RSS

Gateway to Atlantis – Andrew Collins

11 Aug

0786708107.01.LZZZZZZZ‘The legend of Atlantis is perhaps the most intriguing mystery of all time. Ever since Plato’s fabulous account over 2350 years ago of an island empire set in the Atlantic ocean, philosophers, explorers, explorers and historians have been enticed and frustrated by the search for the elusive truth behind the myth.’

Some books like the Erich Von Daniken’s downright hilarious Chariots of the Gods give revisionist history a bad name and make it a laughing stock to be easily dismissed by scholars everywhere, as a silly flight of fancy that should be ignored.  Every so often though a few books do raise interesting questions or bring to the fore an interesting theory…

So with this type of book, I’ve learned to tread a little warily, it’s usually a question of working out what arguments, if any,  the author is ignoring and leaving out in order for his expounded theory to fit the facts.

Gateway to Atlantis though, avoids this by interpreting myths and oral histories, looking at geographical and geological information as well as making logical surmises based on ethnic, linguistic, cartographical and historical analysis. In short he bases his theories on actual recorded fact, not hear say.

Atlantis is the basis for countless – unless you have lots of time on your hands – books and films.  The romance of its dramatic sinking, makes this a more exciting study than any other mythological and plain made up place.  I think it is the intrinsic nature of humans to wonder, to continually question and seek out the answers to interesting and sometimes downright pointless questions, like do tortoises yawn?

They say that all myth contains at least a grain of truth and whilst Avalon, Mu, Lemuria and El Dorado, etc are fascinating to read about, they lack the mysterious nature of the Atlantean people.  In this book, you people of an enquiring mind will discover a compelling theory that reaches over continents and back in time encompassing some well-known as well as the more obscurer civilisations.

As well as the location of Atlantis being discussed there is also discussion on the ultimate cause of the disaster and the subsequent dating of the cataclysm, the aftermath of the disaster, what happened to the survivors and how that had an effect on the ancient world and its peoples.

It’s by no means a quick read, the author is very in-depth and convincing with his arguments, everything seems plausible and not shoe horned into a theory that ignores certain contradictory bits.  He establishes a solid base for his ideas and also looks at other researchers’ works on the subject as well. The result is a solid effort and a fine edition to Atlantis literature that will provoke debate and fire more than a few imaginations.

I can’t say if this is the definitive Atlantis book as I haven’t read that many, what I will say in its favour though, is that there are no theories about aliens propounded, no strange leaps of something akin to logic, just a book that patiently builds up a theory and is worth a look to anyone interested in the subjects of myths and history.

Whether this idea or indeed any of the others prove to be true or not, we may never know unless archaeological evidence ever shows up but it’s great to muse on such dramatic thoughts and romantic notions of hitherto undiscovered Peoples.  In this world of instant knowledge at our finger tips it is great to know that there are still mysteries to be solved.

 
21 Comments

Posted by on 11/08/2013 in History

 

Tags: , , , ,

21 responses to “Gateway to Atlantis – Andrew Collins

  1. anna amundsen

    12/08/2013 at 08:31

    I remember reading Däniken’s book, most probably ‘Chariots’, when I was eight or nine. It felt dark and weird, like being in a film constructed world. Ugh.. Publishers should really have more developed sense of what’s worth publishing.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      12/08/2013 at 17:40

      Like every other company they go for what is sensationalist and appeals to the masses who just want a good story and are probably not going to be bothered to check it our for themselves. Which in this day and age with the internet, there is no excuse for! Imagine all the TV, Book and Film people bothering to pour money into advertising substantial things…perhaps the world would be better then.

      Like

       
      • anna amundsen

        13/08/2013 at 17:40

        People were always lazy and reluctant to employ their own brains. I blame it all on bad educational systems, lack of critical thinking…

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          17/08/2013 at 16:44

          I was having this discussion only the other day…schools seem more anti education establishments these days…still rubbish TV shows and repetitive computer games will save the world’s kids….or not.

          Like

           
          • anna amundsen

            18/08/2013 at 09:49

            I guess good parenting is as rare as critical thinking..

            Like

             
  2. thejerseygal®™

    12/08/2013 at 12:05

    So, the author treats the subject like a scientific and historical mine find? Or is there some story unfolding around his theories. i.e., The DaVinci Code.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      12/08/2013 at 17:37

      As a committed despiser of the da Vinci Code, I would never again read a book in the same vein lol. No this is pure analytical history and fascinating for it.

      Like

       
      • thejerseygal®™

        12/08/2013 at 19:14

        Whew! I hated that book, too. It sparked way too much conjecturing of the Last Supper painting and Brown stole the ideas from other authors, but git away with it by basing his book around. Hunt and love story. Blah!
        I much rather read something less apt to scortch my fingertips and make me nauseas as I turn the pages, lol.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          17/08/2013 at 16:55

          I like your style, a really clever literary and downright fantastic spoof of the whole ‘genre’ and that would be Umberto Eco’s Foucault’s Pendulum. Well worth a read although it is a big book and a little slow to begin with.

          Like

           
          • thejerseygal®™

            17/08/2013 at 23:43

            Will put it on my short list. Going to the bookstore next weekend, so i’ll look for it.
            I was wondering, do you know of any book that was written in the style of the story unfolding through letters? Letter writing?

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              19/08/2013 at 18:53

              Good question, as (bad) luck would have it I am away from my collection of books at the moment which is a struggle but one that comes to mind is Vita Brevis by Jostein Gaarder, I reviewed it elsewhere on the site. The Timewaster letters is a funny collection of letters but other than that I can’t think of anything off the top of my head…I will have a look see when I get back to my orgy of pages.

              Like

               
              • thejerseygal®™

                19/08/2013 at 19:24

                Thank you. My book, some of the story is told through letters. I just needed to know if others were out there.
                Get back to your books, they miss you!

                Like

                 
                • Ste J

                  19/08/2013 at 19:30

                  I miss them as well, I have a few with me but I need that surrounding cocoon to keep me happy. Tell me of your book…it’s always a good plot device…I think We Need to Talk About Kevin may employ that plot device as well but I haven’t read it (yet) so can’t be sure.

                  Like

                   
                  • thejerseygal®™

                    19/08/2013 at 21:25

                    My book is about a family secret that unfolds when old letters are found.

                    Like

                     
                  • thejerseygal®™

                    19/08/2013 at 21:26

                    Why are you without your books? Are you traveling?

                    Like

                     
                    • Ste J

                      20/08/2013 at 16:04

                      I’m doing a bit of house sitting at the moment, I have to save up to start travelling again, hopefully soon I will be on my ways again. Your book sounds intriguing, lots of history and old secrets…I like it.

                      Like

                       
  3. Christina ~

    12/08/2013 at 22:36

    Once again…you have intrigued me with your review incorporating your awesomely unique Ste-Style which encourages we all ask questions and look at things more deeply than merely a surface glance. I love when books can combine all sorts of various things (cultures, events, people) that were… until mentioned…never thought to belong together….I am completely fascinated!

    Most especially with your last succinct and enticing line… “In this world of instant knowledge at our finger tips it is great to know that there are still mysteries to be solved.” ~ Indeed! xxxxx

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      17/08/2013 at 17:16

      You know one of my annoyances is wilful ignorance…it’s always great to learn new things. It is an intriguing book in many ways, you’ll love it. I’ll make sure you get this book at some point soon or at least bring it back across with me when I potter back. xxxxx

      Like

       
  4. quirkybooks

    14/08/2013 at 20:35

    I always love questioning anything and everything and I think it’s important for all writers to do that.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      17/08/2013 at 16:47

      Mos’ def’ as the kids used to say! Giving the critical faculties an airing is always handy whether a writer or just a consumer of the ‘news’.

      Like

       
  5. quirkybooks

    18/08/2013 at 17:47

    I agree, different perspectives can help us to see things in a new light. I think some thrillers can use this concept to great effect.

    Like

     

Tell me stuff...

 
