RSS

Belated Blogiversary

15 Apr

blogiversaryGreetings all, I have been MIA for a while but am back and what better way to celebrate my first full year in blogging than to use it as a shameless way to highlight my own posts by announcing the ‘winners’ in my very own blog awards, that is stolen from every awards show ever.   So please enjoy this selection from the past year and I hope to be getting back into the swing of things again for another year of words, pictures and a slight skewing of the English language.

red-tree2

 
45 Comments

Posted by on 15/04/2013 in Blogging

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

45 responses to “Belated Blogiversary

  1. Doraz

    15/04/2013 at 23:53

    Congrats. Keep having fun blogging. 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      16/04/2013 at 16:58

      The old joy is back, it helps to be surrounded by such wonderful and enthusiastic writers.

      Like

       
  2. Anonymous

    16/04/2013 at 02:37

    I love it. Self-bestowal of awards….Genius!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      16/04/2013 at 16:59

      This way I don’t feel unworthy of accepting, I am so cunning.

      Like

       
  3. Liz at Libro

    16/04/2013 at 05:50

    Good idea! I did a rundown of the most popular posts on my blog at the end of last year, which turned out to be quite interesting! Happy Blogiversary!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      16/04/2013 at 17:09

      Thanks very much, most popular posts, sounds interesting as well, I am always happy to borrow a few of your wonderful ideas (with credit of course) for this creaky old blog..one is blog years sometimes feels like 9 human years but I do love it.

      Like

       
  4. LuAnn

    17/04/2013 at 12:58

    Congratulations SteJ! Love this post…you are indeed cunning and innovative. 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      17/04/2013 at 18:01

      I may possibly have half inched it from someone else, I don’t quite recall, I would be great as a dodgy witness at trial.

      Like

       
      • LuAnn

        17/04/2013 at 22:33

        I believe you would. 🙂

        Like

         
  5. RebeccaScaglione - Love at First Book

    17/04/2013 at 13:30

    Congrats!!!!!! Mine comes up in July!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      17/04/2013 at 18:00

      Thanks, I look forward to the party over at your, I shall bring a humourous hat and some doughnuts!

      Like

       
  6. Penny L Howe

    17/04/2013 at 20:28

    Excellent awards, each recipient equally worthy of receiving same. Wow you’re good at that!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      17/04/2013 at 20:32

      I couldn’t afford the fireworks and posh buffet this year so I couldn’t have a huge blog bash, maybe next year I will have a glittering and even more self centred awards do.

      Like

       
      • Penny L Howe

        17/04/2013 at 20:34

        Being centered is always a good thing! lol

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          17/04/2013 at 20:36

          It does stop me from falling over as much, although perhaps my clumsiness is legendary and soon you shall reap the reward of seeing me at close hand with glass items…I will bring extra hard hats.

          Like

           
          • Penny L Howe

            17/04/2013 at 20:40

            Someone very near and dear to me years ago made up the following word (she’s very good at this – as are you, and of course myself, now that I think on this lol) the word is … Anticipatious! Sums things up nicely I think! 🙂

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              17/04/2013 at 20:42

              That words sounds quite familiar to me…I predict a few more new words entering the dictionary very soon.

              Like

               
  7. Alastair

    17/04/2013 at 20:52

    Well done in your first year of blogging. Keep it up. You seem to have amassed a fair number of readers in that time.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      17/04/2013 at 20:55

      Thank you, it has dropped off recently in terms of hits but it’s been a great year, lots of awesome people met and fantabulous combinations of words rendered before mine eyes. Now the challenge is to diversify and keep you guys interested, perhaps the first ever blog free gift when you log on.

      Like

       
      • Alastair

        17/04/2013 at 21:16

        I had a surprising “Congratulations on Five Years With WordPress” the other day. Was hoping they would give me a free gift, but alas .. they gave me the customary image to portray on my blog and it’s attempted inspirational images as well as idiosyncratic idioms and intended informative items. Which probably makes less sense than the superlatively susceptible sounds of a …. drowning fish … okay, so I gave up at the end 😆

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          20/04/2013 at 16:25

          Crikey! That was a word combo worthy of Richard Whiteley, last nights Jagerbombs were even more ill advised now.

          Like

           
          • Alastair

            20/04/2013 at 16:49

            Haha, I wouldn’t know about that. Never had a Jagerbomb. Never had a Richard Whitely either – thankfully shudder

            Like

             
            • StetotheJ

              20/04/2013 at 16:50

              That would have been…..wrong, especially if he lived up to his ‘twice nightly’ name.

              Like

               
              • Alastair

                20/04/2013 at 16:51

                Yikes!! And to plagiarise your word … crikey!

                Like

                 
                • StetotheJ

                  20/04/2013 at 16:54

                  Plagarise away it is much posher than tea leafing it.

                  Like

                   
                  • Alastair

                    20/04/2013 at 16:57

                    Oh yes. Also reminds of the kids version of it … Cripes!

                    Like

                     
                    • StetotheJ

                      20/04/2013 at 17:04

                      Best not bring kids into it, even Rolf Harris, is nothing sacred!

                      Like

                       
                    • Alastair

                      20/04/2013 at 17:08

                      Yeah that one bothers me .. my dad is the spitting image of Rolf. May suggest he shave his beard off now. Or shave off Rolf’s head

                      Like

                       
                    • StetotheJ

                      20/04/2013 at 17:12

                      Haha, wobble board dealers up and down the country will be closing down, it’s another disaster for the economy.

                      Like

                       
                    • Alastair

                      20/04/2013 at 17:16

                      Gives a whole new meaning to his songs Two Little Boys and Jake with the Extra Leg

                      Like

                       
                    • StetotheJ

                      20/04/2013 at 17:19

                      Hidden in plain sight all this time….well played Rolf.

                      Like

                       
  8. Letizia

    18/04/2013 at 18:19

    Happy one year anniversary! I love the awards, so funny 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      20/04/2013 at 16:32

      Nothing like a bit of self promotion to keep the blog hits coming, next year I will have to do a vlog with explosions and fireworks and such like.

      Like

       
      • Letizia

        20/04/2013 at 18:14

        Looking forward to THAT! 🙂

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          20/04/2013 at 18:17

          Or maybe I will vlog before hand…I am thinking about it, just need to make sure I have a decent camera first.

          Like

           
  9. 최다해 gongjumonica

    19/04/2013 at 07:25

    Sorry for the belated greetings for your belated blogiversary, and no, I did not reply late in purpose just to sound cute. Happy anniversary, Steve! Continue writing in this wonderful blog of yours, please?

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      20/04/2013 at 16:37

      I sure will and I have even written the title for The Great Gatsby post so as to remind me to start writing it, as you requested. I think your late comment was the perfect way to end a belated post all round.

      Like

       
      • 최다해 gongjumonica

        22/04/2013 at 08:33

        Which proves my excellent timing! I will be looking forward to read your review on Gatsby. How’s the preparation to go US?

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          22/04/2013 at 17:27

          I am gathering my notes for it and hopefully will post before i head to the US next week, preparations are, well they will hopefully all come together this week, first I should make a list of what I need to do, it’s the sensible approach, which leads me to believe that I probably won;t get that far, lol.

          Like

           
  10. Claire 'Word by Word'

    22/04/2013 at 18:13

    Brilliant awards and so much more original than any others I have seen, congratulations, what a performance! Bonne Continuation!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      22/04/2013 at 18:20

      Why thank you, I attempted to do something a bt different as my budget wouldn’t allow me to do a vlog whilst skydiving, still something for next year…

      Like

       
      • Claire 'Word by Word'

        22/04/2013 at 18:32

        Will be watching out for that one! So you’ll be starting a youtube channel next I guess.

        Like

         
        • StetotheJ

          22/04/2013 at 18:35

          It is something I have been mooting, I think the problem with that is finding something regular to post on it, something seperate yet with the blog theme, it will need a think…methinks.

          Like

           

Tell me stuff...

 
