RSS

Connect Fourtunes

24 Aug

Connections…we all have loads these days, one of my amusing diversions is to try and remember how I first came across people, or how they came across me.  A lot of the time it isn’t easy to trace, true, on the blog I could easily scroll through the posts and comments and pinpoint the specific point for each of you but where’s the fun in that?  If I carry on down that road, I wouldn’t ever use my books for research, I would simply look it up on the internet and there’s no sense of challenge in that.

Global communications, America

So thanks to that memory exercise and my long considering,  I’ve realised that it’s a very gradual thing to slowly gain that familiarity and then build up a friendship and finally have that ability to appear slightly mental but have your new ‘besties’ appreciate and go with it, instead of seeing it as a character flaw.

Years ago it wouldn’t have been this easy gaining such an international group of people together…letter writing was cumbersome, in regards to the waiting between each bit of correspondence.  I remember that being the only annoying thing about chatting with my pen pals, who have probably long forgotten me since those days.

What brought this post on was waking up to the end credits of 90’s comedy Birds of A Feather, which has, in my opinion, a really morbid song and video montage, it has been years since I last saw this and I hate the way it goes…all the imagined memories and changes in life…perhaps it’s the thought of mortality, or maybe I’m just in one of those moods these days…anyway should you wish to feel (potentially) miserable, here are the opening and closing credits…because YouTube has all this stuff.

So although its easier to gain friends around the world – very easy in fact – there seems to be quite a lot of people who appear for a bit and then disappear again, which is also a bit of a shame but this is the hazard of blogging…so I appreciate you guys for your continued support and patience at my musings that seem to lack an actual point or summation. Now I think it’s now high time for a beer.

 
37 Comments

Posted by on 24/08/2013 in Blogging, Life

 

Tags: , , , , ,

37 responses to “Connect Fourtunes

  1. suzie81

    24/08/2013 at 18:22

    They’ve started showing this on the Drama channel on Freeview… I still remember every word. ‘What’ll I doooooo, when yoooooooou, are faaaaaar away….’

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      24/08/2013 at 18:29

      I was watching that channel last night, I fell asleep to Jonathan Creek…and woke up to the BoaF ending…still I preferred that to Evil Dead II which I woke up to the other day. I have trouble staying up these days…I should nap more, I think.

      Like

       
  2. suzie81

    24/08/2013 at 18:22

    Ooh, great post too!

    Like

     
  3. readingwithrhythm

    24/08/2013 at 18:23

    I don’t really have a clue what your point is here. But I enjoyed your musings.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      24/08/2013 at 18:26

      I spent ages wondering exactly what my point was…I will leave it to you guys to find the point if you wish or just nod along to keep me happy lol.

      Like

       
  4. Seyi sandra

    24/08/2013 at 19:40

    I just love reading you, whatever it is you scribble, I love it, always!
    🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/08/2013 at 17:18

      Thank you so much…it’s always amazing when such a fantastic writer such as yourself gives praise…of course, the feeling is reciprocated!

      Like

       
  5. Alastair

    24/08/2013 at 21:30

    I heard they were were redoing it with all of them.

    Each person comes into our life for a reason. we either go into someone’s life to learn something or teach them something and then something happens whether planned .. unplanned … intentional … unintentional … or just drifting.

    There are “day people”, “year people” and “life people”. Each of them comes in for either a short time “day person” which could be anything for a week to a year, a medium period “year person” from a year to a couple of decades then there are the ones who make such an impact that they are there constantly.

    I tend to be a day person. 😉

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/08/2013 at 17:41

      I may give it another chance as long as the music is less morbid.

      I like you thought on meeting people for a reason, to learn and teach…I had considered people’s impact on my life but not necessarily mine on theirs…but that is probably due to self deprecatory ways.

      You can teach someone a lot in a day….

      Like

       
      • Alastair

        28/08/2013 at 17:48

        I always thought that I met people to learn something, but recently I think I have actually just entered peoples lives to teach them something. I am learning on the way about myself as well though. Which is not always a good thing.

        Sometimes I wonder how much we can teach, or learn in half a day.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          28/08/2013 at 17:55

          I think it depends…perhaps having a random chat in a pub could be affecting but then again some people are in our lives for years and do nothing…musing like this is always awesome…I think that anything you learn about yourself can always be turned to a positive…that’s something I have learnt this year.

          Like

           
          • Alastair

            28/08/2013 at 18:16

            I’ve learnt a great deal about myself this year, not all positive.

            I’ve been thinking about going to the pub just round the corner, but after my last sortie into a pub alone, I don’t think it would go to well for me lol

            Like

             
  6. renxkyoko

    25/08/2013 at 03:54

    I think you’re just feling nostalgic… a bit sad, like, where have all my friends gone….. anyways, watching the video, I felt nostalgic too. Do you know there’s no one left on my blogroll? They are all gone.Well. except one. Even Oppa is gone ( can’t blog from China )

    Oh, wow. I’m suddenly feeling sad.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/08/2013 at 17:22

      On no! That was not my intention….although it is good encouragement to update the blogroll with awesome newer people! On a positive note though you can’t get rid of me!

      Like

       
  7. gargoylebruce

    25/08/2013 at 04:12

    Ha! The end credits of that show give me a very happy anticipatory feeling, because back in the early 90s it used to be on directly before the Late Show (a local, live sketch comedy program of the time wriiten and performed by the D-Generation…not the American show with the same name)…so when that song was playing it meant one thing only: my weekly wait was OVER!
    Ah, thanks for a blast from the past 😀

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/08/2013 at 17:37

      I like how everyone views people differently…the mixtures of unique perspectives really makes me challenge my thoughts of everything. Intriguing as always sir.

      Like

       
  8. Christina ~

    25/08/2013 at 04:33

    Connections….your thoughts made me feel introspective…well more so than I had been. My thoughts led down the path of thought that each person, or connection if you will, makes an impact on our lives. Whether in blogville or offline.

    Makes me wonder if one of any of the myriad of connections we’ve all had in life (be it large or small) was different….what kind of person would we be for the lack of it? Interesting…I do so love the way your mind works…. keep sharing your musings….I politely demand you do… xxxxx

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/08/2013 at 17:49

      Fascinating thought…do you remember that game What If, well it was a bunch of books with people theorising on what would happen if certain things had happened differently in life, such as Hitler invading Britain and such. So it is interesting to do the same in our own lives…interesting comments coming in on this post…lots to consider…I shall take your demanding on board my dear and carry on ranting. xxxxx

      Like

       
  9. sakuraandme

    25/08/2013 at 05:22

    Haha!

    Okay, bourbon lemonade, squeeze the lime drop it in and add some lemon! Complicated, right? Lol
    But taste soooo good! Lol

    People do come and go in life ,and the cyber world. The people that leave in real life are just acquaintances. The ones that stay the distance? They are your true friends. All my girlies and I have been friends for 21 years. It’s a 2 way street though…A lot of giving and taking. Lol We all just love each other and it wouldn’t matter if we spoke from one day to the next. We will always be there for one another.Births deaths marriages and in my case? Divorce. Lol

    Chin up my friend and lets enjoy our drinks! 🙂 If I’m not on every post…I sure will be on the next. Life gets busy and come on…Drinking takes up a lot of our time. LMAO
    Super hugs to you, my friend! Paula xxx

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/08/2013 at 17:58

      21 years, that is epic! I am happy for all my online friends, these days i spend more time with you guys…I hope to still be chatting to you in 21 years…minimum!

      Like

       
      • sakuraandme

        29/08/2013 at 03:10

        Haha!

        I’ll be old and slow at typing! Lol I wonder if I’ll still drink Bourbon? LMAO Have a great day. I’m so behind on reading posts, single life is tiring. Lol It involves a lot of drinking,right? Lol
        Have a great day. Hugs Paula xxx

        Like

         
  10. Cody McCullough

    25/08/2013 at 10:03

    I like the ending to your post. Indeed, I think it’s high time for a beer too. Oh wait, I just realized I already had a few, and in fact it is high time for bed (time zones be damned)…. It is interesting meeting up with people from around the world on the Internet. Have a good night. Oh that’s right, I mean have a good day.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/08/2013 at 17:30

      I can never keep up with the time zones…I am usually chatting to people your way on in my morning and your night…and it still throws me. if any comment was going to inspire me to belatedly have another beer, then it is yours sir…I shall crack open a can post haste!

      Like

       
  11. RoSy

    25/08/2013 at 21:43

    I enjoy your blog & your visits to mine. You are one cool dude.
    Glad that you understand my weirdness enough to come back for more visits 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/08/2013 at 17:20

      Well you are one cool dudette yourself, weirdness is like a magnet for me…that’s why I enjoy watching Japanese game shows.

      Like

       
  12. LuAnn

    27/08/2013 at 13:27

    I may be slow at responding these days, but I wouldn’t miss your posts for anything! 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/08/2013 at 17:24

      It is always good to see you here whenever you can manage it, I like to make sure I have a few posts for you to read. I’m looking at throwing a bit more variation in as well.

      Like

       
      • LuAnn

        29/08/2013 at 11:14

        Keep ’em coming! I need the entertainment. 🙂

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          29/08/2013 at 17:05

          Right…I will then! Hehe.

          Like

           
  13. anna amundsen

    30/08/2013 at 18:36

    I sort of agree here with Alistair, everything and everyone happens for a reason – to show you your own self… People come and go, it’s only natural. Sometimes I bring to mind my friends from ten, fifteen years ago. Although they were important part of my life then, I have no wish to see them now – we had our time and we spent it in accordance with our needs. We played our parts, so to say.

    And, hey, who says there always has to be a point, a summation. (:
    An open ending is sometimes perfectly welcome – it keeps things more.. open and.. welcoming.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      02/09/2013 at 13:22

      Fair point, I like that…open endings always gives people a way back in as well. I suppose I only look for a point as it is my nature to dissect and justify everything that has happened in my life…I sometimes think I need to get out more.

      Like

       
      • anna amundsen

        04/09/2013 at 08:40

        I get that from some of my friends – a suggestion that I need to get out more, that is.. They lament my introversion, see my reluctance to meet new people every day or to meet themselves more frequently as a sad thing and lecture about me missing all the fun and so many life-changing experiences.. Saddened by their point of view I start questioning myself (and getting out a bit more) but it always brings me to the same conclusion – I’m out just as often as it suits me, thank you very much.
        Maybe I am wrong to suppose the same thing happening to you – sometimes thinking you need it when actually you do not..

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          04/09/2013 at 16:13

          I think I use getting out more as a turn of phrase these days. I used to go out a lot but kept with the same group but would point blank refuse to go out on busy nights like Saturdays…I became entrenched as the books took hold. Had I not done that then I probably wouldn’t have blogged and my life would be less rich so I don’t worry about second guessing myself with that in mind. I think we have a lot of thought processes in common you and I.

          Like

           
          • anna amundsen

            06/09/2013 at 17:15

            I believe we do, indeed..
            I am really glad I came across your blog for you have such an inspirative, friendly and welcoming manner of conversing with everyone.
            I am not mentioning here some other reasons, primarily the content of the blog, since I have already said I enjoy it very much – had I not loved it I wouldn’t have followed it in the first place.
            I don’t ‘like’ or ‘follow’ to bring people to my blog.

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              06/09/2013 at 18:57

              I wish you would at least have your blog address up though for people to link to you from here and the other sites you go…I think a lot of people would be hooked on your posts, like I am. I am glad you found me here and stopped by for a chat…I do like meeting people and all the people I chat to regularly all fascinate me and bring diversity and new, fascinating and magical thoughts, ideas and perspectives into my life. I have a big smile on my uneven face now!

              Like

               
              • anna amundsen

                09/09/2013 at 17:46

                I did write to WordPress but never received any response. I have searched through their support page, too, but could not find anything helpful nor was I able to fix the problem by myself. I’ll have to try to contact them again, I hate non-functioning links..

                Smile again, I want to take a picture!

                Like

                 

Tell me stuff...

 
