RSS

The Shy Butterfly – Penny L. Howe

20 Apr

Cover

Some lessons are timeless and never get old in the retelling and it just so happens that The Shy Butterfly by blogger extraordinaire Penny L. Howe is just such a book that has a perennial message to .

The story is of the titular shy butterfly who leads a sheltered life, happy in the shadows and afraid to experience the joys of the world but then he meets Monarch butterfly who sets out to coax him to come into the sunlight and find out what he’s been missing.

This edifying tale is really wonderful, a feel good story with a wonderful moral for children and a reminder to us adults who get to mired in the inconsequentialities of life and forget what it truly means to be (and sometimes how to be) happy.

So besides having the charm to appeal to everybody with its directly written way, it is a strikingly well written book, with oodles of pizzazz

The accompanying drawings offset the text with their enchanting simplicity, the hand drawn look of the illustrations make the book feel more homely and a real creation of love.

I also picked up a gently existentialist vibe here as well, perhaps I am reading too much into it but the power to change one’s own life with a bit of encouragement, after all it was Albert Camus who said “There is scarcely any passion without struggle” and I think that encapsulates the idea of the story, to be free to marvel at the wonders of the world we must first be willing to make ourselves willing to experience it.

Anyway digressions aside, this is a real labour of love and one which should be in every home, a proper oasis of inspiration in these times of worry, this is one to go back to again and again.  http://www.amazon.com/The-Shy-Butterfly-ebook/dp/B00CF7D3DM/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

 
25 Comments

Posted by on 20/04/2013 in Children's Literature, Philosophy

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

25 responses to “The Shy Butterfly – Penny L. Howe

  1. Alastair

    20/04/2013 at 17:04

    It’s also available in the UK Amazon
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Shy-Butterfly-ebook/dp/B00CF7D3DM/

    I read this book a couple of times yesterday and it is definitely a feel good one. The way it is written is so easy to get into and just flows through.

    I agree that this should be in every home. Maybe one on each kindle device so it can be glanced at any time you are feeling down to remember that there is always someone there who can help you to help yourself.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      20/04/2013 at 17:16

      Thanks for putting that, I forgot yet just posted the edited blog review on there, I am a bit slow.

      True words sirrah, I would go so far as to suggest it came with every Kindle, for a small fee of course and then the feel good factor could be brought back into the world.

      Like

       
      • Alastair

        20/04/2013 at 17:20

        I’m not just saying this because Penny is a friend, but I believe that if this gets out enough, it could be one of those books that ends up as essential reading.

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          20/04/2013 at 17:23

          I agree, irrespective of friendship, being critical is what makes our opinions trusted, so when we say it is truly good, then there really should be no doubt whatsoever.

          Like

           
  2. Penny L Howe

    20/04/2013 at 17:23

    Thanks SteJ, a wonderful review, your expressive descriptive words are great. Wow, existentialism, yes an element of truth there, speaking as the author, I do believe that any person, from any walk of life, at any given moment can profoundly affect another and bring about positive change. I think it is then the willingness and bravery of the other to take the leap, the risk, step into “what is to them” their own fear of change. Encouragement by others can be HUGE in some cases. Again, thank you very much for this excellent review of “The Shy Butterfly”. Penny

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      20/04/2013 at 17:27

      It was a pleasure to read it, and may I say an honour to proof read also. I will be posting the review on the Amazon.com site, which it seems I am already a member of oddly..the .co.uk one is already up but edited a touch.

      I think that when the book comes out in hardback, for surely it must! Your above comment should be put on the back cover, your message is a wonderful one and empowering people to change lives is such an amazing gift to give…high five when I see you!

      Like

       
      • Penny L Howe

        20/04/2013 at 17:29

        Thank you again SteJ, from the heart, for this one dear friend, Penny

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          20/04/2013 at 17:33

          I have always said I derive a lot of my best pleasures from reading and this just reinforces that 100 fold, I will look forward to another book should you wish to persue that avenue again, not that the pressure begins here of course. I think good things will come from this.

          Like

           
  3. Liz at Libro

    20/04/2013 at 17:49

    Just make sure your review is as clear as this one and doesn’t make it look like you know each other (“the author” etc.) – my other half reviewed my first book on Amazon – having actually read it, not just as a puff piece, and Amazon deleted it!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      20/04/2013 at 17:51

      I copy and pasted almost verbatim, just leaving out the link and the existential bit, so hopefully it should go through okay, will keep checking and re word if necessary. I appreciate the advice.

      Like

       
  4. shiningstar85

    20/04/2013 at 22:25

    I’ve noticed penny commenting on many of your reviews so it must be an honour and exciting getting to review a(nother) book by a friend on here, and lovely for penny to read this review too (hi!) and making lots of new friends on here! I have made none, but then I only come on here to read your reviews and post nothing of my own. Any book reviews by me will be on goodreads and i used to write reflective articles from time to time, then facebook which is the only place where most my friends r online, wouldn’t let me copy and paste to a note, then my health got worse and picked up for a month after 3horrible years and struggling again, but peopl rarely respond much to things i share on there now anyway. back to subject, has pennys second name changed?

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      22/04/2013 at 17:25

      Coho, I believe was the name of an internet service provider, that trivia may come in useful one day on a quiz, so store it. it is indeed an honour and a joy to read it, for I was proof reader and got a sneaky peek before hand too, which is going on my CV as book editor now! Facebook is terrible for..well most things apart from seeing what others are doing but feel free to get involved here, it’s a friendly community for you either as a blogger or replier to others comments as a follower, your input is always greatly appreciated and a lot of people on here are also on Goodreads so that would be a way for you to connect and that would be awesome!

      Like

       
  5. Claire 'Word by Word'

    21/04/2013 at 12:35

    Bit of a trend going on for me here having just finished Barbara Kingsolver’sbutterfly book, then read an interesting article in The Guardian today on the migrating monarchs and their decline in population since last year and now this delightful gem, looks like the icing on the cake and love your reference to Camus, most apt. 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      22/04/2013 at 17:31

      I am always have to keep a theme going. I love a bit of Camus, may take The Fall on holiday with me. The Guardian, eh? Do you do the crossword? I must look that artical up, in fact I must trawl the internet for good articles all round.

      Like

       
      • Claire 'Word by Word'

        22/04/2013 at 17:38

        You should be on twitter, good source for excellent articles and references and blog traffic. I only read the Guardian online so don’t get the crossword, but I love crosswords! My Mum used to do one daily and always asked when she got stuck and was always cross when we knew the answer – fond memories! Do you do a crossword?

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          22/04/2013 at 17:42

          I tend to do the Guardian one, mainly at the pub with my friend Iain, we mostly complete them as well which is always nice. I do have a Twitter account but it is underused, I really need to find the time to grow that part of the blog linking thing and check out articles that will bandied around willy nilly on there.

          Like

           
          • Claire 'Word by Word'

            22/04/2013 at 17:47

            Add the twitter widget to your blog so we can follow. It should automatically send out a link to any new post you write too. It’s a bit random, but many a gem to be found there.
            Is that a cryptic one or standard crossword you do?

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              22/04/2013 at 17:53

              I tend to do the standard as after a beer or two things do get confusing, but luckily three is the limit these days so the quick crossword is always achievable, I did have the Twitter widget up at one point, I will hunt it out and put it up again.

              Like

               
  6. LuAnn

    22/04/2013 at 13:06

    A beautiful review SteJ. I’ve been out of town for a few days and had no idea when you gave me this recommendation that it was Penny’s book. I have downloaded it to my kindle and look forward to reading it. Thanks! 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      22/04/2013 at 17:20

      I enjoy throwing these references out there…I was waiting for your comment back when you realised, hehe.

      Like

       
      • LuAnn

        22/04/2013 at 21:55

        As you can see, I just blindly follow your lead. 🙂

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          26/04/2013 at 15:02

          As i’m short sighted and colour blind this may not be ideal…

          Like

           
          • LuAnn

            27/04/2013 at 11:35

            I’ll take my chances. 😉

            Like

             
  7. Lyn

    26/05/2013 at 07:47

    I bought this book even before I’d read any reviews just to support Penny, because I love her writing. I can honestly say, it is a wonderful book and will be loved by children and adults alike. Too bad it’s not available as a paperback, I reckon it would sell like hotcakes 😀

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      27/05/2013 at 16:46

      That’s what I said and I believe is the general consensus with everyone who has read it. It couldn’t fail to be a big seller, so I hope those publishing houses are paying attention.

      Like

       

Tell me stuff...

 
