RSS

Doctor who – The Return, 2005-Present

23 Nov

Continuing my catch up with Who and the second post of the day so far…say welcome back for Doctor’s 9,10,11 and 12…so far.

After much manic – and probably dangerous to people in a ten foot radius – bouncing around, my first thoughts of the new Who was that it was all over a bit to quickly, gone were the days of the cliff hanger episode endings to, instead we were ‘treated to’ inclusions of previews for the following episode.  the whole feel of the show was different and it worried and dare I say it disappointed me…for a while that is.

1000px-Sky_shark_christmas_carol

After focussing on what seemed like a whole lot of negatives (although not deal breakers in any way) I started to re watch more closely and think more deeply, as is my way, about Who and the present generation of children with short attention spans and all those e-numbers rolling around their systems.  Time has moved on and so had my favourite sci-fi show.

Change always encounters opposition but thinking about how the original incarnation grew too familiar, this jolt became more pleasant as I witnessed of the new run.  Some episodes did and still do take time to grow on me but I have decided that the new format, whilst initially off-putting to me as a veteran of the old Who way of life,  became a richer experience as I began to look at the positives and then it all clicked for me and I welcomed the Doctor back.

(you know the scene, I see the Doctor at the other side of a hilly meadow, eye contact is made, we run towards each other – my floaty white dress amazingly not impeding me – until we rush into each others arms…which is really well-timed because the orchestra hidden just out of camera shot reaches its crescendo and then all is right with the world again and I whisper in his ear that “we are not in the least bit cliché.”)

davros and daleks

The 45 minute episodes do give a quickness to a story but the trade off for long stories is a rollercoaster ride of emotions…the humour feels more pronounced than ever, there are emotional bits and lots of running and things seem to slide into each other in almost seamless ways.  Usually it’s only afterwards that I realise a comedy episode turned serious at some point and then emotional but where exactly these changes occurred are always very subtle and well defined.

This time around the show is more sophisticated, not just special effects wise, although they still have a pleasingly ‘hokey’ feel to them, but with contained storylines as well as story arcs which run through the season. Boundaries are pushed more (for the family show that this is) but the essence of the original remains.

There is still that scare factor that unerringly taps into the innermost fears of kids and sometimes adults too. The existentialist and adult themes that the show has always tackled remain, as does the inventive juggling of the criminally low budget it receives.  Happily, the occasional literary reference still remain scattered throughout, such as the black spot which comes from Treasure Island and is integral in the Matt Smith episode which features….pirates!doctorwho-thegirlinthefireplace_1161604161

The best change for me though are the companions who are not just there to ask the questions the audience want to know and to be saved from certain death far to frequently.  They are more integral to the plot than before, they are capable of teaching the doctor things and are given their own stories and allowed to develop in an almost symbiotic way with the Doctor.  Who incidentally doesn’t use weapons these days and always advocates the peaceful solution first.  How times have changed and stayed the same…or remained relative, if you will.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on 23/11/2013 in Doctor Who

 

Tags: , , , , ,

11 responses to “Doctor who – The Return, 2005-Present

  1. colemining

    23/11/2013 at 10:38

    I loved Eccleston right from the get-go of ‘the return’- and especially liked that the first one featured the Autons- those things scared the hell out of me. Just watched ‘Spearhead from Space’- they still creep me out.
    Love your image of your re-embracing the Doctor! There is a sad dearth of posts featuring writers in floaty white dresses on breezy hillsides, imho.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/11/2013 at 10:42

      Well that white dress is getting lots of wear today…but then again it is a Saturday so what else would I be wearing…

      ‘Lots of planets have a north’ Eccleston was great, very intense but lightened up as well after a bit. Although he’s been a bit grumpy about type casting he was a good starter off for the series. Is Spearhead the one where the chair eats the man or am I thinking of the other one?

      Like

       
  2. Al

    23/11/2013 at 10:57

    I do like the fact that the companions will be there to “be there”. Like Donna Noble has left the library, Donna Noble has been saved. Rose was the first to be a thorn in the Doctor’s side and have her own story – Bad Wolf. Martha was a pain for me. She was too Rose-like. I did hear a rumour that she had signed up for two years, and told someone in an interview that she was due to be killed at the end of the next season, so they chopped her contract in half. Whether that is true or not, I don’t know. Donna really told the Doctor what was what, and Rory with Amy was unique. Clara is looking good as a companion as well.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      23/11/2013 at 11:02

      Yeah Clara is fun…and Donna was just epic. Rose being the first of the new ones is always going to be up there as well. I know this sounds mean but Who could do with a good companion death and not a ‘going to be brought back thing’ but a proper one, especially in the middle of a season that would help focus the show and make the peril more peril like…or maybe I am just mean.

      Companions being a character in themselves is great Ace got a bit of that but I am very happy that it is even footing this time around.

      Like

       
      • Al

        23/11/2013 at 11:31

        Yes. When I heard that Rose going to be in the end of the Tenth, I was annoyed. It was a case of “why does she always have to be in it”. It was a good way though. Also, Matt Smith has acted with Billie Piper before 🙂

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          23/11/2013 at 11:43

          I heard that…some talk show man asked who was the better kisser lol. I did hate how they brought her back constantly for no reason…although with this one almost due I can understand…

          Like

           
          • Al

            23/11/2013 at 15:00

            It was better to have her in the special than Martha. Especially with what the story was

            Like

             
  3. Steve

    24/11/2013 at 05:07

    What did you think of the 50th Anniversary episode? I loved it! I think I am still in the “Who Zone” as I totally rejigged a post I was working on. I suppose you could say I Doctor(Who)ed it!

    http://stevemcp2002.wordpress.com/2013/11/24/productive-productivity-paradox/

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      24/11/2013 at 20:42

      I loved it, so many old references and of course all the other things I am loathe to spoil in case some poor soul who hasn’t seen it sees this…it was epic and I can’t wait to see where the Christmas episode takes us!

      Like

       
  4. RoSy

    24/11/2013 at 12:02

    I guess it’s good to keep a bit of the old – but – move forward with the times too in order to keep things going…Perhaps?

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      24/11/2013 at 20:01

      Oh yes, it’s a different audience these days and tastes and ideas change so always good to keep things alive and new.

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
