RSS

As I sat on the Bus….

11 Jun

3848696101_f235253dcbGreetings all!  Here’s something new…and new for me also, a new weekly challenge from the excellent Stephen Baum at the excellent blog bumbastories , you can also enjoy his debut novel Up in the Bronx which I reviewed and really enjoyed.

Naturally I am most interested in reviewing other authors work should you wish to send anything in, however now is not the time for me to advertise, as this is my entrant into the “As I sat on a Bus” invitational.   Have a crack yourself, all the info is at the link that you have just read…I await your imaginations with much anticipatiousness…

As I sat on the buscrazy buses3
I felt a need to cuss
bout the youth of today
in their uniforms of black and grey

Where’s the colour gone? I ask
as the bus rounds the van unloading casks
can it be that as I rant and my annoyance gets to its height
that I ironically, long for the days of black and white.

 
20 Comments

Posted by on 11/06/2013 in My Writings

 

Tags: , , , ,

20 responses to “As I sat on the Bus….

  1. readinpleasure

    11/06/2013 at 18:06

    Nicely done 🙂 The days of truth where everything is either in black or white, no grey areas is what we all long for. Too much colour can be deceiving sometimes.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      11/06/2013 at 18:17

      I am becoming somewhat obsessed with perspective these days and trying some new things, glad you liked it. I don’t normally write in this format so it was nice to give a weekly challenge a go.

      Like

       
  2. Alastair

    11/06/2013 at 19:14

    I like that. Didn’t realise there was a poet inside you Ste J.

    I must admit, when I sit on the bus at particular times of the day, not only is it a sea of uniforms of black and grey, it is also a cacophony of screeches and squawks that drive the eardrums into the very centre of purgatory and never wish to let them out again.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      11/06/2013 at 19:23

      I dabble when the fancy takes me…which is not often admittedly, in fact I think only one other time when I made my big and short lived comeback in March, for which I then became less prolific, although looking back to being on track now I have a full month in which to pour forth words and more words.

      Buses can be hell at the end of school, that wall of noise just hits you like an invisible ton of Acme breeze blocks. You should get that description on a badge.

      Like

       
      • Alastair

        11/06/2013 at 21:14

        I look forward to seeing some of that.

        As for the badge – I think it would have to a rather large one 🙂 Or a t-shirt with it

        Like

         
  3. Bumba

    11/06/2013 at 20:13

    I like it. Is it their uniforms? And why is it that recent-year automobiles also have no color?

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      12/06/2013 at 20:20

      My theme has many connotations, the dull uniformity of the populace, the actual uniforms, the dullness of public transport and of course how that can all be turned into something of interest, given the right idea on a certain blog post of course.

      Like

       
  4. RoSy

    12/06/2013 at 02:12

    Nice one Ste! 🙂
    Today was the last day of this school year for kids here. My bus has been garaged for the summer. (I don’t really drive a bus. I call my vehicle – the bus – during the school year).

    So do the unruly kids ride on the top of that bus?

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      12/06/2013 at 20:24

      It is a freaky bus, not surprisingly from the US, it would be interesting to strap some little…angels, in upside down and go for a long ride hehe. Of course now you have to treasure your moments of peace and quiet until September!

      Like

       
  5. shiningstar85

    12/06/2013 at 07:32

    This has inspired me and reminded me of a few things about buses that I’d forgotten. I’m trying to upload my main picture but been waiting about 5 minutes now…

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      12/06/2013 at 20:33

      Your Gravatar is up!!! Always nice for the curious folk of WordPress to put a name to the face. I am all for the inspiration, this pleases Ste, most greatly.

      Like

       
  6. shiningstar85

    12/06/2013 at 23:46

    Yeah on its side tho but better than nothing!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      13/06/2013 at 19:03

      T’is a start, perhaps there is a rotation option? I’m not sure, I have only changed mine once and then I had to hold my glasses straight.

      Like

       
  7. LuAnn

    13/06/2013 at 12:04

    Yet another facet to the magnificent person who is you Ste J. I like it very much! 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      13/06/2013 at 19:02

      I like to keep you guessing, although I will never commit to do a mime show…ever!

      Like

       
      • LuAnn

        13/06/2013 at 23:46

        Now that I would love to see. Perhaps a video is in order? 😉

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          14/06/2013 at 19:11

          Haha, perhaps indeed, I got waylaid on that idea but it is still on the agenda I assure you.

          Like

           
  8. thejerseygal®™

    30/09/2013 at 18:03

    Fifty shades of gray…everything is muted today, but underneath the facade, everyone and everything has a story…sometimes, though, the author exists inside our minds. Lol

    Like

     

Tell me stuff...

 
