014 at 19:11

        I actually enjoy rugby AND proper football 🙂 NFL football isn’t terrible either, but I’d much rather be sitting at my computer writing something than watching an over paid athlete do anything.

        I rather enjoy rain…think it’s lovely. and since I do not like the sun (and it does not like me!) I believe England or Wales is where I am really meant to be.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          02/02/2014 at 16:37

          Writing is a winner for me too and reading, although a good match helps to rest the eyes.

          Well half the country is flooded at the moment so best bring your goggles if you intend on coming over any time as you may get all seasons in a day, including ‘the wrong type of snow’. Being biased I would say come to England because it’s better, but I would say that.

          Like

           
          • Morgan

            02/02/2014 at 19:28

            Is that because it is the time of year when it rains more or have you simply been having wet weather?

            We are bracing for another double-whammy storm, snow, then ice turning to rain and muck. personally, I’d rather have it all snow.

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              05/02/2014 at 18:31

              It’s mental down south at the moment, floods everywhere power out in thousands of homes and train tracks wrecked. Having said that we only usually have two weeks of good weather, mostly when Wimbledon is on.

              Keep safe and no sliding around like a mad lady. I prefer snow ovdr ice but prefer neither if I have to be an absolute picky person.

              Like

               
              • Morgan

                06/02/2014 at 02:22

                We had alot of both snow and ice this week. 7 inches of snow monday and a good half inch of ice last night. Makes for alot of shoveling and a very weary me.

                I love winter and snow, but Im ready for spring.. 🙂

                Like

                 
  11. anna amundsen

    01/02/2014 at 22:11

    Beautiful post, Steve..
    “number inclined people” – I had a good laugh there XD

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/02/2014 at 16:29

      I like to mix up my wording…I can’t do numbers over either so there may be a small element of jealousy in there as well.

      Like

       
  12. Elizabeth Melton Parsons

    24/02/2014 at 13:39

    Taking steps forward is always a good thing. 🙂 I’d love to some day travel to your part of the world. It would be wonderful to be able to soak up all the different customs and culture. Wonder, would it change me, as your trip did?

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/02/2014 at 18:32

      It most certainly will and in ways that are unforeseen if my experience is anything to go by. It’s almost like a blatantly subtle new take on life…it is difficult to describe how I am different in my thoughts and views on life, it is enough to say that I irrevocably am.

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
