RSS

Traveller’s Rest

27 Nov

url3

Travellers Lodge, rest your weary head a spell

twilight wayfaring, abroad by ghost night

approaching witching hour with peace in sight

through the dark silence, bar’s last call…

222

a hot fire’s final knell

warm horror, in abundance flows

imbibing ale, thrilled by ye olde tale

legends told, over brimming tankards

222

of old walls, cold cells, imagined histories,

tales of spectres and rolling heads

scratches of imagined branches at window panes

a classic eve for chills to arrive and recede

222

creatures skitter and shriek outdoors

conjuring thoughts of long ago imagined phantasms

out there on the moor, where time stands still

until the dawn of cold day’s morn…

 
34 Comments

Posted by on 27/11/2013 in My Writings, Poetry

 

Tags: , , ,

34 responses to “Traveller’s Rest

  1. gargoylebruce

    27/11/2013 at 17:21

    And a full English, I hope!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      27/11/2013 at 17:31

      It’s not a proper journey’s rest without a full English, it would be more of a travesty than a tavern, in fact.

      Like

       
  2. sakuraandme

    27/11/2013 at 19:52

    Ohhh I so would love to have a drink there! Followed by a cooked breakfast the next day! Lol
    So warm and inviting, so jealous we have nothing like that where I live. Enjoy the day, hugs Paula xxx

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/11/2013 at 10:04

      There are many places with character over in the UK, sadly not as many as the sterile, cheap price pubs are encroaching with their bland functional buildings that ruin any atmosphere. I would now like a pitcher of mead and a big hunk of meat I can devour and throw the bone to the waiting dog lol. xx

      Like

       
  3. readingwithrhythm

    27/11/2013 at 21:15

    And what’s a full English? asks the dog from Texas. I was thinking that that picture looked like a nice cozy place for a good nap – and then I read that poem.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/11/2013 at 10:10

      a full English is the most noble of breakfast treats consisting of eggs, bacon, sausage, baked beans, tomato, mushrooms and hash browns with a side order of toast and the obligatory cup of tea. Can you hear my stomach rumble now…lol. If you were of stout heart I am sure you would have a sound sleep in your hired room for the night.

      Like

       
  4. anna amundsen

    28/11/2013 at 01:08

    The only thing I don’t fancy in this thrilling song of yours is that you used the word ‘imagined’ three times. I love the evocativeness of the images..

    Hey, (completely unrelated) I forgot to mention – I have fixed the link! Now my name finally leads back to my blog.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/11/2013 at 09:59

      Th repetition was deliberate, I was conveying the way the mind works when in such romantic settings and wanted it also to be a pointed message that it is all imagined, even if it is fun. I knew you’d be the one to notice that…you have the sort of analytical mind that pushes me to write better.

      Great news about the link! Now people can seek you out and enjoy your thought provoking posts as much as I do.

      Like

       
      • anna amundsen

        01/12/2013 at 08:18

        I understand the intention behind the repetition. I just think the idea can be better executed.. Maybe you could have used synonyms.. envisioned, for example.. visualized..
        So, when is the book to be published? I would love to have a poetry collection of yours on my shelf.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          01/12/2013 at 10:57

          I did play about with other words but I chose to retain imagined…it was an idea about a chiming clock which I didn’t really work with…for the word itself as oppose to the meaning stated in my previous comment. I appreciate your thoughts though, please keep them coming for I am always looking to improve my writing and of course my vocabulary.

          I would love to publish a book, I had a work of fiction that I have pushed to the back in order to write for the blog, combining the two is a tough balancing act. I will let you know when I get some sort of work out there and I do desperately want it out there in proper book format as well, like the old traditionalist I am.

          Like

           
  5. tomrobinsonz

    28/11/2013 at 10:25

    Grim as chips.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/11/2013 at 10:31

      Wow that is indeed grim, if they are to moist and limp as well as under salted.

      Like

       
  6. Al

    28/11/2013 at 13:12

    What a great night to spend somewhere spooky like that. Would love to do that.

    This is really well written Ste J. I like the way each stanza is a different stage. I love that you have brought this side of you back out again. I hope we see more of it.

    Great one.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/11/2013 at 21:52

      I don’t seem to get an idea I feel like I can run with very often so it is nice to get something that I wanted to work on. It seems like we Brits had a bit of a poetry day going on that day! We should synchronise more often.

      Like

       
      • Al

        28/11/2013 at 23:02

        I think if we did that the world tilt to the right briefly 😉

        Like

         
  7. readinpleasure

    29/11/2013 at 08:34

    Wow, Ste J 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      29/11/2013 at 11:04

      That is high praise indeed, my good friend!

      Like

       
  8. LuAnn

    30/11/2013 at 11:14

    I too love this side of you and hope we hear more. Lovely image, so warm and inviting.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      01/12/2013 at 10:45

      as I usually promise I am hoping to get the inspiration to be more consistent and judging by the post output for November, I’m not short on the writing front…I hope to have more for you soon.

      Like

       
  9. RoSy

    01/12/2013 at 18:08

    Always a nice surprise when you go all poetic on the WP! 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      01/12/2013 at 21:28

      I have a wonderful group of poetic pioneers to inspire me so I can’t take all the credit.

      Like

       
  10. Elizabeth Melton Parsons

    03/12/2013 at 12:36

    Love the picture, it seemed so cozy and your poem gave me a great feeling of comfort until I kept reading. Had chills by the end. I love the unexpected. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      04/12/2013 at 12:23

      Ooo, I love the comment, thank you…I did want to mix up the feelings and conjure something that was both safe and eerie.

      Like

       
  11. thejerseygal®™

    04/12/2013 at 13:31

    Wow what a treat. A poem! And a it’s awesome!
    Is this a real or “imagined” place?
    It is a bit dark, but of the tranquil type, maybe a good spot to snuggle and sip a warm beverage or a cold beer or a whiskey sour.
    I am assuming that this poured from you while in America. Here’s to more!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      05/12/2013 at 10:10

      Yup, this is an all American inspired poem…I am happy that a poet such as your good self, with your grasp of imagery and rhythm likes this. The whole place is imagined in my whimsical mind. I think such a place as this has different associations for different people so I like the variations in feedback from people’s varying aspects.

      Like

       
      • thejerseygal®™

        05/12/2013 at 10:17

        Your stay here in America has truly made for wonderful blog post.
        Yes, people find their own meaning in poetry, sometimes, and that’s good.

        Like

         
  12. shiningstar85

    11/01/2014 at 05:24

    Sounds perfect for Halloween although it was posted a month after halloween

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      13/01/2014 at 17:21

      I am notoriously slow to think of these things…I nominate you chief Poker!

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
