RSS

Mission to Minneapolis

20 Oct

So three weeks ago last Monday, I decided to go back to America for three months, spontaneity is not my middle name but if it was then I would still use the spell checker for it.  I arrived on the 16th and am only just relaxing with my hastily scribbled notes – that made me feel like a proper travel writer – just without the hilarious mishaps that so often happen to the modern authors.  Although I did lose my pen which was at least an event.

lookingatyou

So journeying back to see Christina, Penny, kids and menagerie of lovable pets I had ample time (29 hours) to reflect on many things, most were odd, but to my befuzzled mind (at half two in the morning) they were nevertheless important, such as who manufactures and sells traffic cones and can it really be a viable or even lucrative business?

This time though I was a more observant and realistic coach passenger (or in other words awake-ish).  Rather than having my usual romantic look at my fellow travelling strangers, I noticed that one was, due to my ignorance or possibly dramatism, a prostitute (it was the stockings), a Turkish Mafia hitman and a woman who resembled Nova from Planet/Beneath the Planet of the Apes and of course I was Bond…James Bond.

Later I noticed a place called Gotham which is South of Nottingham where Wollaton Hall, (Wayne Manor) is situated.  It also struck me that building sites at night, festooned with powerful lights and that fog that always seems to appear around such lighting, all have the look of a set piece Hollywood finale…I kept waiting for explosions and gun fire, of which there came none.

Amusing introspection over, I turned to more serious matters such as will there be a Ste J shaped hole left in Mansfield?  I came to the boiled down conclusion that there wouldn’t be, then there would for a bit and then it would fade, except that is, apart from the memory of huge gaps on booksellers shelves.

Jogged out of this revelry (as I was) by an Indian restaurant in Leicester called Fratelli’s which just made me think of The Goonies and then I got confused, lost my pen and so here endeth my first musings on the American Journey and is also my reason for not hitting up your blogs recently, which I will do in due course when I acclimatize.

 
34 Comments

Posted by on 20/10/2013 in USAdventure

 

Tags: , , , ,

34 responses to “Mission to Minneapolis

  1. Al

    20/10/2013 at 19:15

    Wow. That was sudden. Say hi to them for me 🙂 Did you get any “above the clouds” photos?

    I do believe that Mansfield will miss you, even if it is just the book shops closing down due to lack of business 😉

    So that means that you will be over there for the Doctor Who anniversary.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      20/10/2013 at 19:24

      It was me at my most uncharacteristically decisive. I didn’t get any photos sadly, my camera phone is terrible and I didn’t get chance or money enough to invest/remember something with good photo definition.

      Bookshops in Mansfield lol, I had to travel for my decent literature…although W.H Smiths will take a bit of a hit!

      I will be here for Doctor Who and the newest celebration for me Thanksgiving as well as Christmas and New Year. It’s going to be epic and a bit mad Stethinks.

      Like

       
  2. boomiebol

    20/10/2013 at 20:21

    Enjoy!!!

    Like

     
  3. Cody McCullough

    21/10/2013 at 04:29

    I hope you have a good stay in Minneapolis.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      22/10/2013 at 16:51

      Minneapolis was just a stop off to my final destination which, if I am not mistaken, is closer to you somewhat. I am not far over the state border in Richland WA. Having said that in terms of close, that is American close as opposed to English close.

      Like

       
  4. Claire 'Word by Word'

    21/10/2013 at 07:43

    Good call! You’re going to love Thanksgiving.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      22/10/2013 at 17:11

      From my research, because I am that kind of guy, it looks to be the most awesome of times. I love a good cultural experience which involves food.

      Like

       
      • Claire 'Word by Word'

        22/10/2013 at 18:49

        For further research check out the films The Family Stone and Home for the Holidays 🙂

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          25/10/2013 at 17:33

          Films added to the Netflix list…it’s going to be awesome!

          Like

           
  5. Eli@coachdaddy

    21/10/2013 at 13:07

    I once took a vacation and upon my return found exactly where my hole was found: At the local Cookout restaurant, where the woman at the window said, “where have you been?” I hope they didn’t have to let anyone go. So I bought extra hush puppies to make up for it.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      22/10/2013 at 17:15

      Haha, that is awesome, nice to know that you were missed. Food over here is great, choice is actually available as is adding stuff to your chosen meal and the sheer amount and varieties is just epic. I am really spoiled, methinks. I won’t fit back in my hole when I return.

      Like

       
  6. RoSy

    21/10/2013 at 13:37

    Oh – this is wonderful!
    Big {Hugs} to all.
    Did you know that I am Penny’s neighbor (which means Christina, g’kids, & pets too)?
    And – now – this makes you my neighbor while you’re there visiting. So- hi neighbor 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      22/10/2013 at 17:13

      I am honoured to be in the neighbour crew. I look forward to chats over the garden fence and much imbibing of tea!

      Like

       
  7. readinpleasure

    21/10/2013 at 13:53

    This is your second visit to Penny and Co, am I mistaken? 🙂 Send them my love and enjoy your stay.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      22/10/2013 at 17:09

      Second and longer visit…love and enjoyment commencing!

      Like

       
  8. LuAnn

    21/10/2013 at 19:34

    I am still laughing at your musings. Please give a hug to Christina and Penny for me and enjoy your time there. 😀

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      22/10/2013 at 16:57

      My mind is a bit…out there sometimes lol. I shall be doing another travel post in a little while which will include a magazine front cover I couldn’t make up. Hugs – as if I needed the excuse – will be initiated imminently.

      Like

       
  9. Chelsea Brown19

    22/10/2013 at 00:57

    Hope you enjoy another visit in the US. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      22/10/2013 at 16:55

      It’s cracking over here…loving the bookshops and actual choice in the restaurants. It’s magical…to a Brit.

      Like

       
      • Chelsea Brown19

        22/10/2013 at 22:53

        Aww that’s terrific I’m glad you’re having a good time. 🙂

        Like

         
  10. Letizia

    24/10/2013 at 19:00

    How wonderfully spontaneous! I’m looking forward to reading your observations on life in the U.S. I’ve lived here for a few years now and am still charmed by its inhabitants!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/10/2013 at 17:49

      Aside from my two weeks earlier in the year, I have little concept of the US as a place, although all the Hollywood fallacies are ensuring that everyone here has a good laugh at my naivety. I am causing a bit of a storm with my unusually big amount of book purchases…shocker!

      Like

       
  11. Christina ~

    29/10/2013 at 20:18

    I always thoroughly enjoy your musings….admittedly more so now that I can hear you say them as well as read them hehe. You are the bestest guest ever and we shall find even more bookstores to explore and potentially some coffee that doesn’t make you sleepy!! Minneapolis was a bump in the proverbial road to your exvepic journey here….I do have plans to make up for it though…. there just enough of a teaser to be a proper comment on yours…. xxxxx

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      05/11/2013 at 22:03

      You are a captive audience with little choice but to listen, these days lol. I like plans and bookshops and protein so three of each would be nice please thank you. xxxxx

      Like

       
  12. thejerseygal®™

    10/11/2013 at 20:14

    Welcome to America.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/11/2013 at 11:42

      It’s great to be here!

      Like

       
      • thejerseygal®™

        11/11/2013 at 12:11

        Someday I’m gonna cross the pond to visit London and Paris. Design inspiration for my house and maybe some inspiration for poetry.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          11/11/2013 at 12:22

          Do it, travel really does broaden the mind and is always good for blog inspiration. I’m full of it…but I’m sure you already thought that haha!

          Like

           

Tell me stuff...

 
