RSS

Signs of Recovery

02 Jun

happy-sun_5939_11“Ya ‘rate duck”?

“Yeah duck”

Who says my town lacks linguistic character, ha!  Today is a day of positiveness, there are many reasons for this but the most recent, aside from the above local vocal exchange is the sun. Finally its out and the weather is glorious, add to that a man in a car driving by playing Alanis Morissette, which always brings back memories of the glorious summer of ’96 and you have my simple but perfect bit of a day.

Rushing home, which is easy when you are almost there, I put on my copy of Mrs Morissette’s album Jagged Little Pill, which doesn’t seem to work on my computer disappointingly. so instead I am now listening to the Manic Street Preachers, Everything Must Go album instead, which has probably made me even more happy.  oh the fortuitous joys of eccentric laptops!

Anyway music aside, I have invested in three new books today, volumes 3,4 and 5 of the collected Oz stories, a bargain at £2.99 each and the 2 for a fiver offer applying as well, so my collection is now complete at 14 Oz stories.  Then to top it all off, I have been having discussions of a bookish nature with a good friend Chris, who shares my desire to get some ‘creative’ writing done sometime soon, other than blog posts, so onwards with that post-haste.

With a nice cool drink in hand I type this, with my other hand and with many typos of course, wondering what in the world I am next going to chat at you about.  I like this stream of consciousness type blogging as anything could happen, well within sensible bounds of course. I mean I’m up for a little rule breaking, because I’m a secret maverick but it would be too costly to give you all a free gift (bribe) to come back again.  Having said that I do have a free air guitar you can have…

What materializes into my head, as I sit here looking at the dull view out of my window (I’d take a picture but that’s the way to getting a reputation for being a pervert), it occurs to me that ‘pervert’ is a very unfair term to us innocent people….well that wasn’t really the first thought that came to my mind.

In fact it was this, why do we rush around so much, does 90% of what we are in a hurry to do actually matter, I mean really matter?  In a few years what will its legacy be and will it be something you are proud of, or will it be a regret at the waste of time (and most probably paperwork)? The answer, because I am right, for most of us will be a shed load of wasted time with a smattering of things to be proud of and to talk about ostentatiously.

So stop with the obsessive attitude to money and work and do the things that actually benefit you, cultivating friends, learning what you want too, exploring the limits of your abilities and above all doing things that will make you happy now and in the future.

I don’t want to labour the point or sound preachy but taking stock of the jobs we do and all the mindless TV, the addictive internet faux social, networking sites that suck up hours of people’s lives and all the forgotten late nights, fogged in an alcoholic haze.  It’s just too much, I’m cutting down on all of it.  There is something better people…join me there when you can.

 
44 Comments

Posted by on 02/06/2013 in Life

 

Tags: , , , ,

44 responses to “Signs of Recovery

  1. Bumba

    02/06/2013 at 17:07

    Ashes to ashes, dust to dust, Stephen. There’s no avoiding it. Well, actually there are ways of avoiding it, most of them vicarious, as you mentioned above. Yes, ya gotta grab the bull by the horns, get all those ducks in order, and ride it out. Keep riding. er, I mean writing.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      02/06/2013 at 17:11

      Haha! I could not ask for a better opening comment, I wonder if anyone has ridden an animal whilst writing, I would like to pioneer that as an art form if no one else has attempted in, The Riding Writer, could be a whole new travel section to the blog.

      Like

       
      • Bumba

        02/06/2013 at 17:14

        Definitely.

        Like

         
      • shadowoperator

        02/06/2013 at 19:06

        The poem the most appropriate for a writer (or reader) riding an animal would be that one by Auden which has as its refrain something like “blah-blah-blah said Rider to Reader, as he left them there, as he left them there,” or something like that. It’s in the Collected Poems, sorry to be so vague (but it has a nice trotting rhythm, anyway).

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          02/06/2013 at 19:10

          I enjoyed your description, it amused me, more I say, you have found a new way of summing up things that is both fun and gives no spoilers. A rare talent indeed.

          Like

           
  2. Alastair

    02/06/2013 at 17:14

    Hmm, you inspired me to put on some Alanis Morissette and Jagged Little Pill. Now isn’t that Ironic.

    I purchased a couple of new books for my Kindle a couple of days ago … well, I say purchased someone on Twitter put a link up to a free book, that and another couple of links I couldn’t resist at that price. So, I downloaded three or four books, I have no idea what they are about, I just thought I would get them.

    I have had to cut down on my blog time as it was taking too much of my time and I was exhausting myself and having no time to Kindle read.

    I am getting out soon, I’m heading to London in a couple of weeks to meet a fellow blogger. She’s going to show me a few things around there. I’m looking forward to it.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      02/06/2013 at 17:18

      Everyone’s getting out and about meeting up, it seems that in the last year a group of us have all got real close. I like that, it’s like we are all in the same year at school. I haven’t seen much of London so I hope a blog post or three shall be forthcoming…

      You were heading to so many people’s sites it was a huge read load and extremely epic, not surprised you are cutting down. Everything should stop for reading, it should be a law or something but then again our lot would change their mind within a week and do a(nother) U-turn.

      Free and cheap books, this pleases me, as does the Alanis listening, nothing like immersing yourself in a post!

      Like

       
      • Alastair

        02/06/2013 at 17:31

        I want my camera back before I go there. It’s off at the Camera hospital at the moment, and boy do I miss it. The iPhone is good, but not as good as the DSLR

        Yes, reading time should be for at least one hour per day by law. With no interruptions.

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          02/06/2013 at 17:38

          I once had a day off and refused to get out of bed for fourteen hours whilst I read Foucault’s Pendulum. I would love to do that once a week at least.

          Sad to hear about the camera, someone must lend you one, or else you may not cope going cold turkey!

          Like

           
          • Alastair

            02/06/2013 at 17:46

            I think you’d get bored of reading the same book. 😉

            In 1987 I brought Bolt by Dick Francis and just sat there reading it until it was done. I wasn’t even aware of the world around me. Everything was just … well, I missed dinner and i think I only had about three cigarettes. Back in the days when you could smoke inside – and I when I did smoke of course. It would have been quite painful had I started just to read that book

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              02/06/2013 at 17:52

              Ha! It would have to be an extremely fascinating book to reread it, I’m sure it would be some sort of embarrassingly poor propaganda too. I love those books that just nail you to the seat and you lose all perspective of what is going on around you. Catherine O’ Flynn’s What Was Lost did the same to me. Wonderful are the gifts of books.

              Like

               
              • Alastair

                02/06/2013 at 18:08

                Yes they are. They take you to a land you have forgotten all about. With a well written book, you can get lost becoming the protagonist.

                I saw Bolt again recently on a book table for charity. My days of reading stable thrillers are behind me now. That was a pun. Dick Francis writes books about horse racing 😉

                Like

                 
                • StetotheJ

                  02/06/2013 at 18:12

                  Glad you explained that for I was thinking what would an unhinged thriller be like.

                  I wish my job was to stay in bed and read all day, then blog about it…perhaps if I win the lottery then it would be my reality. Simple pleasures, big house, filled with books, all bloggers welcome, just give me a day or twos notice. I’m sorted for my lottery win, now just to the guessing of numbers…

                  Like

                   
                  • Alastair

                    02/06/2013 at 18:14

                    Well, the first number is between 1 and 49 .. the second number .. same as the first 😉 Sounds like a dream job for you

                    Like

                     
                    • StetotheJ

                      02/06/2013 at 18:18

                      Bets job there would be, I would have so much reading material I would call the house The Library and everyone would leave with a free book or two as i would be so loaded I could buy them all back. I would be a miser to non bloggers though for I am Scroogelike hehe.

                      Like

                       
                    • Alastair

                      02/06/2013 at 18:20

                      Bloggers get in for free, non bloggers must supply at least one book

                      Like

                       
                    • StetotheJ

                      02/06/2013 at 18:29

                      A book in mint condition, or a good second hand copy, I am obsessive about condition. It shouldn’t matter as my wallet would match me ego and I would have loads of dollar but nevertheless I will become a mad and eccentric recluse.

                      Like

                       
                    • Alastair

                      02/06/2013 at 18:37

                      I suppose you would end up being fully booked.

                      Like

                       
                    • StetotheJ

                      02/06/2013 at 18:39

                      Ha! I would be located in the hard back of beyond, right in the book end of nowhere as well.

                      Like

                       
  3. shadowoperator

    02/06/2013 at 19:00

    It’s possible, hearing just about the sun being out and the car music playing as it goes by, and all the determination to “reform,” in various ways, to tell that the “soote season” “hath you in thrall,” to quote two entirely different poets. Ah, well, it gets all of us when it first hits, before we get tired of it!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      02/06/2013 at 19:09

      Poet mixing as heady as a double vodka martini. I hope that I’ll be able to keep abstinent from all the things in life which distract me from paying attention to what is going on around me. Self awareness is a step in the right direction in order to achieve anything.

      Like

       
  4. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

    02/06/2013 at 19:18

    The freedom of your words is when they are at there best. Please don’t block them in.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      03/06/2013 at 17:22

      I shall always endeavour to give them free reign and hopefully entertain at the same time.

      Like

       
  5. Lyn

    03/06/2013 at 01:03

    Wouldn’t it be lovely to have a library-house! My library would have a secret passage leading to a room with panelled walls, floor to ceiling bookcases, an open fireplace and huge armchairs. To reach it you’d tilt downwards a book called “Welsh Castles and their Secrets.” A section of the bookcase would swing out to give access to the passageway. Only certain people would be told about it. LOL this is actually in my YA novel 😉

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      03/06/2013 at 17:24

      It sounds glorious, I can see it now, perfectly realised, it has all the magic of the adventure and never feels like it descends into cliché, I love it. I want to to be there right now.

      Like

       
  6. Christina ~

    04/06/2013 at 06:24

    I like your stream of conscious writing style….well okay I love all your different styles…to the point…you’re absolutely right. Life is short….shorter than most of us realize in the busyness of it all. A most excellent reminder to focus on that which matters most!! And to re-listen to some awesome 90s music (wink) xxxx

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      04/06/2013 at 19:30

      The 90’s did indeed have some fantastic hits, in fact I have just put some on now in order to get into the spirit of answering your post, Cotton Eyed Joe, never gets boring! It is nice to be able to focus on what needs to be done sometimes, I am glad we are of one mind…and speaking of short….xxxx

      Like

       
      • Christina ~

        04/06/2013 at 22:09

        Ha! I can always count on you to make reference to my height….as if being vertically challenged wasn’t enough (Insert mock indignation)! To quote a book for you….”For what do we live, but to make sport for our neighbors, and laugh at them in our turn…” I’m thinking….you know which book that’s from! xxxx

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          05/06/2013 at 15:40

          That’s P&P, be amazed by my…knowledge…I don’t think you are that short…more abbreviated. xxxx

          Like

           
  7. RoSy

    04/06/2013 at 23:08

    You said it Ste! Go with the floooooooooow.

    CHanged my day up a bit – I went out for a walk/run/walk/run…today. I’m so unfit…

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      05/06/2013 at 16:29

      Fitness is overrated where running is concerned. A swift (downhill) walk does for me.

      Like

       
      • RoSy

        05/06/2013 at 16:33

        I kinda’ think so too. But – my sis-in-law twisted my arm & I’ll be doing a 5k with her & a few others at the end of June. It’s not a race. But – still involves going through some obstacles & who knows what else. So – I thought I’d do an outdoor work-out rather than visiting the elliptical. BIG difference I found out yesterday..BIG difference. I’m tiiiiiiired…

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          05/06/2013 at 16:37

          I do not envy you your efforts, but I am proud of you. Think of me filling my face with junk food and most of it slipping down my front as I can’t stuff it in fast enough, I am sure that will help your efforts…honest.

          Like

           
          • RoSy

            05/06/2013 at 16:41

            Thanks 🙂
            Will let you know if I survive.

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              05/06/2013 at 16:43

              I hope you do…if not can I have your books??? But I still hope you do survive.

              Like

               
  8. LuAnn

    07/06/2013 at 15:28

    I love this stream of consciousness writing style as well as this is exactly how my brain works, jumping from one topic to the next. I adore reading everything you write, to be quite honest, and that you are an Alanis Morissette fan has raised you up a bit more in my book. As to the serious side of this post, life is indeed short and it is time we all quiet ourselves and find what it is that will speak to us, feed our hungry souls. I don’t believe we can ever find true happiness in work, money, or things (ok, many a few books, or a few thousand where you are concerned). 😉 Wonderful post SteJ and now I am off to do a bit of soul-searching, as I have allowed my current situation to stifle my creative side and suck some of my life-blood! I love vampires but this one has not been too appealing (lol).

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      10/06/2013 at 18:29

      I had noticed your writing has not been as prolific as late, although i am content to be patient until your magical words appear on your blog. Believe it or not and you may not, but I am having a rethink about the amount of books I have and how I view them…nothing to drastic mind just thinking in a little less biased view. Always happy to have Alanis fans around, perhaps that is a whole new fan page I should be setting up.

      Like

       
      • LuAnn

        11/06/2013 at 00:56

        I’m afraid I have allowed caregiving to take over everything else but that is about to change. I seem to have hit a wall and need to step back and gain a bit more balance in my life. I want to grow my writing and photography skills so am going to make a few changes pronto. I always look forward to your posts SteJ and your amazing writing style. 🙂

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          11/06/2013 at 17:40

          It is a mutual thing my good friend. Your photos are wonderful, I have had a few as my wallpaper on the laptop and I know I will have many more. You bring proper nature to my computer. It pleases me and your words are wonderful as well, you will get your balance back and smite that wall. I know this for I am awesome. Thank you for continuing to inspire me.

          Like

           
          • LuAnn

            11/06/2013 at 20:42

            You say the sweetest things! Thanks for the encouragement. 🙂

            Like

             
  9. Robyn Lee

    11/06/2013 at 02:55

    SteJ ~ you are so right! Isn’t it amazing how humans can be distracted and loose touch with what matters … “what we are in a hurry to do” – perfect description. I always tried to teach my kids when they were little to “do what makes your heart sing” — my little one even composed her Valedictorian speech at her high school graduation around the theme of “Follow Your Bliss” (Thank you Sir Joseph Campbell 😉 )~ So yes – wholeheartedly agree with you ~ go for the books, the music, the food, the nature and the genuine connections with others ~ have gratitude – that is what matters!! Thank you for this wonderful reminder dear you! – RL

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      11/06/2013 at 17:49

      I had to ask Christina what a Valedictorian speech was (we were Skyping at the time). “do what makes your heart sing” is a lovely phrase, I shall keep it in my own head. I am happy this post has reminded people about what’s important. It makes me happy that we can all appreciate what is truly important. Life is indeed good, your comment has made my day…

      Like

       
  10. shiningstar85

    12/06/2013 at 07:21

    I suppose a lot of things dont matter in the long term, friends family kindness what you say to people and making sure you do things you enjoy and making time for that. Thats my perspective – to use one of your favourite words, from the person who is unable to do as much as they would like and is pretty isolated, but i think it would be the same if I wasn’t. And to have a few dreams and aspirations.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      12/06/2013 at 20:38

      You know your stuff, your intelligent and don’t get taken in by all the rubbish. Sometimes it’s just nice to be reminded…I like to do a nice simple post now and again to keep people from being to distressed at my usual dry take on life.

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
