RSS

Kernel (of an idea) For A Journal

28 Dec

IMG0000This year, for Christmas I got the ultimate plastic surgery makeover.  I now have the face (and neck) of a book!

To no one’s relief I am jesting of course.  What you see here is an empty journal, the cover of which is a wonderfully funky recreation of the Gutenberg Bible.

The significance of the ol’ GB is that it was first book printed with movable type which was the catalyst for the explosion of books in the West.

Outside we have the lavishly illustrated cover with the iconic Latin Gothic print and on the inside we have a whole slew of white pages just waiting for the blank lines to be filled with ink of the blue or black variety.

Spotless leafs are both a pleasure – the crisp immaculate emptiness – and a bit daunting – the fear of how to start and what to write once I have gotten going, my thought processes always take a while to catch up with my conscious mind.

Strangely for me, I turned to the first page and on a whim immediately wrote:

What will arrive via my pen?

The inconceivable Ideas

The Journey Begins.

Really rough would be the best way to describe that offering but my reasoning being; it would make an excellent reminder for a blog post…(!) As I was writing this I decided that the vast chalky fields that had daunted me initially will now be filled to reflect my personality.  Therefore my hieroglyphic mess will be a hotchpotch of random notes for blog posts, website links, facts that I have heard in the pub that may or may (probably) not be true and book suggestions, of course.

So this journal, as well as being a convenient repository for my blog notes will also be a handy way for you O worthy and intrepid readers to spot me in any of the local eateries, drinkeries or libraries that you frequent.  And when I come to town house prices rise…

 
29 Comments

Posted by on 28/12/2013 in Blogging, Life

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

29 responses to “Kernel (of an idea) For A Journal

  1. Bumba

    28/12/2013 at 10:58

    Enjoyed the read, and you face is looking much better since the surgery.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/12/2013 at 11:01

      I chose the font myself. I have always liked dead languages as well. The best Christmas presents are the ones that keep on giving…you guys less scares.

      Like

       
  2. Al

    28/12/2013 at 12:46

    It’s a lovely looking book.

    I had a lovely book from my sister for my birthday along with a calligraphy pen set, so the only thing I will use in that book is that pen. Mind you, I also use that pen for most other things as well including writing Christmas cards and the like, and anything else that needs writing on. It flows beautifully.

    Maybe a pen like that for your book. I think it would suit it perfectly.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      30/12/2013 at 11:09

      With the US jaunt almost up, money isn’t being kind to me but I did see some quills, which were pretty awesome looking, maybe one day I shall write with one of those….you know for my fifth bestseller lol. I am glad you have such a tool to express yourself. Christmas makes me happy.

      Like

       
      • Al

        30/12/2013 at 12:06

        Maybe one day then 🙂

        I have enjoyed Christmas this year. Getting the kids back on Boxing Day was excellent and spending the day with them, watching them opening their presents was great 🙂

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          30/12/2013 at 12:35

          This pleases me…happy faces is always the best bit of Christmas.

          Like

           
  3. Seyi sandra

    28/12/2013 at 13:17

    Ste J, your posts are always refreshing. I must say I’m jealous of your newly acquired beauty…

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      30/12/2013 at 10:52

      In a complete coincidence, page four is the page that is allotted to the notes for the review of one Cydonia! I like to do topical blog posts.

      Like

       
  4. gargoylebruce

    28/12/2013 at 18:27

    On the topic of interesting book related presents, I was gifted with a scarf, upon which the entire text of Edgar Allen Poe’s “The Raven” has been printed. Given that the heat down here generally renders scarf-wearing redundant, I am contemplating ways in which I might modify the impractically large text for framing and ease of reading. I never considered plastic surgery as an alternative, but will add it to my list of strategies. Thanks!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      30/12/2013 at 11:01

      Always glad to give out tips for enhancements. I, myself am a dab hand with a scalpel and my rates are competitive…also I do a good like in writing the complete works of Proust onto cheeks…there are four of them – that’s the trick!

      Like

       
  5. Elizabeth Melton Parsons

    29/12/2013 at 04:19

    Wonderful gift. I saw the New Testament of the Gutenberg Bible right before Thanksgiving in the Lilly Library at IU. It was one of the highlights of my visit. I’m sure you’ll have no trouble filling those pristine pages. Have fun! BTW, I love your opening lines. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      30/12/2013 at 10:55

      After writing those lines I regretted not drafting them more, until I realised I would have used this book to draft them so it was apropos really. I would love to gaze at such a real piece of history….of course I would really wish to get my hands on it but I don’t think anyone would appreciate my desecration.

      Like

       
      • Elizabeth Melton Parsons

        30/12/2013 at 19:09

        Oh, my fingers itched to touch those beautiful pages. But thank goodness it was under glass. Else I might have been tempted beyond measure. 🙂

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          02/01/2014 at 11:41

          You could have compromised and worn white gloves, that always seems to make everything alright lol. I wouldn’t have blamed you for handling those magical pages.

          Like

           
  6. nancyrae4

    29/12/2013 at 13:13

    Hurray for you! I can’t wait to hear tidbits from your journaling adventures. Remember, you are journaling for all of us who are too lazy to pen our words onto those pristine white pages!
    Happy holidays!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      30/12/2013 at 10:50

      Laziness is a virtue on this blog, I’m…unlazy so you don’t have to go to the effort! I may perhaps review the journal after I fill it, in a fit of showing off…that and it is an easy post and that will make me lazy too, yay!

      Like

       
  7. anna amundsen

    31/12/2013 at 01:19

    That is a very, very beautiful journal…
    Interesting you put it in front of your face or, to use a different point of view, instead of your head, which is to say – what’s in your head will find its place in your journal.. Happy journaling!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/01/2014 at 11:58

      I like how you turn my face hiding into almost symbolic art. Really I just looked a bit rubbish that day lol.

      Like

       
  8. LuAnn

    31/12/2013 at 12:24

    I am liking the new look! 😉 I am certain you will find much to fill these empty pages and hopefully much that will become blog posts. May you have a joyous 2014 Ste J, full of laughter and love, and great tomes to peruse of course. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/01/2014 at 11:52

      Hehe, the Latin makes me look more sophisticated, I think. I am already a good four filled pages in. The new year has started interestingly already…and I guarantee there will be many great books read (some rubbish ones as well) and lots of the other stuff. I wish you the same…and then some more!

      Like

       
      • LuAnn

        03/01/2014 at 05:07

        I am sure you are making the most of your last few weeks in the US. 🙂

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          03/01/2014 at 16:46

          I am doing my best, I assure you hehe. Sadly just one week left though….(miserable face).

          Like

           
          • LuAnn

            04/01/2014 at 06:16

            I’m sure the time has slipped by very fast. How is the weather in WA? In FL it is a balmy 38 degrees, unheard of for this part of the country.

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              04/01/2014 at 11:25

              It’s been warm here in the last couple of days it was 50F yesterday. Time has gone by way to quickly, as it was always bound to do especially after I jinxed it by saying time was all stretched before us, when I first arrived lol.

              Like

               
  9. shiningstar85

    11/01/2014 at 05:16

    What do you mean by movable print?

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      13/01/2014 at 18:02

      Movable type is the blocks with the letters on that allowed things to be printed and then the type could be reordered to print the next page and so on.

      Like

       
      • shiningstar85

        13/01/2014 at 18:57

        I’m not really sure what was used before typewriters. ..youll have to explain to me sometime.

        Like

         

Tell me stuff...

 
