RSS

Desperation – D.W. Carver

21 Dec

cover8Kate thought that once her mother died, the pain she had caused would end. Then she discovered that a letter had been sent to a prominent television presenter on her mother’s orders taunting him with the fact that Kate now held photographs which would ruin him and probably lead to his arrest. Suddenly Kate is running for her life. She seeks help from Rob, a much older man whom she has only known for a very short time. While at his London apartment, she rescues a teenage girl, Vickie, from a street pimp and over the following days finds a bond growing between them that feels like a lot more than friendship; but with both their lives now in danger there is no time for thoughts of anything but escape and survival.

Once again an author has gotten in touch via the Contact Ste! page, D.W. Carver whose work Nightmares and Other Therapy I previously reviewed kindly offered me another novel for the perusing.

My dalliances with romances have to date been bad experiences, the books I have previously read and reviewed, Fifty Shades of Grey and The Man Every Woman Wants were definitely not my cup of tea so I approached this desperately hoping that this would break my barren spell and give me something that I would enjoy.

The author did describe this book to me, in our initial correspondence, as BDSM without the B and within a few pages I was straight into that aspect of the explicit yet oddly personal world of fetish fans.  To begin with the psychology of the shared predilection for discipline is quite interesting but after the initial encounter this aspect is moved to the side somewhat to make way for the main storyline.

The thriller part of the book has its moments, there is an agonised wait style atmosphere which had a similar feel to the author’s previous work that I reviewed, that feeling of an unknown poised plot device just waiting to strike which I do like.  There is some action and a variety of plot lines, as well, involving relationships and emotional upheavals going on, set to a grim backdrop but then again this is set in England.

It’s not all bleak though, there is some sardonic humour running through the pages, there is some very earthy language liberally sprinkled about and although the humour was presumably intended to lighten the plot it just added to the dismal feel of the story.  I think that may be due to my taste in humour though, if you don’t mind a lot of vulgarity then you may feel different to this reader on that score.

I haven’t mentioned the characters until now…something which I shall remedy immediately.  They are a mixed bag of individuals, the two main characters are Vickie and Kate and handily they are the two that polarised my feelings the most.  I liked Kate (to a point), her vulnerability and confusion over her sexual inclinations really make you feel for her, especially at her initial introduction.  Vickie on the other hand annoyed me with her distasteful language and all round vexatious attitude.

When you think about it, It just goes to show you never really know who people are when you see them out and about, anybody you pass on the street could be into anything and all that can be a bit of a sinister thought on some levels but it does keep the day interesting on others.  What I do know is that in common with this book there are many people with confused and complex emotional relationships and when all is said and done life does imitate art.

This book was, in all honesty, a challenge to review as I’m not really sure who this book is aimed at, were I up for a thriller, I would want less of the sex and fetish stuff but if that is what I was after then I would probably be disappointed that there wasn’t enough in that department.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on 21/12/2013 in Romance

 

Tags: , , , , ,

16 responses to “Desperation – D.W. Carver

  1. Al

    21/12/2013 at 14:35

    Think it’s one that I will give a miss. I am not over joyous on a great amount of language in books. There are places and times where it is deemed necessary “Perambulate in this direction if you assume you are of a sturdy enough stature” would sound better in other ways.

    Speaking of weird and funny languages, they have made a film of Death Comes To Pemberley.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      22/12/2013 at 11:11

      The language is not overly flowery (good sentence of that nature by the way) as such and more vulgar and quite repetitive in places.

      I haven’t read Death Comes to Pemberley, so I may check it out when it gets released. Pride and Prejudice was that good I am worried any other similar books or films won’t do it justice.

      Like

       
      • Al

        22/12/2013 at 11:25

        I saw a review of it on either Daybreak or This Morning by a family, and they gave it 8/10 or 4/5 – same score.

        When I watched Game of Thrones, the language in that is what they call “coarse”. So when I read A Song of Ice and Fire, I was dreading some of the words, but the author does it in a way of avoiding using their usage. “Joffrey used a word that Sansa had never heard before but assumed it was the worst word that could be spoken” or along those lines.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          26/12/2013 at 11:02

          Coarse language tends to not add much unless it is used sparingly I tend to find. I’m not sure why TV feels the need to add in so much of it. Still viewing figures are declining each year and if they keep up with it, it’ll probably decrease faster. It’ll be interesting to see what happens.

          Like

           
          • Al

            26/12/2013 at 16:10

            They have used less of it in the last season which is always a bonus. I always wince when I hear the words used as I think it is the most disgusting word ever created and there is no need for it in the English language.

            Like

             
  2. sakuraandme

    24/12/2013 at 05:46

    Howdy partner! Lol
    I had to come across to wish you a very Merry Christmas for tomorrow. 🙂
    Hope Santa is good to you. Hugs and nite from Oz, Paula xxx

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      26/12/2013 at 10:57

      Apologies for the late reply, I hope you are having a merry Christmas…more merry than some men in Sherwood forest…although walking through it tese days, you couldn’t hide a tree in it without it being noticed straight away. xx

      Like

       
  3. thejerseygal®™

    26/12/2013 at 12:39

    Sounds very weird. Almost uncomfortably so. However, I found myself giggling imagining your amusement over this read.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      26/12/2013 at 12:42

      Amusement and some flusteredness as well lol. I do like to throw myself out of my comfort zone sometimes to keep my mind guessing. If it doesn’t know what I’m doing anything could happen!

      Like

       
      • thejerseygal®™

        26/12/2013 at 12:48

        50 shades didn’t do it for me. It was not literary gold. I can guess this book would be even worse. The writer should pick a genre and stick to it.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          26/12/2013 at 12:56

          I think the psychological aspect is the main theme through the authors books, of the two that I have read. Fifty Shades needed well many things but nothing to encourage its ‘tastes’ lol.

          Like

           
          • thejerseygal®™

            26/12/2013 at 13:01

            Maybe I just don’t like books of that nature. It seems to cheapen the story. If I want to read fetishy stuff, just cut to the chase. I don’t need a whole novel to set my imagination on fire…but I’m not a fetishy girl. Ho hum.

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              26/12/2013 at 13:08

              Short stories would I suppose be more preferable with their tighter plots. Fetishy girl or not, it takes all sorts to keep this world interesting. I often wonder if I would read another fetish type book…usually after whichever one I have been asked to review and yes I would if the fetish has something to do with the plot and is done in a good way…of course I never know if that is the case until I start reading by which time I’ve usually agreed to review them.

              Like

               
  4. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

    30/12/2013 at 16:59

    I sincerely appreciate an honest book review. It seems I can no longer trust Amazon and some of the other electronic sites for honest ratings as so many authors put out request to their friends to drop by all the electronic sites when they have a novel released. Suddenly the numbers are skewed and we are left to our own decision making, the same as before the internet.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/01/2014 at 11:57

      Amazon seems to have blanket five star ratings for a lot of things and I tend to avoid them, or only read the negative comments and a smattering of the well written reviews to decide whether a book is worth reading…then I go to the blogs for a real opinion! I always try to be honest, I have had a lot of luck with books people have submitted to me for review in that I have enjoyed the majority, which I didn’t expect to be the case in all honesty.

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
