RSS

Sentenced to 16

23 Mar

sentence_fluencyEarlier, I flicked through 16 randomly selected books and chose the first sentences I saw to form into some new and different construct, so here is my very fitful attempt at piecing them together, with the varied books I chose listed at the bottom.  It isn’t wise to walk around with your eyes closed hunting for books though, you think I whould have known that but never mind.  I promise to get out more in future…

  1. The moon had sunk and left the earth alone with the stars.
  2. Freud avoids this conclusion by reflections which seem to me unduly cynical.
  3. ‘Take that frog out!’ Ordered Fern.
  4. I’ll give you the rooster.
  5. I Laughed ‘You don’t forget a moment like that.
  6. Just to be here is a delight!
  7. In years to come I expect some will come to look at the old abbey with romantic melancholy.
  1. On mont blanc, this high-altitude disorientation would make poet Shelley feel close to madness.
  2. You have to stay a long time to be useful.
  3. Thus the greatest degree of destruction coincides with the greatest degree of affirmation.
  4. It doesn’t sound very consistent, does it?
  1. The wolf not a bit serene, tore her head off with a single snap of his jaws and ran on, on,on.
  2. After her came the empty space: Roland put a card there, the ten of clubs.
  3. The inductive method.
  4. The crab knew that it had tasted the same thing before.
  5. I’ll meet them head on as before.

And now the books those lines came from…

  1. Three Men in a Boat – Jerome K. Jerome
  2. Human Society in Ethics and Politics – Lord Bertrand Russell
  3. Charlotte’s Web – E. B. White
  4. No One Writes to the Colonel – Gabriel García Márquez
  5. Tuesdays with Morrie – Mitch Albom
  6. The Duino Elegies – Rainer maria Rilke
  7. The Day of the Triffids – John Wyndham
  8. Landscape and Memory – Simon Schama
  9. In Siberia – Colin Thubron
  10. The rebel – Albert Camus
  11. The Green Man – Kingsley Amis
  12. The Talisman – Stephen King
  13. The Castle of Crossed Destinies – Italo Calvino
  14. The Elephant Vanishes – Haruki Murakami
  15. The origin of the Crabs – Guy N. Smith
  16. The Iliad – Homer
 
23 Comments

Posted by on 23/03/2013 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

23 responses to “Sentenced to 16

  1. readingwithrhythm

    24/03/2013 at 00:25

    That was fun! Now I think you need to make a story out of all those sentences.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      27/03/2013 at 16:05

      A challenge indeed, I’ll see where that intriguing idea takes me…

      Like

       
  2. RoSy

    24/03/2013 at 02:46

    Well Mr. – This was creative!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      27/03/2013 at 16:04

      Being surrounded by so many books you think something so simple would have come to me earlier. Sometimes I can’t see the wood pulp for the former trees.

      Like

       
  3. gargoylebruce

    24/03/2013 at 06:42

    Oh, oh! This is a type of poetry known as…I forget….but it’s basically a poem made up entirely from the works of others. I was going to do some regularly on a bookish theme but then realised how much brain work would be involved and quickly shelved the idea. So bravo!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      27/03/2013 at 16:06

      It did take surprisingly longer than I had anticipated but helps pass a bit of time on our quiet street.

      Like

       
  4. LuAnn

    24/03/2013 at 15:46

    I really enjoyed this SteJ. I found myself wishing I had read each of these books so I could try to determine which line went with each book. I gave up when I couldn’t even determine this with those I had read (lol). I particularly like the first line “The moon had sunk and left the earth alone with the stars”.

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      27/03/2013 at 16:09

      That first line is from Three Men in a Boat and that book is a comedy classic, especially the first half, which is perfectly weighted. I am lucky to own some fine books….and The Origin of the Crabs as well.

      Like

       
  5. Letizia

    24/03/2013 at 19:05

    This is great – I especially LOVE the title of this post, SO clever 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      27/03/2013 at 16:02

      I thought the possible prison reference would give me a bit of ‘edge’. I live for the drama that I don’t experience.

      Like

       
  6. Penny L Howe

    28/03/2013 at 23:27

    Ah StJ, with a little bit of polish a best seller for sure my friend! I agree you don’t get out enough, here’s to you getting out and about a lot more in the near future! 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      15/04/2013 at 18:52

      Check to getting out more! I think you may have the bestseller first, replete with my magical editing skills, of course. I loook forward to reviewing it in the near future…

      Like

       
  7. Christina ~

    29/03/2013 at 00:34

    How fun is this! Mr. Creative….might have to change your name from Mr Wizard to Mr Creative…hmmm…will think on that. 😉 Meanwhile…I did very much enjoy this little jaunt! xxx

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      15/04/2013 at 18:56

      I like to mix it up a bit with something a bit different, I think I have enough Mr names for the moment! xxx

      Like

       
  8. 최다해 gongjumonica

    01/04/2013 at 09:46

    Gwaar. I’ve read only two from the list and did not even recognize the lines you included. Haha!

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      15/04/2013 at 19:14

      They were somewhat obscure lines but this pleased me as I like a challenge, I hope the rest of the lines proved so enthralling that you will want to read them all hehe.

      Like

       
  9. Penny L Howe

    15/04/2013 at 19:00

    Thank you SteJ! Yes getting out and about (way out and about a very good thing! 🙂

    Like

     
    • StetotheJ

      15/04/2013 at 19:03

      I will go anywhere for a good chat with fantastic people, I expect a high five also (please).

      Like

       
      • Penny L Howe

        15/04/2013 at 19:09

        Good to know StJ. Consider it done and for future reference, consider it happening!

        Like

         
  10. writersideup

    11/11/2016 at 04:40

    That was fun 🙂 The only one I got was from CHARLOTTE’S WEB, of course! It’s the only one of them I read lol One of my favorite things is the first sentences in books—-the “hook” sentence. I used to have a book (which I really need to replace!) called GETTING HOOKED. It got ruined, but I really need to replace it. It was the opening hook sentence of many well-known books from the 1950s through the 1990s.

    Like

     
    • Ste J

      11/11/2016 at 20:06

      That sounds like a great book! Having done this poetry week, I am looking to be doing a kids week soon, probably with a few less posts but a good bunch of reviews nonetheless. Hopefully be able to come up with some books you haven’t read yet.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  11. writersideup

    12/11/2016 at 03:35

    oh, I am SURE you’ll come up with books I haven’t read 🙂 Looking forward to it! 😀

    Like

     

Tell me stuff...

 
