RSS

Morn (and evening) in the USA Part 1

21 May

Arriving amidst the ear popping of altitude changes, I appeared mostly deaf for my first 15 or so minutes on American turf but it got better rapidly after enthusing, in a probably to loud voice about how foreign everything was, (this included the width of the road, the car door handles and how weird it was to be barreling down the wrong side of the road, yet oddly it was the actual physical right side of the road.

029

The book love transcends continents, although these are Christina’s, I helped pick.

It’s quite difficult to order my thoughts into some coherent chronological statement of my adventure,  suffice to say that the weather was perfect, always around 30C or 80F if that be your measurement of climate.  So totally different from England and its incessant rain.  Having said that my first glimpse of America from the ground in Minneapolis was shrouded in fog and….snow, so it was like a home from home in that respect.

Rapidly the weather got better and eventually everything lost its foreignness, nothing says tourist like a slightly spun out guy with wonky glasses, marvelling at the differences of the door handles compared with back home, whilst at a store,  bathrooms in shops, that was an eye opener as well. 3 cans of Red Bull not making a dint in my sleepiness was mildly surprising too although 26 and a half hours of travel will do that to you.

Most of my view of America to start off with was selfishly obscured by the oncoming night time, although I did see a rather unimpressive waterfall…unless you Google Multnomah Falls and it looks amazing.  I’m not sure if it was my slightly sleepy mood or that I was genuinely unimpressed, either way, I hope to be able to see it again with somewhat less clouded eyes, I think I expected a Niagara type scene and so pretty much anything but the most picturesque spectacle in the world would have done.

003

Wish you were there? I Wish I was.

After the first marvelling, I got into American life fairly quickly, the time difference was easy to fall into being that I hit my bed at pretty much midnight and I really did feel I was a future being as well, minus the tin foil suit.  My love for sci-fi coincidentally was reignited by Penny and Christina on this trip, as was my excitement for books, but more on that in another post.

I do have one disappointment on my trip which I should get off my chest ideally before I chat farther and that there was not as much recognition for my accent as I would have wished, except for waitresses forgetting my order because they were listening to my accent and the obligatory gay guy, who claimed he was channeling my energy and that was why he was randomly speaking in an accent.  That was just plain rude, I would always ask permission before syphoning off anyone’s energy on the sly.  I need to learn to do that as well, if anyone knows a night school where I can learn to do this safely please let me know.

I was expecting people to fall over themselves but apart from a couple of girls who (apparently) were enjoying my accent and keeping me talking, I didn’t really notice, I did my best to throw a lot of local Nottinghamshire sayings to confuse and amuse people, so hopefully some have stuck and there are people even now greeting each other with the work ayup.  I may have to work on getting this culturally accepted.

Right for the moment and because I am a tease that is all, next time….Squirrels, a bloke named Tyler and also my confusion at questions in a restaurant and feeling like I was in the South, amongst other things.

  • 025

    Free stuff, God bless America!

 
37 Comments

Posted by on 21/05/2013 in USAdventure

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

37 responses to “Morn (and evening) in the USA Part 1

  1. Alastair

    21/05/2013 at 20:19

    I don’t know what view is more stunning, the lake or the Ice cream is it?

    I must admit, I have spoken to a couple of Nottingham people, generally when I was a star in my very own version of Stephen King’s Misery in Leicester. So I that did make me giggle. I can imagine the language being taught person to person, and if you go back then find a whole country of people speaking the “Aeyupp” and bowing to the creator of this new language (but still no lottery numbers haha).

    Question … if it was that hot over there, why didn’t you share and bring some of it back. Look forward to part squirrel 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      21/05/2013 at 20:26

      I attempted to smuggle the sunshine back in my case but then I realised it would be to much of a culture shock for most of you pasty beings and i let it be free somewhere over new York, I think that’s what the turbulence was.

      Your very own version of Misery, I am intrigued, tell Ste more…if i go back and am seen as some sort of omnipotent being then I will demand books as a tribute and a free frappuccino, I think anyway. I am not well versed in coffees and it was free so I forgot everything around me.

      Like

       
      • Alastair

        21/05/2013 at 20:31

        Not versed in the way of coffee?? It has to be black .. with sugar .. and then you drink it. Anything else is yack.

        I moved in with a sociopath. Not the most pleasant of beings once you get to know her. Although nearly three years on and I have some positive effects from it – when the alarm goes off I am immediately awake to stop having my ankles broken with a big mallet.

        I just had to look up what was in a Frappuccino. Why on earth would you have strawberries and ice in a perfectly good coffee??

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          21/05/2013 at 20:46

          I am not a big fancy coffee fan, just a classic coffee is fine, I don’t want options I want simplicity, simplicity and a big mug.

          Crikey I best be careful with these blogger ladies in America then. That sounds scary well done for surviving though, this pleases me.

          Like

           
  2. renxkyoko

    21/05/2013 at 21:02

    Did you get to visit california? For some reason, I didn’t feel like an alien in London.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      21/05/2013 at 21:10

      I didn’tm I was about 15 hours drive north, I landed and refused to go to far after that ordeal. London accepts everyone, glad you didn’t feel alienated! Oh I am on fire today with my puns.

      Like

       
      • renxkyoko

        21/05/2013 at 21:26

        You should post something about the food, etc. That’s one huge, huge difference between between Europe and the US. ( Although , believe it or not, we had the best food in London,… well , I guess we are the fish and chips type, and the eating places we went to weren’t stingy. they gave us enough to satisfy our hungry tummies )

        You should have visited california.

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          21/05/2013 at 21:28

          I plan on going back at some point so maybe I will, there’s just so much to see in such a huge country. I have a bit done on the food, probably not enough for a post, perhaps a light snack though. Fish and chips, the classic English food, I hope you tried some jellied eels as well?

          Like

           
          • renxkyoko

            21/05/2013 at 21:36

            Had kidney pudding and blood sausage. Didn’t like the pudding, and y’know, I really like blood foods ( I like Spanish blood sausage ) , but the one I had in London had too much oregano in it.

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              21/05/2013 at 21:40

              Makes sense, I’m with you on the blood foods. I shall bow to you, the food connoisseuring for you seem better more knowledgeable in the field than I.

              Like

               
  3. renxkyoko

    21/05/2013 at 21:57

    You know, I think you’d be more culturally shocked in california,( visually, at least), but then that’s a good thing. It’s a learning experience. …..LA and san Francisco. Be sure to come here next time.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      22/05/2013 at 19:10

      Noted, I like to be intrigued and taken out of my comfort zone, keeps me on my toes. If/when I do come back, I will probably go via San Francisco so the oppurtunity awaits…

      Like

       
  4. Letizia

    21/05/2013 at 23:33

    It’s funny that you mention the width of the roads, it’s one of the first things I noticed when I moved to the U.S., how wide the roads were (also how big the supermarkets were – the huge selection of cereals! At least compared to France).

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      22/05/2013 at 19:12

      Yeah the local store was what I class as a supermarket, I never went to what the Americans call a supermarket but I can well imagine the obscene amount of food in store for me. I felt a bit claustrophobic when I arrived back, that was before the hallucinating due to lack of sleep.

      Like

       
  5. Cody McCullough

    23/05/2013 at 04:42

    It is interesting what you notice when you visit another country. A few years ago, I visited my brother in Japan. When I got back to the U.S., my house felt like a mansion. My house is not big by American standards, but it felt huge after spending time in my brother’s small Japanese apartment. Good post.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      23/05/2013 at 19:00

      I love all these different perspectives, makes me want to go to other places now. Why oh why is money so hard to come buy and so easy to lose.

      Like

       
      • Cody McCullough

        24/05/2013 at 01:27

        If only it were the other way, and money was easy to get and hard to lose. I would like that.

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          24/05/2013 at 20:10

          You and me both, maybe a WordPress campaign should be started.

          Like

           
  6. shiningstar85

    23/05/2013 at 14:08

    Bathrooms or as we say here in England toilets/ loos in shops definitely a good idea and time saver when shopping! Totally know the feeling of however much caffeine/sugar/trying to make yourself wake up doesn’t work. I have that every day. Look forward to your further blogs and observations. Ive forgotten what general life is like in the outside world in the uk and ive never been to America.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      23/05/2013 at 18:58

      I usually live my life through the pages of the National Geographic so this was an experience. I have one more of these types of post and then a couple more different perspectives to mix it up. Keep you guys interested. I’m all for toilets in every shop too, and not ones cost 20p to use either.

      Like

       
      • shiningstar85

        23/05/2013 at 20:54

        I forgot you had to pay for some. Tho 20p is nothing these days, so maybe itsmore now? I got an old Nat geo out the other day, have loads of them! And psychologies magazines.

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          25/05/2013 at 13:45

          All I want to do is spend a penny, ho ho! I love going through all the old National Geographics, may add a couple of my old ones to the current reading pile for I aim to be productive tomorrow, in the reading sense.

          Like

           
  7. Anonymous

    23/05/2013 at 19:10

    Glad you had so much fun! 😀

    Like

     
  8. Rachelle

    23/05/2013 at 19:11

    Oh that was me, btw. – Rachelle

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      23/05/2013 at 19:13

      Your name has come up this time! Gets my appetitie up for going back again all this writing does! Thank you for popping by, always nice to see thee.

      Like

       
  9. RoSy

    23/05/2013 at 22:00

    Did you just call the right side of the road – wrong? LOL
    I did Google the falls – Beautiful. But – I guess not so great when you’re imagining Niagara Falls – which I have yet to see.
    Can’t wait to hear more of your USA Adventures (with Penny, Christina, & the gang!) 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      24/05/2013 at 20:08

      There is more to come, part three shall be out either Saturday or Sunday. The photos are better than the real falls I assure you, lol. The right side is the wrong side when the left is the right side. Ha!

      Like

       
  10. LuAnn

    24/05/2013 at 12:01

    Perhaps you should do a video post so we can all experience your lovely accent. 😉

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      24/05/2013 at 19:44

      I am going to do a video post, when I get something juicy to chat about and I don’t mess it up but it would be fun to chatter at you guys and see what you make of me butchering the Queen’s English.

      Like

       
  11. Chelsea Brown19

    25/05/2013 at 16:24

    Some Americans can be pushy and we don’t even realize how rude we can be. However we do love foreign accents. 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      27/05/2013 at 16:29

      Apparently, I do a good Doctor who, the David Tennant version. Ironically he is Scottish. I plan a vlog at some point so you will get a bit of accentaged from here.

      Like

       
  12. Christina ~

    26/05/2013 at 01:56

    Ah, the river….good coffee and a reigniting of intense book love…not to mention acquisition of a plethora of exquisite books has me in such a state! Seeing things anew whilst you were here was an amazing adventure!! xxxx

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      26/05/2013 at 05:33

      Like Escher, I love a good perspective change, I think it was refreshing for both of us to see things in a different light. The amount of time we spent in those bookshops, they loved us. All that coffee didn’t help my heart rate but then again I was fairly hyper for most of the time I was out there. I shall be looking forward to reading your Amazon wish list when you start adding things left, right and centre.

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
