RSS

Last of the Gaderene – Mark Gatiss

23 Nov

n52001Post Five in my Who Day extravaganza, I have decided to bill it is somewhat unsurprisingly a book.  I assure you normal service of non Who posts shall be resumed shortly.

222

The aerodrome in Culverton has new owners, and they promise an era of prosperity for the idyllic village. But former Spitfire pilot Alex Whistler is suspicious – when black-shirted troops appear on the streets, he contacts his old friend Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart at U.N.I.T. The Third Doctor is sent to investigate – and soon uncovers a sinister plot to colonise the Earth. The Gaderene are on their way.

222

Shamelessly piggy backing on topical news stories, if a bit belatedly, as this was tucked away in my drafts.  I decided to review something old and new, that is also blue and just to complete the traditional saying I borrowed a pen earlier.

222

Mark Gatiss is the writer of such well crafted episodes as The Crimson Horror, The Unquiet Dead and Night Terrors amongst others, as well as various other Doctor Who bits and bobs including other Who books. This story is part of a set of fiftieth anniversary book set and it’s easy to see why this one was chosen above some other strong contenders for the third Doctor pick.

222

This is awesome for that nostalgia factor, the author has added everything that you need for a Classic Pertwee adventure, if you are familiar with the Third Doctor then you will have a ball with this jaunt.   The action and stunts are vintage D3, the Venusian karate, of course makes an appearance, as does UNIT and a certain Inspector Le Maitre…brilliant stuff all round!

222

Set somewhere just before the story The Green Death this story fits nicely into the canon of third Doctor adventures and flies along at a nice canter.  It’s a nice easy read and in my mind’s eye, I can almost imagine it done as one of the episodes which is precisely what you want from a book of this time.

222

The plot is quite madcap and of course you can’t fail to read this without adding in your own cheesy special effects from the time, in fact part of the charm is just such an exercise.   There are lots of classic Who moments to reminisce over here and many nods to the things that make Who great, so for some well deserved nostalgia, put your feet up, get your frilly shirt and cape on and enjoy some epic memory lane meandering.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on 23/11/2013 in Doctor Who, Sci-Fi

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Last of the Gaderene – Mark Gatiss

  1. Bumba

    23/11/2013 at 18:03

    What’s the saying about brrowing a pen earlier?

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/11/2013 at 20:21

      It’s an old tradition around our way but after centuries of inbreeding I am not allowed to say!

      Like

       
  2. Al

    23/11/2013 at 18:08

    I watched the Dr Who program that was on after the program that was on after the Day of the Doctor (that does make sense 😉 ) And I found a lot out about the third Doctor 🙂 I quite liked him. I also need to revisit the sixth

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/11/2013 at 20:23

      I think it was different over this side of the puddle but that does make sense even to my head. I love how after all these years er are still able to learn loads of Who stuff from yesteryear. The third Doctor was great and I shall join you in revisiting Baker the C.

      Like

       
      • Al

        24/11/2013 at 02:16

        He had a conversation put into one of his episodes aimed at all the haters (I suppose I was one of them) and said “I am who I am, and if you don’t like that, the door is there” He said it after one of his companions had said something about the way he talked to people.

        I did not realise that McCoy’s Doctor was willing to sacrifice Ace at one point, and that hurt her a lot.

        Like

         

Tell me stuff...

 
