RSS

Short Stories for the Hopeful and the Weary – Scott Roloff

01 Dec

Hopeful and the WearyIt appears my Contact Ste page is paying off, as only a few days after going up an author kindly asked me if I would like to review his new book.

Not one to pass up a chance of a free book, I wiped my suddenly sweaty palms and put fingers to keys in order to reply in the affirmative.

Short Stories for the Hopeful and the Weary is an interesting title and one that appeals to me as it encompasses two polarised feelings which we all of us get at some time or another or perhaps mostly both together.

The cover is fascinating…that fly near the cup is the thing that intrigues me the most but if you ask me why…well I’m not quite sure.  I just notice these things and then my imagination goes into overdrive with various ideas…

Always the sign that it is doing its job then.  There is also the steaming cup and the open scene which is always enticing and allows various thoughts to wander the twilight world, which is always a welcome exercise.

So anyway, the major surprise of the books is that it really is an über short book, the page count being only 22 pages but with the claim of  ‘Four short stories, each with a twist that will puzzle and perplex.’

The stories are:

Nicoli’s Birthday–A young couple travel to Moscow to adopt a child on the eve of war.

A Lifetime Until Dawn–A soldier endures another sleepless night pondering the war atrocities that he committed, or did he?

Saturday’s Crossroad–A husband contemplates life without his wife.

God and the Devil–A journalist interviews the Devil, whose truth is quite different than what we’ve been told.

This eclectic mix of stories is fascinating.  short and sweet would be a cliché way of describing these fictions, so I shall avoid that phrase like the plague.  Seriously though each story is very well written with lots of detail and scene setting crammed into every one of the individual stories but not to the detriment of the actual plot.

Although the small amount of pages could be off putting to some people for the price paid, there is a surprising amount of depth lavished on each of the narratives, even the two page story A Lifetime Until Dawn had enough emotional intensity to make you believe in the characters and allows them to feel like real people.  It’s easy to be drawn in to each of the lives of the stories these characters live.

From the every day to the cleverly imagined, these stories are thought provoking and have provided me with much to dwell upon in order to fully appreciate them for what they are.  I imagine that like myself, some of you would have these stories in the back of your mind for a long time.

Those Amazon links are:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Short-Stories-Hopeful-Weary-Roloff-ebook/dp/B00FI6K0CY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1385921775&sr=8-1&keywords=scott+roloff

http://www.amazon.com/Short-Stories-Hopeful-Weary-Roloff-ebook/dp/B00FI6K0CY/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1385921788&sr=8-2&keywords=scott+roloff

 
14 Comments

Posted by on 01/12/2013 in Fiction

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

14 responses to “Short Stories for the Hopeful and the Weary – Scott Roloff

  1. Al

    01/12/2013 at 11:09

    An interesting set of stories. That last one intrigues me. I think I will have to place this on my “to buy list”

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      01/12/2013 at 11:12

      The last one did have a markedly different feel but that is a good thing, keeps you on your toes and of course in that story there is much to dwell upon.

      Like

       
      • Al

        01/12/2013 at 11:41

        Those type usually do 🙂

        Like

         
  2. Bumba

    01/12/2013 at 11:54

    Hey Steve, I’m still hoping, OK I was assuming, that you’re going to review One Life Or The Lives of Chester Knowles. It should be ready soon.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      01/12/2013 at 21:25

      Greetings sir, yes I am always up for reading and reviewing and after your debut, I am hungry for more. I am patient to which is handy.

      Like

       
  3. Claire 'Word by Word'

    01/12/2013 at 12:09

    Fly on the terrace… great artwork indeed.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      01/12/2013 at 21:25

      Great artwork and thought provoking words…the best combination.

      Like

       
  4. thejerseygal®™

    04/12/2013 at 13:13

    This sounds like a stroke of genius on the author’s part! Good for you to have been amongst the first to review the book. I just may order myself a copy. Excellent job on the review.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      05/12/2013 at 10:07

      Thank you, it’s been a while since I have had so many people wanting reviews, there is another one coming soon as well!

      Like

       
  5. readinpleasure

    12/12/2013 at 05:06

    Excellent review, Ste J.

    I am afraid I have loads of books from authors to review and the back log is just too much. For some poor reasons I am not able to read as much or fast as I would like to and it is now so embarrassing for me, having accepted these books and nothing doing about them yet! (sigh).

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      13/12/2013 at 11:32

      I know what you mean I have a couple that I am currently reading, I feel bad posting up other reviews of previous books I have read. pressure is on, lets go hide somewhere and read without distraction…Christmas miracles and all that!

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
