RSS

Novel Ideas and Blood Loss

14 Jun

urlYesterday’s post, with all the mystery it contained has inspired my mind through so many thought processes, that it is impossible to ignore that it’s something that has possibly been lacking in me for years…that creative spark to write uniquely, that ignites the possibilities of the written word and my ability in it.

Actually that does my fellow bloggers an injustice, as you are the ones who encourage and inspire me daily.  The enigmatic occurrences of yesterday, (as blogged in the previous post for those of you who have no idea what I am on about) have whetted my appetite for the new and as yet unthought of.  It gives me a feeling of freedom and (almost) invincibility.

Now then, is the time to reveal that I am actually writing a book myself, it’s in its early stages and all that, just thoughts and ideas, coupled with a few whimsical phrases and bits of humour. It’s a start though and there are a few thousand words so far, it needs tidying up, probably rewriting before I unleash it on the WordPress public so bear with me whilst I obsess over where to put the commas.

Suffice to say, whilst blasting out some cheesy 90’s pop tunes (and for some reason my favourite bit of music for writing: Bridge Over Troubled Water), I have been working on an idea that is hopefully going to be a humourous romp through a number of fused genres, but as I say its early days so far and all that could and most likely will change.

Being a lover of Dickens, Márquez, Calvino, Tolstoy, Dostoyevsky, Homer, Orwell, Nemirovsky, et al, I always envisioned a deeper, more layered book than the one I am writing.  For a first book though I have come to terms with the fact that I am probably punching above my weight with those lofty ideas.  Mainly because I haven’t learnt to fuse my writing voice with more serious or cleverly structured plotting yet.  I like to learn though so this stands me in good stead to evolve my style into something better and more emotively powerful.

It’s good to get onto the learning curve though, develop my writing further and hopefully be able to publish something at some point in the next year on two.  Winning the battle with time and also my urge to get published through articles in the mean time means that it will be a lot of hard work and probably slowing up on the reading, although reviews will still be a major part of the site.

I was going to write a post asking people to let their minds go a bit mental and conjure up some images and scenarios for the last posts poem, you are still welcome to do so, all thoughts are welcome.  Anyway for the time being here’s a taster of the first line of my opening paragraph, which is staying no matter what, as I have my heart set on the first word remaining where it is, enjoy…

Exsanguination, now that’s a topic that never comes up in the middle of a forest.

iStock_000005182627Small

 
30 Comments

Posted by on 14/06/2013 in My Writings

 

Tags: , , , , ,

30 responses to “Novel Ideas and Blood Loss

  1. Alastair

    14/06/2013 at 20:51

    Good luck 🙂

    Like

     
  2. itsyouandeverything

    14/06/2013 at 20:53

    This may be the first post I’ve read from you, but I can say that I honestly believe you have a way with words. It was not tiring to read and therefore I am glad to say that I will be following your journey while writing this book, and any other blog post you post.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      14/06/2013 at 21:00

      That is the bestest compliment ever! Thank you for your kind words and encouragement and of course a hearty welcome to the blog. I shall put the kettle on.

      Like

       
  3. sakuraandme

    15/06/2013 at 02:20

    I wish you all the best and happy writings!! 🙂
    Hugs to you….Paula xxx

    Like

     
  4. Liz at Libro

    15/06/2013 at 06:47

    Good luck!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      17/06/2013 at 19:05

      Thank you, I fear I shall need a lot of it.

      Like

       
  5. Asha

    15/06/2013 at 09:03

    Can I make a special request, J? Do I get to read it FIRST? As for, confidence and holding on to it, you are abundant perseverant(not sure if that word exists) already. :-p

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      17/06/2013 at 19:14

      You can be amongst the first my dear. I shall need proof readers of course in order to help me in the latter stages of the work and it would be an honour to send you some. Confidence is gained by such a wonderful following of people!

      Like

       
      • Asha

        18/06/2013 at 08:40

        Yes, that’d indeed be nice. Can hardly wait, J.

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          18/06/2013 at 18:27

          I shall keep you informed and up to date with all the goings on. I hope it will enthrall you!

          Like

           
  6. Claire 'Word by Word'

    15/06/2013 at 11:03

    Great stuff, now why not be bold and replace now that’s with is, I’d certainly be compelled to read on. I hope the Gaiman example inspired you, all those people just getting on with it, and you already have a willing audience!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      17/06/2013 at 19:11

      Intriguing change of words for word…that is indeed bold. I shall make that change methinks. Gaiman has inspired me for a good while, not just with the link but his Sandman books were something fascinating and crammed with clever references. I shall hopefully be posting some rough drafts soon so you can have a peek at what I am intending to do.

      Like

       
  7. RoSy

    15/06/2013 at 20:01

    Wonderful!
    You have such a way with words (it shows in your blog & in the comments that you leave when you stop by). I can see you captivating an audience right from the start & keeping them all the way to the end without wanting to drop the book down in-between.
    Good luck. I’m looking forward to more…when that book comes out! 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      17/06/2013 at 19:18

      As per usual, life seems to try and get in the way, this week is a particularly mad one, but I am using that time to think of ideas and twists that will best fit and can keep you hooked. You say the best compliments and of course get the best discounts of course hehe.

      Like

       
  8. bookpolygamist

    17/06/2013 at 00:59

    Excellent opening sentence! Stand firm and good luck, and I’m sure one day soon I will see your name on the shelves 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      17/06/2013 at 19:08

      That would be grand, of course there would be discounts all round!

      Like

       
  9. LuAnn

    18/06/2013 at 11:31

    I will offer you luck in your book writing endeavors, although I don’t think you will need it. Your writing is already superb and I, like so many others, anxiously await any post from you. A book from you would be a true gift. As for exsanguination, it would most definitely be a word that would come up in the middle of a forest, if you were apt to hike in grizzly bear country, a true sense-heightening experience. 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      18/06/2013 at 19:12

      Ah, thank you. I think my general writing is up to a good level, just need a good editor to spot the blindingly obvious things I miss, I have been tending to miss quite a lot lately. Your support is always greatly appreciated. Grizzlies are sadly not around in England…still I’d like to live dangerously sometime, just not that dangerously.

      Like

       
      • LuAnn

        19/06/2013 at 12:02

        Hiking in grizzle country heightens your awareness, or so my hubby likes to say, but give me the mountains or the forests without large predators any day!

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          19/06/2013 at 19:44

          I’m in agreement with you, I would much rather feel safe in my musings on nature and how I can shoehorn it into a blog post, than commando rolling away from every rustle of a bush.

          Like

           
          • LuAnn

            19/06/2013 at 23:03

            Love your description! I had one too many encounters with grizzly bears on the trail while hiking in Yellowstone.

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              20/06/2013 at 19:24

              I hope to be going there sometime in the nearish future so shall keep an eye out for Yogi’s and Boo Boo’s.

              Like

               

Tell me stuff...

 
