RSS

Morn (and evening) in the USA Part 2

23 May

It is another beautiful afternoon, only a few wispy clouds in the sky, not a lost shark to worry the ducks and what do Christina and I spot aways up the river but a fine looking paddle steamer that is handily situated near one of those seats that swing with a judicious and timely push of either, or both if you live on the edge, of your feet.

Being an ignorant European, I have only associated these boats with the South, or to be more precise on the Mississippi so to see one outside of it’s natural habitat was a bit of a shocker.  After waiting an hour for it to depart I had the opportunity to watch and to take photos of Christina filming the now mobile boat, heading down river.  I’m odd like that.

021The river was one of our favourite haunts, everyone was chilled and passing by, in no rush to be anywhere, even the joggers came back past us like confused over sugared children.  it wasn’t just the obscenely good weather but it did help make me happy and the squirrels, I counted 12 different squirrels in five minutes over a 60 metre radius.  This doesn’t amount to anything shocking over there, over in England however, when we see a bit of nature and everyone freezes and watches it until someone blunders in and spoils the scene and we all go on our way again, but a little more human than before.

Conforming to the rule of cliché though I had to do my bit for the American way of life, whilst taking the family bowling, well most of the family, I got a strike, to which I turned around and shouted STE-RIKE!!!!!! to the embarrassment and possible bewilderment of all, for I was the only person to make such a fuss, but then for someone who hasn’t bowled for 18 years it was massive for me and it happens all the time in Hollywood.  That was coincidentally the last group activity we did.

026After listening to what I can only Fleetwood Mac FM, I truly believe there was a station dedicated to ‘The Mac’ and covers of said band. We stopped as was our habit for coffee, a Quad Grande Breve Latte for C. and a Grande Mocha for me, if you must know.  What amazes me is that that beverage made me sleepy without fail everyday, am I the only one that gets tired after a caffeine fix?  A huge shout out for the man Tyler who served us with aplomb every day he was on and looked very natty in that Hawaiian shirt which he had on for some sort of special hour that I have no idea what it was.

By far the best discovery of the fortnight though has to be the encyclopedias in home Brownlee, they are great, old, very well bound and random.  I mean the ordering is random, you can find stories(!) next to sewing techniques, next to history.  All very exciting as you never know what you were going to get when you turn over each leaf, but I was stunned to find a guide to that great English tradition of Morris Dancing, a form of dancing where men (with bells attached) bang stick together and wave hankerchiefs at each other.  Home sickness averted.

next time…my confusion at questions in a restaurant (honestly I will this time), some locals, the shouting of a certain shop name for giggles and why I didn’t watch a certain film so wasn’t tempted to rename this post Bourne in the USA.

 
52 Comments

Posted by on 23/05/2013 in USAdventure

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

52 responses to “Morn (and evening) in the USA Part 2

  1. renxkyoko

    23/05/2013 at 18:43

    Sweet . Waiting for more of your American experience. Oh, and by the way, I’m sorry about that horrid killing of an innocent man in the hands of 2 religious crazies. They always come in two, huh. ……… you don’t want to know what I’m thinking right now. >.<

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      23/05/2013 at 18:47

      Yes, to say there is tension at the moment is putting it mildly. Without attempting to get onto my soap box, religion doesn’t kill people, stupid people do. All religions advocate peace and anyone who can’t see that is obviously demented and this horror should never have even been thought of. You wouldn’t believe it could happen so close to home.

      Like

       
  2. eTilde

    23/05/2013 at 19:13

    A couple espresso shots will get me going in the morning, but if I continue to take caffeine, I, too, want to go to sleep.

    Is that hefeweizen?

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      23/05/2013 at 19:20

      If I remember rightly it was Blue Moon, a nice pale ale which I hadn’t had the pleasure of before, it was fairly generic as these drinks tend to be but being that I drunk it in a different country it had that extra zest to it.

      Since being back it’s all been cold turkey for me,although I am hoping to start my day off with 6 cups, well these free refills won’t drink themselves.

      Like

       
  3. Alastair

    23/05/2013 at 19:34

    STE-RIKE …. *tumbleweed* haha.

    That ship .. that is truly something to behold. Wow .. WOW!!! The beauty of it. It is a stunning piece. I have only ever seen that in films set during the American Civil War. Perfectly coloured. The photo is good as well, but that boat .. to see that with your own eyes and not on a photo that someone else has taken. I repeat … WOW!

    Mind you, the same can be said for that half pint you are holding. Now either that is huge or you are a very small person.

    I love that idea of the encyclopaedias. Hmmm .. I need to go back to school. I spelt that wrong. Hooray for spell-check. For a book worm like you, it must have been a horror story seeing them out of order like that 😆

    BTW – I sent you an email

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      23/05/2013 at 20:01

      My photos don’t match yours, I was more concerned about getting the whole boat in and not have a shaky hand. Tense stuff this photo taking I must say. It was a nice surprise to see it which was nice.

      What’s a half pint? The glass is angled but I made sure I got the full pint, true English, me. I ate the glass afterwards too as proof.

      It was a strange (copy and paste) encyclopaedia, as a curiousity piece it was great and to browse through it, it really made me think how I could link each thing, it became a fun game and, of course, everything links. Christina sold them to me so I managed to hang on to my desire to take the books apart and order them lol.

      I got your mail, it went to the junk mail so I shall reply to it this eve sometime before my face smashes into the pillow.

      Like

       
      • Alastair

        23/05/2013 at 20:25

        Don’t put yourself down, that is a magnificent photo. Definitely one I think you should send off to Bonusprint and get it framed.

        Eating the glass is always good At least you get the roughage.

        Haha .. good idea with the books. Have you sorted them out yet? Or is that a story for another time?

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          25/05/2013 at 13:51

          That made me wince….twice. I just read my comment to you again and when i meant sold, it was more of a metaphorical selling them to me than a real one…however there is a book post coming soon for it would be a travesty if there weren’t.

          Like

           
          • Alastair

            25/05/2013 at 14:02

            Haha. Oops. You/ Doing a book post? You mean you do them on here? 😉

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              25/05/2013 at 14:12

              That’s the rumour, but just like Ancient Aliens there are no definitive answers…apart from aliens did it.

              Like

               
              • Alastair

                25/05/2013 at 14:17

                Of course the aliens did it. You see them everywhere. Hell, I married one!! Then moved in with another! I think I am drawn to them. Must be my supernatural charismatic charm. ehehehehe. Or not. 😆 Don’t know what my kids would think about being called half alien 😉 My son would probably shrug his shoulders.

                Of course, the aliens built the pyramids and put Stone Henge there. Speaking of aliens, Dr Who is going to be a 90 minute special,

                Have you read any of the Dr Who books?

                Like

                 
                • StetotheJ

                  25/05/2013 at 14:22

                  That will be a treat and my posts, which I have been promising since last year will be held over until that special. I read a load of the classic series ones, I probably read a good 60%, a couple of the Missing adventures as well. I have picked up a couple of those 50th anniversary reprints as I had only read Rememberance of the Daleks, I have Shada too somewhere. I will probable do a Who book soon and then four or five posts leading up to the big one, which hopefully will garner some interest.

                  I’d kill to be a half alien kid, with magical powers of course!

                  Don’t forget the Aliens also helped the Third Reich and have been seen by cowboys. Yup I used to watch that show all the time, I was addicted even though I knew most of their ‘facts’ were wrong.

                  Like

                   
                  • Alastair

                    25/05/2013 at 14:38

                    I read a couple of the Tom Baker ones by Terence Dicks. I’ve been reading Star Wars though of late – apart from the one I am reading now and the last one I read. I thought it would be an idea to change genre and I have been enjoying something other than Leia, Luke Skywalker and Han Solo – as well as many new characters.

                    Cowboys and Aliens was awesome.

                    Half alien. A blog I read is a 17-18 year old called “Ripley Connor” Part Alien, Part Terminator, Part Human all rolled together 😀

                    Like

                     
                    • StetotheJ

                      25/05/2013 at 14:44

                      I love the old Who, I left some in America with a strong hint to get it watched, a Troughton, Davison and McCoy one each, as well as Fawlty Towers. So hopefully that will raise some smiles. If you get a chance watch a film called Manborg, it’s cheesy to the max but great fun and only 62 minutes, all my favourite things and times!

                      A change is always good, I haven’t read any Star Wars, once had a Star Trek book but it was to into the universe and I was lost. Shame that, i suppose it’s knowing what is the easy ones to get into.

                      That is the best combination since Neoplolitan icecream, I love it.

                      Like

                       
                    • Alastair

                      25/05/2013 at 14:54

                      I have Davison’s Earthshock around somewhere. I liked that one because it was the death of one of the companions. I watched the very first Dr Who on Netflix the other day. Oh how things have changed. Smith is very much like Troughton.

                      I’ll have a look for Manborg. Cheesy films are sometimes the best

                      Oh neopolitan … Now I need some Ice cream

                      Like

                       
                    • StetotheJ

                      25/05/2013 at 14:58

                      Ah yes, the death of Adric, the worst equal companion with Mel, Bonnie Langford as Mel was not fun either. It is nice that some of them do get killed off to add variety as opposed to these days when they endlessly bring them back. We crave danger for our heroes! Smith watched Tomb of the Cybermen and decided his basing would be on Troughton and funilly enough that is the DVd I am halfway through reviewing for the 50th.

                      Like

                       
                    • Alastair

                      25/05/2013 at 15:03

                      Haha excellent. 😀 Troughton was a good one, although I don’t remember too many of his. I’m more the Tom Baker era.

                      Like

                       
                    • StetotheJ

                      25/05/2013 at 15:06

                      If you get a chance catch The Mind Robber, lots of literary references in and my equal 2nd Doctor story with Tomb. Tom was indeed the man, Pyramids of mars was great, Genesis of the Daleks, the list goes on!

                      Like

                       
                    • Alastair

                      25/05/2013 at 16:31

                      Oh yes. How he died though was pathetic. Falling off of a satellite dish. Will see if I can find The Mind Robber. Tom was also the longest running of all the Doctors. As for the last episode of Dr Who, I’m not going to say too much in case some people haven’t seen it, my daughter was excited when the guy at the end turned round saying “I drew him!” Which she did for her art project at school

                      Like

                       
                    • StetotheJ

                      27/05/2013 at 16:31

                      Yeah, that ending was a bit of a blind side for everyone, great fun though, I think this has been the best Matt Smith series by far. I recently saw Logopolis where Baker ends, it was all a bit stracnge with the many tARDISES…TARDISI? He should have gone out in a more heroic way I think but really who trusts The Master?

                      Like

                       
                    • Alastair

                      27/05/2013 at 18:26

                      I don’t think even the Master trusts The Master.

                      I don’t know if you watch “Vicious” with Ian McKellen and Derek Jacobi. McKellen says that he has been voted 10th most popular Dr Who villain. He played The Great Intelligence in the Christmas special. Derek Jacobi, however, was Yana – the Master before he became Life on Mars. TARDII?

                      Like

                       
                    • StetotheJ

                      27/05/2013 at 18:32

                      TARDII Works, yes, well played. It is amusing how TGI has gone from obscure Second Doctor baddie to the 10th most popular, although I would probably pick a load more ahead of it.

                      I don’t watch any TV except Who and the football so haven’t had the pleasure although I did look it up, I may have to go and watch some documentaries though now that you mention Television.

                      Like

                       
                    • Alastair

                      27/05/2013 at 19:03

                      Haha I haven’t watched that much recently. Too much looking at my laptop screen.

                      I must admit, Robert Delgardo looked evil as the Master, Eric Roberts was okay, but John Simm is a very likeable Master

                      Like

                       
                    • StetotheJ

                      27/05/2013 at 19:08

                      Eric Roberts, I forgot he was The Master, he was great in Best of the Best 1 and 2 if you love your cheesy martial arts. John Simm was great as unhinged, with the comedy yet sinister edge. He should never have flown though, that distressed me for weeks.

                      Like

                       
                    • Alastair

                      27/05/2013 at 19:16

                      Yeah that was just silly. Maybe they do have those powers, but they shouldn’t use it. They never have before. It’s like what they did to K-9 for a kids TV series. That was just stupid. They blew him up and then had him “regenerate” into a bloody flying CGI thing

                      Like

                       
                    • StetotheJ

                      27/05/2013 at 19:27

                      I missed that, luckily, that sounds terrible, bo respect for rules and how the actual fans would feel.

                      Like

                       
                    • Alastair

                      27/05/2013 at 19:35

                      I watched ¾ of the first episode and just “pffft” and turned over. I think they thought they could go the same way as they did with Sarah Jane Adventures. Whatever you do, don’t go looking for it

                      Like

                       
                    • StetotheJ

                      27/05/2013 at 19:43

                      I never watched The Sarah Jane Adventures, I have somehow managed to find out what happens at the end of series two. Not sure how that is but there you go. I shall keep to proper Who methinks or Blake’s 7 for high campness.

                      Like

                       
                    • Alastair

                      27/05/2013 at 19:51

                      The federation. Servelan. Tis a great show. Makes me wonder how somoen of your age gets into those programs

                      Like

                       
                    • StetotheJ

                      27/05/2013 at 19:54

                      VHS renting from Choices video shop. My dad got me into all these and I have managed to get the DVD’s of Blake’s 7. That ending is amazing!

                      Like

                       
                    • Alastair

                      27/05/2013 at 20:01

                      It was. Reminds me of when I ran a Star Wars role-playing game. I killed all of them as well 🙂

                      Like

                       
                    • StetotheJ

                      27/05/2013 at 20:02

                      SPOILER ALERT! It’s the best way to end something though, good endings are dull in comparison.

                      Like

                       
                    • Alastair

                      27/05/2013 at 20:10

                      So true. Second star on the right, on till morning.

                      Like

                       
  4. LuAnn

    23/05/2013 at 20:43

    I love to hear your take on the American adventure. I love riverboats so was excited to find one in this post. And the photo of you hiding behind the rather large mug of ale was interesting, although next time you should put your mug in front of the mug. 😉 I have to say it does look more like a hefeweizen than a pale ale. Are you sure you weren’t a little confused after drinking said ale? Look forward to hearing more about your US adventures.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      25/05/2013 at 13:53

      I love how it subtley snuck up on us as well, it was a nice surprise. My mug will be on the next post, I enjoyed your mug/mug move there, I love a good bit of word play. I am sure it was either Blue Moon or Manny’s, that’s what the menu said as I wouldn’t have been able to pronounce the other but they could have given me anything and I wouldn’t notice as I was watching a weird state olympic obstacle course thing on the big TV. Strange it was, to say the least.

      Like

       
  5. shiningstar85

    23/05/2013 at 20:48

    Ha, we have morris dancing in our village in june every year, amongst other things, mainly the French game of boules.
    I dont know how u come up so quickly with things like ste-rike.
    Ive never seen one of those ships before.
    Do we get a picture of christina?

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      25/05/2013 at 13:48

      Neither of us are photogenic so we tended to hide a lot and Christina chose camera duties most of the time, however this is a new spiffing picture on her blog http://reconstructingchristina.com/ if you fancy a gander. Anything that is vaguely ste sounding is game, I’m not fussy.

      Like

       
  6. Penny L Howe

    23/05/2013 at 22:16

    Superior post! Excellent photographs, outstanding narrative, and I am (of course) singularly unbiased in my feelings here! 🙂 xx

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      25/05/2013 at 13:46

      You are to kind with your words although you are spot on of course hehe.

      Like

       
  7. gargoylebruce

    24/05/2013 at 01:58

    That paddle-boat looks a bit like the one in Boy George’s Karma Chameleon film clip….

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      24/05/2013 at 20:32

      That was a blast from the past, high camp indeed, in fact I was wearing just such an outfit by pure chance because I am flamboyant by nature….honest.

      Like

       
  8. RoSy

    25/05/2013 at 03:51

    Ha – I would have yelled STRE-RIKE too! Gotta’ celebrate every opportunity we get 😉
    Sometimes before bed I have a warm cup of coffee or a hot chocolate to help me sleep.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      25/05/2013 at 14:05

      It is very rare I get them except on the Wii, I can do them on there quite a bit betterish. I have mastered the art of sleeping now: Be miserable in bed until boredom dictates you sleep, lol.

      Like

       
  9. Christina ~

    26/05/2013 at 01:59

    Your visit was the bestest….such good times and memories! It is great fun to see your posts recounting events from your point of view….perhaps I shall follow suit? Hmmm….xxxx

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      26/05/2013 at 05:30

      Please do, it’ll be great to read your take on our exvepic adventures and I’m sure you will mention some highlights that I did not. I look forward and slightly to the right, to doing this again but with added awesomeness. xxxx

      Like

       
      • Christina ~

        28/05/2013 at 02:09

        I think I shall, but only because you asked so very nicely hehe…a few upcoming posts already planned….shocker I know!! Then I shall indeed write of your visit and the great times we all had! Not sure that you missed speaking of many highlights….but to have the same adventure with two points of view would be fun! xxxx

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          28/05/2013 at 18:14

          Yes perspectives, a word I seem to keep using so much much recently, that I’m even starting to bore myself with it. As always your words intrigue and fascinate me and long may they continue to flow, albeit a bit quicker than once every two months. xxxx

          Like

           
          • Christina ~

            28/05/2013 at 19:03

            LOL! Point taken….your praise is always the very best and I shall endeavor to not disappoint you dearest sir….I will indeed post something soon…then after will be my perspective (haha) of your awesomazing visit! xxxx

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              28/05/2013 at 19:06

              Ha! You say the word so much better than moi! You never disappoint duck, I shall keep checking backas I do at least three times a day for I am nice like that.

              Like

               
              • Christina ~

                28/05/2013 at 19:18

                You do spoil me so….and I am most happy…not to mention relieved that I’ve not disappointed you. I am most determined to post soonest! If only to reward such dedication as you have generously bestowed on me. 😉 xxxx

                Like

                 
                • StetotheJ

                  28/05/2013 at 19:23

                  Thou wouldst never disappoint, I look forward to it, whenever you get a chance would be wonderful. Aye I’m rate good like that luv, owt for you int it.

                  Like

                   

Tell me stuff...

 
