RSS

More In Than Out

26 Apr

So tonight, the writing mood takes me…strange as it is though I am devoid of ideas, you may think this odd (as I do) for there are so many worlds, time periods, characters, perspectives, writing styles….etc, etc to choose from, how can I fail to find an idea?

twinpeaks_donuts

Imagination at it’s Peaks

This, it has to be said, is the very point, I cannot devote myself to one thing long enough without my mind wandering to all the vast cornucopia of unexplored ideas.  Those of you who have been around this page of the web for a while will probably know that I bounce around topics a lot, forming obscure links between random people and things and constantly setting off new trains of thought and this is distracting, like eating a burger and wondering which mouthful contains the horse.

Perhaps that is something I could use but would be ambitious to say the least, as would a fantasy world, although the scope for inventing your own world is mammoth, the fine line of making it interesting and fairly original or at least non cliché, whilst simultaneously introducing the reader to the rules of the created world, is often a tricky one, well based on some of the stuff I have read in my time anyway.

Then there are short stories, of which I attempted one this year that became full blown and then forgotten about. Back to basics may have to be my approach in that regard, although I would love to be inspired enough to do a full length novel, something layered, possibly in the genre of magical realism like Italo Calvino or Umberto Eco for example although to be that good would be a monumental edifice of a challenge.

So what does this leave me with, perhaps writing more of the Fairground Prologue  that hasn’t evolved despite my promises, I think some heavy duty planning and characterisation should be in order before I move on that.  All in all I think I am on the right path, replace zeal with quiet thirst and start slow and perhaps I will have something noteworthy soon with which to place upon these not so hallowed pages.

Anyway this is just a random post and I have no idea what I was aiming to achieve or indeed say, sometimes it is just nice to talk.  Take what you will, if anything from this and maybe I will do some sort of proper critique of something soon.  If you can’t sum something up easily, your aims are to diffuse, these words I don’t live by but I like to think one day they might come in handy….

 
41 Comments

Posted by on 26/04/2013 in My Writings

 

Tags: , , , , ,

41 responses to “More In Than Out

  1. Liz at Libro

    26/04/2013 at 15:49

    Oh – I had a marvellous idea for a short story but I lack the creative writing gene so I’m going to have to give the plot to a creative writer!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      26/04/2013 at 15:51

      You do not lack, you merely haven’t let it out to engage with the world yet! Welcome to my positive phase of life.

      Like

       
  2. eTilde

    26/04/2013 at 16:11

    Sometimes a chat is what’s needed, a pleasant distraction that then allows us to refocus with fresh eyes.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      26/04/2013 at 16:16

      And sometimes I am really to lazy to finish my proper posts and am unashamedly happy to pop in a bit of stream of consciousness writing to make sure my brain is still in order.

      Like

       
  3. Chelsea Brown19

    26/04/2013 at 16:40

    Hi,
    I’ve nominated you for the WordPress Family Award.
    Take a look.
    http://thejennymacbookblog.wordpress.com/2013/04/26/wordpress-family-award/

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      26/04/2013 at 16:45

      Ah! You are to kind, many thanks, I will make sure I do an awards post before I shoot off to your continent, I hear it is quite a big place, the US….

      Like

       
      • Chelsea Brown19

        26/04/2013 at 16:55

        You’re welcome 🙂
        Enjoy the US and yeah it’s pretty big. 😉

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          26/04/2013 at 16:58

          I intend to introduce some humourously obscure British words that I hope will spread like wildfire and make me famous.

          Like

           
          • Chelsea Brown19

            11/05/2013 at 19:49

            I might just come across some of those obscure British words. 😉

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              17/05/2013 at 20:02

              I hope I have sent enough out there to spread them across America like wild fire, who knows, someday Bob’s your uncle may be a phrase used in every household. That awards post is still in the pipeline, it shall be posted after the USA posts have had there time.

              Like

               
              • Chelsea Brown19

                17/05/2013 at 20:06

                I’ll be sure to listen for em and don’t worry about the award it’s not like theres a deadline. 🙂

                Like

                 
                • StetotheJ

                  17/05/2013 at 20:09

                  I just like to give a little back and really I need to share the love, for I am nice like that.

                  Like

                   
                  • Chelsea Brown19

                    17/05/2013 at 20:12

                    Yes you are very nice and I can’t to read about your trip.

                    Like

                     
                    • StetotheJ

                      17/05/2013 at 20:20

                      Then I shall sleep now and get started tomorrow on the various posts I have lined up….

                      Like

                       
                    • Chelsea Brown19

                      18/05/2013 at 03:26

                      Sounds good 🙂

                      Like

                       
  4. Alastair

    26/04/2013 at 18:39

    I created my own world once when I was running a role-playing game. I thought it would be easy. I brought the book that was a “Create your world companion”and still ended up lost. It was learning what areas should be temperate, arid, Arctic, etc. It didn’t help that I had players who questioned what every plant looked like and what each one was called and the properties. 😆

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      26/04/2013 at 18:43

      wow, that is some serious background, then again people get obsessed with that sort of stuff, it becomes real and a placed to hide in. Did you end up bringing the world to a catastrophic end, á la The Day After Tomorrow, where ice chases a man down a corridor?

      Like

       
      • Alastair

        26/04/2013 at 18:47

        Haha I did. I had a Lich’s prism turn inside out which destroyed the world. I made sure I killed all the players in the most painful way possible 😀

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          26/04/2013 at 18:53

          The endings where everyone dies always seem more epic than memorable than the happily ever after madness.

          Like

           
          • Alastair

            26/04/2013 at 18:59

            They are better. You know you can’t have them again, and you know you can’t go back. It’s allowing them to attempt to outrun it though and just as they think they are safe …. bye bye … lol

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              26/04/2013 at 19:05

              Sadism has never been so fun, lol. I enjoy your evil streak.

              Like

               
              • Alastair

                26/04/2013 at 19:07

                It’s the only way I can let my nasty side out. Hmmm, maybe I should put that on the dating site “Has an enjoyable evil streak” haha

                Like

                 
                • StetotheJ

                  26/04/2013 at 19:12

                  Then add, loves watching Songs of Praise also.

                  Like

                   
                  • Alastair

                    26/04/2013 at 19:16

                    Hahaha .. now THAT’s evil. 😈

                    Like

                     
                    • StetotheJ

                      26/04/2013 at 19:20

                      Says the world destroyer!

                      Like

                       
                    • Alastair

                      26/04/2013 at 19:21

                      I may destroy worlds, but that is something not even I would subject someone to

                      Like

                       
                    • StetotheJ

                      26/04/2013 at 19:24

                      Mwahahahahaha!

                      Like

                       
                    • Alastair

                      26/04/2013 at 19:28

                      😀

                      Like

                       
  5. RoSy

    26/04/2013 at 20:34

    LMAO at …”like eating a burger and wondering which mouthful contains the horse.”
    I enjoyed your random post! 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      30/04/2013 at 21:14

      The horse meat is real…we had a spate of it entering the food chain, it all kicks off over here. Random is my middle name…well unofficially.

      Like

       
  6. Claire 'Word by Word'

    27/04/2013 at 07:34

    I say don’t overthink it and just plunge right in, write it out and allow yourself to discard – to get to the subconscious you have tow write through that thinking mind that wants to plan and edit everything. Just go ahead and write 1000 words without judging it and the next day write another 1000, until a form takes shape – then allow yourself a bit of thinking because you have dig pretty deep to find the seed. Often the fist page is a few chapters in, the first few are the practise rounds.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      30/04/2013 at 21:37

      I appreciate the advise, I shall have a go soon and make something of the words at my disposal, thank you for your advice I will get to following it soon for it needs to be done.

      Like

       
  7. Alastair Savage

    29/04/2013 at 11:10

    It’s funny that you name check Calvino, because he of course was at his best in shorter pieces: I’m thinking here of Invisible Cities. Personally, I think writing sketches and short scenes of interesting moments is a good way to build up the texture of a fantasy or imaginary world. “The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step,” and all that.
    Man, there are a lot of Alastairs commenting on this post, aren’t there?

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      30/04/2013 at 21:29

      I think by full length I was more referring to the substance than the word count, but I take your point, Invisible Cities was a fantastic book, I do own The Complete Cosimcomics, should give that a whirl sometimes soon. Alaistair’s are the in thing, true story….

      Like

       
  8. LuAnn

    29/04/2013 at 12:45

    “Replace zeal with quiet thirst”…great words for me to live by.

    Like

     
  9. Asha

    24/05/2013 at 06:52

    Sometimes making no sense does make a lot of sense(if not for you, then others)..
    Did that at all make sense, J?? And yes, sometimes its just nice to talk.

    -Asha

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      24/05/2013 at 20:05

      Haha, your paradoxes tax my brain! It is always great to chat to you Asha, you always tell me good stuff and write in a most wonderful way.

      Like

       
      • Asha

        25/05/2013 at 11:30

        Mutual feeling at that J. Though I’ll try and restrict myself from over-taxing the neurons in your brain. Have missed talking to you! But I always find a way to come back. 🙂

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          25/05/2013 at 14:01

          It is great that you do, I stop by your blogs at least once every two or three days, I don’t like to be to late to a new post for you always write such interesting and thought provoking words and your talent greatly pleases me and enhances my day.

          Like

           

Tell me stuff...

 
