RSS

Malaising Grace

24 Jul

It is half two when I write this and already I have determined it will go onto the blog as written, with not even a spell check.  After having a few days off writing, as I seem to be less than inspired and in a ridiculously long malaise, it is therefore the ultimate irony that all I do is dream of blogging.

tired

Not just the actual art of blogging, but bloggers as well…even though I have only met two of you in real life I seem to dream of lots of others, of chats, meeting and also ideas for posts and all that and other general magical adventures that I can’t imagine happening.  You know the type, where people in capes usually have them…the downside of this is that usually from around two in the morning it means my sleep is incessantly interrupted every five to fifteen minutes as I wake up and look at the clock and have non existent post ideas that are so elusive I can’t even remember them if some of them even existed.

The repetitious nature of all this is doing my head in…literally as well as metaphorically.  It is with the utmost irony though that I realise I had a better written post thought out in my dreaming head than I actually do now that I am awake and committing it to computer screen.

I wouldn’t mind all this, as I’m a fairly easygoing chappie but it does seem to affect my overall day, concentration and general caring about stuff.  As usual I’m not really sure where this post is going or indeed how to get out of this annoying (to say the least) situation so I shall keep pottering along until something happens to tip the balance.

An actual proper sleep(in the night-time) would be great and three would probably put me back on track so I must play the waiting game and see when the decline stops.  It is a fascinating, if unconsciously sadistic experiment to be involved in and now I have had the ‘pleasure’ of noting my results, it would be awesome if I could get back to normal now.

Am I alone in this?  For my sanity I hope not but perhaps I am….does anyone out there in Bloggaria have similar experiences or am I unique in being slowly driven crazy by the monster I have created…Rant over…I shall catch up with all your comments and blogs over the next couple of days…sweet dreams.

 
52 Comments

Posted by on 24/07/2013 in Life

 

Tags: , , , ,

52 responses to “Malaising Grace

  1. colemining

    24/07/2013 at 20:06

    Oh, how I get this. The number of drafts that get started and then consigned to the trash when I can’t begin to figure out where I thought I was going to go with that elusive thought…

    And it does tend to interfere with the daytime slogging through the daytime job since I spend an inordinate amount of time trying to recapture the fleeting-yet-undeniably-brilliant inspiration that came to me in the middle of the night.

    Aaargh.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      24/07/2013 at 20:29

      The middle of the night and dream thoughts always seem so much more magical, you’re right. I do wake up and tend to have a sulk when they fade to fast…that usually happens on a Monday which is just putting the boot in further. I tend to save any random posts I have started and then cannibalise them for other topics as and when…I like to do my bit for the planet by recycling.

      Like

       
  2. renxkyoko

    24/07/2013 at 20:51

    To be cliche about it, your malaise is the norm, rather than the exception.( or is it exemption… never mind )

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      24/07/2013 at 20:56

      It is good to know that I’m not alone although I wish it weren’t so for any of us really…exception/exemption, it all works here. There are no rules…except for that one, of course…

      Like

       
  3. shadowoperator

    24/07/2013 at 20:58

    So, who’s the cute kitten? No cape, I notice, so it can’t be Super Feline. Still, to find food so soporific that it falls asleep in the middle of a bowl argues too much done too swiftly in too little time, and hence fatigue. (Do tell me it’s your cat, and that you plan to write its adventures!)

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      24/07/2013 at 21:03

      Sadly not my cat, although there is a cat that my house mate has and I could make up adventures about that one…they may a little unbelievable but that’s the way I roll. I am sure that the kitten was to tired from playing Emperor…possibly Ca(t)ligula?, although it would take a lot to make me fall asleep in my food…possibly watching 24 hour ‘news’ and waiting for something this is actually of public interest (that never seems to arrive) may do it though.

      Like

       
  4. quirkybooks

    24/07/2013 at 22:02

    Hi Ste, I am an insomniac, so used to not getting much sleep. In fact I seem to get more sleep, when I have less of it. If that makes sense? Can’t say I have dreamt of other bloggers yet, but wouldn’t worry that you have. You blog more frequently than me and it becomes more intense for you to come up with new ides and that is why you are dreaming about blogging and other bloggers. I used to be that way when I was a Manager. Even though I don’t blog as much, each day I write down tasks to do in my diary. When I am not blogging, I am working through tons of emails, participating in social media, working on my websites, or doing other business stuff. If I didn’t write it down, then my head would explode. I think you should write down your ideas from your dreams on paper as soon as you wake up. I think you should also write down what’s on your mind before you go to bed each night. That should help.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/07/2013 at 15:59

      Wow that is a hectic lifestyle you have yourself there, I’m not surprised you have to write it all down…that is just plain scary! I do think it would be awesome if we could all meet up in some sort of bloginar and have a buffet and possibly pass the parcel as well. ooo and hats as well, that would be awesome! I shall start to use our tips and hopefully keep a steady flow of ideas coming up for the future entertainment of you wonderful people.

      Like

       
      • quirkybooks

        25/07/2013 at 22:29

        That’s sounds awesome. In the future we should be able to buy holographic TVs. Just imagine if we had holographic blog posts with holographic videos that came out in to the room. Incredible, I can’t wait.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          27/07/2013 at 16:00

          I love that idea, talk about immersive, sign me up for one of those right now…it sounds Sci-Fi I shall get my tin foil suit on ready!

          Like

           
          • quirkybooks

            29/07/2013 at 23:23

            Love the tin foil suit thing, that made me laugh. I used to work for the Sony Centre in Exeter and that’s what the Manager told us – That holographic TV would be available in years to come. Could be ten years or less.

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              30/07/2013 at 18:08

              It makes me feel all Buck Rogers a man who goes into the most regressive future ever. I love cheesy sci-Fi.

              Like

               
              • quirkybooks

                02/08/2013 at 21:31

                I don’t mind some ‘cheesy’ action movies. I recently watched, Die Hard – It’s a Good Day To Die Hard. Although it was a bit cheesy, like the guy from the movie store said it was, I also enjoyed it. The action was great and I thought the story was good.

                Like

                 
  5. Lyn

    24/07/2013 at 22:18

    I haven’t written anything for…13 days – apart from making copious blog comments. I have four flash fiction prompts I should be working on, but sadly, my muse has gone on holidays and left me on my own. Yesterday, in an attempt to get some writing done, I went to McCafe for a cappuccino and one (or two) of their yummy raspberry macaroons (or macarons if you want to be cheffy about it) and all I ended up doing was help someone sort out their wifi problems, talk to an elderly gentleman about how technology has changed and… Hey…maybe I could write about that! I’m off, I have a blog post to write 😉

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/07/2013 at 15:40

      Ha! Do it, it sounds fascinating…nothing like that ever happens to me…although I once went to someone’s wake by accident. I think every so often Mr or Miss Muse needs to put his or her feet up to, we can’t milk them, so to speak all the time. The return is always joy for more posts as well…I await with anticipation.

      Like

       
  6. anna amundsen

    24/07/2013 at 22:20

    It is so sad – dreaming of a great idea or having a great dream that could induce great ideas and then forgetting all about it (except that it was great) as soon as your eye-lids open. Maybe even sooner. And yet, I could never get myself to practice keeping the memory of a dream..

    The cat is the cutie. It reminds me of my childhood miseries – I was often almost falling asleep on the table (or falling off of chair.. or drowning in tears, for that mater) because my parents wouldn’t let me leave before eating all the food I left on my plate. Now it’s a fun story to tell..

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/07/2013 at 16:12

      Cute cats are hit pullers for the cynical…or so I am guessing, although so far I am wrong in that assumption. It is effort first thing in a morning to try and remember anything, let alone pick up a pen. Just knowing my unknowable idea was great will have to do for me…perhaps some sort of egocentric rant about the great ideas we forget could be a winner?

      Fun stories are always good to share with friends as is a good book…

      Like

       
      • anna amundsen

        26/07/2013 at 05:48

        Yes, I think egocentric rant about great ideas we forget would be an interesting read. Write away!

        Like

         
  7. Seyi sandra

    24/07/2013 at 22:23

    Nah, you’re not alone old friend, this blogging world is very real and tends to overlap or should I say interfere with our real (isn’t that tautology or repetition?) lives… should I just say it’s real! And I’ve had your malaise severally, when I’ve thought of nothing but blog posts, never mind, it’ll pass and you’ll soon be up and perky!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/07/2013 at 15:37

      I think I have found my perkiness since posting this…maybe that’s all I needed a bit of a moan…it is the simple things in life that make us happiest haha. What is real…I spend more time with you guys than I do with people I actually see in real life…that’s possibly a post in itself…Ideas avalanche!!!!!

      Like

       
      • Seyi sandra

        25/07/2013 at 17:03

        Yeah! That’s more like it, the dude is back!! 😉

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          27/07/2013 at 16:22

          Heck yes, back and ready for more typing action!

          Like

           
  8. RoSy

    25/07/2013 at 02:17

    I feel like that kitty.
    I’m in a drug induced state from day 2 of my migraine. So – if I don’t make sense…
    That’s my excuse & I’m stickin’ to it 😉
    I don’t really edit much on my blog. Can you tell? Never mind – don’t answer that.
    I do have a mind that wanders sometimes. So – things I see – hear can take me to a thought that becomes a blog post. I try to keep a paper & pen handy just in-case. As for sleeping & blogging – I haven’t done that (yet). I have come up with two Haikus just before dozing off though.
    Stay insane – It makes for good writing!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/07/2013 at 15:54

      You make sense to me but I am probably unhinged so take no notice of me…sorry about the migraine…I hope you kick its ass and other anatomical features real soon with your ninja moves. I think you are a great advert for napping..in the sense of being creative I mean. I try and carry pen and paper with me as well just on the off chance something inspiring happens…which is not much this year. Last year I was a bit prolific with it. I like the eclecticism of your blog..it makes me happier than a grinning horse.

      Like

       
  9. sakuraandme

    25/07/2013 at 02:41

    Haha! Nope its normal! Lol

    Well in blog land anyway!! LMAO
    I have great friends and family, but often wander about the bloggers I follow and vice versa! We are our own community. Its cool I love it! I’m not one for face book… blogging very much so! 🙂

    My single life has been just 1 week and I wake all through the night! *yikes* it does my head in! Lol

    I get up and make tea and honey at 2am, 3am etc. 🙂 You are not alone! Lol

    Hugs to you. Paula xx

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/07/2013 at 15:44

      I don’t think any of us are alone in our community of bloggers, it is a great thing to Belong and get involved in lots of exciting ideas and thoughts. I may try your tea and honey in the middle of the night…I may have to go for liquorice and diet pepsi though until I get paid. Life is indeed never simple!

      Like

       
      • sakuraandme

        26/07/2013 at 03:24

        Haha! I can’t say I’ve ever tried the 2 together. 🙂

        Warm milk and honey is another good one to help sleep!

        Actually nothing really helps us insomniacs!
        LMAO. Have a great weekend. Hugs Paula xxx

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          27/07/2013 at 16:18

          Perhaps reading Moby Dick would help sleep come, especially the chapter on the different types of whales. I hope your weekend is equally if not more great.

          Like

           
  10. Claire 'Word by Word'

    25/07/2013 at 14:45

    In the malaise just put your feet up and read another chapter until it passes. Or go commenting visiting. You know, the shortest blog posts that we post in other people’s comment boxes. 🙂 Me, I’m gonna lie down with a book, too friggin hot here!

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/07/2013 at 15:48

      I think it has passed, typical, have a moan, force a post and then make the whole point obsolete within a day…I do need to go and catch up on 80 or so regular blogs as well as a whole raft of other followers and like button pushers…my work is cut out for me but in a good way. It is blummin’ hot here as well…I may join you in a bit of literary digression at some point later!

      Like

       
  11. thejerseygal®™

    25/07/2013 at 16:43

    Silly American girl imagines this as spoken word…that accent, every syllable’s got my undivided attention.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      25/07/2013 at 16:49

      Accent…you can’t get much commoner than mine, there will be a vlog at some point to show you how I butcher the Queen’s English. It may amuse you.

      Like

       
      • thejerseygal®™

        25/07/2013 at 17:08

        Silly American girl did not know there was a Commoner’s accent! I look forward to your vlog.

        Like

         
        • Ste J

          25/07/2013 at 17:19

          I hope I haven’t built up my voice to much and instead you become saddened by my now less than common accent…woe is me either way hehe. I shall attempt the vlog soon as I have promised for over a year now..but sadly I must away for a prior engagement so shall be back later/tomorrow to reply to your comments and peruse your blog some more. Until then au revoir!

          Like

           
          • thejerseygal®™

            25/07/2013 at 17:21

            Finally, someone who doesn’t say adieu!
            Your accent will still sound delightfully important and proper to me.

            Like

             
            • Ste J

              27/07/2013 at 16:11

              I shall do my best to be English to the max then. I like to mix up my exits, a usual favourite is TTFN (ta ta for now, in case you hadn’t heard that one).

              Like

               
              • thejerseygal®™

                27/07/2013 at 16:43

                Yes, I’ve heard that one and love how proper it sounds coming from someone with the English accent!

                Like

                 
                • Ste J

                  27/07/2013 at 16:46

                  I will endeavour to put that in the vlog…when I think of a good idea to inspire me to get one done, that is.

                  Like

                   
                  • thejerseygal®™

                    27/07/2013 at 17:31

                    You can read the phone book and i’d enjoy it for the accent!

                    Like

                     
                    • Ste J

                      27/07/2013 at 17:33

                      Haha, I may attempt to come up with something a little more inventive but there will be lot of accenting…but no skiing.

                      Like

                       
                    • thejerseygal®™

                      27/07/2013 at 19:55

                      No skiing?

                      Like

                       
                    • Ste J

                      27/07/2013 at 20:48

                      I may be a little odd but skiing whilst blogging is dangerous and I am all about health and safety…I wear elbow and knee pads to bed just in case i turn over to quickly.

                      Like

                       
                    • thejerseygal®™

                      27/07/2013 at 21:10

                      Sounds dreamy! Prince Harry has nothing over you!

                      Like

                       
                    • Ste J

                      27/07/2013 at 21:29

                      Well I could never be that ginger…having said that I am off to bed, so I shall just adjust these pads and my ever faithful hard hat and bid you a jolly wave good night!

                      Like

                       
                    • thejerseygal®™

                      27/07/2013 at 22:29

                      Sleep tight and don’t let the gingers bite!

                      Like

                       
  12. Chelsea Brown19

    25/07/2013 at 17:53

    I’ve been feeling a little worn down too when it comes to blogging, so you’re not alone. Perhaps I might be in need of a break, but Idk maybe we all just reach a point where blogging has just burned us out? Or as I said before It might be just a matter of getting some rest and taking a break.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      27/07/2013 at 15:59

      Yeah, taking a break is good. It’s a fine line from enjoying it and being pressured sometimes, I do think…

      Like

       
  13. LuAnn

    02/08/2013 at 19:50

    I can so relate to that kitty. 🙂 I have been an insomniac much of my life and many nights I lay awake, mind churning, especially when I have a post in mind that I will be working on the very next day. I feel your pain Ste J as lack of sleep is something I am all too familiar with.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      03/08/2013 at 18:10

      I blame time differences in this wonderful and far flung community but I do love it so. I have taken to blogging in the middle of the night before. I just go for it now and then try and avoid sleeping in my food hehe.

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
