RSS

No Time Like The Present

17 Aug

Recently I have been a bit introspective as I am sure you have noticed, this was compounded two Fridays ago at the pub.   It was the first time I have been out in ages and it was great to catch up with the regulars who used to attend the fantastically friendly and all round musically inclined Town Mill, it also made me realise that I probably will see less and less of them and next year when we get together for the annual Battlecat gig, perhaps I won’t even recall the ones who don’t attend again, as I may not have recalled all of last years missing members this time.

I hadn’t seen most of them since the last time erstwhile purveyors of punk/electro/wall of noise fame played their one gig a year.  That pleased me and then got me thinking….what about next year?  Would we all be there again, would I remember if someone was missing, who didn’t attend from last year…and where would I be?

DSCN0080

I offered these thoughts up at the table where a few of us had resided, taking a breather from the music and chilling by the window which has been the scene of many a gaze through its frame and glass.  For me at least I think it is strangely amazing and sad to think that we are all existing in one place at the same time and that in all likelihood this unique grouping and contentedness may never happen again.

Let me be brutal in my assessments…..talking to this table of people, I found my musings to be fascinating and a tad romantic, fascinating as well…everyone else sadly, did not.  I know you guys will have more depth of vision though.  Believe it or not it made me kinda despondent that no one will remember our liaison in this way except me….and then probably only with the aid of this post. For the morning is always more hazy after a few pints.

People do take such things for granted though, it’d drive us all crazy to be thinking of these matters frequently, so quite why I am as sane as I like to think I am I don’t know.  Introspection has its downsides as well as allowing me to live in the moment and see it for what it is, it is both a joy and a curse I think.

Still there was a mixture of good music, good company and a lot of laughs and recollections.  but I was very upset not to have engaged other minds in such a discussion and found other intriguing opinions.  The pub is the right place for such a discussion as I have had many a whimsical talk with others before.  Still just over a week on and my disappointment has dissipated somewhat and normal service has been resumed.

 
36 Comments

Posted by on 17/08/2013 in Life

 

Tags: , , , ,

36 responses to “No Time Like The Present

  1. tomrobinsonz

    17/08/2013 at 18:59

    I would have gone all romantic with you my friend had I been present. However I was jumping around like a madman at the front during that time. I wish I had seen you before you left 😦

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      17/08/2013 at 19:04

      I am not quite sure what happened nearer the end, it becomes confused but I blame that on the sign for ‘fag’s sold behind the bar’. It was a mad night though!

      Like

       
  2. thejerseygal®™

    18/08/2013 at 00:45

    When I go to a bar, if I strike up any talk, it’s usually to someone who has the telltale signs of having had a few beers too many. Never, and I do mean that, have I ever had a good , long chat with someone at a bar where I found the talk to be enjoyably meaningful. There’s always the risk of being flirted with, hit on, with yucky pick up lines, so I try to avoid talk for the most part. Bars aren’t exactly good for a love match, unless you’re the sort who wants to do the one night stand, which I am so not. And I chase guys away with talk of Nathaniel Hawthorn or John Dunne, or Sylvia Plath… Bar-goers would rather talk about hip stuff, like concerts, beers, or wild parties…blah.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      19/08/2013 at 19:21

      I’ve never find a pub a good place to meet the ladies either…in fact I did once try the library but our library is not conducive to good matches of any kind. I think many people out for a drink aren’t up for a good chat about fine literature, although our former group where big on philosophy, politics, literature and….sci-fi. Hip stuff has never been my thing either although I do admit to being quite partial to a play if I ever get an invite.

      Like

       
      • thejerseygal®™

        19/08/2013 at 19:27

        You mean, a play as in the usual 3 acts, curtains, take bows? I’d love to see one. Some goodies on Broadway.
        But yes, bars suck for picking up anyone, plus beer googles make it even worse.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          19/08/2013 at 19:32

          I’ve never been a one night stand type of guy so have luckily managed to avoid the lottery of waking up with a randomer.

          Yup that’s the play I want to see, a good Shakespeare or something of that ilk. I haven’t seen any in ages…I crave something wonderful!

          Like

           
          • thejerseygal®™

            19/08/2013 at 21:27

            I love Shakespeare, but am American so I love Tennessee Williams, too.

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              20/08/2013 at 16:10

              I’m not familiar with Tennessee Williams but I will have to get some perspective soon…there is to much to read these days!

              Like

               
              • thejerseygal®™

                20/08/2013 at 18:05

                A Streetcar Named Desire and A Cat on a Hot Tin Roof. Must reads.

                Like

                 
                • Ste J

                  20/08/2013 at 18:23

                  I shall add them to the ridiculously over long list, thanks!

                  Like

                   
  3. gargoylebruce

    18/08/2013 at 02:07

    I can understand your thought process here…I had a similar, though less personal, thought as I took my weekly constitutional through our local graveyard (or cemetery, for those of us who don’t like to call a spade a spade). I enjoy a bit of headstone appreciation as much as the next gargoyle, and one that caught my eye this week had the interred’s name, with “Gone, but not forgotten” underneath. This was the first time I had considered what a stupid thing this was to put on a headstone, because eventually, of course, old Johnny Deadboots will be forgotten. Particularly given that he’d died in 1957. So I pondered a few moments on “this too shall pass” type thoughts and then headed off to re-read my favourite inscription, on Daniel Keogh (and family’s) monument: the oft-used and faintly sinister, but happily existential “Remember me as you pass by, as you are now, so once was I. As I am now, someday you’ll be, so prepare yourself to follow me”.

    On another topic, do you find the change of season makes you a bit maudlin? I find this time of year particularly, as winter emerges into the ridiculous, stinging, blinding heat of spring and inevitable summer, that the longer twilights make me a bit edgy….

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      19/08/2013 at 20:09

      Interesting thought, perhaps with the interest in genealogy no one these days will ever really be forgotten, which is comforting, even just a name and a photograph (and a link to the blog!) will mean we will live on in a more personal way that people in the days of yore. I wonder what happens to all the graves when ‘progress’ decrees a new road will go through a bit of the graveyard, presuambly if these are the now forgotten people I wonder if they get a reburial or not.

      I quite like the change of Winter to Spring and Summer to Autumn, I enjoy the dark nights and the looking in at the Christmas trees like a pauper from Victorian times…but perhaps I am over romanticising that as per usual. I prefer this twilight to a certain book and film combo at least…

      Like

       
      • gargoylebruce

        20/08/2013 at 00:54

        Ain’t that the truth…did you see that the particular author to whom you refer recently mentioned she wanted to spend more time working with Middle Earth? One presumes she meant actually reading the books…or possibly booking a flight to New Zealand…rather than trying to actually maim the text in any way. Here’s hoping, anyway.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          20/08/2013 at 16:19

          I hope not…I sense there would be backlash….and probably deservedly so (said my inner voice).

          Like

           
  4. sakuraandme

    18/08/2013 at 02:12

    Haha!

    Hey, if I was drinking at that pub with you? I would have let you babble on and then encouraged you to dance. Lol I drink…then dance!! Lol

    And if you still wanted to get all deep etc? Okay, More drink for the gentleman over here…then we dance! LMAO
    The pub atmosphere in the U.K is so incredibly different fro that of Australia. So, all joking aside, if I was in that pub in the U.K? Maybe I just would have babbled back! 🙂

    Have a great weekend. Hugs Paula xxx

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      19/08/2013 at 19:27

      I have one dance move…it’s not a good dance move though to be honest…people have been known to laugh and that was just my friends. I would happily take the drinks though as long as you accept them back of course. I am told that the dancing makes the alcohol go around the body quicker, so that may help…or not lol.

      I would be interested to experience pubs the Oz way…I think I have grown out of the UK pub scene, it bores me these days and with all the pubs with character shutting down there is less choice for a good night…weekend enjoyment achieved, I hope you are well! xx

      Like

       
  5. Robyn Lee

    18/08/2013 at 10:46

    It is probably the romantic/writer/poet in you that finds himself nostalgic, and more pensive than most on these occasions. How lovely that you could archive these thoughts and feelings here, and look back in say a year or so and reflect. I’m like you – always get lost in old photo albums and wonder where everyone has gone to… and now: there is google! 🙂

    Love and Hugs ~ leaving town again for more medical but so glad I could stop in and say hi before my flight this am. Hope all is well ~ miss you much!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      19/08/2013 at 19:38

      I think it is impressive that after a Cidre, five pints, a double vodka redbull or two that I could not only articulate these feelings but remember them long enough to write them up in a post when I got home. You read me well my friend, I think that we have a similarity or two between us. I hope all goes well with your medical thingummies, all is well here, sending you helpful and happy thoughts. Miss you morer my friend. xx

      Like

       
  6. anna amundsen

    18/08/2013 at 12:00

    I see it really had a deep impact on you.. Don’t think they took it for granted.. Everybody has their own ways and I’m sure some will remember those times according to those ways – nobody like you but certainly with a smile or slight warmness inside..

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      19/08/2013 at 18:56

      I am more sensitive to my thoughts since starting a blog, which can only be a good thing. I will perhaps try and remember to remind them this time next year, that can be a blog post. It is always interesting to speculate on how other people think…that’ll be another of life’s mysteries then!

      Like

       
  7. Christina ~

    19/08/2013 at 01:56

    Romantic reflections indeed….fascinating is the word that comes to mind when reading your unique thoughts on such an event. I think so many people live in the “right now” of life they tend to not think ahead or retrospectively either.

    I love this introspective elucidation of yours….yet another intriguing glimpse into your brilliant and quirky mind…. xxxxx

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      19/08/2013 at 19:10

      I’m not sure how long my musings will last so I am glad that you are enjoying them. Rambling over the rocky territory of your thoughts is always good exercise for the mind and for the articulation circuits as well.

      The right now is something that keeps people sane and in this age it seems to be encouraged…perhaps it makes me a maverick, perhaps this is what alcohol does to me these days…maybe I should start writing at the pub again and see where it takes me…xxxxx

      Like

       
  8. Cody McCullough

    19/08/2013 at 05:52

    Your post is very true. I am always amazed when I think of the unique groupings of people that only exist at one specific moment in time. People seem to always come and go from our lives. When it comes to groups of people, the larger the group the less likely that specific group will ever come together again. It sure makes me want to make the most of things that I used to take for granted. Excellent post!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      19/08/2013 at 19:49

      Now we are all global, people come and go so frequently that it can difficult to even remember some of them. Unique groupings is even more more pertinent when you think of it like that so yes living life in the moment whilst keeping a long term perspective is a fine balance but ultimately will help us avoid regrets.

      Like

       
  9. Claire 'Word by Word'

    19/08/2013 at 16:17

    Fortunately there is the blog. 🙂

    Like

     
  10. quirkybooks

    22/08/2013 at 23:53

    Don’t be disappointed, “you can’t win ’em all”. It sounds like that group were just not on your wave length and that may have sub-conciously unsettled you. It is great you are back with us, as we ‘get you and you can relax and chill with us. Just be yourself and we are happy.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      24/08/2013 at 18:09

      I am in a funny mood these days, not sure why…I shall get through it though with writing. I will always be myself…wherever that takes me..us in fact as I am happy to take you along on the rollercoaster!

      Like

       
      • quirkybooks

        24/08/2013 at 23:07

        Thanks Ste, of course I will be along for the ride. There is no fun in straight lines. What words are written in a straight line? None, apart from the ones that I just wrote.

        Like

         
  11. LuAnn

    27/08/2013 at 13:17

    I am a very contemplative soul so can totally relate to what you were thinking and feeling. Quite often when I express these type thoughts with friends they look at me like I have grown a second head. I have gone through life oft times feeling like the odd one in the crowd. The internet and blogging have shown me that there are other “odd” souls out there like me…quite refreshing. 🙂

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      28/08/2013 at 17:34

      We’re all odd on here hehe. It is nice to meet people who are likewise thinking…it is nice to connect internationally with the same thoughts when local people just aren’t the same…blogging has changed my life, it pleases me to have met everyone on here.

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
